Training - Monday 12th December, 2011

Possibly the most strenuous session witnessed by yours truly ever. 

Very similar drills but more penetrating. A 2½ hour training session with the highest amount in the main ball handling drill. 

Several train-ons were not there; Burnett looked very impressive, a mid-well built around the 186 cm range and a very solid build - guessing - around the 83 kg mark. Couch and Williams were the only others who seemed to be out there.

The rehab group consisted of Frawley - slight calf, McKenzie - don't know, Spencer- coming back from a knee. McKenzie, Frawley & Spencer were doing some handball and walked laps after swimming. It was reported that Spencer had done a 10k run earlier.

Training in a separate group were Jack Viney, Jack Grimes, Josh Tynan and  Kelvin Lawrence who were doing short sprint work. Jamar and Taggart were doing laps whilst all others were doing the drill set which has become customary on Mondays.

The only person missing was LJ who I was told was recovering after wrist surgery & will be back for New Year.

Jack Grimes did a lot of running laps, also Strauss along with the pacer who has been working with LJ. Jamar & Taggert (who has got a great build - already reminds me a little of Abblett around the shoulders & really impresses me.

Barry P was there, very tired after, no doubt, spending many hours looking at tapes etc.

A very hard choice/s are ahead of him for tomorrow. 

Quite a turn up today ,so expect contributions from many others. However,if any queries, I will try to answer.

Several train-ons were not there; Burnett looked very impressive, a mid-well built around the 186 cm range and a very solid build - guessing - around the 83 kg mark. Couch and Williams were the only others who seemed to be out there.

Could this be telling us something about tomorrow's rookie draft?

Thanks for the report.

Jay Clark and another reporter, and camera crew were at training today for most of the session so be prepared for a more comprehensive report in the paper soon.

Jay Clarke? I'll prepare for a heap of dribble.

Just been informed the other reporter was Scott Gullan from the Herald Sun along with Jay Clark.

I finally got there!! First time i've seen the training this year. I arrived at 9.30 and they were just finishing their warm-up laps - getting ready for a series of 150m sprints, broken up by single 300m runs to build up the lactic acid in the players. This was the torture test and it showed on their faces when they ran.

There were 34 players in this group (including 3-4 invitees) and they paired off with Bate and Morton first up, followed by Trengove and Jones, then Tom Mac and Nicholson, Joel Mac and Martin, Moloney and Bennell, and Watts and Green....then the rest. Bate was very impressive; I'm not sure if he's lighter than last year but he really seemed to excell at the 150 metre sprints and was always ahead of Morton who was pushing him hard.

Clutterbuck was there, and another Invitee in 'Lethal' Leigh Williams took part in all the training. Mr Williams is a big unit.

There was no sign of Evans; Tapscott was just running laps, and Cook left early with a slight twinge.

After the sprints they went through a series of kicking drills, gameplays, handball games, 3/4 field roleplays, and smaller team stuff, and were still on the ground when i left at noon. That's a much longer session than previous years. The new boy Clarke was a frequent target on the forward line. He led wide, marked cleanly and seems to be OK at kicking the ball short or long. He's a leaner, taller version of the 3 big Collingwood forwards and because of his mobility he may be used to draw his defender away from the key forward position. This could open up the forward line for Howe, Watts, Jurrah and maybe Tom Mac as an extra key forward. It seemed much easier for the middies to execute their kicking skills when they have that target up forward.

There was about 30-40 people there; men in suits, bikers, young and old fans. There was even one person there who was telling anyone who would listen that Garland should move to the wing! Can you believe that?!

They are training this Wednesday arvo at Casey Fields. We were advised that the players will commence training at 3, an hour before the official commencement at 4pm. If you live near Casey, try and get to see them. They are working very hard.

Hey all,

Had another look today, last chance before having to head back to work.

Good session to observe, initial running which was then followed by several drills with ballwork and even some contested work. Groups split into blue and white teams, initially there there were 2 groups, one down each end, I was watching the session run by Neeld who was very vocal, the teams had to work the ball from defence with the aim to get the ball into one of the two nets at one end of the field. Was good to see the intensity shown by most of the players. It was then spread to a full ground ball movement session, mostly by foot. The ball was moved in groups from one defensive areas all the way down the length of the ground in about 4 kicks ending in a shot at goal, the group was vocal and very encouraging, and in general the skills were high.

They then did some match simulation work, a 7 minute session which seemed to tire the boys towards the end of the session, big focus on keeping the boys moving and not slacking off. Was interesting to see the skills on display at this early stage of the season.

Watched Grimes do a lot of work with the fitness crew, really focusing on agility and movement, seems he is making good ground, so want to see him have a better season injury wise so looks like they are taking a long term approach.

Sylvia had the ball in his hand for first time tho wasn't in main session, maybe he is slowly being reintroduced as have been previously only running solo. Is it just me or is Gysberts always grimacing when running, always looks to be struggling, but maybe thats just his look?

Thinks thats all I noticed.

There was about 30-40 people there; men in suits, bikers, young and old fans. There was even one person there who was telling anyone who would listen that Garland should move to the wing! Can you believe that?!

LOL!!

Poor JCB, he really wants that to happen...

Possibly the most strenuous session witnessed by yours truly ever.

Very similar drills but more penetrating. A 2½ hour training session with the highest amount in the main ball handling drill.

The rehab group consisted of Frawley - slight calf, McKenzie - don't know, Spencer- coming back from a knee. McKenzie, Frawley & Spencer were doing some handball and walked laps after swimming. It was reported that Spencer had done a 10k run earlier.

Training in a separate group were Jack Viney, Jack Grimes, Josh Tynan and Kelvin Lawrence who were doing short sprint work. Jamar and Taggart were doing laps whilst all others were doing the drill set which has become customary on Mondays.

The only person missing was LJ who I was told was recovering after wrist surgery & will be back for New Year.

Jack Grimes did a lot of running laps, also Strauss along with the pacer who has been working with LJ. Jamar & Taggert (who has got a great build - already reminds me a little of Abblett around the shoulders & really impresses me.

Barry P was there, very tired after, no doubt, spending many hours looking at tapes etc.

A very hard choice/s are ahead of him for tomorrow.

Quite a turn up today ,so expect contributions from many others. However,if any queries, I will try to answer.

Good onJa JCB, thanks for the great report.

Its a Long walk from here...

Watched Grimes do a lot of work with the fitness crew, really focusing on agility and movement, seems he is making good ground, so want to see him have a better season injury wise so looks like they are taking a long term approach.

Sylvia had the ball in his hand for first time tho wasn't in main session, maybe he is slowly being reintroduced as have been previously only running solo. Is it just me or is Gysberts always grimacing when running, always looks to be struggling, but maybe thats just his look?

Thinks thats all I noticed.

It was good to see them assign a 'personal trainer' to Grimes. They did a lot of agility work, handballs and sprints. He was away from the main group but still worked out for about 2 1/2 hours.

Gysberts. I think they matched him with Blease in the sprints. Gysberts wears a t.shirt under the footy top, so it's hard to get a full look at his arms, but he still has the same thin build as draft night in 2009. At least Blease has bulked up a bit, but Gysberts - gee - just not enough meat on him. And compare him to Nicholson who is cut like a snake.

Maybe they should get him to live with Mrs Tapscott for a while.

Edited by DirtyDees DDC

Taggert (who has got a great build - already reminds me a little of Abblett around the shoulders & really impresses me.

Presumably that refers to Abblett senior? After all, we wouldnt want a little frail battler like Jnr .

LOL!!

Poor JCB, he really wants that to happen...

I believe the person spruiking Garland was with you: all I can say he is a great judge as Neeld had placed Garland in the midfield in the last session of the day with specialist skill coaching from Royal along with the other midfielders including Morton!

Great stuff guys - are any of you considering applying for a role on the selection committee? :lol:

To quote The "Almost Great" Mark Neeld. I don't know any players at Melbourne. It's a clean slate so all positions are up for grabs.

I keep saying do not expect the same team you saw last season.

January will bring a lot more surprises and don't you think that would be good?

We certainly do not want more of the same tripe as last year. We certainly may have the same playing group +3 or 4, but the positions and roles will certainly be different. That is why all the reports going around are mentioning different players in different positions.

RPFC and JCB sitting in a tree...?

(What they didn't know was that David Dunbar was the tree).

Your joking,I've been trying to getb Dorothy down format least two years now,even offered to pick him up at the airport and return him there.However, you raise another interesting point - is David Dunbar still at the club, I haven't seen him for a long time !

Great stuff guys - are any of you considering applying for a role on the selection committee? :lol:

Might offer my assistance in 2012 to you with the Demonland Squad, if needed.

However, if you look at our current list, Garland may not be required on the back line at all in 2012, therefore leaving an opportunity to use him on the wing. The club seems to be using Sellar and Davis as the other two talls along with Frawley and Rivers.

Your joking,I've been trying to getb Dorothy down format least two years now,even offered to pick him up at the airport and return him there.However, you raise another interesting point - is David Dunbar still at the club, I haven't seen him for a long time !

I would love to know why you persist with Dorothy...

I don't think you even know why you persist.

And seriously, jcb, let it go - I am quite capable of organising my own travel between destinations and Melbourne Airport...