Jesse Christ 2,884 Posted October 11, 2014 Posted October 11, 2014 http://m.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/collingwood-coach-nathan-buckley-says-darren-jollys-struggle-to-accept-end-of-career-led-to-coward-comments/story-fni5f6hd-1226769940335 HL, Swan, Jolly, Dids, Shaws, Beams, Dawes, Thomas etc etc. (a lot of talent there) These blokes could perform for mad mick without complaint but not bucks..... Who knows, we land HL & Beams to go with Dawes & we might have Steele & Pendles knocking on our door by 2016! ;-p Could make QB pretty intesting! Quote
Uncle Fester 2,848 Posted October 11, 2014 Posted October 11, 2014 He can seriously play. But here is a list of people that I would take before him in an off-field context. Nathan Carroll Mitch Robinson Ben Cousins Toby Greene Dan Conners Heath Shaw Dustin Martin Lance Franklin Jake King Mick Gatto Don't want him anywhere near our club. I reckon Gatto would have made a great full back in his younger days. I can see him shaking hands with the FF and CHF before the game and saying: youze guys have a family? It must be nice to have a family. And a house. Youze wouldn't want anything to happen to them, would you?' Then he'd spend the game talking to his bookie over the fence as the CHF and FF duitifully handed him the ball every time it was kicked into the forward line. 1 Quote
SFebes 4,884 Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 Did I hear a tweety bird say he wants to come back to Victoria? Is Brisbane's captain though and would be 29 at the start of next season. A star when on and unlucky with injuries. Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 1 minute ago, SFebey said: Did I hear a tweety bird say he wants to come back to Victoria? Is Brisbane's captain though and would be 29 at the start of next season. A star when on and unlucky with injuries. Tweety bird as in Twitter? Where? Quote
Megatron 886 Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 20 minutes ago, SFebey said: Did I hear a tweety bird say he wants to come back to Victoria? Is Brisbane's captain though and would be 29 at the start of next season. A star when on and unlucky with injuries. He’s not Brisbane’s captain anymore Quote
SFebes 4,884 Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 Just now, Megatron said: He’s not Brisbane’s captain anymore OK, he is on the Brisbane website. Quote
FarNorthernD 5,863 Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 Premiership player, All Australian, Pies B&F winner, Lions B&F winner and Captain. One opposition player I really like watching. Not that I think he is heading our way but even at 29yo Beams would be our 2nd best mid behind Oliver. Quote
Deeoldfart 8,201 Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 I heard an interview where he said that he would now consider returning to Melbourne, because his reason for going to Brisbane in the first place was to be close to his ailing father. I imagine if he does return, his preference would be for C'wood. Quote
SFebes 4,884 Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 9 minutes ago, FarNorthernD said: Premiership player, All Australian, Pies B&F winner, Lions B&F winner and Captain. One opposition player I really like watching. Not that I think he is heading our way but even at 29yo Beams would be our 2nd best mid behind Oliver. He's a star when on. I think we need to upgrade/consolidate our older players consistently. Beams>Vince for eg. I would say if he does come back he'll go to Collingwood but a name of interest. 1 Quote
Red and Blue realist 2,063 Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 24 minutes ago, Deeoldfart said: I heard an interview where he said that he would now consider returning to Melbourne, because his reason for going to Brisbane in the first place was to be close to his ailing father. I imagine if he does return, his preference would be for C'wood. Yeah, and his partner/wife? has family here that they are close too and they have recently had a new baby so might need more support. I'd say he might not be what Collingwood actually need, same as us really. Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 45 minutes ago, Deeoldfart said: I heard an interview where he said that he would now consider returning to Melbourne, because his reason for going to Brisbane in the first place was to be close to his ailing father. I imagine if he does return, his preference would be for C'wood. 40 minutes ago, SFebey said: He's a star when on. I think we need to upgrade/consolidate our older players consistently. Beams>Vince for eg. I would say if he does come back he'll go to Collingwood but a name of interest. ...not so sure. When he left there were rumours of a rift with Bucks so who knows. Would be a great addition to our list. 1 1 Quote
Dee1987 277 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Should Gaff fall through this bloke would be a great addition age may be a turn off but this guys plays with hardness and class. Thoughts? Quote
Adam The God 30,730 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Quite a different player and how often does he get on the park these days? Good player, but I'd look elsewhere. Quote
Red and Blue realist 2,063 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 2 minutes ago, deefella said: Should Gaff fall through this bloke would be a great addition age may be a turn off but this guys plays with hardness and class. Thoughts? He be a great pick up but Brissy should be asking for a first rounder, which we don't have. Not a top 5 pick but a pick between 13-17 or so. 1 minute ago, A F said: Quite a different player and how often does he get on the park these days? Good player, but I'd look elsewhere. He's actually played most games over the last couple of years, not sure why he's seen as that injury prone anymore? Quote
Adzman 2,154 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Still a damaging player when he gets on the park. I do wonder if he comes back to Vic whether he would be willing to forgo dollars to join the MFC. I think he has one 3-4 year contract left in him, so I imagine not. Quote
Chook 15,069 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Pretty sure he loves it up at Brisbane. Slightly more than a snowflake's chance of leaving. Quote
Redleg 42,156 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 10 minutes ago, Chook said: Pretty sure he loves it up at Brisbane. Slightly more than a snowflake's chance of leaving. Lot of snowflakes in Brisbane then. Dons and Pies favoured, though Roos and Saints will obviously join in and offer him the suburbs of North Melbourne and Moorabbin. 1 Quote
FarNorthernD 5,863 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 I think he is a great player. If the Gaff deal didn’t eventuate I’d take Beams in a heartbeat Quote
chook fowler 19,772 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Yes please. The best Beams since Percy. Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 1 minute ago, chook fowler said: Yes please. The best Beams since Percy. Jim? 1 Quote
darkhorse72 1,943 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 He went home for family reason, someone sick on memory, it that no longer the case? I imagine he'll see out his career at Brissie, he'll be paid well and they are improving. Quote
chook fowler 19,772 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 11 minutes ago, Moonshadow said: Jim? Parallel. Quote
Dee1987 277 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Wonder if Gary Pert, May have a chat with him...? Quote
John Demonic 5,988 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 6 hours ago, Darkhorse72 said: He went home for family reason, someone sick on memory, it that no longer the case? I imagine he'll see out his career at Brissie, he'll be paid well and they are improving. His father passed away earlier in the year and now rumours have sprung up that he wants to come back to Victoria 1 Quote