View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

21 minutes ago, BKKBooga said:

I would love to see Steven King get Nigel Lappin to the club. Arguably the best development coach in the competition.

He and Scarlett wld be icing on the cake but I’m personally super excited for King & his style! Has played HUGE role in GFC ball movement excellence and he knows he’s the coach we need which for me is a great sign..

Sure it’d be good to upgrade list w/Mihocek, Flanders or Windhager, Heath.. but even if we don’t get them done it’s an exciting time and yes as many have said it MAY be a period of adjustment but it also might take immediately imho we have the talent and are 1-2 more good users away from success its such a marginal league we need some luck of course but no ceiling on right now or floor for that matter I suppose!

I'm not sure if Matt Scarlett is involved at a senior level with any club, but he did coach one of Torquay's U14 sides this season. His two boys Harry and Oliver both played in the division one side which won the premiership last Saturday. Harry also won the League B&F which effectively makes him the best U14 footballer in the Geelong region. The boys are 13 & 14 yo and are 191cm and 193cm. (BTW neither play in the ruck. Torquay's ruckman is taller!

Edited by M_9

3 hours ago, Adam The God said:

$1.8 billion? Surely not...

That's right, there's the inevitable overruns to consider. Will probably end up being more.

If you get a chance, look up the great clip of utopia where they talk about building a stadium in Tassie years ago.

It's very good.

Why not just grow the game across the country with what they've got for a start.

Metricon (gold coast) has been half empty for a decade

8 hours ago, Oxdee said:

McRae took over Buckley and got the ground running.

Now do all the times when new coaches have come in and clubs have gone backwards or remained average/mediocre.

Cherry-picking at its finest.

“If I was a Melbourne member, I don’t think I’d be happy with the way we’ve arrived at Steven King as our coach."

- Sam McClure

HE CAN FUCCCK OFF !! We would never accept McClure as a member. He’s a genuine piece of trash. Always negative about the Dees … always!!!

24 minutes ago, bing181 said:

Now do all the times when new coaches have come in and clubs have gone backwards or remained average/mediocre.

Cherry-picking at its finest.

Whats wrong with Cherry-picking if its a decent comparison for something we could aim for?

If things were to turn around next season (sorry to be so positive). But if they did then it would be very similar in terms of timeline/playing group along with coaching changes resulting in success as Collingwood have done in recent times. From our 2021 to 2026 the path back to success could look very similar.

2018 - Buckleys Pies lose the GF by 5 points

2019 - Pies lose a Prelim Final

2020 - Pies get knocked out in a Semi Final

2021 - Pies miss out on finals

2022 - Under new coach McCrae in his first season Pies make a Prelim and lose by a goal

2023 - Pies win the flag with 9 players who also played in the 2018 GF

Now I understand that in that time between 2019-2021 Collingwood picked up both Daicos' and other excellent recruits along with some luck with injuries.

BUT why can't we look at this as some hope that with 14-15 2021 GF players, a new coach/playing style along with some list changes that we might be able to get back into finals.

I prefer this to pulling out all the failed new coaches with new clubs to bring our spirits down. I'll stick with Collingwood and GC as good recent examples of new coach = better team, because why not?

Edited by Young Blood

44 minutes ago, Young Blood said:

Whats wrong with Cherry-picking if its a decent comparison for something we could aim for?

Because by definition, it's not in any way representative. It's an outlier.

Yze, McQualter, Clarkson and Brad Scott say high.

(In any case, the post I responded to had nothing to do with what we could aim for.)

2 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

“If I was a Melbourne member, I don’t think I’d be happy with the way we’ve arrived at Steven King as our coach."

- Sam McClure

Looks like the school experience kid is at it again. [censored] he is like a cockroach that u can’t get rid of.

BTW if he were a dees supporter i sure as hell wouldn’t be!!!

1 hour ago, bing181 said:

Because by definition, it's not in any way representative. It's an outlier.

Yze, McQualter, Clarkson and Brad Scott say high.

(In any case, the post I responded to had nothing to do with what we could aim for.)

lol so you're examples of failed coaches are ones that inherited lists in full rebuild mode.

None of those coaches joined teams that were only a few years beyond a GF and two prelims and have the type of list we have.

Actually, maybe you're onto something by setting the bar that low.

2 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

- Sam McClure

HE CAN FUCCCK OFF !! We would never accept McClure as a member. He’s a genuine piece of trash. Always negative about the Dees … always!!!

I can see he is at a golf day I’m going to tomorrow, so will tell him 95% of Melbournes most revered supporters are delighted with Stephen King! Revered = Demonland of course!

The main concern that is beginning to become a problem for the AFL and Coach King of course is that the media are persisting in ridiculing a decision made by an AFL team that is representing them, the AFL, in a competitive environment that is not their place to encroach on.

The AFL are quite within their rights to possibly seek damages of harassment from the Media holistically both on their, the AFL'S behalf, and indeed on behalf of a new Coach, making his way in a very unsavoury atmosphere.

Edited by Willmoy1947
Spelling error

17 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

No, we absolutely shouldn't.

Sydney players hated him as a coach and his off field behaviour at country level was toxic in some ways.

Is that you Caro?
Rumour and innuendo.
Players at yarrawonga had no problem and won a flag and runner-up the next year.
This year he took his team in Geelong from bottom to elimination final.

Results.

Edited by Fork 'em

6 hours ago, D4Life said:

I can see he is at a golf day I’m going to tomorrow, so will tell him 95% of Melbournes most revered supporters are delighted with Stephen King! Revered = Demonland of course!

Maybe you can ask him if he ever had any mates at school who kinda liked a girl a bit and asked her out on a date but told her in the process that he's gunna ask her best friend who he really likes out on a date next week.

And he's more than happy to take her out if it all falls through with her best mate next week.

That tactic always worked a treat.

Fantastic that the panel asked the question and then booted him out.

7 hours ago, Fork 'em said:

Is that you Caro?
Rumour and innuendo.
Players at yarrawonga had no problem and won a flag and runner-up the next year.
This year he took his team in Geelong from bottom to elimination final.

Results.

Nah mate not rumour at all.

The won the flag because of the talent he had on display not because of his coaching. You and I could have coached that team to a flag.

Not surprising that you're probably one of those that still think the stabbing incident was 'accidental'

Stevie has found his level at country footy. He can stay there for good.

12 hours ago, D4Life said:

Please update us regarding this

11 hours ago, Fork 'em said:

This year he [Steve Johnson] took his team in Geelong from bottom to elimination final.

Results.

Mark Neeld took South Barwon to GF's in 2023 and 2024 for the first time in 8 years. What about getting him back on board?

I'm a 'nay'.

Edited by M_9

If May has been given the DCM then a gutsy call by King.

20 minutes ago, Fritta and Turner said:

If May has been given the DCM then a gutsy call by King.

Again, King is not the only list management decision maker. Nor should he be.

16 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Again, King is not the only list management decision maker. Nor should he be.

Of course not, but Goody loved May.

I think now is the right time to move him on. He won't get any better, his speed is declining, and culturally he is hit and miss.

I love May, he's one of my favourites. Lovely guy, ultra competitive, a great teacher, but ultimately he has his problems.

As a veteran he doesn't bring the same level of professionalism and leadership that we get from Tmac and Melksham, and I also don't think he will be the type that takes playing for Casey on the chin.

Plus if another club gives him 2-3 year deal, it helps his family financially and good on him for getting it if he can.

He would be a perfect fit for the Dogs.