View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Colin Sylvia - commits to the Demons for 2 more years

Good news, we all know the talent he has at his disposal, it's just a matter of getting him to put it out there consistently.

Well done Col!

I hope it doesn't mean he can now coast for two years :unsure:

Fuuck Daisy POSITIVES MATE. POSITIVES !!! The guys one is of our elite players and he's commited. Rejoice!!!!!!!

Frawley.

Yeah nah. Chip is a terrific burly defender who does his job well in containing key forwards and is a fairly reliable kick.

Col has that x factor that can influence the course of a game, he just doesn't show it often enough. Versatility, vision, pace, strength, a strong mark overhead and a beautiful kick in the field of play and at goal. On raw ability it's a no brainer for mine.

Time to step up Col. Time to step up my mate.

Yeah nah. Chip is a terrific burly defender who does his job well in containing key forwards and is a fairly reliable kick.

Col has that x factor that can influence the course of a game, he just doesn't show it often enough. Versatility, vision, pace, strength, a strong mark overhead and a beautiful kick in the field of play and at goal. On raw ability it's a no brainer for mine.

You know who James Frawley is yeah? He wears number 8.

Post lost credibility when you condescendingly called James Frawley a 'terrific burly defender' that does his job 'well'. He's AA mate. Col Sylvia wasn't doing anything like Frawley was doing when he was 21. Still isn't doing anything like Frawley is doing. Frawley's value to this team outweighs that of Sylvia ten-fold. Sylvia is replaceable, Frawley is not.

You know who James Frawley is yeah? He wears number 8.

Post lost credibility when you condescendingly called James Frawley a 'terrific burly defender' that does his job 'well'. He's AA mate. Col Sylvia wasn't doing anything like Frawley was doing when he was 21. Still isn't doing anything like Frawley is doing. Frawley's value to this team outweighs that of Sylvia ten-fold. Sylvia is replaceable, Frawley is not.

If you think Sylvia is replaceable then the afore mentioned statement is null & void.

An important signing. I think Sylvia will only play better as others on our list improve further.

Most of the article was nicey-nicey spin and guff, exactly what you'd expect.

We'll be watchiing Col. Youve spoken the talk...next season's walk time !!

One of our best.

Absolutely critical component for our future success.

2nd in Tackles

1st in Inside 50

3rd in Goals

3rd in Disposals

120 game player hitting his peak having played most of his career in a side that is "rebuilding"

I'm not sure what he did to you Belzebub...run over your cat? Might be time to let it go and be happy that we've re-signed a key part of our future success

Amazing how much love there is for Col - up until yesterday seemed like there was little but vitriol for him. Clearly he doesn't read Demonland, or he would have been off....

One of our best.

Absolutely critical component for our future success.

2nd in Tackles

1st in Inside 50

3rd in Goals

3rd in Disposals

120 game player hitting his peak having played most of his career in a side that is "rebuilding"

I'm not sure what he did to you Belzebub...run over your cat? Might be time to let it go and be happy that we've re-signed a key part of our future success

Retro

Hes did to me what hes done to all Melbourne Supporters..hes infuriated us over the years with glimpses of talent and a lot of carrying on. He CAN play a very good brand of football and mores the poty he doesnt bring it each Saturday !!

I hope hes turned a corner. I hope hes grown up some. I hope he understands whats ecpected of him and how he would actually feel in himslef todeliver on his ability.

I hope all of this..I Know NONE of it.

Lets see what 2012 brings shall we..all fiongers crosssed etc..lol

Fuuck Daisy POSITIVES MATE. POSITIVES !!! The guys one is of our elite players and he's commited. Rejoice!!!!!!!

don't sweat it SD. it was a joke and he is one of my favourites B)

Great news.

Hopefully he can play next season like he did against the Toothless Tigers. He has the ability and hopefully the application to play like that every week.

For me Morton and Scully can go.

Looks like Green and Martin are in deep talks with the Dees to resign too. Hopefully more good news to follow with players and coaches to come.

Hooray for us.

Colin is a very good player who could be elite, but he isn't.

I'm sick and tired hearing about his 'X Factor' - he isn't consistent enough for a 25 year old to graduate from 'X Factor' to 'Elite' obviously...

He still relies on others getting the ball in his hands and probably always will.

So in that respect mids that get the footy first and KPPs (like Frawley) are more important and less replaceable.

Great news! Can't wait for his 3 good games a year which get people banging on about him being elite and out best player....

Promote Sylvia to captain now and give him the ultimate responsibility - as North did with Carey.

I've actually voted or him to be the next Captain i reckon it could have a profound effect on Sylvia.

But i've been wrong before.

I agree. He needs to be in the leadership group next year (ie, the team stuff needs to be imposed on him IMO, and I reckon he'd nail it).

As an aside, Sylvia's my favourite player too - absolutely stoked about this.

Promote Sylvia to captain now and give him the ultimate responsibility - as North did with Carey.

There is wisdom in that statement.

You make Demonland worth reading, with your unintentional hilarity.

Thanks for the laughs.

Made mention in 'The Age' today that Sylvia was happy to sign now given that he has huge faith in our 5 man pannel to appoint a new coach.

Wonder if that just means 'They've told me (insert name here) will be coach next year and I'm happy with that!'

Made mention in 'The Age' today that Sylvia was happy to sign now given that he has huge faith in our 5 man pannel to appoint a new coach.

Wonder if that just means 'They've told me (insert name here) will be coach next year and I'm happy with that!'

I doubt it.

I wouldn't trust any of the players to keep their trap shut.

I would say "we are looking at getting a proven coach, Colin now sign this con...er, autograph...yes, that'll do."

I doubt it.

I wouldn't trust any of the players to keep their trap shut.

I would say "we are looking at getting a proven coach, Colin now sign this con...er, autograph...yes, that'll do."

Hahaha....Love it!!!

Here's a theory for you...

Col is due to stay up in Sydney this weekend. Maybe he, and a few other senior players, are up there meeting with the new coach, as currently, that person resides in Sydney...

Ah, all the Paul Roos fans will love that one!