Demons season opener v Saints

If Toumpas plays, i don't believe he will be used as the sub [as many posters suggest]. He is too good for that!

If today's game keeps going the way it is, the saints will be so low on confidence that we could be looking at a top 4 start to the season.

Edited by hardtack

has Georgiou actually been lifted off the rookie list yet ?

If not he obviously wont be fronting the Aints ( more the pity )

I see no reason why Viney wont get games once hes fit...hes no newbie and must be salivating at the idea of playing with these guys :)

Yes Roos has said what he has about kiddies but he also ( somehwere ) made an interesting throwaway re JHK that some players just force there way in. Watch that space I reckon

All the clues will be in the team that plays the sqawkers....it will only be tweeked after that for round 1

has Georgiou actually been lifted off the rookie list yet ?

If not he obviously wont be fronting the Aints ( more the pity )

I see no reason why Viney wont get games once hes fit...hes no newbie and must be salivating at the idea of playing with these guys :)

Yes Roos has said what he has about kiddies but he also ( somehwere ) made an interesting throwaway re JHK that some players just force there way in. Watch that space I reckon

All the clues will be in the team that plays the sqawkers....it will only be tweeked after that for round 1[/quote

Any chance of Dawes getting a run next week bb?

My god St Kilda look bad

Id be very surprised if Georgiou and toumpas didnt play round one.

The Aints have senior players in the side to, it's not all kids...

We must aim to take 4 points at Etihad...

Saints are either really bad or GWS are really good; I'll go with the Saints being really bad. Even when they have the ball and they are clear and under no pressure they are fumbling.

Wow this side, minus quite a few, played in a few GF's not that long ago.

7 supergoals must be some sort of record?

Do GWS know they cant use them as part of their gameplan in a few weeks? :)

Lets not bag the Saints until after we play them.

I'm bagging R2G!

If we don't beat that rabble I'm gonna break stuff.

Matt Jones was our second best mid last year (3rd on talent to Viney) he is already down to 6th behind Jones, Vince, Cross, Tyson, and Viney without a game played.

But you need to have 10 players to run through the middle at least, Matt Jones will have his chance.

• Author

This is a major premature ejacu-countdown...

hah, I'm having trouble trying as hard as I can to find out how-to put the timer up 'Live', & it won't put the correct days in for me...

time for, me to listen to the radio.

I'm bagging R2G!

If we don't beat that rabble I'm gonna break stuff.

Jumbo, I still remember going to the footy perhaps 8 years ago now to watch Melbourne play StKilda at Etihad (or whatever it was called then). The Dees had made a flying start to the season. My Melbourne and StKilda mates met up at a pub before the game and a cocksure Demon supporter mate pulled out an Age article entitled (hope I'm accurate) 'Melbourne's Red and Blueprint for Success'.

We were given a hiding that afternoon. I've never quite forgotten it.

I'd love to know the year that was.

Edited by Return to Glory

Matt Jones was our second best mid last year (3rd on talent to Viney) he is already down to 6th behind Jones, Vince, Cross, Tyson, and Viney without a game played.

But you need to have 10 players to run through the middle at least, Matt Jones will have his chance.

I'd put Michie ahead of him too (easily).

And Trengove.

And Watts.

And Toumpas.

Edited by Demonof94

I know we picked up a big injury. neitz?

Ross Lyon took a punt, almost won two flags (mind you he inherited a pretty good list) but left the St Kilda list in the worst shape possible. Even when you consider they had very few draft picks over the recent years, the choices they made with their picks were on par with those of Barry Prendergast.

I haven't seen the Saints-GWS game, but I think the GWS squad is a year too old to be consistent easy-beats this year. I reckon they'll pinch a number of stirring, unexpected victories (like us against Essendon in 2012) and will start to command some genuine respect.

Sounds like we really need to beat the Saints round one, though.

I know we picked up a big injury. neitz?

Bruce - was BOG first 3 weeks and early Brownlow favourite then was driven into the ground by a Guerra tackle in the opening minutes, did his shoulder and never really regained that form for the rest of his career.

Let's not forget we haven't won at Etihad in nearly a decade and last year we lost twice to GC and once to GWS, who were absolutely pathetic. Obviously I'm going in thinking we need to win, and on current standings should win, but preseason is exactly that- preseason. I hope Roos has the boys grounded, this is not going to be an easy win and we certainly won't be sitting top 4 like someone above said by rocking up.