View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Roos says Watts the problem?

All Roos is saying is that he has bigger problems than Jack Watts.

I thought that was obvious.

He's doing a bit more than that. He's downplaying the heat that has come onto him from fans and the media (see comments from Nathan Brown this week as an example).

From someone in his position, it's probably a wise move. He doesn't have the luxury of giving up on Watts like many supporters do, and have exercised.

Edited by P-man

He's doing a bit more than that. He's downplaying the heat that has come onto him from fans and the media (see comments from Nathan Brown this week as an example).

From someone in his position, it's probably a wise move. He doesn't have the luxury of giving up on Watts like many supporters do, and have exercised.

I basically agree with you P-Man Roos has to preserver he has little choice.

However I see no reason why supporters would not give up.

The Supporters pay their money and have then endured 6 -7 years of the worst performing team in the recent history of the AFL.

They see a number one draft pick with obvious talent wander around with low intensity for years.

Seems reasonable to give up on him to me.

Like.

I basically agree with you P-Man Roos has to preserver he has little choice.

However I see no reason why supporters would not give up.

The Supporters pay their money and have then endured 6 -7 years of the worst performing team in the recent history of the AFL.

They see a number one draft pick with obvious talent wander around with low intensity for years.

Seems reasonable to give up on him to me.

I'm not blaming supporters who have given up on him, for the record. I don't think it's unfair to say that he often disgraces the jumper with his efforts. Poor skills is one thing, but being gutless is quite another. The criticism is warranted.

The upside is still there and is enormous, if someone can get through to him.

I'm not blaming supporters who have given up on him, for the record. I don't think it's unfair to say that he often disgraces the jumper with his efforts. Poor skills is one thing, but being gutless is quite another. The criticism is warranted.

The upside is still there and is enormous, if someone can get through to him.

Sadly P-Man I don't care that much anymore.

He is in the failed box.

I hope he climbs out but I doubt it.

Let us not be Carro/Stvo/Hutchy & Robbo clones. Iadmitt JW seems to be running in 2nd gear, but I also trust Roos and the Coaching staff.

Would love to see results though.

Being a bit harsh on Howe though because he was small forward(playing as a big forward) when the delivery was non existent ( That is the next stage of development). Started to get some mojo back into his marking which is a good sign. Thought his goal the other noght was pretty speeeeeshuuuul.

First sentence may be true, but the second? Of all the criticisms of Watts, that is silly. He dropped a chest mark the other week, but this week he took a contested one-handed one (and dropped an overhead one which probably shot his already fragile confidence). I saw Hawks players drop chest marks on the weekend while demolishing their opponents. That is not Watts' problem.

It's just one of many....

Roos doesnt wanna tip Watts over the edge with public criticism, and fair enough

He will still be dropped though

No he won't and as I said the other night, Roos doesn't need to make a statement like Neeld seemed to by dragging and dropping Watts. He will go about his business in the way he see's fit.

It's just one of many....

No, there are many, but that's not one of them.

It's nice to see Roos not giving Watts the Neeld treatment, it failed no point trying it again.

But I do hope he's dropped. The one treatment Watts has never had is an extended spell at Casey designed for his benefit.

Playing him in the AFL is almost more for Melbourne's benefit hoping he will come good and save face. When a highly skilled guy keeps dropping easy marks under no pressure it's time to say he's probably due a run in the reserves.

No, I think he's had extended time in the magoos on a couple of other occasions.

Playing him in the ressies won't help.

Roos will sort him....

Gosh watching that press conference in full reminds me how lucky we are to have this man as our coach. Inspiring, empathetic, encouraging, knowledgeable, straightforward and realistic.

Roos is sticking up for watts and trying to turn the heat off him a bit which is what a good coach does. (Unlike our previous so called coach)

We are extremely lucky to have him as a coach.

Watts can also help himself by finding some aggression and repay Roos faith in him.

I honestly can't see what the fuss is with Jack Watts

He's playing to his capacity,this is the footballer he is

The real problem is we paid pick 1 for a pick 25 footballer!!!

It's very simple.

You can really see why players love playing for Roosy, i reckon he has taken Watts and Howe aside and throughly explained what they did wrong and how the need to improve, realises all the heat at the moment and takes the pressure away from Watts, it is so refreshing to have a true professional at the helm. Watts will play against the Crows and he would want to play well, Roos is the kinda guy who would know when to bake someone and when to hold back.

Over to you Jacky boy, step up mate!

interesting to see what is said on the couch.

Do u mean AFL360 Song?

Roos is sticking up for watts and trying to turn the heat off him a bit which is what a good coach does. (Unlike our previous so called coach)

Watts can also help himself by finding some aggression and repay Roos faith in him.

Roos would've seen how Watts responded under Craigy and Neeld.

The hard line approach shown by Neeld clearly didn't work.

Watts played better footy under Neil Craig.

Be interesting what he says on 360, he is up next.

DeeO, Neeld never bagged out Watts....not once.

Please, we can't hang him for everything!

Edited by jumbo returns

I must say Roos' response to the question during the press conference was fantastic.

YES Watts had a very bad game, I certainly wasn't impressed with it but I loved the support Roos showed by quickly disregarding the question and keeping the media hype at bay.

What's wrong with this Roos bloke? Doesn't he read Demonland?

Cameron Schwab did. Look at how his tenure turned out for the club.

Form your own conclusions!

I'm sure he has addressed the issues with Jack directly and done what a good coach does in the media. Protects his players.

I think privately Roos will be happy with all the media and fan heat on Watts. Gives him the opportunity to play with a straight bat whilst the demons play out in Watts head.