View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

On 19/08/2025 at 08:51, VNightCityLegend said:

Hilarious how Collingwood and Maynard are getting their feelings hurt over harmless words, but happily applauded Maynard after deliberately knocking out and consequently retired a player. The amount of victim playing by them this week has been embarrassing.

4 weeks for Rankine in theory is an absolute joke, but the likes of Cripps wins a Brownlow for concussing a player.

knock out a player = ok with no suspension. Hurting feelings with words = multiple weeks suspension. 🤡

After hearing Maynard talk yesterday, I really want to rub salt into the wound and beat them, while also knocking them out of the top 4 in the process.

Calling someone names .. quell horeur...

Same Company hires who for entertainment !! 🤔🤔🤔🤔

I might be jaded about this game, but that doesn't mean I won't be absolutely stoked if we somehow got a win over the black and white filth. I'm just not allowing myself to dream too much.

We owe them for 2017, we had hope for last year but were never in it. If that happens again it would be disappointing but not surprising, change the narrative.

1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

would love to win by a point kicked by Maynard's opponent

15 seconds left in our forward line and Pickett drops the knees and slides to the ball whilst Maynard/Moore don’t see it coming and went for the bump and Kozzy gets the free to kick the winning goal :) Pies fans go absolute ballistic wondering how that’s a free and a suspension

Maynard goes to smother kick off Kozzies boot as Moore slides in and takes Kozzies legs out.

AS he falls Kozzies boot connects with the ball which scores the winning goal.

Maynards smother breaks Moores cheekbone while Moores slide fractures MAynards leg.

While the stretchers come out the winning goal is confirmed and the siren sounds.

Collingwood supporters accept the football acts and celebrate their heroes

35 minutes ago, dpositive said:

Maynard goes to smother kick off Kozzies boot as Moore slides in and takes Kozzies legs out.

Maynards smother breaks Moores cheekbone while Moores slide fractures MAynards leg.

While the stretchers come out the winning goal is confirmed and the siren sounds.

Following on from Dylan Shiel's suspension, you should add that both Maynard and Moore are subsequently suspended for reckless conduct causing harm to each other.

6 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Following on from Dylan Shiel's suspension, you should add that both Maynard and Moore are subsequently suspended for reckless conduct causing harm to each other.

Review by the MRO cites Pickett for reckless gathering of the ball, bans him for 12 weeks to attend spatial recognition and time space management training . MRO says Pickett should have anticipated that Collingwood players would of course perform heroic negating tactics and not attended the contest. His outthrust boot was reckless in its intent and the goal should not be allowed. Delayed Goal review processes allow the goal to be annulled and the victory be granted to the PIes.

McRae has confirmed Howe is playing. That dents our chances are fair bit. He killed us last time.

47 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

McRae has confirmed Howe is playing. That dents our chances are fair bit. He killed us last time.

I assumed Howe would be playing as he was progressing well last week from concussion.

Aside from Hill, they're basically full strength and in a good position to attack September. On King's B'day they had Maynard, Schulz, De Goey, Lipinski and potentially others out.

4 hours ago, dpositive said:

You forgot to mention the Melbourne supporters chanting ‘Mellllboourne’ whilst they are putting both players on the stretchers

Who can forget Buckley's last game as coach against us at the SCG. In an upset The Pies had their 4th win for the season whilst Melbourne had their second loss. Cameron and Mihocek kicked 7 between them.

Some wags will say we were loading but we were well off the pace that day.

I'd like to turn the screws on the Pies and upset their season - if we can keep the Daicos boys to under 78 possessions between them and only 23 frees I think we are in with a chance...

2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I assumed Howe would be playing as he was progressing well last week from concussion.

Aside from Hill, they're basically full strength and in a good position to attack September. On King's B'day they had Maynard, Schulz, De Goey, Lipinski and potentially others out.

Im hearing there is quite some disharmony within the playing group. Obviously i cannot say what/why but it does go to some extent explaining the Pies recent performances. Geez i hope their dreams come tumbling down and we knock them out of the top 4 with an away game to play the Suns or GWS in the QF.

I would love if the boys decided to put in a last big effort for the final game of the season. Really put it up to the pies.

I have no faith that they will. I’ll be going in hope rather than expectation.

I don't actually mind this...

Bit of very left field thinking that if not "work" might certainly provide something to play with...

No image preview

Healy: How Melbourne can avoid the demise of a key Demon

Could the Dees have a look at this?
35 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

I don't actually mind this...

Bit of very left field thinking that if not "work" might certainly provide something to play with...

No image preview

Healy: How Melbourne can avoid the demise of a key Demon

Could the Dees have a look at this?

With you and Gerard on this. Back to his junior roots. I've posted thus elsewhere (rare actual footy commentary on my part!😄)

Tactic 1

May to full forward. I like it. He can kick goals

Ps Bowey back to half back

Tactic 2

Dees ponder Daicos tag YES… absolutely tag the little magician He hates a contest and tight tag Send our best runner Langdon or even perhaps Sharp or rotate through with other mids including Viney Daicos has elite run so Langdon makes sense

Stop Daicos getting 3-votes N.Daicos

Tactic 3

More of a “your [censored] kidding me”… don’t kick it to Jeremy Howe !!! Dees hit him as the target in the last game Ffs it was our stupid dump kicks show

They can be reminded of their sensitivity to language. Perhaps line up next to your opponents and say me and my team mate heard you make an offensive remark. Youd better self report.

Irrespective of anything else I suspect many of the lads taking the field tomorrow night would do well to understand this may well be the last time a lot of those who were once the illustrious 21 GF team will ever play together again.

Somewhat melancholy I grant you but once that final siren goes and players gather in the change rooms that will be it for some as Melbourne Players. Possibly it, as an AFL players altogether. There does indeed come a time.

To those that made 21 possible I say thankyou. To those at more the start of careers than the end I wish you well and continued success. To those that have hard decisions awaiting or decisions alrrady made on their behalf I hope you take full advantage of whatever awaits.

There is so much more than football but tomorrow, for those few hours when you don the Red and Blue be proud to do so and combat valiantly.

The pages of a chapter close tomorrow. Another one will start regardless.

On 18/08/2025 at 23:02, Harvey Wallbanger said:

Don't think so - reckon it was No. 21.

Different incident HW. Smith (35) despatches Filth No 24 a few seconds after Jim Durnan (21) settles another score.

1 hour ago, beelzebub said:

indeed. New coach. New chapter,

A door shuts but another opens just looks different

Onward and upward KHS motto from years ago

Go Dee’s

Extremely pleased that I believed we were no chance to get the Friday night game, and therefore went ahead and made plans.

Not sure I can end this miserable season watching the Pies beat us. Again. It's been hard enough already.

The Dees don't do left field stuff , not in the coaches DNA. This match is like the Killer Whales chasing the fairy penguin. The teams that cares v the team that has checked out. I am hoping that I am wrong.

3 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Irrespective of anything else I suspect many of the lads taking the field tomorrow night would do well to understand this may well be the last time a lot of those who were once the illustrious 21 GF team will ever play together again.

Somewhat melancholy I grant you but once that final siren goes and players gather in the change rooms that will be it for some as Melbourne Players. Possibly it, as an AFL players altogether. There does indeed come a time.

To those that made 21 possible I say thankyou. To those at more the start of careers than the end I wish you well and continued success. To those that have hard decisions awaiting or decisions alrrady made on their behalf I hope you take full advantage of whatever awaits.

There is so much more than football but tomorrow, for those few hours when you don the Red and Blue be proud to do so and combat valiantly.

I think there's a difference between how supporters feel vs how players feel. Its just a job at the end of the day. And why I don't get too invested in individual players.

We remember stuff from 30 years ago whereas current players have no investment in that history generally

Its the club I love.

14 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Extremely pleased that I believed we were no chance to get the Friday night game, and therefore went ahead and made plans.

Not sure I can end this miserable season watching the Pies beat us. Again. It's been hard enough already.

I reckon watching it on telly is the go. I have no confidence that we'll play a blinder. I remember a commentator years ago saying that it's hard to trust the Dees, you never know how'll they'll play. Surely pride and honour come into play here. They knocked us out of finals contention prior to 21 and then recently the Maynard and Moore dramas. Moore twice last year - Trac and Kossie's suspension that cost us any chance in the first 3 games of the season. You'd think him playing round one against GWS and we win, then perhaps we win a couple more..... I will be so annoyed if he gets suspended for the 3rd time in 3 years. I hope we try some youth or at the very least some positional changes eg May at FF......, but we are so predictable and conservative. I really hope we don't persist with Trac, Clarry and Viney onball all game and bomb it long only for a rebound.

38 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

I think there's a difference between how supporters feel vs how players feel. Its just a job at the end of the day. And why I don't get too invested in individual players.

We remember stuff from 30 years ago whereas current players have no investment in that history generally

Its the club I love.

I have no doubt Jnr there's a difference. We sit outside reading the book whilst they are the words we read. Characters and plots come and go. I think even for them there are differences. Some are possibly more inlooking and mercenary. There will be those though that understand while they are transient through the Football Landscape they are the pageantry. Some might imbue a sense of occasion, a poignancy about the moment. As actors might understand their achievements and loss as a play reaches its final curtain does then it be as so with players .

You may be right, I might be crazy.... Id like to think it does to some carry an honour to wear our jumper. Even that aside as being parochial there is no doubt in my mind that the type of camaraderie as galvanised during both success and failure , and possibly greater still as Premiers might linger if not momentarily but afterwards at times such as a 'last game' .

I'll watch to see who stays that moment extra, to see who possibly scans the stadium . Some will move on, some move away and some will end as they cross the boundary and stride the race.

Some will know it, some may not.

Edited by beelzebub