The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Fagan quits and joins Hawks

godees

Posted
It's been a pleasure knowing you, and I wish you all the best at the Hawks.

Well said Finks......

Thanks to Chris for the years of service, and I hope you are happy with your new role.

This would tend to lend (at least a little) credence to the fact that nearly all those extensively involved in the Daniher era are moving on to other positions.

This would obviously give any new coach the much needed clean slate to put their own people into place.

That can only be a good thing in the long run :) !!!

Posted

Fages has been very good to us all at Demonland. He was always willing to come up to our group and have a chat if we met at a function, a practice match or at Sandringham.

Well done and please let the nice folks at Hawthorn know that we forgive them for the merger thing. We're over that. :rolleyes:

Cheers and all the best for the future...

Posted

What seems a little strange is that Fagan has apparently been heavily involved in the selection process for a new coach. If he knew he was going, surely he wouldn't put himself in such a position.

So it appears that it's a very recent decision. Hawthorn must have come up with a very good offer.

Posted

Thanks for your service Chris and farewell.

I'm a bit sad personally as Chris was heavily involved in the club I grew up around (premiership assistant coach), so even though I've never met the bloke I've been around the same footy clubs as him since I was very little.

The timing is okay though, as his strongest ally at the club is gone, and it gives us the opportunity for a completely fresh start.

Posted

Cheers mate, i'd wish you the best at hawthorn but....... i hate them so i hope you fail :)

mark robbinson on sen today said when this was announced "maybe its sheedy to melbourne with shaw to take over from fagan, (as shaws wife and kids didn't move to freo with him)

Posted
Fages thanks mate for everything you've done for the club, our loss is Hawthorns gain.

Wishing you all the best and hope it turns out really well.

Agree Fan. I have had a bit to do with Chris and feel he will be a loss to the club. Good luck for the future Chris.

With Hawthorn's Tassie connection and Chris coming from there I think I can see some symmetry.

Posted
I'm not having a go but what does a Football Manager actually do?

id like to see Chris Conolley offered football manager if he isnt appointed coach

Posted
id like to see Chris Conolley offered football manager if he isnt appointed coach

Chris Fagan has been one of the better performers in the MFC Admin and I would also like to add our best wishes to him for the future. I suspect that Chris would be looking forward to getting back into coaching & I have alsways thought him taking on the Football Manager's role was part of a money saving in the MFC Admin much like making Juice Newton the ruck coach in 2007.( as well as media manager).

I agree that the odd bit is that Chris has been heavily involved in the coaching selection process & so the Hawks offer must have only come up very recently.

I think with Chris' departure only leaves CAC contracted to end of 2008 as I think they were the only 2 secured beyond ND's term.

Means that whoever comes in will have clean slate to work with & MFC need to move Peter Curran and Paul Willams on to complet the process.

I also think that Chris moving indicates that Bomber Riley wont get the senior gig in 2008. They appear pretty close as always together at TBO over the years etc.

Posted

I actually think this can be another positive for the club - I am not underestimating what Fagan did for our club as he was a wonderful servant and he has played a significant part in getting us through the good and bad times.

BUT... I think cleaning out alot of areas to go with the Daniher departure can only be a good thing for the club. Start many things from the ground up and build from there. Bring a new coach in, a new football operations manager and, most likely, a new assistant coach or two and we can start to put together a side worthy of challenging for the flag.

Exciting times ahead!

Posted

Best of luck Fages, and thanks for your great work over the last 10 years. You've always been friendly and willing to chat to me and my friends at functions and interstate after-matchs.

From all accounts you've done a greast job at every position you've held at the club.

It was only on Sunday at Sandy I said hi to Chris as he walked past, and then watched him deep in discussion with Paul Gardiner on the outer wing for the first half 20 meters from us, only now it appears obvious what the discussion may have been about..

Posted

Fagan should not be crucified although its shocking timing. I DO NOT want Sheeds' input into the list otherwise wer'e set for past AFL duds like Camporeale. We need a ruckman - first priority, then a FB, CHF, midfielders with pace and backmen. Won't all in one year but need to get 2 KPP this year and 2 next year.

Posted

best of luck Chris Fagan, 10 years of great service. Along with Danners you gave your all. Pity you are going to wear the "Brown and Gold" AArgh. But if the opportunity and coin are there i suppose you must take it. Good luck