View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (â‹®) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Posted

It’s Wildcard Weekend in the VFL with the Casey Demons taking a well earned rest after the heroics of last week against Box Hill.

Richmond VFL take on UWS Giants at Port Melbourne on Saturday with Collingwood playing host to Williamstown at Victoria Park.

Casey will enter the finals next weekend under a complex system that will determine which team plays which going forward.

IMG_2482.jpeg

In other VFL news, the future of the standalone Northern Bullants, who have recently reverted to their original name, the Preston Bullants, is under threat. Appeals are being made for financial support to ensure the financially strained club remains viable.

This might have already been covered before but does anyone know the eligibility criteria for VFL finals and is there a list of MFC players eligible to play out the VFL season from here on?

Thanks in advance.

12 hours ago, KC from Casey said:

In other VFL news, the future of the standalone Northern Bullants, who have recently reverted to their original name, the Preston Bullants, is under threat. Appeals are being made for financial support to ensure the financially strained club remains viable.

Preston has always had finance troubles in recent times. What is different for them that Coburg, Frankston etc avoid I wonder

• Author
32 minutes ago, Rolling Stone said:

This might have already been covered before but does anyone know the eligibility criteria for VFL finals and is there a list of MFC players eligible to play out the VFL season from here on?

Thanks in advance.

I ran your question through an AI program and got the following response:-

The selection criteria for Victorian Football League (VFL) finals matches regarding players from AFL-affiliated clubs depend on several factors:

1.      Eligibility: AFL-listed players can play for their VFL affiliate if they're not selected in the AFL team. However, if an AFL club is not playing finals, players who have played with an AFL Senior team after July 1 of the season are ineligible to play in VFL finals unless they've played at least six senior VFL or AFL Victoria Development League matches that season.

2.      AFL Club Involvement: If an AFL club is involved in AFL finals and its VFL affiliate is also in VFL finals, players not selected in the AFL team can play with the VFL affiliate.

3.      Game Experience: VFL finals are considered different from the home-and-away season, and AFL clubs often allow young players to gain experience in the increased intensity of VFL finals. 

4.      Selection Panel Criteria: Selection panels consider factors such as:

* Past Performance: A player's performance in previous matches, including club football and regional representative teams.

* Potential: A player's potential to perform well in the competition and play in the AFL.

* Attitude and Commitment: A player's attitude to training and commitment to team rules and principles.

* Football Skills: A player's ability to perform football skills to a high level.

* Fitness and Athleticism: A player's fitness and athleticism, including meeting specific levels of fitness shown by testing and indicators.

* Versatility: A player's ability to play in multiple positions. 

It's worth noting that each club has its own selection panel, which includes the Region Manager, Coach, and other appointed persons with experience in player selection and coaching. 

Based on the above criteria, the following MFC-listed players are eligible to play in the finals for Casey:

Jed Adams, Jack Billings, Kynan Brown, Tom Campbell, Jai Culley, Tom Fullarton, Jack Henderson, Marty Hore, Blake Howes, Matthew Jefferson, Aidan Johnson, Luker Kentfield ,Bailey Laurie, Ricky Mentha Jnr, Oliver Sestan, Koltyn Tholstrup, Will Verrell and Taj Woewodin  

Hore, Jefferson and possibly Henderson are in the doubtful category due to injury while Shane McAdam and Andy Moniz-Wakefield who technically qualify, have been on the inactive list all season.

• Author
2 minutes ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

Spargo? Sharp?

Going by the criteria posted above, Charlie Spargo appears to be ineligible because according to my records, he played an AFL game after July 1 and only 5 VFL games during the season. Harry Sharp played only 3 VFL games this season.

9 minutes ago, KC from Casey said:

Going by the criteria posted above, Charlie Spargo appears to be ineligible because according to my records, he played an AFL game after July 1 and only 5 VFL games during the season. Harry Sharp played only 3 VFL games this season.

A shame re Charlie: he was pretty big (in one marking contest, almost literally!) against the Boxhawks.

1 hour ago, KC from Casey said:

Jed Adams, Jack Billings, Kynan Brown, Tom Campbell, Jai Culley, Tom Fullarton, Jack Henderson, Marty Hore, Blake Howes, Matthew Jefferson, Aidan Johnson, Luker Kentfield ,Bailey Laurie, Ricky Mentha Jnr, Oliver Sestan, Koltyn Tholstrup, Will Verrell and Taj Woewodin  

Hore, Jefferson and possibly Henderson are in the doubtful category due to injury while Shane McAdam and Andy Moniz-Wakefield who technically qualify, have been on the inactive list all season.

I reckon that group plus the best of the Casey-listed players has a fairly good chance of taking the flag.

While the seniors are done for the year, I'm looking forward to watching Casey push for some more silverware and they're a decent chance at that in my opinion.

Looking forward to seeing more of Kentfield, Jefferson, Tholstup, Adams, Mentha and Culley while the likes of Campbell, Spargo, Billings, Laurie, Woewodin and Brown deserve to see a tough year out on a high.

Get around them.

Edited by Random Task

Thanks @KC from Casey 15 eligible for first week of the finals. Likely have to win 4 in a row which is a very tough assignment

Assume they will have Bonner, Baldi, Cross, Freeman, Lual, Deakyn Smith, Hardie & likely either Sruk or Bryce as the 8 Casey listed group.

So Collingwood are currently playing Williamstown in a close game.

If I'm reading the wildcard finals fixture correctly we will play one of Richmond or Williamstown.

If Collingwood wins against Williamstown we play Richmond.

If Williamstown wins against Collingwood we play Williamstown.

I used to hate the wildcard idea. But Collingwood just missed out after finishing 7th, so it's growing on me

Willy it is. Haha Collingwood.

What is the extent of Jeffo's injury??

1 hour ago, Mickey said:

I used to hate the wildcard idea. But Collingwood just missed out after finishing 7th, so it's growing on me

...and now it's fully formed on you? As @Clintosaurus said (I paraphrase),

COLLINGWOOD

Screenshot_20250824_183219_Chrome.jpg

55 minutes ago, old dee said:

No idea pf.

I THINK it’s a toe injury.

COULD keep him out of finals.

Does anyone know where and when Casey will play the first final? Looked on the AFL App, VFL homepage and Player HQ, but none have any info.

On 21/08/2025 at 22:30, KC from Casey said:

It’s Wildcard Weekend in the VFL with the Casey Demons taking a well earned rest after the heroics of last week against Box Hill.

Richmond VFL take on UWS Giants at Port Melbourne on Saturday with Collingwood playing host to Williamstown at Victoria Park.

Casey will enter the finals next weekend under a complex system that will determine which team plays which going forward.

IMG_2482.jpeg

One benefit despite the sadness if a longstanding VFA/VFL club folds is that there could then be an even number of teams thus avoiding the miserable random byes throughout the season, which seriously hampers fringe AFL listed players’ development.

6 minutes ago, Trident22 said:

Does anyone know where and when Casey will play the first final? Looked on the AFL App, VFL homepage and Player HQ, but none have any info.

Screenshot_20250824_222244_Chrome.jpg

48 minutes ago, FarNorthernD said:

Apparently 2:10, Saturday at Casey. Williamstown have a six day turnaround

Still the best time for a footy game! But then I am old.

56 minutes ago, FarNorthernD said:

Apparently 2:10, Saturday at Casey. Williamstown have a six day turnaround

🤞

14 hours ago, Harvey Wallbanger said:

Just hope it doesn't clash with the women's game at Victoria Park on Sunday.....

I was sure this would be the case. Very pleased it’s not.

I sincerely hope we get heaps of people to both matches.

Our first W home game on Saturday and the attendance was a disappointing 2151 and that’s coming off a thumping win in round one, on a clement day (by Casey standards), and it’s including Saints supporters and the added incentive of the helicopter ball drop.

Really hoping more people will attend this week’s match at Vic Park which is more accessible than Casey being that it’s closer to the city.

The VFL playing an elimination at Casey should be incentive enough. This is when we need the most support… a win this week keeps the dream alive.