9 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Left at 3/4 time.

Overall not a great spectacle. Too much crowded scrambly play with Casey far too powerful but rarely able to get clear.

Casey now has too many tall forwards and then you add in Verrall and TC. A complete absence of any organised crumbing from any small/medium.

In a game made for Tholstrup he didn't excel.

Sat at half forward so didn't really see the back players. Suffice to say they took lots of marks.

Casey did a lot of switching of play but it was often too slow and without real purpose.

Jefferson may well have shone but JVR is going backwards based on today's opposition. One other thing given our surplus number of talls he didn't appear to get any chance to practice his ruck craft.

If you consider the quality of the oposition then it makes JVR's performance even worse. It's hard to believe after his first year results that he is this bad.

That was a big 71 point victory for Casey that could revive their season -

CASEY DEMONS 5.8.38 8.11.59 13.17.85 17.19.121

NORTHERN BULLANTS 0.2.2 1.4.10 1.5.11 7.8.50

GOALS

CASEY DEMONS Jefferson 5 Fullarton 3 Laurie van Rooyen 2 Billings Campbell Henderson Sruk Woewodin

NORTHERN BULLANTS Andrew Jorgensen 2 Mackie Schreiber Vellisaris

IMG_0444.jpegIMG_0443.jpeg

45 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

jvr now has 2 goals 3 as the siren goes, but i think the big callout for his game is the 13 marks, at least 5 or 6 of which have been contested

21 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

JVR is going backwards based on today's opposition. One other thing given our surplus number of talls he didn't appear to get any chance to practice his ruck craft.

From what I noticed today with JVR...2 things he hasn't been doing at AFL level.

He took one grab marks and he led up at the ball.

That's all we need to see at the moment no matter the opposition.

A big forward step for mine.

Woey/Billings/Kynan - All played around the ball and were okay. Deplorable hand balling on several occasions. Kicking in space and link was good.

Roo - Impressive marking around the ground. Set shots were wayward but it was good to see him stick some 1 grab marks multiple times today. Building slowly.

TC - The big man is fun to watch. He is much slower to get up then everyone else but he competes every contest and runs all day.

Sestan - Plays the bowey role to a tee. Took some nice overhead marks today as well.

Jeffo - Leaps at the ball well and ended with a nice free kick tackle to finish his day. He marked well in forward 50, often crashing a pack to get it done.

Our forward line got so much supply today that I don't put much stock on the goals kicked by Jeff/Fullars/Roo (+23 clearances, +34 inside 50s). It mattered much more how they got them and what they did around the ground.

Not quite the avalanche that I was expecting and 17.19 is probably representative of the windy conditions. Still Jeffo got his bag, Cream snagged three and Rooey 2.3 and 13 marks, certainly a step in the right direction. Liked the sound of Ollie Seston, can’t have to many good kicks in the side. Total domination just not as many majors as you would expect.

25 minutes ago, old dee said:

If you consider the quality of the oposition then it makes JVR's performance even worse. It's hard to believe after his first year results that he is this bad.

Tend to agree.. The scoreline looked/was impressive... the opposition was tres ordinaire. That said they rallied in the last and Casey wasn't caught napping...was caught sound asleep.

I'm truly curious as to what games some watch as all I can say is some of our illustrious AFL players looked bog ordinary against a very dishevelled opposition.

Our list needs a major overhaul.

1 hour ago, whatwhat say what said:

jvr now has 2 goals 3 as the siren goes, but i think the big callout for his game is the 13 marks, at least 5 or 6 of which have been contested

100% agree.

That's why you send best 22 players back to the magoos. Get some confidence back and get back to basic.

And for jvr that's about clunking his marks leading out hard. Tick. Tick

Ah, the breadth of the church that is Demonland's views on pretty well any subject.

Warms the cockles of one's heart.

Puts chills down one's spine.

Edited by Timothy Reddan-A'Blew

9 minutes ago, binman said:

100% agree.

That's why you send best 22 players back to the magoos. Get some confidence back and get back to basic.

And for jvr that's about clunking his marks leading out hard. Tick. Tick

You set the bar low... just sayin '

Going glass of Merlot half full too.

JVR a solid performance, kept his feet unlike last week. Marking the ball top and centre of the pack getting some one grab clunks. Competitive when the ball hit the deck.

JEFFO best performance of the year. Lead well and took the ball at the highest point. Showed some welcome physicality, no hesitation, in for the tackle, earned him two goals. Was able to get his arms free for some creative handballs. There is something there to work with.

Oliver Sestan played like the No. 1 locomotive in the first half was in everything. Strangely quieter, chugging away like Puffing Billy in the second half, but was probably eclipsed by Riley Bonner’s ascendant performance.

Blake Howes and Bailey Laurie reinforced their claims for promotion with smart workmanlike performances. Will Verrall played second fiddle to Tom Campbell’s dominant performance in the ruck. Nonetheless contributed positively as did Taj Woewodin to the team performance.

The two Riley’s Baldi & Bonner, Mitch Hardie and Tyson Sruk #53 were the best performed of the Casey listed players.

Special mention; Jack Billings bobbed up like a Jack in the Box. A consistent and prolific performance with the ball all match. Could surprise a few with a return call.

Edited by Tarax Club
You can only play with who you get edit

If Jvr took 13 marks in what sounded like windy conditions then I'd say he had a great day.

Didn't watch so I'm hoping they were not just "pass marks" but it sounds like good news.

And if Jeffo scored 5 goals, I'm very happy.

Know doubt Roo has gone backwards after such high expectations but I still hold much hope for him and also Jeffo. The latter only played a handful of senior games and gets an unfair rap here way too often.

And back to Roo, his hands have been the biggest issue, often hitting the ball at too much locomotion. Maybe he's learnt to drop them a bit back at the right time to cushion the impact.

It sounds like they are pressing hard for selection from most of these accounts. Thanks peeps. All is good at the MFC.

If not for nothing at least keep a fire burning under Fritta and anyone in our forward line not playing like Melksham. Nothing but pure and consistent intensity.

Any chance Laurie could get a game over Spargo he’s been regularly hitting the scoreboard in the vfl this year not sure why he couldn’t play the same role as spargo at afl level.

Edited by Garbo

8 minutes ago, Tarax Club said:

Going glass of Merlot half full too.

JVR a solid performance, kept his feet unlike last week. Marking the ball top and centre of the pack getting some one grab clunks. Competitive when the ball hit the deck.

JEFFO best performance of the year. Lead well and took the ball at the highest point. Showed some welcome physicality, no hesitation, in for the tackle, earned him two goals. Was able to get his arms free for some creative handballs. There is something there to work with.

Oliver Sestan played like the No. 1 locomotive in the first half was in everything. Strangely quieter, chugging away like Puffing Billy in the second half, but was probably eclipsed by Riley Bonner’s ascendant performance.

Blake Howes and Bailey Laurie reinforced their claims for promotion with smart workmanlike performances. Will Verrall played second fiddle to Tom Campbell’s dominant performance in the ruck. Nonetheless contributed positively as did Taj Woewodin to the team performance.

Riley Baldi Mitch, Hardie and Tyson Sruk #53 were the best performed of the Casey listed players.

Special mention; Jack Billings bobbed a like a Jack in the Box. A consistent and prolific performance with the ball all match. Could surprise a few with a return call.

Am especially impressed your context of locomotive and types...

I read your post with interest; for two reasons. 1) I enjoy and rate your observations and 2) I actually watched the game ( rare but able today ...albeit on phone )

It was an odd game in a fashion. The Ants were atrocious for the most part but came out invigorated in the last.

The vexed juxtaposition of only being able to play the opposition that presents was ever in vogue.

Am I the only person not particularly impressed by Casey today ? I know that seems incredulous but there was no particular composure with Casey. All well and good snatching ball out of ruck...but I'd suggest it helps if you have the slightest idea as to what to do with it after. Seemed confronted.

The fluffing around at back with dicky kicks that missed 90% of times was borderline comical. When Bullants woke up they had a meal.

We should have won that by a country mile..... the scoreboard quite flattering in the end in my book.

Tbh.... the efforts raised more questions than it answered and there was NO one knocking down the door for senior selection. No one

3 hours ago, old dee said:

I know it is like comparing the worst from the second worst but Fullarton is a better player than Jefferson.

Yeah right! ☠️

21 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Am especially impressed your context of locomotive and types...

I read your post with interest; for two reasons. 1) I enjoy and rate your observations and 2) I actually watched the game ( rare but able today ...albeit on phone )

It was an odd game in a fashion. The Ants were atrocious for the most part but came out invigorated in the last.

The vexed juxtaposition of only being able to play the opposition that presents was ever in vogue.

Am I the only person not particularly impressed by Casey today ? I know that seems incredulous but there was no particular composure with Casey. All well and good snatching ball out of ruck...but I'd suggest it helps if you have the slightest idea as to what to do with it after. Seemed confronted.

The fluffing around at back with dicky kicks that missed 90% of times was borderline comical. When Bullants woke up they had a meal.

We should have won that by a country mile..... the scoreboard quite flattering in the end in my book.

Tbh.... the efforts raised more questions than it answered and there was NO one knocking down the door for senior selection. No one

Absolutely. Like I said at quarter time, we really should’ve had 10 goals to nothing.

There were quite a few lazy efforts that put teammates into trouble. Not enough care was taken with the ball – kicks and hand balls went to grass or over the head.

Lack of respect was given to the opposition and this resulted in players running into trouble and having to dish it off under pressure.

A little like last week, which should’ve been another 10 goal win, players seemed to think they were better than what they are. Lucky the Bullants were not any closer.

Sorry if I’m bringing too much negativity, but they really should’ve done better than that if they want to be called up to the AFL team.

20 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

And not playing at Casey. That’s managed.

Emergency. Dropped.

Where are all the El Jeffo Knockers now?? Come out come out wherever u are!!😏

24 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Where are all the El Jeffo Knockers now?? Come out come out wherever u are!!😏

Mate... he was bog average really. Look what he was playing against. Ants have no defence... they're bottom of the ladder. Should have been a turkey shoot and we still made it look like hard work.

He had maybe half a dozen decent efforts. Should have had a couple of dozen.

So... you reckon he's AFL ready ??

I call b.s.

Jefferson 5 goals means nothing considering who we were playing. We need decent forwards ,Jefferson and Fullerton don't cut the mustard and probably never will. What I would like to see Howes play forward with time in the middle . Adams could be given a go at F.F, nothing wrong with versatility. The above mentioned players could play in defence or spend time on the bench. I would also give Brown a run in the seniors as he is a born tackler , forget about reserve form.

1 hour ago, Garbo said:

Any chance Laurie could get a game over Spargo he’s been regularly hitting the scoreboard in the vfl this year not sure why he couldn’t play the same role as spargo at afl level.

They play completely different roles

Laurie is a first possession inside mid type

He’s sort of similar to Newcombe around the stoppages but with none of the strength and his kicking is hit and miss

32 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Mate... he was bog average really. Look what he was playing against. Ants have no defence... they're bottom of the ladder. Should have been a turkey shoot and we still made it look like hard work.

He had maybe half a dozen decent efforts. Should have had a couple of dozen.

So... you reckon he's AFL ready ??

I call b.s.

So given your scenario then NO ONE at Casey deserves a call up under any circumstances then EH? and resies form doesn't count for much? Which means JVR Plays the rest of the year at Casey? Not to mention Jeffo, Laurie, Sestan, Brown , Woey, Campbell?/ So what you are saying is that our ressies haven't got ANY worthwhile AFL Players?? Have I got that right??

6 minutes ago, picket fence said:

So given your scenario then NO ONE at Casey deserves a call up under any circumstances then EH? and resies form doesn't count for much? Which means JVR Plays the rest of the year at Casey? Not to mention Jeffo, Laurie, Sestan, Brown , Woey, Campbell?/ So what you are saying is that our ressies haven't got ANY worthwhile AFL Players?? Have I got that right??

Youve added " no circumstance. "

Strawman stuff... I'd thought you better than that.

Read my words.. simply put... no one on today's efforts knocked down any doors

3 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Youve added " no circumstance. "

Strawman stuff... I'd thought you better than that.

Read my words.. simply put... no one on today's efforts knocked down any doors

I get that but what are your parameters re selection integrity and players who perform well in the VFL! I take it then NO notice should be taken of todays game, is that correct?