Posted

Whilst most negative posts on here are legit I want some positives from today and this year. I could easily read and listen to the subjects of Morton and his horrible everything. The frustration of Bartram's kicking and McDonald's over selling of candy but I want to hear some of your positive thoughts.

I am stoked about Howe. He presents well and second efforts are there with some class aswell. It was also good to see us kicking to one on one situations with Howe. It shows the confidence they have in him.

Blease was pretty good today and I can see the potential with him Nicholson and a fully fit Davey giving us a lot of speed.

Chippa is just a gun and great to see him take the game on in the second half.

Watts and trengove are going to be if not are the reason a lot of people go to Melbourne games in the years to come.

Petterd has improved to an all round player who can run and take marks up the field and can set things up for us.

AND it was great to see Beamer as skipper today and he played like one. I would love to see him with the C next to his name next year if not Trengove.

Please ignore this post if you want nothing but negatives to write cause there are plenty more posts in here for that.

Posted

• Frawley with 28 possessions and best for Melbourne
  • Bartram keeping Kerr to 17 possessions
  • Howe With 10 marks and 3 goals
  • Martin and jamar outplaying cox and nicnat
  • Blease showing some real confidence and dash
  • 40 more disposals
  • Finally some real passion and want for the ball

Posted (edited)

• Frawley with 28 possessions and best for Melbourne
  • Bartram keeping Kerr to 17 possessions
  • Howe With 10 marks and 3 goals
  • Martin and jamar outplaying cox and nicnat
  • Blease showing some real confidence and dash
  • 40 more disposals
  • Finally some real passion and want for the ball

SAM BLEASE - That is getting close to what he produced in the under 18 Carnival 2008

Its a shame that shot for goal on the run didn't quite go the distance.

That would of lifted his confidence even further.

That broken leg was a huge set back but I reckon we are on a winner with this kid.

Has a bit of Boomer Harvey line breaking about him

Edited by Old Man Rivers
Posted

Post match function in the Victory Room was good.

Posted

Frawley, Rivers & MacDonald having the better of Kennedy, Lynch & Darling

Jamar & Martin winning the ruck duel versus Cox & Natinui

Howe at FF with 3 goals & 10 marks

Watts despit not having a great game continuing to work hard all match and work himself into the game. All his touches were good touches

Nathan Jones absolutely bust a gut. Thought he was very good today, made some mistakes but worked hard to get the ball back when mistakes were made

The team show some fight & heart after half time. Last 10min was disapointing but otherwise I was very pleased with the 2nd half.

Posted

SAM BLEASE - That is getting close to what he produced in the under 18 Carnival 2008

Its a shame that shot for goal on the run didn't quite go the distance.

That would of lifted his confidence even further.

That broken leg was a huge set back but I reckon we are on a winner with this kid.

Has a bit of Boomer Harvey line breaking about him

True about Sam Blease, and I wonder if he sees the irony in being a better footballer than his mate Tom. The million dollar a year thing is just looking more and more ludicrous.

Jeremy Howe, and how he loves a contest. Ready made gun.

Nathan Jones.....so much gumption today.

Jack Watts. The everywhere man.....massive engine, great skills, instinctive correct decision making. Elite in an elite way.

Others as mentioned.

Posted

- Trenners standing up and taking a strong mark on 3/4 time

- Blease in his 2nd game showed a cool head

- the third quarter

- Howe & Petterd with spring

Posted

The defence. Garland, Rivers, Frawley, McDonald all good.

Howe in the air and three (should have been four) goals

Blease

If Scully goes we might be better off on current form

Posted

I'll run with a positive from yesterday.

Until I saw him playing at Coburg I was uncertain about Jack Fitzpatrick but I like his pace for one so tall. I reckon that one day he, Jack Watts and Max Gawn are going to be a really formidable combination.

Posted

Bleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease.

Happy to see him get a full game, and start to show what he's capable of.

Posted

Biggest positive is that we even have a thread like this. It's been a dark time people.

OK, we lost ... to a top 4 team. But considering how far back the players are in terms of confidence, how unsettled the team has been, the off-field changes and turmoil, that we even managed passages of decent play is a positive in itself - and even moreso when the main protagonists are often our younger and newer players.

Lots to like (amongst the gloom and disaster that this season has turned out to be).

Posted

Howe and Blease were the biggest positives. Both of these two gave me that feeling of confidence that something good was going to happen when they got near it.

It's obvious to see what the charm was in recruiting Blease - he's a jet but more importantly, knows how to get the ball (contrast this to Bennell, who is also a jet but isn't involved enough). His kicking today was a bit "funny", but it was game #2 and it was a game when the team in general kicked poorly. Plenty to build on.

If Howe had kicked that sitter it would've almost been a complete forward's game. He's a very reliable mark, I was just always so confident that he'd grab it when it went nearby. It was probably the first game where he was the main focus and he shone. Great stuff.

The other positive I thought was the back line. This is the only area of the ground that looks close to being the finished product for mine. Frawley and Garland are just class, and I'm very happy with Macdonald, Blease and Tapscott as the support cast. Rivers was good today too, but by "window time" I'd like to see him produce this level consistently, or get passed by the hatchlings in McDonald or Davis. I'd be happy with either outcome.

Obviously the result was poor but it wasn't all bad today.

Posted

I hope this thread is not continuing the complacency thing that has made our culture so weak and blah blah blah .

Nice to read about Toms best mate getting a kick and Chip getting form .

Confidence is obviously building in the players .

"Demonland" maybe not .

Posted

Positives v Eagles

Howe: Great Hands and knows where to run

Petterd: showed something up front, led well in 2nd half

Watts:Not a great day for him but never gave up and work rate was always there, that shows you more about him than anything else HE REALLY WANTS IT NOW

Blease:Showed some pace and why he was highly regarded before the leg break

Frawley: Showed arrogance and rebounded well

Garland:Wasn't beaten and was there at every contest which came his way

Jamar & Martin: Beat the best ruck duo in the AFL

Trengove:This kid is all class and after onlt two years absolutley bleeds red & blue

Jones:Gives his all

Bartram:Kerr was good early but Bartram nullified him for most of the game

and most of all we didn't give up, for the last 2 weeks we have lay down but today after the terrible 2nd quarter we came back out and had a crack, manned up and pretty much matched them for 2nd half. Hopefully we learnt the importance of getting the ball into the forward line early

Season Positives:

The old guard is being replaced by up and coming boys who want (for the most) to be part of something

We realise things just wont happen because you have talent, which we thought at the end of 2011. We realise we need to put in some hard yards to get where the good sides are

Re-signing of some quality kids

The Tom Scully saga whatever the outcome is nearly over BTW IMHO he is playing like a young man with the weight of the world on his shoulders, I don't believe he has made a decision yet and all the talk is getting to him now, either that or he just wants to tell someone yes I am going

Martin, Watts, Trangove & Howe

Posted

I've really liked this thread. I can't believe how negative so many people are. WC are a top 4 side and we took it to them for 3 quarters. Really liked the work of the back line. They are special!

The more games we get into this young midfield and if we can get them to be a little more defensive we have the makings of a strong team.

Posted

POSITIVES

1. Howe

2. Surely the last we see of Cale

Posted

Trengove's pack mark in front of goals - committment personified.

Generally, I thought the endeavour of the team was pleasing and something they can build on.

Keep it going lads!

Posted

Great thread Cowboy

All of the above for mine and add to this the camaraderie

shown by our boys when given some stick by one of the

opposition at the quarter break. From memory Ricky, Chip,

Howe and a couple others didn't take a backward step in

putting this idiot back in his place and letting WC know our

young group won't be walked over.

Good to see the boys backing one another up.

Posted

Top thread. Agree wholeheartedly - maybe it's just that the last two weeks have greatly lowered my expectations, but then again I've always been an optimist - I thought the positives from today's game (Howe, Blease, Frawley and Garland in particular) far outweighed the negatives. In fact, apart from that second quarter, I genuinely enjoyed today's game of footy.

Go Dees.