Tom Scully in September ...

It would be interesting to know just how much of a distraction this has been on the club and the players.

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7415/newsid/123248/default.aspx

TOM Scully's decision to leave Melbourne for a six-year deal with Greater Western Sydney has been like a 'black cloud' lifting from the club, Demons CEO Cameron Schwab says.

Speaking just hours after Scully officially became a Giant, Schwab said the constant speculation over the midfielder's future had been a distraction all year.

"This in some ways has been like a black cloud which has been over the club for much of the last 12 months," Schwab said on Monday.

"The black cloud now moves on to another club.

As you know RobbieF, there are some posters here who refused to accept it's been a distraction for the club. Apparently Scully was well within his rights to string the club along all year and sign in his own time at the end of the season.

Brad Green, for one, is probably happy the club now knows how much head room there is in the cap.

I just hope in 2 or 3 years time the likes of Trengove Gysberts,Blease, Tapscott,Gawn, Watts,Grimes and Viney etc hold the premiership cup aloft, while The $cull Nob languishes on the bottom of the ladder,with his new falafel eating grey and orange sin city morons, and realizing he has missed out on a Dynasty.

just quietly, how many Brownlow votes did TS add to his CV in his two event-filled years with the Dees?

Still can't believe the amount of hopium smokers on this site that believe he just signed yesterday. Unbelieveably naivety shown by some when it was blatantly obvious he was gone. Some of you would make terrible detectives, the clues were right in front of your face for the whole year. He had to lie! He had no choice. Same "believers" probably believe the JFK magic bullet theory. FO Tom glad it's all over.

just quietly, how many Brownlow votes did TS add to his CV in his two event-filled years with the Dees?

who gives a [censored]

Still can't believe the amount of hopium smokers on this site that believe he just signed yesterday. Unbelieveably naivety shown by some when it was blatantly obvious he was gone. Some of you would make terrible detectives, the clues were right in front of your face for the whole year. He had to lie! He had no choice. Same "believers" probably believe the JFK magic bullet theory. FO Tom glad it's all over.

I agree entirely. I made the point that he never ingraciated himself in the club or the other players in any way. I remember watching him singing the song after a game and he looked disinterested and bored to be honest. Two year deal, refusal to talk contracts.

Before the smiles and 'delight' at being signed up at GWS Id never seen the kid smile. he never wanted to stay at melb and its probably for the good that he isnt and time will demonstrate this.

Its been a huge distraction for some of our other kids that have shown just as much without the number 1 tag - Gysberts, Trengove and Scully's best mate Sam Blease.

His been signed since the start. The fact that so many knew he had signed indicates that the smoke was near a fire.

I just hope in 2 or 3 years time the likes of Trengove Gysberts,Blease, Tapscott,Gawn, Watts,Grimes and Viney etc hold the premiership cup aloft, while The $cull Nob languishes on the bottom of the ladder,with his new falafel eating grey and orange sin city morons, and realizing he has missed out on a Dynasty.

When is Blease under contract till?

With us or GWS?

Doesn't matter, GWS can't grab him outright, they'd have to trade for him or hope he slips through the draft - or waste a serious draft pick on him.

Blease should be the most shattered of all to be honest - in his Rising Star interview he was asked who the best player at MFC would be in 2012 and he said Tom.

Absolutely spot on I've felt the same about him since the day of the draft he looked as if he would have rather gone anywhere else but Melbourne. I often wonder if it was the Tanking issue that caused that and if he didn't want to be associated with a club that was involved in tanking.

I recall Butcher, who was supposed to go one two with Scully at the beginning of the year, saying he didn't want to go to a club that tanked.

Together with Carlton, we were involved in the most blatant tanking and I wonder if that has caused damage to our image and desirability in terms of attracting other players.

The lack of a smile has nothing to do with us tanking to get him.

It's more a part of who Scully is - it's inherent in his makeup. He's a serious kind of guy.

The lack of a smile has nothing to do with us tanking to get him. It's more a part of who Scully is - it's inherent in his makeup. He's a serious kind of guy.

Disagree he had the smile of a Cheshire Cat today ear to ear sort of stuff I don't know if that is because of relief or he's happy to be done with us

I want to here from Wolfmother on this what are his thoughts

He never fully committed to our team's ethos, he never reflected truly what we are about he didn't act as a number 1 draft pick

representing our side.

His body language was consistently poor while with us he never seemed to get into the spirit of the place

this is a completely outside view I have no inner sanctum idea

Together with Carlton, we were involved in the most blatant tanking and I wonder if that has caused damage to our image and desirability in terms of attracting other players.

I take comfort in knowing that Jack Trengove and Luke Tapscott couldn't sign long contracts fast enough.

Interesting tweet from Gawn a few minutes ago: "Quote ' @MichaelNewton29 im not dissapointed in sculls going cause ill be there with him next year'"

No idea who actually tweeted it, because it appears to be directed at Newton.

Interesting tweet from Gawn a few minutes ago: "Quote ' @MichaelNewton29 im not dissapointed in sculls going cause ill be there with him next year'"

haha they can have Juice

Today is a great day for the Melbourne Football Club.

A true leader doesn't sell his soul to the highest bidder.

Scully wants to captain GWS? The boy has shown absolutely no leadership whatsoever, and will leave GWS in 6 years time for the next biggest cheque in the market place. As good a footballer as he may be, what he has put our football club through this year is akin to a cancer, and we've been lucky enough to cut it out, and get draft picks in return!

Like it or not, we screwed this one at the draft table. A decent psych would have pinned this sort of character flaw from a mile away. I'm going to love watching GWS get belted year in, year out, and what will Scully be doing... looking for his next leg up, making excuses, blaming other people, definitely not standing up and taking responsibility and leading through hard times like real leaders do.

You didn't cope very well with the speculation you were a devious lying little underhanded turd all year; now I watch in earnest as you fail to deliver performances that justify your pay packet.

Thought Garry's response on Footy Classified was weak as. Don't hate the kid, hate the system? 95% of players would have taken the payday? What about Bartel, Swan, Thomas, Dustin Martin? It's bad enough to get screwed but I'm sick of this club bending over and handing the AFL the lube.

No idea who actually tweeted it, because it appears to be directed at Newton.

Maxy was extracting the urine.....

Jeez, I hope RDB tosses the coin when we play GWS at the 'G next year (it's gonna happen), and rips the jumper of Scully's back. Sir Ronald Dale Barassi keeps his promises.

Thought Garry's response on Footy Classified was weak as. Don't hate the kid, hate the system? 95% of players would have taken the payday? What about Bartel, Swan, Thomas, Dustin Martin? It's bad enough to get screwed but I'm sick of this club bending over and handing the AFL the lube.

i actually think Garry just wants to move forward...sort out a coach and hit trade week hard.

Garry did not bend over at all...The AFL made rules that were weighted out of our league on this one..We need to keep a list together.

6 Mill was a huge carrot.

Glad this is done and dusted out with the old in with the new this is the best thing that could of happened for the mfc bring on 2012 with a 100% happy playing list the poison apple is gone

Did anyone else notice that according to Hutchy and Footy Classified, GWS uploaded the first footage of Sculls in Charcoal and Orange on the 11th in broad daylight?

After 12 months of indecision, it would appear he made his mind up in a matter of hours after arriving in Sydney!!

In the words of the great Johnny Rotten ``Ever get the feeling you`ve been cheated????``

Jeez, I hope RDB tosses the coin when we play GWS at the 'G next year (it's gonna happen), and rips the jumper of Scully's back. Sir Ronald Dale Barassi keeps his promises.

absolutely NO CHANCE we will play them twice - and about the same chance we will play them at the G in the one game we play them. if we play them in melbourne itll probably be at the dome, but even thats 1000-1 outsider

POSITIVES

- no more of this bulldust next year!

- 2 first round draft picks + jack viney in one of the strongest drafts since hodge/ball/judd

- heaps of salary cap room

- no more liars at the club

Negatives

-we lost a POTENTIAL gun

btw, can you imagine ringing jim stynes to say youd left for more money? baaaaahahaha if he did that, total respect to the kid.

Doesnt get his sporting genes from his old man by the looks. Eat some salad you fat bastard.

Ha love it