View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Huge reality check for him

No other FC wanted him

Needs to work his backside off now

1 hour ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

Personally, I see it like this:

My impression is that despite a bit of what appears to be in the moment rashness and some mildy rough interpersonal skills, Maysie is a smart guy, with a solid character. I suspect he'll reflect on his circumstances and make the right choices.

If May feels he has it in him to play on beyond this season, he'll do everything he can to get his body and attitude right.  If he's not getting games in the MFC seniors to give opportunities to Adams & Co, then it would serve his interests to be playing his [censored] off at Casey and proving to a potential suitor in need of a full back, that he's still got what it takes.

If his body is pretty shot and he no longer has the out and out motivation to push himself to the elite level, then I do think he's got the leadership capacity to become a great mentor to our up and coming young player as well as playing the odd cameo as seniors depth.

Maysie chose to come to us in the best years of his career, when we were crying out for his sort of quality defender and for the most part delivered, being on of, if not the best key position defender for the most successful period in the club's modern history and was an absolute rock in our backline.  He put his big body on the line for us on a regular basis and has taken huge hits as a consequence - cheek bone broken by Hawins, fractured ribs from Chol, concussion from De Koning to name but a few.

Overall, I think through his service to the MFC, he has well and truly earnt the right to be respected and to go out on his terms this season.  If that means realitivly plodding in the VFL, while enjoying his footy, compared what his best performance level is, then so be it.

P.S - If his time is up at some point this season I'd love to see him go out with a game at the seniors at the MCG and I guarantee he would go out with an outstanding ovation from the MFC faithful. I actually think the club needs to make this happen to heal some of the recent trauma at the club.

I get he doesnt have a great history. But the stuff we saw this year is wildly overblown to get a headline. I agree with you regarding his passion, desire to win can somewhat distract him from the way he communicates and engages with his teammates. But those are things he can adjust. There is a bit of maturity and wisdom about him, that will be invaluable to our developing backline.

Also its funny how the media engage in witchhunt tactics in season but all is forgotten / forgiven, when he's an option to goto Collingwood, Roos or the Doggies to strengthen their backline. The only reason that did not get done, is Maysie literally has 1 year left before he will retire - i dont think he can continue to play on after this year and he knows it. Body is shot.

21 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Tommy Mac came back strong from his near death experience. I back May to do the same. Needs to get his body 100% and start doing some yoga so he can touch his toes....

The Yoga part is where I stand, I have a hunch that May became very comfortable knowing he’d be given first crack without any recourse.

He needs to do absolutely everything right to be considered in the AFL side, all those little extras add up at his age - does he have the desire to do it?

It’s a very strong message from the club and I completely agree with them.

I hope he turns it round but am equally happy to see the young boys move past him (and lever) on a permanent basis

Edited by BW511

16 hours ago, bing181 said:

I wouldn't. He's only got a year left and he would just take the place of one of our younger forwards who need game time and experience.

Having a forward line built around players well over 30 (May, Mihoceck, Melksham) is how you make yourself irrelevant going forward.

Tell that to Jack Gunston and Jeremy Cameron

From the Paul Guerra article 18.10.25

LET ME BE CLEAR, YOU ARE SACKING ME”

Grand final hero Steven May couldn’t catch a break in 2025.

He played just 16 games, forwards kicked goals on him for fun at times and his spat with Max Gawn after the King’s Birthday loss was unedifying.

Then he was the subject of trade week tumbleweeds as rivals ignored him when the Demons made clear he was available.

“It’s one of the best meetings I’ve had,” Guerra says, adamant May was always on board with the club’s moves.

We sat Steven down and said, ‘Steve, you got 12 months to run. To be honest with you, we’re probably not renewing you at the end of next year. So when we’re having a chat to you this time next year, we’re probably saying goodbye to you. We’ve got a good crop of youth coming through, and we have to play them, otherwise we’re going to lose them, and they’re in the spot that you’re occupying. So to you mate, we’re probably going to prioritise youth over you, and if that means you want to go and look for another option, then do it.’

“He stopped, and he looked at us, and he said, ‘I totally get it’.

“He said, ‘The club’s been so good for me. I’ve got a premiership here. I’ll always love the club.’

He said, ‘But just let me be clear, you’re sacking me’,

“(I said) ‘No, we’re not sacking you’re just being honest with you.’

“He goes, ‘all right. I’ll look for a trade, but if I can’t get a trade, can I come back?’

“So in Kingy’s words you come back but earn your spot like everyone else.

“He said, ‘If I don’t get a trade I will come back in and earn my spot and commit to helping develop the kids who will take my spot.’

You can’t ask for anything more from a player. Steve King spoke to him yesterday and he’s fully charged to come back in, which is great.”

• Author
On 17/10/2025 at 09:14, Stiff Arm said:

IMO playing May in the forward line would significantly set back the development of our young forwards. We got Checkers to help them, not May.

I'm no longer interested in the past glories of our '21 premiership players. I'd be willing to bet that neither does King.

Considering Kingy was on the other side of a midfield spanking then yes, I think that would be a fair assumption lol

Steven May is a superior and more versatile footballer than Lever or TMac and I'd struggle to see Adams played ahead of him unless we're full development mode. The reason he was on the trade table wasn't about football abilty. I think he has to figure in best 23 and if he can reform his ways under the new regime maybe there's an extension there.

9 minutes ago, old55 said:

Steven May is a superior and more versatile footballer than Lever or TMac and I'd struggle to see Adams played ahead of him unless we're full development mode. The reason he was on the trade table wasn't about football abilty. I think he has to figure in best 23 and if he can reform his ways under the new regime maybe there's an extension there.

As things stand, I'd prefer no Lever or May in 2027, so it'll be interesting to see how Lever goes in this new system.

Edited by Adam The God

23 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

From the Paul Guerra article 18.10.25

LET ME BE CLEAR, YOU ARE SACKING ME”

Grand final hero Steven May couldn’t catch a break in 2025.

He played just 16 games, forwards kicked goals on him for fun at times and his spat with Max Gawn after the King’s Birthday loss was unedifying.

Then he was the subject of trade week tumbleweeds as rivals ignored him when the Demons made clear he was available.

“It’s one of the best meetings I’ve had,” Guerra says, adamant May was always on board with the club’s moves.

We sat Steven down and said, ‘Steve, you got 12 months to run. To be honest with you, we’re probably not renewing you at the end of next year. So when we’re having a chat to you this time next year, we’re probably saying goodbye to you. We’ve got a good crop of youth coming through, and we have to play them, otherwise we’re going to lose them, and they’re in the spot that you’re occupying. So to you mate, we’re probably going to prioritise youth over you, and if that means you want to go and look for another option, then do it.’

“He stopped, and he looked at us, and he said, ‘I totally get it’.

“He said, ‘The club’s been so good for me. I’ve got a premiership here. I’ll always love the club.’

“(I said) ‘No, we’re not sacking you’re just being honest with you.’

“He goes, ‘all right. I’ll look for a trade, but if I can’t get a trade, can I come back?’

“So in Kingy’s words you come back but earn your spot like everyone else.

“He said, ‘If I don’t get a trade I will come back in and earn my spot and commit to helping develop the kids who will take my spot.’

You can’t ask for anything more from a player. Steve King spoke to him yesterday and he’s fully charged to come back in, which is great.”

Easy Campesi. Next....

Petracca and Oliver, you two the same....

12 minutes ago, old55 said:

May lost his versatility this year to negate the Gunston, Georgiades, Elliot tyoes but he will still be good locking down on taller forwards. You won't be able to play both May and TMac. How Lever fits in and whether that is at Casey or MFC will be an interesting watch.

Play him against GCS. Crack a few ribs!

From the article it appears that everything is going well with May. With the exception of Oliver i Think we have done well in this trade period

2 hours ago, Newport34 said:

Play him against GCS. Crack a few ribs!

Vent a spleen?

16 minutes ago, gs77 said:

Vent a spleen?

Already did that

Gawn didn’t appreciate it

For all that his petulant moments this season have annoyed me, I do feel a share of sympathy for him going into almost certainly his last season, with a clear need to undergo a bit of transformation of both body and play style, and not a great prospect of a glorious result anyway.

It'll be a credit to him if he does stand up and be the good teammate as well asadalt enough to spend most of the season in the first 23.

On the other hand, he'll be paid as much as most people get for ten years or more of work with all its strains and [censored] bosses and horrible clients, so if he can't manage to deliver on KPIs as basic as 'be kind, commit to the little extras, have the humilityto support others to perform their role', then it is a failed test of character.

I'll choose to be optimistic and I'll look forward to celebrating his fascinating career when the time comes.

I reckon if they can get a tad improvement happening with his off the mark burst speed, somewhere near where he was even as late as 2023 - mid 24, we may still have ourselves one of the best backman going that's capable of taking on the somewhat less mobile key forwards.

Subject to the above match up 'smarts' from Kingy and Co. he just still might be our most valuable key tall defender in 2026.

Having said that i have no idea where his body is at at this late stage. Only Maysie will know the answer to that obviously.

It's all in the closing speed, strength in the 1 v 1s and repeats that might bring him back to near his very best (most weeks... not expecting miracles at his age. Just get him up and going for the big challenges).

Edited by Demon Dynasty

Best news of trade week keeping Maysie. Has had his ego clipped and will have something to prove. Love it

On 17/10/2025 at 03:49, DeeZee said:

Tell that to Jack Gunston and Jeremy Cameron

Both the Hawks and Cats play their experienced forwards alongside emerging forwards (Deer and Neale for starters).

In any case, I said "built around", not "including". Experience up forward is invaluable, but you can't have your young KPF's running round in the VFL because you've got 3 old blokes keeping them out.

I understand he's had some pretty ordinary behaviour over the years but I don't think that's the main issue.

His body has not been quite right for years and he's losing his speed and agility.

He has to get his speed back or he's just not a lock for the seniors in my opinion.