View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Since we are in self-destruct mode... interesting view on Guerra from Bomberblitz image.png

Essendon wouldn’t recognise what an achievement or success looked like, it’s been so long.

Most of them want Sheedy and Hird to return, the buffoons.

2 hours ago, Dave1711 said:

I curse my old man for pushing this club on me, up the dog park and a mate goes just change, it’s a ludicrous statement, you’re born to support a club and stick with them. This club has been the hardest to stick with, this is Neeld all over again, first time coach comes in and thinks that being uncompromising is the way to do it, he’s gonna fail and he’s gonna fail big time.

I’ll never forget King kicking Jeff White in the head, it was right in front of me, well he’s doing it again, kicking the whole club in the head, Steven King is going to fail and fail badly, he’s a bad choice, we should have given it to Buckley, but NO, the club wants an answer right now, can’t wait another frickin’ day, I’m too old to go through this [censored] again🙄

Great to have positive true supporters like you 😠😠

6 hours ago, Demonsone said:

What’s occurred at our club over the last 2 seasons has been diabolical and losing our premiership heroes this way with no send off is very sad, it’s a reflection of poor club mgt, not withstanding that its self inflicted by the players themselves through poor choices or egos way too big

So should we have had some preemptive send offs in our last game, just in case Would have been a great morale booster

2 hours ago, RickyJ45 said:

Since we are in self-destruct mode... interesting view on Guerra from Bomberblitz image.png

You know what?

The opinion of a random at Bomberblitz doesn’t carry much credibility with me.

2 hours ago, RickyJ45 said:

sour grapes

I'm getting concerned.

King has come in with very firm, confident lines, but the last time we saw that we ended up with a season percentage of like 52%.

We're losing McVee, who chose to leave after meeting King.

We have shown May the door.

Let Petracca choose where he wants to go and now lost any chance of a reasonable trade with Flanders choosing St Kilda, unless GC magically decides to give us Humphries.

We've told Oliver that he is a VFL player in a 14th-placed team, meaning we'll get peanuts for him and still pay $700k of his salary until the end of the decade.

We have Jack Viney touring facilities.

I don't know. I think everyone needs to buckle in.

10 hours ago, Demonsone said:

What’s occurred at our club over the last 2 seasons has been diabolical and losing our premiership heroes this way with no send off is very sad, it’s a reflection of poor club mgt, not withstanding that its self inflicted by the players themselves through poor choices or egos way too big

That seems problematic. If Petracca knew he was leaving he would've had to tell everyone before his last match. There's no rule. But unlike the NRL it's not commonly done. Besides, any money the majority of our fans would've booed rather cheered this send-off . Similarly even if before May smirked, while Gawn talked of learning to win the close games, his fate has been decided players arent normally told this during the season. Then theres Oliver whose fate may have depended on a coach that, short of us rushing to choose Buckley, was never going to put in the due diligence Oliver's future deserved while also flat out with their current team's prep for the finals. Im not sure how this send-off wouldve worked.

Edited by Go Ds

12 minutes ago, praha said:

I'm getting concerned.

King has come in with very firm, confident lines, but the last time we saw that we ended up with a season percentage of like 52%.

Let Petracca choose where he wants to go and now lost any chance of a reasonable trade with Flanders choosing St Kilda, unless GC magically decides to give us Humphries.

We've told Oliver that he is a VFL player in a 14th-placed team, meaning we'll get peanuts for him and still pay $700k of his salary until the end of the decade.

Sorry, are you saying Roos and Goody weren't confident?!

1 minute ago, Go Ds said:

Sorry, are you saying Roos and Goody weren't confident?!

Roos was a teacher, he put his arm around blokes. Yes he was firm and he held players to account but he was also quite zen. Confident is a given.

Goodwin was also quite tempered. I don't think he held players to account enough. And when he started to (ie. Lever this year) it came as a shock and fractured the playing group.

I guess what I am saying is that King is coming in and speaking like as if he's the principal of a school for troubled youths.

There is a tough balancing act, maybe King has been briefed that he needs to be a hard [censored]? I don't know. It might explain dumping May and Oliver, I am not massively hurt by that, but collectively with everything it does seem a little like we are losing control.

21 minutes ago, praha said:

Praha, you should get a job as a footy journo with that sort of misleading tabloid sentence. It seems widely held McVee was always leaving so it had nothing to do with 'chose to leave after meeting King'.

6 hours ago, RickyJ45 said:

Essendon don't know what success looks like, did they even do DVDs of there last finals win or was it all on VHS?

2 minutes ago, MurDoc516 said:

Essendon don't know what success looks like, did they even do DVDs of there last finals win or was it all on VHS?

Always been a media tart and regarded as a bit of a [censored] in business circles. Having him and Green in charge is a horrible state of affairs. Along with a new inexperienced senior coach who is in serious need of mentoring, or at least some kind of minder.

6 hours ago, RickyJ45 said:

I have heard similar so that’s not great…

But whatever, how important can a CEO be anyway

59 minutes ago, praha said:

I'm getting concerned.

????

12 minutes ago, john delosa said:

????

Was wondering the same thing.

4 hours ago, monoccular said:

Great to have positive true supporters like you 😠😠

So should we have had some preemptive send offs in our last game, just in case Would have been a great morale booster

Sorry, that sentence legitimately made me laugh out loud—not just the emoji :) I pictured it in my head and imagined the chaos that would have ensued.

34 minutes ago, rpfc said:

I have heard similar so that’s not great…

But whatever, how important can a CEO be anyway

I believe little that I hear and only half of what I see, everyone has their own narrative. The proof will be in the eating, we don’t need to start white anting our our new leaders based on heresy. We will judge them on their successes and failures at MFC. Despite a lot on here downplaying Pert and Roffe we managed to snare ‘21 AFL Premiership plus ‘22 VFL flag sand ‘23 VFLW Flags under their reign.

13 hours ago, Go Ds said:

Umm Frost has been delisted.

And yet he played AFL this year - for a much better team. At the time we preferred Oscar McD & Tomlinson to him.

Evidence of another List management FAIL.

2 hours ago, praha said:

I'm getting concerned.

Jack is touring facilities for a different reason. Not to leave the club lol

One way or another it's going to be a very interesting season. For many reasons.

Alas, I'm calling early the lions for the trifecta

4 hours ago, MurDoc516 said:

We’ve won one flag since super8 was invented so we can’t be too smug.

Edited by demosaw

4 hours ago, Harves said:

Jack is touring facilities for a different reason. Not to leave the club lol

Oh yeah? I have it on good authority that he wants to play for Waverley next year. Watch this space. Or not.

2 minutes ago, Demonstone said:

Oh yeah? I have it on good authority that he wants to play for Waverley next year. Watch this space. Or not.

Haha this is brilliant :) did you hear it in a coffee shop? 🤣 more mayo pls!!!!!

I think we definitely needed a change and I'm all for cleaning out the list and making some tough calls on stalwarts like May and Petracca but I just can't see what the plan is to replace these guys with A-graders. Does King think that we have the talent already on the list? That would be the easiest solution but I just can't see us going far with what we've got at the moment. We don't seem capable of enticing any free agents of great quality (sorry Mihocek, I'm sure you'll be serviceable), apparently the draft this year is quite shallow and we currently don't have any good picks in there anyway, and when Tassie comes in, forget about it. Not to mention, we'll be paying out Oliver's salary if he goes for years to come and players like Gawn and Viney probably only have a couple of good years left. It looks like we're jumping off the cliff and hoping to make a parachute on the way down. I'd love to hear a sensible plan for where we go from here.

19 minutes ago, The Rebuild said:

I think we definitely needed a change and I'm all for cleaning out the list and making some tough calls on stalwarts like May and Petracca but I just can't see what the plan is to replace these guys with A-graders. Does King think that we have the talent already on the list? That would be the easiest solution but I just can't see us going far with what we've got at the moment. We don't seem capable of enticing any free agents of great quality (sorry Mihocek, I'm sure you'll be serviceable), apparently the draft this year is quite shallow and we currently don't have any good picks in there anyway, and when Tassie comes in, forget about it. Not to mention, we'll be paying out Oliver's salary if he goes for years to come and players like Gawn and Viney probably only have a couple of good years left. It looks like we're jumping off the cliff and hoping to make a parachute on the way down. I'd love to hear a sensible plan for where we go from here.

Umm, did King plan to move on Trac?! Are May and Oliver still A grade? Recent years suggest no. And if players are actually ruining team morale/ culture get rid of them now.

On 02/10/2025 at 16:07, DubDee said:

Harmes, Jordon and Spargo weren’t even best 22

Spargo is cooked.

On 03/10/2025 at 23:23, Go Ds said:

Umm Frost has been delisted.

Exactly, and featured in two games in 2025 after playing 25 last year.