Execution in the F50 and goal kicking has been rubbish for years now. All ways costs us, Convinced we would have beaten the pies in 2023 had we not pooed the bed and rushed shots

I can’t add to most of what has been said above …….. I’m broken hearted like the rest of you! We were out played and out coached. How can it all disappear within the space of a week? Agggh!

How did Jake Lever come straight back into the side last week?

was ordinary against swans and deplorable against saints…

Can’t defend one on one and far too lose.

Bring back TMac and drop Lever - Tom is better in air, judgement and can actually defend!! Lever back to Casey!

Need a big target banner and put the MF up between the goal posts.

Get them to kick at it!!!

Also get a dummy goal umpire and kick the MF over his head

4 hours ago, layzie said:

Absolutely pathetic from us today. There's no way around it. We looked like we were at the beach from the get-go. Thinking it would just happen. No-one wanted to work.

The only concession I'll give today is for the weather, it looked pretty hot not my god have you ever seen so many handballs, not kicks HANDBALLS intercepted by an opposition player 2 metres away? Don't get me wrong there were plenty of kicks smothered too, this would have been one of the toughest games for a cameraman to shoot because you're expecting so many territory winning possessions that don't end up going anywhere.

We brought some more intensity after the first but still looked casual, still made dumb skill errors and then came the misses. Holy hell the only thing worse than getting wiped by a million points is creating enough chances to get yourself back in it and possibly even win and fail to get anywhere near the league average. We kicked 1.12 in that second half after Petty worked his butt off to get that free. At this rate our next goal will be next year.

And the thing that absolutely [censored] me to high heaven is that we were playing one of the most bang average teams around, it is harsh but I will prove it. Don't get me wrong after we gifted them their momentum in the first the Saints did play some pretty good footy but they were at times just as bad as us. They had a truckload of possessions, we had a pressure rating of 130 and we WERE STILL IN THE FRICKING GAME. Sorry but if we played any other team today it would habe been 2024 Alice 9 times out of 10. I'd even say if Wanganeen-Milera stayed on ground for the whole game we would have lost by 8 goals plus.

So now the season is dead again. It was bound to happen at some point. If you want to go and trudge out 5 losses to start the season then you have to accept the fact that is no margin for error at all on games like this. Put one over the hottest team in football next week and there might be a pulse but there is no parallel universe where we beat Collingwood next week, one at all. The poor guys will still be feeling the heat of Alice no doubt.

Anyway I'm really sick this weekend so apologies for the delirium. Thanks for the pick me up Melb.

Didn't get above 20 degrees.

5 hours ago, BDA said:

Well done saints

Came out firing and took advantage of our complacency and disrespect.

We got going in the 2nd quarter but our poor kicking skills cost us again. how much longer are we going to accept this? We do so much right and then soil ourselves in front of goal. It’s unacceptable that this has gone on for so long.

Kick 7.21 What a load of rubbish

Time to put Chocco out to pasture. We’ve topped up his super fund balance for far too long

I’m thoroughly disappointed. And thoroughly sick of this script.

Well said. I've had a gut full of this too. We do so much so well and then go and [censored] up in front of goal. Bad kicking is bad football. Fix that and you fix Melbourne. 7 goals 21 behinds and lose to St Kilda who kicked 14 goals 7 behinds. This reminds of the loss in Round 16, 2023 to GWS when Melbourne kicked 5.15 to GWS 7.5 and lost by 2 points. Atrocious kicking in front of goal has cost us arguably 2 premierships...Wake up Melbourne and learn how to kick straight!

Something that really peeves me off about this season is these long standing winning streaks over teams like North (Last win 2019), Hawthorn (Last win 2018) and St Kilda (last win 2019) are broken now.

These statistics might not even cross the minds of most but when we were a developing club on the up, it meant a lot to me to break some of the long standing hoodoos we had against teams and incidently these 3 teams had the wood over us for 10 years plus.

It's not going to explain a whole lot but I just happen to feel that the fact that so many streaks we built over a few years are snapping this year is not a very good one.

Edited by layzie

23 minutes ago, layzie said:

Something that really peeves me off about this season is these long standing winning streaks over teams like North (Last win 2019), Hawthorn (Last win 2018) and St Kilda (last win 2019) are broken now.

These statistics might not even cross the minds of most but when we were a developing club on the up, it meant a lot to me to break some of the long standing hoodoos we had against teams and incidently these 3 teams had the wood over us for 10 years plus.

It's not going to explain a whole lot but I just happen to feel that the fact that so many streaks we built over a few years are snapping this year is not a very good one.

Was thinking the very same thing this evening. The Suns streak since 2015 being broken was also a real shame.

Clearly we were knackered for whatever reason. Blind Freddy could see we were running in concrete. Yet, once again, so many come out of the woodwork with definitive statement about our (lack of) worth and abilities, when over the last seven or eight weeks we have clearly been up for it.

I maintain, as I have for years, that most of our supporters still don't know what following a decent football team looks like over continual seasons. So many are constantly hankering for the self-validation that we are still rubbish, which is clearly their zone of comfort.

In other words: settle, petals. Enjoy the ride, with all the ups and downs. We likely aren't going to fall into the doldrums again. Chill, Winstons.

If you haven't had the presence of mind to simply enjoy the ride we're on over the past few years, that's on you. "Boo-hoo, I didn't see a flag at the G, woe is me." Zero respect for the WA based fans who got to see it. I remain so happy for them and for me, who had the best month of my life on the other side of the planet from my beloved MCG.

We are clearly no longer a rabble and that is good enough for me. All I wanted for years was to see a flag, and I did, and I appreciated the [censored] out of it. Everything else is a bonus. And there will be much else.

Semi-drunken rant from the bowels of an 18th century Bishops' palace in Würzburg over.

Edited by Clayton van Oliver

I'm still annoyed about yesterday but life goes on

I'll be focussing on the development of our youngsters for the rest of the year

give bill Laurie a block of games. see what he's made of.

I'd like to see Adams also

17 minutes ago, BDA said:

I'm still annoyed about yesterday but life goes on

I'll be focussing on the development of our youngsters for the rest of the year

give bill Laurie a block of games. see what he's made of.

I'd like to see Adams also

Throw Lindsay and Langford into the middle for a few games here and there. Adams, Sestan, Brown.. see what they have to offer at AFL level.

For a start with goal kicking...

Never turn your back on the mark, find it asap.

The umpires like the opposition know our weakness at kicking for goal as well as distance, and the angle like the distance is often changed.

One of Collingwood best kicks for goal never turns his back on the mark. They make sure.

13 hours ago, VoiceOfReason said:

The type of effort I'd expect from a bottom rung side in 2025. Our ladder position is a reflection of where we are at. Hopefully at years end, there is a review, and changes are made.

What changes would you expect??

12 hours ago, Go Lordie said:

I'm being serious here. Has anyone actually asked Goody what the goal-kicking training regimen is at our club? You know, like how many hours a week do our players actually practice kicking for goal. Ideally, 3 or 6 or however many players should stay back after training and just have shots at goal, from different distances, different angles. You can't come back into the rooms until you have kicked 50 goals. Forget the sports scientists who say "Oh no, that will ruin his muscle development or his self-confidence". Just get out there are perfect your kicking technique. You can't stop until you have kicked 50 goals. If the sun sets, turn the lights on so they can kick their 50 goals. Simple, really. It's clear from the last three or four years that we do not practice this vital art.

This is fine BUT I have seen zero evidence of any biomechanical adjustments, technique analysis and regimented goal kicking practice in all my years watching Casey training sessions. Zilch! And what you need is exactly that. The most I have seen is trick shots and general practice at the end of training! It clearly has been a massive problem for years now! Just let this sink in 7 goals 21 pionts, and it aint the first time and wont be the last, till a dedicated goal kicking analyst and coach is assigned!

Some of the posts on here are truly hysterical, like the ones that suggest any AFL game is a percentage booster.

I posted to one such poster that those are the games we regularly lose.

Bingo!

16 minutes ago, picket fence said:

This is fine BUT I have seen zero evidence of any biomechanical adjustments, technique analysis and regimented goal kicking practice in all my years watching Casey training sessions. Zilch! And what you need is exactly that. The most I have seen is trick shots and general practice at the end of training!

This is my observation also. Lots of hilarity as a boundary line snap curls through but no systematic series of attempts from dead in front, 15 degrees, then 30 degrees, 45 etc, and different distances. No concerted goal kicking at all, just a bit of frippery at the finish.

Several weeks ago they spent all of 10 minutes kicking for goal but without much system. Ominously, I saw Lindsay miss from 35 metres on no less than three occasions. It was striking given how strong his field kicking is that he lost his mojo in front of the sticks. But what they were doing did not look systematic enough to correct any faults.

And I as much as anyone admire Max Gawn, but how does the club captain escape criticism for failing to take goal kicking seriously. At this stage of his career he should be reliable, not a gamble.

21 points.

Not winning games doing that now are we.

We need to get better at kicking goals this has been a long time ongoing issue and it costs us games. As much as we didn't look as good as the Saints yesterday, we still got it in there and had lots of scoring shots....but 21 point my goodness that's just unacceptable and you won't win.

8 minutes ago, marquis said:

This is my observation also. Lots of hilarity as a boundary line snap curls through but no systematic series of attempts from dead in front, 15 degrees, then 30 degrees, 45 etc, and different distances. No concerted goal kicking at all, just a bit of frippery at the finish.

Several weeks ago they spent all of 10 minutes kicking for goal but without much system. Ominously, I saw Lindsay miss from 35 metres on no less than three occasions. It was striking given how strong his field kicking is that he lost his mojo in front of the sticks. But what they were doing did not look systematic enough to correct any faults.

And I as much as anyone admire Max Gawn, but how does the club captain escape criticism for failing to take goal kicking seriously. At this stage of his career he should be reliable, not a gamble.

He should imagine there is a running team mate sitting through the goal posts and he will nail it...such a good field kick, can't kick a set shot goal, I bet he hates himself for it too.

11 hours ago, chook fowler said:

It is really irritating that Goodwin and to some extent Max in their interviews don’t seem to acknowledge the depth of a problem our goal kicking is - it happens time and time again over the last few years and there doesn’t appear any urgency to address it. I mean 7.21 really. Totally unacceptable.

That's partly why it continues. Not acknowledging it enough.

Saints played better but we still should have won.

Strange game.

But stranger still, that our goal kicking has been an issue for years. Maybe Max doesn't bring it up because he is probably the main offender.

Credit to Tracca for kicking well but Max looks worried as soon as he lines up. And as mentioned doesn't look where he wants the ball to go.

3 minutes ago, Previously known as LITD. said:

That's partly why it continues. Not acknowledging it enough.

Saints played better but we still should have won.

Strange game.

But stranger still, that our goal kicking has been an issue for years. Maybe Max doesn't bring it up because he is probably the main offender.

Credit to Tracca for kicking well but Max looks worried as soon as he lines up. And as mentioned doesn't look where he wants the ball to go.

never known a side to hit the goal posts as often