2 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Howes played well. Surely offers more than some that are in the team

he has had a fair few games in fairness

i reckon he’ll come good. just needs to adjust to the level

Great performance all round.

Of the Melbourne players Howes was the standout with Billings, Culley, Sharp, Adams, Mentha and Spargo playing well. Kentfield and Laurie showing flashes of brilliance but perhaps not a consistent 4 quarters. Woewodin and Pup had their moments as well.

Fullarton and Hendo probably the two that struggled although Henderson was taken off at half time to be the carry over emergency.

10 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Great Stuff from The Casey Boys

Absolutely Slaughter the Sewage Farmers

Don’t let up!!!

Fly fishing on the Werribee River SWYL? Don’t forget the Aerogard mate!

So much to like from that team performance, but how much can transfer to AFL is doubtful due to Werribee being absolutely insipid. Adams and Howes clearly AFL ready, even if a lot more development will be required at that level.

But in terms of watching young men develop at VFL level, tonight was a good positive step forward for Kentfield, Yze and Mentha. Verrall faded a bit, but I'm liking what I see in terms of a 2nd ruck option if other parts of his game can develop.

Where is Bluey ? When you need him. To bring us all down to the ground.

We need perspective sometimes. No point in listening to someone who is pisding in your pocket

54 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Hardie worth considering for a spot next season? Accuracy in front of the sticks among other attributes

Surely that asset can be trained out of him at senior training sessions.

13 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Smoking toothpaste ain’t my thang

How can you say that unless you have tried it.

Yze looked very comfortable as a lead up half forward at this level. Verrall goes well as a mobile ruckman at ground level but doesn’t provide a lot in the air. Billing’s was great but he is not the future. Spargo not ready just yet. Howes is more than ready when called. Adam’s worth a run this season?

11 minutes ago, Tarax Club said:

Fly fishing on the Werribee River SWYL? Don’t forget the Aerogard mate!

That would be quite ripe sitting there for any length of time!!

Pass…😊

Henderson needs to go back to Werribee. His first half was shocking can’t believe he is on standby for tomorrow’s game. Rather have a half fit Spargo.

I know he's not the future but is there any more Billings can do to get a recall?

Best part about watching Casey for the rest of the year is watching Kentfield to see if he can keep this upward trajectory going.

Henderson a warm body, did nothing in the first half.

Spargo very good, as were Howes and Adams.

Billings was good, and liked weeper (a mini ooze) although he would have to a f/s option that is better than pup??

Woey has more size than I thought he had, and could develop well down back as a middle sized player.

Liked Kentfield crashing packs and thought Verrell was more than OK.

Loved Howes and Mentha's game. Good win a must win against Carlton next week.

Good signs with some of our up and coming young players.

Mentha - great game, hit the scoreboard, ran hard and carried the footy when needed. Give him a full preseason working hard in the off season alongside Kozzie and I have no doubt he can play senior footy next year.

Kentfield - This guy is a brute. When he took that pack mark he literally left three Werribee players on the ground in pain. The huge upside with him is that he hasnt completed a AFL pre season to date. There is something definitely to work with here. Crazy that he's still only 19. I see a bit of Josh Treacy about him.

Culley - Liked his work, spent time inside and out and he was pretty classy and had poise as well.

Howes - Last time he plays VFL this year. He was a clear BOG.

Adams - Ready for AFL action. Just give him a chance Goody.

Verrall - He plays much better when hes the main number 1 ruckman. My only issues with him is he doesn't take marks around the ground. I think for him to step up, this is something he needs to do more around the ground. Other then that he was good tonight.

1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Good signs with some of our up and coming young players.

Mentha - great game, hit the scoreboard, ran hard and carried the footy when needed. Give him a full preseason working hard in the off season alongside Kozzie and I have no doubt he can play senior footy next year.

Kentfield - This guy is a brute. When he took that pack mark he literally left three Werribee players on the ground in pain. The huge upside with him is that he hasnt completed a AFL pre season to date. There is something definitely to work with here. Crazy that he's still only 19. I see a bit of Josh Treacy about him.

Culley - Liked his work, spent time inside and out and he was pretty classy and had poise as well.

Howes - Last time he plays VFL this year. He was a clear BOG.

Adams - Ready for AFL action. Just give him a chance Goody.

Verrall - He plays much better when hes the main number 1 ruckman. My only issues with him is he doesn't take marks around the ground. I think for him to step up, this is something he needs to do more around the ground. Other then that he was good tonight.

Who does Adams replace? TMac/May, or Lever?

I'm a bit worried about Howes being in the same camp as Laurie - too good for VFL, but not quite good enough for AFL. But unlike others, every time he goes back to Casey he seems to step up and play well.

2 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

I'm a bit worried about Howes being in the same camp as Laurie - too good for VFL, but not quite good enough for AFL. But unlike others, every time he goes back to Casey he seems to step up and play well.

I'm on the record wanting to see Laurie given another (prolonged) crack at AFL level, but Howes is a different kettle of fish imo. He has no athletic limitations to speak of.

5 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Lever.

I like the combination of May and Turner now. Lever is becoming far too much of a liability in our back 6 imo.

1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Lever.

I like the combination of May and Turner now. Lever is becoming far too much of a liability in our back 6 imo.

The game looks like it’s gone past Lever

Can’t play man on man, is a poor kick and decision maker with ball in hand and not particularly quick

He’s still a gun interceptor but I think the modern game demands tall defenders to be a key part of your transition - not just a brick wall that intercepts, stops and props and slows the play down

The contrast with Turner is stark at the moment

Edited by demoncat

38 minutes ago, Devil In Disguise said:

Henderson needs to go back to Werribee. His first half was shocking can’t believe he is on standby for tomorrow’s game. Rather have a half fit Spargo.

A full fit Spargo is nothing flash!

1 hour ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Sharp very Sharp tonight!

Dull at the next level. Dispense with at contract end.

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

Kentfield is Mihocek 2.0, I reckon. Very excited by him. Loving Adams' development, Ricky has some nice moves, awareness and good crumbing ability, and Howes should be in the AFL team.

So, Chess rather than Checkers?

37 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Lever when next injured. Happens a bit. Liked Adams kicking to 50 m targets.

1 hour ago, Sir Why You Little said:

That would be quite ripe sitting there for any length of time!!

Pass…😊

I sincerely disagree with your disparaging assessment of the Werribee river. It is one of the cleanest in the state, if you ever take the time to visit it. There are families of platypus near the zoo and the golf course and it is full af a number of fish species. This wouldn’t be the case if it was the shizen hole you seem to think it is. The treatment works which people seem to associate with Werribee are really closer to Little River, and are in fact world famous with bird watchers for the number of migratory species that can be seen there. I lived in Werribee for 10 years on the southern side near the race course and can sincerely say i never experienced the fabled stink.

Billing's disposal still not up to AFL although dynamite at VFL.

Culley looked good with his height and marking.

Chuffed by 16 and 10 contested possessions for Verrall and Fullarton respectively.

Another year for Verrall. He surprisingly gets better against taller opponents in the last quarter.

I would extend Fullarton for another year and then retire to the bunker to escape the baying fans. His height is in short-supply at MFC.

The boys seem intent on handpasses to players running past very clode. A bit like an NRL off-load. Just noticed it .

1 hour ago, Happy Jack said:

I sincerely disagree with your disparaging assessment of the Werribee river. It is one of the cleanest in the state, if you ever take the time to visit it. There are families of platypus near the zoo and the golf course and it is full af a number of fish species. This wouldn’t be the case if it was the shizen hole you seem to think it is. The treatment works which people seem to associate with Werribee are really closer to Little River, and are in fact world famous with bird watchers for the number of migratory species that can be seen there. I lived in Werribee for 10 years on the southern side near the race course and can sincerely say i never experienced the fabled stink.

I am sure it’s beautiful and pristine, today Happy, but i assure you when i was a young kid, Werribee was definitely living under a cloud of odour….

3 hours ago, Happy Jack said:

Please pass on my best to David Attenborough.