14 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

I was surprised to see him not get subbed ahead of X, but also understand that Lindsay must be battling hard with limited pre season playing wing.

To me Kolt is not a half forward, and he won’t succeed playing that role. We need to give him wing time like we have all of Langford, Lindsay and Windsor. It’ll expose him to a lot more of the ball and get him more involved.

I don’t know what role he plays long term, but right now he is having minimal impact on games and is not earning his spot in the team. He’s getting games because we want to play these high draft picks, but eventually you have to show something to keep your spot.

I think this is a grade call and didn't think of it this way. The HHF role requires a massive tank and i think he struggles to cover the ground to have that impact given limited pre-season and limited senior afl footy tank being a second year player.

However, with the footy, he has shown that he can finish, but is still a little fumbly as others have called out. Hopefully another pre-season or two

His draft profile describes him as a brilliant creator and finisher who can win the ball at ground level or in the air and uses his aggressive kicking to create opportunities.

His strong and bullish nature can be handy in the midfield as well.

Seems to be being described as a half forward with midfield attributes and almost a utility/role player.

High energy and good team mate.

I'm firmly in the wait and see camp. Many here seem to forget which members here were continually complaining that ANB was being gifted games by Goodie.

There is a bit of Tappscott about him but if he can kick maybe he can make it.

Today he had 10 minutes in the last quarter. I would have subed him off at 3/4 time. Just not senior standard at present. We were playing North, if you cannot have a reasonable game today when can you.

On 06/07/2025 at 18:32, Devil In Disguise said:

Nice looking kid. Should consider a career in modeling.

Tv Show Ok GIF by Laff

5 minutes ago, Stevienic23 said:

He's as clean as a young ANB

Thats ridiculous.

ANB burst on to the scene as a pressure forward who could kick goals. kolt is no where near ANB at the moment.

2 minutes ago, Doug Reemer said:

Thats ridiculous.

ANB burst on to the scene as a pressure forward who could kick goals. kolt is no where near ANB at the moment.

Yeh that wasn't a compliment

Needs to play at Casey for about a year until he's consistently in their better players. It took quite a while with ANB.

I think playing him is the best thing for him, along with Jefferson and the others who aren’t quite there yet.

A lot of players need 1-3 seasons (50) or so games under their belts before they settle.

It gives them much needed experience, builds their tanks, shows exactly what they’re required to do each game, and most importantly learn how long and hard the season is, and what they’re required to build to.

To not give him or other young players, even if they’re not up to standard is a horrible choice which hinders their journey.

3 hours ago, MrFreeze said:

Exactly, he consistently lands in the top 3 for work rate in defence. If people want to see a stand out trait, it's that.

I’d like to see him get the ball a bit also

Understand that he’s had an injury interrupted pre season, what l don’t understand is why he’s getting a game atm

1 hour ago, Stevienic23 said:

ANB kicked nearly 30 goals in a season as a 22 year old mate. That comparison doesn't work.

11 minutes ago, Hopeful Demon said:

ANB kicked nearly 30 goals in a season as a 22 year old mate. That comparison doesn't work.

Sure, but Kolt has only just turned 20.

Cant fault his intensity; liked the scuffle he started and great goal but needs to get the ball more. A tad slow.

He's playing the absolute worst role in footy (as does Sparrow) on the half forward line where you're constantly out numbered and running constant 100m sprints up and down the ground and then horizontally as well with bugger all touches of the pill.

It's brutal and can be so unrewarding and you really need to ensure every small chance you get that you take.

With the year shot (in regards to finals) I don't see the point in any of Jeffo, Windsor or Koltyn playing twos. Keep them in the ones and focus on any positives they achieve over the end of the year with the view to take that momentum into next year.

I think he'll be ok as he always has a crack and goes when he needs to but today he looked absolutely spent after a few big runs.

Needs to strap himself to Langdon or Sharp over the pre-season in the running groups and get his aerobic capacity to elite levels.

Nothing wrong with today's game. He was given encouragement when he kicked a good clutch goal and he gets in amongst it. Likes to push and shove and support.

obviously haven't seen it this season thus far, but i went up for the suns v dees game on the gc last year and i distinctly remember being impressed with how kolt went. there's something there, we're just gonna have to be patient. he may as well keep playing in firsts to get to the speed of things. better than down at casey in 'that wind'. if he can start to have more consistent positive moments in the last 6 games, hopefully that will light a fire under him for the off season. fingers crossed, cos he could be the petrol that we need over the next few years if his skills start to emerge..

He must be pretty prolific on the lip as he’s involved in a weekly scrap with the oppo, particularly today.

I think he struggles with the intensity of AFL that a Langford clearly doesn’t. Simply isn’t clean in a pressurised environment.

7 minutes ago, Mt. Dee-Maaan said:

obviously haven't seen it this season thus far, but i went up for the suns v dees game on the gc last year and i distinctly remember being impressed with how kolt went. there's something there, we're just gonna have to be patient. he may as well keep playing in firsts to get to the speed of things. better than down at casey in 'that wind'. if he can start to have more consistent positive moments in the last 6 games, hopefully that will light a fire under him for the off season. fingers crossed, cos he could be the petrol that we need over the next few years if his skills start to emerge..

I remember this being the game that made me think we have something with Kolt

Think he had 20 or so disposals and would have had two goals if they didn’t rob one from him in the goal square

Reckon his lack of preseason is really effecting him but also think we need to bed down what his role is

Is he a mid? A fwd? A bit of both? I don’t think he’s destined to be a high half forward in the Nibbler mould but seems to be playing in a similar role now

2 hours ago, Stevienic23 said:

At the peak of ANBs development phase I remember someone tweeting

‘If near-the-ball was a stat ANB would be Patrick Cripps’ 😂😂😂

4 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Severe reality adjustment required. Major attitude problem.

what is his attitude problem?

Any evidence or are you just talking nonsense?

2 hours ago, Doug Reemer said:

Thats ridiculous.

Burst on the scene?

I would say, ANB would be up there as the most insulted, bagged player on Demonland in his first 4 years.

But do we learn any lessons from a kid after a dozen games trying to find his feet?

Apparently not

On 08/07/2025 at 10:48, old dee said:

Or perhaps the FD are wishing and hoping.

Like Dusty? (Springfield, not Martin)

I've been guilty of writing off players early in their careers or at least not buying the hype. Every case is different.

But let's look at some important details in Kolts case.

I'd argue his body coming into the AFL system was already behind many of his peers in that draft group. Never had a full season at under 18's level. Played VFL last year and then straight into a modified off-season at the end of 24. Following the modified off-season, scans showed a stress fracture which meant he's completed virtually no serious pre-season training.

Now for him particularly, this is having an enormous impact on his game-day performance imv and would be the main reason behind why is in and out of the sub role and not playing full games. It's completely management related. Any young player who developes stress fractures that early on in their young careers would be treated the same. And perhaps his 'annoyance' at being sub is due to his competitive nature and his desire and want to play.

I'm willing to wait until we see him have a full off and pre-season before making a serious call.

I agree with others that he hasn't shown a standout trait but again, a lot of this can be down to low confidence coming off no pre-season.

I for one love his engagement, energy, celebrating of team first acts and his competitiveness. And I've also liked some snippets I've seen around his decision making in general and his smarts.

Now I'm not in the slightest saying Kolt will become Cripps. BUT, he was similar in that he needed to grow into his body, lose the puppy fat, get his body right and complete a full-pre season before anyone saw glimpses. I don't think anyone would have seen much to be excited about in his 2014 year. Go and have a look.

I have a feeling Kolt will bounce after he gets his body in order.

Edited by Howard_Grimes

3 minutes ago, Howard_Grimes said:

I've been guilty of writing off players early in their careers or at least not buying the hype. Every case is different.

But let's look at some important details in Kolts case.

I'd argue his body coming into the AFL system was already behind many of his peers in that draft group. Never had a full season at under 18's level. Played VFL last year and then straight into a modified off-season at the end of 24. Following the modified off-season, scans showed a stress fracture which meant he's completed virtually no serious pre-season training.

Now for him particularly, this is having an enormous impact on his game-day performance imv and would be the main reason behind why is in and out of the sub role and not playing full games. It's completely management related. Any young player who developes stress fractures that early on in their young careers would be treated the same. And perhaps his 'annoyance' at being sub is due to his competitive nature and his desire and want to play.

I'm willing to wait until we see him have a full off and pre-season before making a serious call.

I agree with others that he hasn't shown a standout trait but again, a lot of this can be down to low confidence coming off no pre-season.

I for one love his engagement, energy, celebrating of team first acts and his competitiveness. And I've also liked some snippets I've seen around his decision making in general and his smarts.

Not comparing him to Cripps at all because the guy is a champion. But he was similar in that he needed to grow into his body, lose the puppy fat, get his body right and complete a full-pre season before anyone saw glimpses. I don't think anyone would have seen much to be excited about in his 2014 year. Go and have a look.

I have a feeling Kolt will bounce after he gets his body in order.

Good point you raise. Interupted pre seasons make it hard for any players let alone young players to make an impact.

Having said that our season from here is balancing wins with getting games into young players Kolt being one of them.

I would also like to see Jeffo get a few more games this year.

On 06/07/2025 at 21:32, Wizard of Koz said:

I want to add, which sound magnanimous, but I do hope Kolt takes it the right way. He probably does read the forum I know I would at the same age and stage. I started the thread and feel a bit guilty that he would be feeling [censored] after reading it. But I suppose that is the purpose of a footy forum to talk all things MFC.

But not guilty enough to quit posting in this thread you started. You don’t feel “a bit guilty” - you clearly don’t feel guilty at all. Why bother posting something so insincere?

You’re not displaying magnanimity, you’re displaying patronisation.

Oh and as for Kolt feeling 💩 after reading it… he wouldn’t give a fat rat’s. His family members and/or friends might, but he wouldn’t.