23 hours ago, M_9 said:

It's all well and good to say he's polling well internally, but up until 5 weeks ago how many of our players were anywhere near their best, save for Chin and Bowey?

Whose place in the current mid-fleld would Jack take?

Kosi, Trac, Clarry, Rivers, Langford?

Viney is the tackle king, but we need midfielders who can deliver the ball precisely.

Play him forward (in place of Spargo) and his tackling could give us even better i50 efficiency.

Viney would be great up forward, he knows where the goals are and would be a great asset in the 50 metre arc. He could still go into the midfield for short bursts, but we must extend his career as long as possible

He has been a fine servant of the MFC

If I was being totally honest I’d say we’re a shoe in by a solid margin this week. I think our form is too good to turn around and lose this. Of course I wouldn’t say this out loud except on here, a few footy chat groups and to my family.

On 26/05/2025 at 20:03, old55 said:

The other thing to add about Spargo's game is that he regularly blocked Kossie’s opponent at forward 50 stoppages which was influential.

This is why Viney is a great replacement. He’s been doing this for years with Trac and Oliver.

2 hours ago, DubDee said:

Am I the only one that thinks Petty is playing a good role as the primary target up fwd?

Not getting the goals but competing hard and bringing the ball to ground

No way I would drop him to the Sub

No. No you are not. Petty's leading and running patterns, his ability to impact aerial contests and his capacity to make opposition defenders accountable make him comfortably our best KPF. His work contributes to the likes of Melksham, Kozzie and even Fritta being able to do their thing. We're close to having what looks like a functional forward structure and method. First time in years.

If JVR spends a few successful weeks at Casey and returns with form and confidence, I've no doubt he and Petty could be a formidable combination.

Good to see you looking at the game and not just the stats sheet @DubDee . Plenty don't.

On 27/05/2025 at 13:39, binman said:

I really think a challenge for JVR had been adapting to this shift for our key forwards towards being more focused, as a starting point, on ensuring their direct opponent does not intercept mark.

I wonder if that helps explain why he kept on getting in wrestling matches with his opponent, something that must be a real challenge for a 22 year old key forward battling with bigger, stronger opponents.

And for a bloke that has played all his footy as a pure key forward (I think that's right) it's probably counter intuitive and unatural to be defence first, not to mention frustrating.

If I'm correct and goody is implementing a method that involves denying oppo intercept marks combined with manic inside 50 pressure (as evidenced by our off the charts inside 50 tackle differentials in the last six weeks - with an increased average pressure rating arguably the most dramatic statistical change since our first 5 losses) the key metrics for tall forwards are not goals and contested marks they are things like one percenters, spoils, pressure, tackles and above all denying intercept marks and bringing the ball to ground.

All of which points to one of things I most love about footy - the speed at which the game evolves tactically.

Having gone out ans targeted Lever to play the intercept role, we won a flag in large part because of ability to pressure the ball carrier to dump kick and then take intercept marks (a strategy we adapted from Hardwick's tigers and to a lesser eectent the crows)

All teams subsequently implemented variationa of that method to maximise intercept marks in the back half and use them to launch attacks.

Alir, Sicily, McGovern x 2, Vlaustin, Mcartin, Andrews etc etc etc all teams now have the equivalent of a Lever.

So now all teams are going to work on limiting such player's influence - which would in part explain why so few contested marks are being taken by forwards inside 50 atm.

It feels like goody might be going next level with denying intercept marks.

Interesting prioritising defence even in forward 50. Such a Goody thing to do. It’s working so I’m all for it .

4 minutes ago, Go the Biff said:

No. No you are not. Petty's leading and running patterns, his ability to impact aerial contests and his capacity to make opposition defenders accountable make him comfortably our best KPF. His work contributes to the likes of Melksham, Kozzie and even Fritta being able to do their thing. We're close to having what looks like a functional forward structure and method. First time in years.

If JVR spends a few successful weeks at Casey and returns with form and confidence, I've no doubt he and Petty could be a formidable combination.

Good to see you looking at the game and not just the stats sheet @DubDee . Plenty don't.

Petty has been ok, i have just finished watching the Mini Match.

AJ was involved in at least 5 goals, long strong Handballs and taps to advantage

He helped Kozzie score at least 2 goals

3 hours ago, DubDee said:

Am I the only one that thinks Petty is playing a good role as the primary target up fwd?

For anyone looking at things aside from the very narrow marks/goals stat sheet, absolutely!

And more importantly, he is finally looking more confident out there. Remember the last 12-24 months? When he wasn't injured/hurried back early, he looked lost. Couldn't find the ball. Didn't know what to do when he did.

He doesn't look lost anymore. Looks like he knows he belongs again and can contribute. And is contributing. Very well. It will only improve with time. Good on him :-)

2 hours ago, Roost it far said:

Yes I’ve noted it previously. I have no problem with him or any other player doing it. It’s the smart play. Lives being ruined over foolhardy acts of bravery playing a game need to be protected. Not only by the game but the attitude around the game by players and supporters. I’m not sure his name but there’s that ex WC recruit who’s had a series of neck operations and still can’t live a fruitful life. It’s simply not worth it. Personally I’d like to see the knee that’s driven into backs and heads regulated. Not got rid of as the high mark is worthy of protection but don’t drive the knee.

I think the knee will be one of the footy acts that will be pursued by the AFL in similar way you brace for impact with your shoulder. It wont be illegal, but don't use it as an excuse when you concuss somebody with a knee to the head.

With all the discussion around outcome driven penalties from the MRO, i also think its time that we look to injuries sustained in such actions beyond concussion. Im still amazed that we dont.

3 hours ago, DubDee said:

Several posters praised Petty’s game on the weekend including the fellas on the podcast. He’s been good in the forward line. His body work on McCartin last weekend was first class, he kept McCartin out of a few contests than enabled Fritta and others to take a couple of marks and score.

20 hours ago, Roost it far said:

If we roll the Saints and then beat the Pies we’ll be 7-6 and the absolute in form side of the comp alongside GC. Why wouldn’t we make finals from there considering there’s every chance we’ll only be % outside the 8?

I just think it will be a bridge too far. The comp is very even and any bad luck with injuries or deep in form or fitness levels can derail our finals chances.

Even if we were to make finals our chances of being able to hold form for them as well is very slim.

If we can get to the end of the season with a new game style that’s as good to watch as it was over the weekend, a properly functioning forward line and be in a position where we can attract new players to the club and reset for a red hot crack next year I’ll be over the moon regardless if we make finals or not.

With Spargs getting injured on Sunday someone is going to have to step up in his place. Sharpy has been a great last quarter boost for us in the past few weeks and in my opinion, should definitely be getting a full game. But is it time to maybe launch someone we haven't seen such as Culley?

I feel like Sharp should be getting a whole game but maybe that last quarter is what he is best at executing compared to Spargs who can stay consistent for most of the game. I've heard Culley doesn't have the greatest disposal efficiency but would still love to see his height and explosiveness used in our 'new and faster' game style. Thoughts...?????

Other than that, Carn the Dees!!!

Viney the obvious in, but wouldn't be unhappy to see either Sharp, Hendo or Tholstrup get another full game

18 minutes ago, Colm said:

I just think it will be a bridge too far. The comp is very even and any bad luck with injuries or deep in form or fitness levels can derail our finals chances.

Even if we were to make finals our chances of being able to hold form for them as well is very slim.

If we can get to the end of the season with a new game style that’s as good to watch as it was over the weekend, a properly functioning forward line and be in a position where we can attract new players to the club and reset for a red hot crack next year I’ll be over the moon regardless if we make finals or not.

Counterpoint: do you think Oliver, Fritsch, Salem, Windsor, Lever, May, Petracca, Viney will be in better or worse form in another 4 months than they are right now?

To my mind none of them are remotely near top gear at the moment.

Viney anyone? He would make us a beast in tackles inside our fwd 50. And surprisingly he is a good kick at goal.

7 minutes ago, Chook said:

Counterpoint: do you think Oliver, Fritsch, Salem, Windsor, Lever, May, Petracca, Viney will be in better or worse form in another 4 months than they are right now?

The reality is with aged stars their top line also drops offs. There have been a few to buck the trend of late but it’s worth at least considering.

Having said that I’d expect all the players you mention bar Trac and Oliver be able to reach their best. I still think those two need another 12 months to be within striking distance of their absolute prime.

Feel like most have written him off but happy for Laurie to get first crack. He’s next man up regularly in this area for good reason. He’s got good skills and imo has been very consistent at Casey. Been hitting the scoreboard a little last few weeks too. Would like to see him get a full crack at it (or 3 quarters at least).

Don’t want to see him asked to play Spargos role though. I feel we are doing a great job in recent times of letting players use their strengths and Laurie does better higher up, linking in the mids. I can see spargos spot on field being filled rotationally between Langford chandler and Laurie.

44 minutes ago, Chook said:

I’ve stated elsewhere I think the Duke is building into form and will star this weekend. Same for Viney as I think he plays well fresh.

Salem and Oliver probable both just played their best game of the past two years maybe longer for Salo.

Trac is getting very close to his best.

May and Lever are both a fair bit off their best but at least they are fit. No guarantees they will be fit in 4 months.

All in all I’d be pretty happy if that group was playing as well in 4 months as they are now.

Another point to factor in- clubs will start to go to work on our new game plan as they haven’t had a proper chance to nut it out yet.

The above does sound like I’m struggling to find the good in where we currently find ourselves. Let me be clear nothing is further from the truth I’m absolutely stoked with how we are travelling and how Goody and the boys have turned things around. I’ll be even happier if we make finals.

1 hour ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Viney anyone? He would make us a beast in tackles inside our fwd 50. And surprisingly he is a good kick at goal.

Vines might not be available this week. He didn’t train today.

13 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Vines might not be available this week. He didn’t train today.

I got my hopes up Ghosty after watching Goody’s presser today. He said Jack was on track to play this week.

If Jack’s not ready it’s Tholstrup or Hendo for mine.

Would like to see Hendo get a chance while we’re playing some decent footy unlike the ****eshow of the start of the season when that position was an absolute graveyard.

If Jack is ready he plays a defensive role on Wanganeen Milera. Either him or Sparrow.

If Viney doesn't get up and Laurie isn't next in then his time at the Demons appears well and truely marked and he should request a trade at years end. If there's any takers.

Laurie should be as close to like for like. Not overly quick, a good tackler and smart ball user. Average above head.

I'm not convinced on Laurie's tank. I reckon Demonlanders undervalue Charlie's tank to a massive extent.

I think it's a no brainer. If Viney is ready, he comes in. If he's not, save him for KB.

Edited by Adam The God

1 minute ago, Adam The God said:

I'm not convinced on Laurie's tank. I reckon Demonlanders undervalue Charlie's tank to a massive extent.

I think you are undervaluing Laurie's tank.

Screenshot_20250528_200131_Chrome.jpg