NAB CHALLENGE: GOLD COAST SUNS v MELBOURNE

Macdonald is a big name?

In what universe?

No, you're right, but he's a 22 starter.

Most teams can hold a bottom six, St Kilda nearly won a granny with a bottom six or seven.

In relation to top teams, we have a bottom 12.

Hopefully you get lost there.

At least I have to go away to get lost it seems... you seem to have managed it without leaving the comfort of your own home.

Guys, we were very poor today. Pathetic actually. I was there. I don't see how we can finish anywhere but bottom of the table. We were smashed for most of the day. The Suns game plan was better than ours and we looked totally lost. We were unable to hit targets in perfect conditions with almost no breeze. We were smashed in the stoppages after qtr time. We could not rebound from D50. We made rookie errors and didn't support our team-mates.

I was actually quite embarrassed. I'm speechless. We were putrid!!

Ouch.

Honestly, the thought of another 2012 makes me feel physically ill.

Edited by P_Man

That's a joke yeah?

Yep.. The MFC are a joke:

If we are 0-10 this year, mark neeld will be given his severance pay.

So you were there mate? How good were we then?

I am a disappointed member. You can make your own judgement as to how good we were when you watch a game.

The papers didnt spew vitriol like: 'Putrid, pathetic, embarrassing and smashed' when describing us.. They said we were a couple talls away from being more competitive..

Big difference.

Whats the matter MJT - you gutless little thing you - Turned me off so i cant reply?

Here, let me call you a Wambulance.. Waa-waa waa-waa..

Pretty sure Davey and Macdonald were at Casey today so won't be surprised at all to see those go and won't lose sleep either.

Sylvia must be hanging by a thread.

And as for J... J... Nah I'll leave that alone too.

But getting rid of "talented" players and replacing them with VFL players that other clubs overlooked and fringe players at other clubs is dangerous.

We are so far behind its not funny. I understand we were missing a spine but it's the midfield that's the problem. And I don't see Trenners Viney and Blease changing anything.

Was Howe even out there?

Big year for this young man.

I reckon he's a real beauty but he'll need to be coached properly, as he'll command mucho attention this year.

The midfield is looking promising, but not ready....yet. Viney and Toumpas will become excellent footballers.

Jordy and Jonesy remain very important.

Yep.. The MFC are a joke:

If we are 0-10 this year, mark neeld will be given his severance pay.

Ok settle down mate. Have a stubby and chill. If any team is 0-10 their coach is in trouble. The pies got smashed. North got smashed. The tigers just got over the line against the doggies. It's off with all their heads then?

so watts is back in my dream team side i guess...

For what it's worth, he apparently scored 165 SC points today.

Fantasy Freako ‏@FantasyFreako
Full Time Suns v Demons #Supercoach Watts 165, Ablett 138, O'Meara 115, Gillies 111, M. Jones 111, Terlich 106 and Grimes 95.

The papers didnt spew vitriol like: 'Putrid, pathetic, embarrassing and smashed' when describing us.. They said we were a couple talls away from being more competitive..

Big difference.

Whats the matter MJT - you gutless little thing you - Turned me off so i cant reply?

Here, let me call you a Wambulance.. Waa-waa waa-waa..

Ha Ha im in your head. :)

For what it's worth, he apparently scored 165 SC points today. Fantasy Freako ‏@FantasyFreakoFull Time Suns v Demons #Supercoach Watts 165, Ablett 138, O'Meara 115, Gillies 111, M. Jones 111, Terlich 106 and Grimes 95.

He was always in mine but 165?!? That's huge if true

Also ATM I have Kent but maybe should have Jones?

I guess we need Frawley, Dunn, Viney, Trengove, Clark, Dawes, Blease, Kent, McDonald, Nicholson and Bail to be available before we can field our best team... Hold on, that's 10 or 11 players... almost half a team... I wonder who, out of the 26 we fielded today would hold their place... Jones, Watts, Byrnes, McKenzie, Rodan, Garland,Gillies, Sellar, Grimes, Jones, Howe... that's another 11... Then there's Davey and Jetta, who played well for Casey in their 2 point win over Frankston today... There! Doesn't that feel better. Bring on Port!

Ah a bit of sanity prevails

Hawks are rooted too.

May as well call the year off seeing it's all been decided in March.

And now the Giants have just taken down the Saints by 16 points... the whole comp is going to be turned on its head this year!

Edited by hardtack

At least Watts had a good game.

Scored 165 to Ablett 138. That's a good game but probably not good enough for BH!

I love this "it's only a practice match" mentality some of us have on here, like its miraculously going to click in round one. The only teams who can take this attitude are top 4 teams that don't start training till after Christmas. We have been on the track since October for the last 6 years and we still look like a locals side. Wake up, we're rubbish!

The cull aint over yet.

3 or 4 big names will see a lot of Casey this year.

we haven't got 3 or 4 big names atmo?

I can only think of 1...

When the plan becomes more 2nd nature to everyone..

I would guess by mid year..

by then we should start to look more cohesive and have a better understanding of how each other plays under neeldys plan..

I agree with your thinking DD...

with so many changes & especially with mature players, IMO it will take us at least 6 matches to start to settle into a good rhythm & balance.

With all due respect, I am taking notice. Practice matches are there to practice the game plan. We still seem not to have one. We had absolutely no structure. We have the worst midfield in the comp. I don't see how that will improve with the inclusion of Viney and an underdone Trengove for Rd 1 (Trengove no certainty to play anyhow for the 1st month). Today was not good enough.

Pringle, with all due respect to you, anytime i see Pedd in the ruck (see link below) during a pre season match, i'm taking no notice. I for one will be calling on Abaddon to intervene in our game plan If he's played there for any extensive period during the season proper (ie., beyond the 2 minutes it takes to replace an injured Jamer/Spencer etc while the sub comes on).

And if he is played there any longer than that and Abaddon fails to follow through, then i'll swim across the Yarra river naked during the middle of winter (that's assuming all our other ruck options aren't out injured that is. If so this statement is Null and Void!).

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-03-16/gold-coast-v-melbourne

Wake up, we're rubbish!

Wake up, half the team was missing, including most of our key position players and defenders, and we had nearly half a team out there who've never played AFL before.

Now, let me see. We went into the game without our first choice full back (Frawley), centre half back (McDonald), centre half forward (Dawes), full forward (Clark), a couple of handy midfielders in Trengove and Viney, our speedster (Blease), a couple of good indigenous players and a handy defender who were our best out at Casey (Jetta, Davey & Macdonald), a 6'10" giant (Gawn) and lost another important defender at half time (Garland) and everyone thinks the sky has just fallen.

O ... K ...

So I guess that some on here are a bit unhappy because we lost a practice match using half our expected starting team and I would imagine that those that were selected from the starting 22 were playing this game like it was a practice match; who would have thought.