Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 03 vs Carlton

Just watched a replay - 2 things stood out - The Kolt had an impressive second half and Cross’ efforts resulted in 3 goals apart from that beauty that he kicked that seemed to turn the game.

16 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

It might take until Steele moves out but Langford mostly needs some work on his defensive pressure and tackling, if/when that happens he’ll move inside.

I wouldn’t totally rule out Kolt, they’re giving him the tagging jobs for a reason and he has moments that look like a strong midfielder.

Windsor has already added lots of size, he’ll end up a strong boy. He’ll never be a bull but hopefully he learns a few more ways to win contested ball. Kozzie has all his spins, taps and weaves to win clearances without relying on strength.

Agreed, it’s Langford and Kolt for mine. I’m also keen on Onley.

8 hours ago, biggestred said:

There were quite a few players there. This is pregame. Bonus points if you can name them all

20260329_141932.jpg

Jack Watts in orange cap. I was scrolling thru AFL Photos looking for the original (its not there), but there are a coupla change room shots, but right at the end of the shoot.

4 hours ago, old dee said:

I already have, neither has senior level talent.

Believe you said that about Tholstrup &

Sharp …possibly others …

What a hoot!

On Sunday afternoon on a beautiful sunny day the Demon team ran out on to the ground to pay tribute to a couple of great Melbourne players in Max Gawn and Tom MacDonald and what a great afternoon they had in store for us.

Max and Tom, 250 games each that spanned journeys from the lowest of lows to the pinnacle of a flag in ’21.

With  sly smile and a wink, the team proceeded, in the opening quarter, to take the two on a trip down memory lane by playing some excerpts from the bad old days. “Hey Max, remember when we could not hit a teammate by hand or foot?”… “Tommy boy how about when we could not stick a tackle?”

They reprised all the woeful fumbling footy that we all had to endure in that quarter… No goals in the quarter… I remember those days.

Roll on to the second quarter and the show rolled on. Like one of those lounge lizard cover bands that used to traipse around the venues, they showed they knew the songs but lacked the polish to really sell them and finish them off. A full half of footy and a solitary goal to show for it all. It all brought back so many memories.

The boys had a break and came back in the second half to remind Max and Tom that there has been some good Demon footy in recent years. They went to work and found a rhythm that the Lounge Lizards would have been proud of. Worked hard for each other and ran hard and connected.

By the last quarter it looked like the boys knew they could run down the Blues and they showed TMax what the future might be like.

A few observations:

·        Need some work on preparation for the game so we hit the first quarter turned on. Maybe next game we get the boys to play a quarter in the carpark to get them up to speed before the game.

·        Loved the re-set and changes the coaching team managed to bring to the quarter time and halftime breaks. Showed me a few things. The Coaches are thinking and have the ideas to turn the team around during the match and the players have the ability to respond to them.

·        Sparrow was good as a mid. Hope to see him back it up next week.

·        Pickett of the K variety was wonderful. Quick of mind and body with the talent to execute the impossible.

·        I liked what we saw of Langford, Lindsay and Windsor. Langford looked fully engaged and his couple of goals might just be the trigger for a stream of good form. Lindsy showed a couple of good touches and had a bit of the ball. I still think he is better suited to a wing position at this stage of his journey. Windsor is silk, moves well and has that deceptive slow-motion time with the ball. Each of these will be good players for the club.

·        It has all been said about Max. The man is a unicorn. A fabled beast that should not exist. I, for one, am very bloody happy that he has been pulling on the red and blue for 250 games.

·        Prior to this season, I had doubts about Tholstrup and Sharp. While I still have niggling whispers about them, they have shown some excellent signs in the game so far. Great to see them come on so much in the off season.

·        Just re-read the and I need to mention Howes. He is coming along nicely. Really noticed him during the game. Did some really good things.

I could go on and on, but it is not necessary to gild the lily too much. A great game, one for the ages. An historic comeback on one of the club’s great occasions in front of 68,000 fans.

I think I will refer to this game as the Marigold game, because, as they say in the movie, “Everything will be all right in the end and if it is not all right, it is not the end.”

P.S. Please note that there is no mention of the opposition in the above. They were irrelevant to our celebration.

57 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Good to see four Demons in a team of best players for the round.

IMG_7164.jpeg

I note that Lever Butts Clark.

4 hours ago, Neil Crompton said:

Perhaps he wasn’t invited.

That’s a possibility.

Max and Tmac chose past players who’d played with them both. If a player wasn’t there it’s because they couldn’t make it or chose not to attend. But the club also had a say in who’d be invited.

Edited by Ghostwriter

46 minutes ago, Deestar9 said:

Believe you said that about Tholstrup &

Sharp …possibly others …

Correct, it's only my opinion. While I doubt Jefferson's talent, he cannot stay on the park which doesn't help. I did give Kolt a positive rap on the other thread.

1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

Just watched a replay - 2 things stood out - The Kolt had an impressive second half and Cross’ efforts resulted in 3 goals apart from that beauty that he kicked that seemed to turn the game.

First half... well especially 1st qtr...

We were in poor positions and passed to poor positions...and did it... you guessed ...poorly .Handballs executed without real regard. The ideas of the kick passes maybe seemed good to the player but looking on just looked off. All like gears not meshing.

Some declutched and reselected during the second. Passages of play started to resemble good football.

3rd .. Gears and engine working in sync. Classically we started to get traction and start going somewhere

4th.... someone flipped the N20 switch !!

A lot of players started to play cohesively.

Funny ..in a way, the main difference between 1st and 4th was 1/2 a metre...and a split second. These differences changed how the players were in relation to each other and to opponents

Whatever was said at qtr time started the ball rolling . They reset at half time.

5 hours ago, The heart beats true said:

I think if you look at the consistency of our centre square attendances, and how consistent that was in this game compared to the previous games, it’s pretty obvious the plan was to try and break even in the little circle (knowing that would be our weakness), and get them on the outside.

Pittonet really worked hard early to nullify Max, but he just couldn’t do it for 4 quarters. Max is the only player in the competition that looks at a broken hand as a chance to be fitter. He’s absolutely grinding players into the dust because of his aerobic capacity.

Sparrow also has to get credit for his ability to break away in his first 2-3 steps. I reckon it was his best game for the club.

Way back when Max had just joined the club he was a bit of a clown. Roos wS I his first year as coach. He told max he could keep doing it and play a number of games or change his attitude and become one of the best ruckman. We all know the result. I think after all the things he did for Oliver he would be disappointed that he did not make the event of Max and Tmac. Exactly the reason we let him go.

1 hour ago, CHF said:

What a hoot!

On Sunday afternoon on a beautiful sunny day the Demon team ran out on to the ground to pay tribute to a couple of great Melbourne players in Max Gawn and Tom MacDonald and what a great afternoon they had in store for us.

Max and Tom, 250 games each that spanned journeys from the lowest of lows to the pinnacle of a flag in ’21.

With  sly smile and a wink, the team proceeded, in the opening quarter, to take the two on a trip down memory lane by playing some excerpts from the bad old days. “Hey Max, remember when we could not hit a teammate by hand or foot?”… “Tommy boy how about when we could not stick a tackle?”

They reprised all the woeful fumbling footy that we all had to endure in that quarter… No goals in the quarter… I remember those days.

Roll on to the second quarter and the show rolled on. Like one of those lounge lizard cover bands that used to traipse around the venues, they showed they knew the songs but lacked the polish to really sell them and finish them off. A full half of footy and a solitary goal to show for it all. It all brought back so many memories.

The boys had a break and came back in the second half to remind Max and Tom that there has been some good Demon footy in recent years. They went to work and found a rhythm that the Lounge Lizards would have been proud of. Worked hard for each other and ran hard and connected.

By the last quarter it looked like the boys knew they could run down the Blues and they showed TMax what the future might be like.

A few observations:

·        Need some work on preparation for the game so we hit the first quarter turned on. Maybe next game we get the boys to play a quarter in the carpark to get them up to speed before the game.

·        Loved the re-set and changes the coaching team managed to bring to the quarter time and halftime breaks. Showed me a few things. The Coaches are thinking and have the ideas to turn the team around during the match and the players have the ability to respond to them.

·        Sparrow was good as a mid. Hope to see him back it up next week.

·        Pickett of the K variety was wonderful. Quick of mind and body with the talent to execute the impossible.

·        I liked what we saw of Langford, Lindsay and Windsor. Langford looked fully engaged and his couple of goals might just be the trigger for a stream of good form. Lindsy showed a couple of good touches and had a bit of the ball. I still think he is better suited to a wing position at this stage of his journey. Windsor is silk, moves well and has that deceptive slow-motion time with the ball. Each of these will be good players for the club.

·        It has all been said about Max. The man is a unicorn. A fabled beast that should not exist. I, for one, am very bloody happy that he has been pulling on the red and blue for 250 games.

·        Prior to this season, I had doubts about Tholstrup and Sharp. While I still have niggling whispers about them, they have shown some excellent signs in the game so far. Great to see them come on so much in the off season.

·        Just re-read the and I need to mention Howes. He is coming along nicely. Really noticed him during the game. Did some really good things.

I could go on and on, but it is not necessary to gild the lily too much. A great game, one for the ages. An historic comeback on one of the club’s great occasions in front of 68,000 fans.

I think I will refer to this game as the Marigold game, because, as they say in the movie, “Everything will be all right in the end and if it is not all right, it is not the end.”

P.S. Please note that there is no mention of the opposition in the above. They were irrelevant to our celebration.

Agree, I think Howes is a little gem, and is coming along real well. Calm under pressure and usually very good with the ball.

I have really liked Sharp, and Sparrow had a great game. For once I wasn’t wondering if he played.

Kozzie is a freak.

Gawn is Gawn.

Lever was fantastic on Sunday. Hope he can do that more often.

Salem had good and bad moments.

I worry when Bowey comes back, and when AMW comes in. I already feel we can’t defend big forwards.

10 hours ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Howe, Tapscott, Frostball, Trengrove, Hunty, Spargs.

Matt Jones, Dean Terlich & Corey Maynard?

9 hours ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

Looking incredible for 47.

(Kate Hore would also be incredibly surprised to find out that this is Grgic.)

Why??

10 hours ago, biggestred said:

There were quite a few players there. This is pregame. Bonus points if you can name them all

20260329_141932.jpg

Kinda great that all the blokes Gawn and Tmac are closest with are a bunch of battlers and coulda-beens.

9 hours ago, Superunknown said:

Classy of Andy Maher for the well done max but next minute some next level sooking about listening to the dees song

Geez that was good to listen to

Reminds me of the last ever game at Princes Park. We won and after the game they played the Blues song! My brother and I were having none of that,we belted out It's A Grand Old Flag while leaving our seats and down the aisle of Jack Elliot's Legends Stand.

Once again we killed the clock with 2 minutes to go beautifully.

Nice coaching Kingy.

Still not sure how we turned that game on its head apart from our senior core all standing up and never giving in but then Chandler, Sharp, Sparrow are tough and offensive players who can also defend, then Howes, Windsor, Tholstrup, Langford and Lindsay all contributed in a big way, even Latrelle and Paddy were up and about. But Kozzie was sublime, Max dominated, Rick was back to his old self, Fritta came alive and kicked the goals that needed to be kicked, Steele tough and hard all day and that was Spazz’s best game since the granny. I was disappointed for Riv not to be out on the park celebrating with Max and TMac, that would have really hurt.

6 minutes ago, DeeZone said:

Still not sure how we turned that game on its head apart from our senior core all standing up and never giving in but then Chandler, Sharp, Sparrow are tough and offensive players who can also defend, then Howes, Windsor, Tholstrup, Langford and Lindsay all contributed in a big way, even Latrelle and Paddy were up and about. But Kozzie was sublime, Max dominated, Rick was back to his old self, Fritta came alive and kicked the goals that needed to be kicked, Steele tough and hard all day and that was Spazz’s best game since the granny. I was disappointed for Riv not to be out on the park celebrating with Max and TMac, that would have really hurt.

Not sure he would have been too upset, I think he was out for management of injury (Rivers).

He celebrated Cross’ goal and seemed authentic about it.

You can go onto the SEN app & listen to Fireball with David King

& Kane Cornes interviewing Kingy. Whilst I’m not a great lover of the hosts …I really enjoy listening to our coach & found what he said really interesting.

3 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

It might take until Steele moves out but Langford mostly needs some work on his defensive pressure and tackling, if/when that happens he’ll move inside.

I wouldn’t totally rule out Kolt, they’re giving him the tagging jobs for a reason and he has moments that look like a strong midfielder.

Windsor has already added lots of size, he’ll end up a strong boy. He’ll never be a bull but hopefully he learns a few more ways to win contested ball. Kozzie has all his spins, taps and weaves to win clearances without relying on strength.

5 hours ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Yeh good point.

I guess Steele and Viney are enough for our “bulls”. Wonder who we go for when those two hang up the boots?

We certainly have the speed already, they just need to polish their craft.

In saying that, we have Kozzie who put on heaps of beef in maybe 1 or 2 seasons. Wonder if he can teach the other young boys like Windsor and co how to stack it on.

Langford Sparrow Rivers will provide grunt and class, maybe Kolt too who must be learning lots from the best in his tagging roles. Lindsay

Windsor,, Sharp, Kozzie and maybe even Cuzzy for run and flair. Who knows about Onley and or Taylor?