37 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

54 Forward Entries for 8 Goals

This is a standard (90%) statistic we have had for the past 4 years

Members, who pay a lot of money to this Club deserve a much better return..

o wat a deesgraceful stat

15 minutes ago, HarpenDee said:

Yes I think this is right. He's escaped criticism because Turner has been great. But the gap between Petty and Turner as fwds is more significant than the gap between TMac and Turner as defenders.

Looks like we won most the key stats. Just hoping for another xScore win @WheeloRatings

Speaking of stats I can remember only one HTB all game. Against Viney plus 50 metres and subsequent goal. It paid not to try and move the ball on.

3 minutes ago, Purple77 said:

This post makes me want to deactivate my account.

Yep. Some demonlanders deserve to be St Kilda supporters

6 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

For all the reasonable points you’ve made here, lumping Max in that “anchor” comment undoes them all.

Yes his goalkicking is terrible but he gives unconditional effort and consistently high quality football, whilst also being physically targeted weekly by opponents who play the man, not the ball, because they know they can’t compete otherwise.

I’ll cop criticism of his kicking, which is wholly justified, but not anything else. Max deserves praise.

Edited to be more specific about his kicking.

Gawn is a terrible shot at goal, but he is the best player at our club and to ever suggest that he’s not giving 110% of himself every week is a horrible take.

Very few would know what he even does off the field for this club on a weekly basis. He is a giant of the game who carries this side week in week out.

He’s not a perfect footballer, who is? Does he need to kick easy shots at goal? Of course he does. But to suggest that he’s not out there literally putting his body thru hell at 33 years of age, is disrespectful and flat out wrong.

There isn’t a player at our club who doesn’t feel lucky to be captained by Gawny. One of the greatest ever players to don the red and blue.

Agree

12 minutes ago, Simmo0911 said:

As much as it hurts me to say, I reckon one of Viney, trac or clarry has to be replaced this offseason. It was okay when trac was hitting targets but he's just another butcher now.

Don't know what we'd get for any of them though since 2 are on big coin and the other is towards the later part of his career

51 minutes ago, M_9 said:

I love Milkshake but he's chance of a contract extension is slipping away on the back of today's performance.

The gap between his best and worst is huge.

We’re playing Melksham as an undersized forward in the expectation that he’ll do something freakish at each contest.

The odds of that happening a slim - this approach just highlights the futility of our current forward set up

19 minutes ago, Nietaphart said:

To be fair Doug, past forward coaches coached the same way. It’s more like the head coach who is coaching the forwards to lead to the stands.

Or, the forwards are frustrated by the mids disposal and they are heading for the exit gates…..

Well Explain to me why Essendon, Stkilda and Ports forward line worked better than ours?

It’s not the head coach. It’s a pathetic line coaches.. This club’s completely rooted.

Edited by Doug Reemer

Was ready to throw a brick at the TV when Viney gave away that 50. Absolutely [censored] brain dead, our third one for the day and they were all equally ill disciplined. Absolutely killed any chance we had of winning. As big a momentum killer as the missed shots earlier. Sparrow is normally pretty reliable but FFS Petty, FFS Clarry. And look he was probably our best player again and I don’t want to be Kings Birthday Steven May but there’s no bigger momentum killer than our captain lining up for goal at present. Why hasn’t he tried something different?? Walk, hop skip shank clearly isn’t working!!!

well well well,

i was sitting 5 rows back in the port cheer squad unfortunately this feels like ground hog day as always ffs, port fans were even confused at the umps, the free kicks were probably meh but the 50m were i joke even they agreed and didn’t have a clue what was going on. never seen so many paid in a game.

i said it before and ill say it again lever needs to go for the rest of the year and have one last crack at it some other time, gives opposition 10m every [censored] time hopeless obviously not up to it after the injury so why rush him in when tmac is sitting around doing nothing all day waiting to play

who tf was on f wit francis legit no one my god took them 3 qtrs to put someone on him and they put kosi on him at least it looked like

oh yea and can we get a goal kicking coach apparently even our pres has better things to do then spend ONE HOUR A WEEK with the talls the bar is so so low. jeez even goody he kicked a lot of snags in his time and did it for fun. ppl at casey and 1’s training say there is no structure in the goal kicking it’s just a muck around every week. i really don’t even care who it is just someone that has some structure and can teach a technique clearly choco isn’t capable of that anymore

so many passengers on this team, tough calls needs to be made this off season we have adam’s, verrall, sestan woey, brown and bloody everyone else deserving of an opportunity and they don’t get in after consistent performance week in and week out at casey, they will leave once their contract is up and play at any other team.

weekend ruined between this rabble of a team and the cricket…. hopefully oscar can put in a commendable performance tonight in the f1

25 minutes ago, BW511 said:

The worst part about this week is we have confirmed what all the Collingwood faithful said last week, we played our grand final against them so this was always going to happen.

We can steel ourselves for a big game occasionally (Brissy, Kings B’day) but we cannot perform consistently at the level required to be anything other than pack fodder.

If I was a young player at Melbourne, I would be absolutely shattered seeing our senior players pick and choose when they are ‘on’ and also squander opportunities at the rate they do.

We are going to be dragging the anchor of Max, Trac, Viney, Clarry, Lever and May for as long as Goody is still coach, so let’s hope the club can see past 2021 and start addressing the future in a meaningful manner

I reckon we played our grand final on Thursday.

36 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Our midfield wins it's fair share of footy and clearances, what the coach needs to do is drill into them how to play so they can use the ball to their teammates advantage. Bombing long, kicking on their head, forwards playing too high and trying to double back into space instead of leading at the ball carrier, forwards all standing flat footed when we have a mark/free kick 60m etc etc

This is all coaching.

Viney, Oliver and Tracc have shared the ball more at stoppages but under pressure in general play they revert to bad habits.

Our forwards lead until they see the ball fly over their head at which time they doubt themselves and stay under the high ball so they can compete.

There’s a degree of coaching but more so we encouraged Viney, Oliver and Tracc for years to play a certain way, now they’re older, slower and stuck in their ways. And aside from first year kids - who are wisely being developed on the wings - we don’t have options.

1 minute ago, Doug Reemer said:

Well Explain to me why Essendon, Stkilda and Ports forward line worked better than ours?

It’s not the head coach. It’s a pathetic line coaches.. This club’s completely rooted.

Because the mids disposal and vision is poor, and our forwards are more interested in being with the Demon Army. They keeping heading to the Army when the ball comes their way.

All led by Godwin’s coaching philosophy.

1 hour ago, Nietaphart said:

Why can’t our forwards lead to the ball carrier?

#Georgiadis #caseinpoint

Why can't.... or why don't ??

Understand the question and the answer can be only be ONE thing. ( the who and the why of that THING is the concern )

13 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Gawn is a terrible shot at goal, but he is the best player at our club and to ever suggest that he’s not giving 110% of himself every week is a horrible take.

Very few would know what he even does off the field for this club on a weekly basis. He is a giant of the game who carries this side week in week out.

He’s not a perfect footballer, who is? Does he need to kick easy shots at goal? Of course he does. But to suggest that he’s not out there literally putting his body thru hell at 33 years of age, is disrespectful and flat out wrong.

There isn’t a player at our club who doesn’t feel lucky to be captained by Gawny. One of the greatest ever players to don the red and blue.

What's worse is the infestation of knee, boot and abuse opposition pipsqueaks who know that they can get away with anything they want because all opposition coaches instruct it to be directed at him.

Maggots were at their lowest today, as if they could crawl further into the sewer, and I hope they read this, they managed it.

32 minutes ago, BW511 said:

We can steel ourselves for a big game occasionally (Brissy, Kings B’day) but we cannot perform consistently at the level required to be anything other than pack fodder.

I'm with you on the consistency, but I don't put it down to steel. If we were capable of building ourselves for the odd game, there's no way we would have lost five in a row at the start of the year. We'd have responded after the North debacle and beaten the Suns.

I think we're a below average, but not terrible, team, which means when a day or an opposition style happens to suit us, we can look OK - sometimes really good. But when a team has our measure, we're not good enough to course correct mid-game and bring the arm wrestle back in our favour.

I didn't watch the Port game and think we were sagging after a big effort the week before. I thought that, yet again, our opponent was too quick, moved the ball far better than us and took their chances. We had no response.

It’s just getting boring now.

Groundhog Day for the last three years.

Win clearances and inside 50s but can’t connect with forwards.

No one’s more diehard than me but I’m starting to lose interest in seeing the same B grade movie over and over again.

1 hour ago, Dannyz said:

Something has to be said about players having career day/ break out games against us.

Georgiades x 2,

Ugle Hagan,

Treacy,

Harley Reid,

Keeler are recent examples in the last two years alone.

To add insult to this, Georgiades when interviewed post game said it was good to have an easier week after playing opposed to Sam Taylor last week. Shows the contempt we are fairly met with and why Hinkley would of said as such as 3QT.

Ratugulea had his career best game too.

You are correct, this has been going on for 60 years.

Big Carl Ditterich probably started it being BOG against us in one if his first games as an 18 year old.

28 minutes ago, deegirl said:

We’re playing Melksham as an undersized forward in the expectation that he’ll do something freakish at each contest.

The odds of that happening a slim - this approach just highlights the futility of our current forward set up

And off a 6 day break he has been more than solid this year, defenitly not the problem

1 hour ago, Dannyz said:

Something has to be said about players having career day/ break out games against us.

Georgiades x 2,

Ugle Hagan,

Treacy,

Harley Reid,

Keeler are recent examples in the last two years alone.

To add insult to this, Georgiades when interviewed post game said it was good to have an easier week after playing opposed to Sam Taylor last week. Shows the contempt we are fairly met with and why Hinkley would of said as such as 3QT.

Can only happen if you let them...

How the F did Lever take McDonald's spot when Tmac was having a ripper year???

Lever fumbles, punches the ball down to dangerous spots, and gets easily push off the ball. No way he is captain material.

52 minutes ago, HarpenDee said:

Yes I think this is right. He's escaped criticism because Turner has been great. But the gap between Petty and Turner as fwds is more significant than the gap between TMac and Turner as defenders.

Looks like we won most the key stats. Just hoping for another xScore win @WheeloRatings

No xScore win this week. 85.0 to 99.9. Port had two more shots and they generated better quality shots.

Here is the Stats Files post:

2 minutes ago, Rednblueriseing said:

And off a 6 day break he has been more than solid this year, defenitly not the problem

You’re completely missing my point. If he doesn’t play out of his skin we have a situation like today where he’s undersized against a big defender. It’s not a serious forward structure if it’s built around a player playing freakishly well every week. Melksham should be the icing on the cake, not in the top 1-2 forwards

39 minutes ago, Anti-Saint said:

o wat a deesgraceful stat

One more stat to add to our misery.

We are at 14% conversion ratio per inside 50 for the season. The AFL average is 24%.

Awful awful awful.