13 hours ago, Clintosaurus said:

Anyone who wants us to finish 0-23 should go follow St Kilda

Um yeah well unfer Ross the Boss they looked well drilled and fiesty yesterday, someting we arent!

3 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Um yeah well unfer Ross the Boss they looked well drilled and fiesty yesterday, someting we arent!

Like him or loathe him.... ol Lyon is possibly a lot more realistic. He ain't trying to get a mob of players to do what they can't.

Time to reward Fullerton. Has been fantastic at VFL level

van Rooyen to Casey

Petty --- Lever

Spargo --- Lindsay

6 minutes ago, SthSea22 said:

Time to reward Fullerton. Has been fantastic at VFL level

So here is a query for the demonland,

Our Forwards seemingly do well in the VFL but struggle in the AFL.

Is it primarily because of the gameplan/connection or do you think our list has a bunch of forwards who are too good for VFL but not quite hitting the high standards of the AFL?

13 minutes ago, roy11 said:

So here is a query for the demonland,

Our Forwards seemingly do well in the VFL but struggle in the AFL.

Is it primarily because of the gameplan/connection or do you think our list has a bunch of forwards who are too good for VFL but not quite hitting the high standards of the AFL?

13 minutes ago, roy11 said:

bunch of forwards who are too good for VFL but not quite hitting the high standards of the AFL?

Fortunately I was on a plane and didn't see the match and now don't feel compelled to do so. Blind freddy knows we have no forward plan or if we do it doesn't work. We urgently need some outside expertise to start to address the problem. We need to build some confidence in the playing group that its fixable.

7 minutes ago, Robbie57 said:

Fortunately I was on a plane and didn't see the match and now don't feel compelled to do so. Blind freddy knows we have no forward plan or if we do it doesn't work. We urgently need some outside expertise to start to address the problem. We need to build some confidence in the playing group that its fixable.

We desperately need a forwards coach who played as a forward and was successful in the position. Jonathon Brown would be brilliant. Even when you listen to Tom Hawkins speak on Friday nights coverage, he knows the issues and was very insightful. Worst case scenario with Tom would be that JVR can learn to legally push people in the back 😏

I reckon the forwards need a coach who is also revered. Having Stafford for many years and now Chaplin, it’s not working.

My god we need a proper forward as a forwards coach, one with experience or insights into the modern game would be handy too.

This should be number 1 on the whole club's list and we can get this happening right away...why they wouldn't do it is baffling. Admit this part of the game needs something different, make it happen!

Have to agree re the forward coaching but IMO it is mainly our delivery. Even Fritta had 3 opportunities to lower eyes and give off a little kick or hand pass to players on their own and goals would have happened. Once he had 3 players spare including Kozzy and just had an angled shot and of course missed. This is what is needed the most. Our mid coaches and Goody must insist they look for spares when entering or in the forward line. Forwards need to keep on the move.

Wouldn't hurt to ask J. Brown to come down a couple of times and work with JVR and Turner.

Not a panacea but some point this year id love to see JVR played at fullback and May play at full forward. (Both played these positions as juniors)

May plays in front, really attacks the footy and his marks stick.

JVR has never been a high mark player and constantly misreads the flight of the ball, maybe deep down he is better suited to the back line where he can be led to the ball.

If this season is indeed gone, then we should throw around the magnets a bit regardless.

5 minutes ago, Jjrogan said:

Not a panacea but some point this year id love to see JVR played at fullback and May play at full forward. (Both played these positions as juniors)

May plays in front, really attacks the footy and his marks stick.

JVR has never been a high mark player and constantly misreads the flight of the ball, maybe deep down he is better suited to the back line where he can be led to the ball.

If this season is indeed gone, then we should throw around the magnets a bit regardless.

I'd like them to stick with JVR up forward. He's still young and learning. He has been off this season, but deserves a longer chance. I think JVR at 50% is still better than a lot of our other options at 100%.

I have often thought about the option of May up forward. Would certainly be entertaining if nothing else.

Fullerton (sp?) definitely deserves a go in the 1s. Fritta definitely needs a spell. Reckon Petty too, with things going the way they are, its worth finding out how Adams for Petty might work.

Facebook keeps trying to get me to re-engage by sharing 'memories' from both my ancient wall posts, and, alarmingly, images sent through chat a decade ago.

What Facebook decided I wanted to see this morning was my post of April 7, 2013, saying "Oh, Melbourne Football Club. Why would you behave like that?", following the 148 point loss to Essendon.

So I had a dig for other gems from the period;

2012, March: "This year it took the Melbourne football club a full hour and a half of the season to plunge into crisis. Sigh."

2014, March: "I hate round 1. I hate Docklands stadium. I hate injuries to key talls. I hate losing on the so-rare occasions when it seems like the Demons ought to win."

In fact, by August 2014 I actually posted that I'd 'had about enough' of the Melbourne Football Club.

But, no, I guess you can't escape trauma-bonding that easily.

As a side note;

2012, November: a little comment on Caroline Wilson describing the paralympics as 'not like a real sport' and 'just watching people muck up'.

As for playing Essendon this weekend... reasons to be optimistic... um...

• We taditionally do well in games against other Victorian clubs when played interstate. 🤪

• It is a saturday night slot so I can't watch because of the broadcast deal, and we generally do better when I don't get to see it.

• Essendon are just as capable of stuffing up a "must-win and winnable" game as we are.

• A solid win could push us as much as five spots up the ladder.

is it not worth putting Jack Viney into a forward pocket, he can put some tackling pressure on and help with organisation and kick the odd one

I feel like our midfield set up dictates where others play on the ground.

Do we keep rivers back and start with Kozzie, Tracc and Oliver in the middle?

Viney goes forward?

Do we stick Rivers in the middle? Windsor?

If Riv and/or Windsor go in the middle, who goes back to the flanks?

50 minutes ago, Young Angus said:

My god we need a proper forward as a forwards coach, one with experience or insights into the modern game would be handy too.

This should be number 1 on the whole club's list and we can get this happening right away...why they wouldn't do it is baffling. Admit this part of the game needs something different, make it happen!

Jones also was not a great appointment in my view but that's another matter.

Joined the shocked muddled bench of coaches with no fresh ideas that I watch on TV

Agree! Why haven't we got a specialist forwards coach. Shows just what a trainwreck the footy department is.

3 minutes ago, Kent said:

Jones also was not a great appointment in my view but that's another matter.

Joined the shocked muddled bench of coaches with no fresh ideas that I watch on TV

Agree! Why haven't we got a specialist forwards coach. Shows just what a trainwreck the footy department is.

Whilst I agree it is puzzling, it's hard to fully understand/judge without knowledge of the soft cap and the wiggle room.

I find it depressing thinking about this game, so imagine how flat the players and coaching staff must be.

It's hard to know whether Goody's gameplan is at fault, but clearly our mids just don't seem to lower their eyes and make the right decisions with their forward entries and just as clearly, our forwards don't lead up to the ball like they should - JVR is the biggest offender on that score, given he is actually quite quick yet was constantly playing from behind against Geelong.

I was quite excited pre-season with our plan to run the ball quickly out of defence and through the centre in transition, but our poor kicking and failure to quicly get back has meant that plan looks ridiculous. But I hope we give it one last shot against the weaker Essendon line-up before putting it to the scrapheap if it again doesn't work.

But there will need to be a few tweaks. Firstly Ed Langdon looked brilliant pre-season in the middle, yet as soon as the season started was banished to the outer wing. We need his run through the middle for our plan to work. And with Kossie now there as well, we will have pace to trouble sides. Of course it still needs Olly and Trac to win clearances and play hard defence, but it's time to move Viney out of our midfield set up because he is just spraying his kicks, even when he has time. Given his grunt work, he's the perfect fit to play high half-forward like Nibbler. And he has to be down the spine, where the chance of him laying a hard game-changing tackle are highest.

The plan to use Windsor out of the backline is a winner, but it will be even better when McVee returns because Judd can take the quickest and most dangerous small forward. Hopefully he's back for Bolton against Freo.

Clearly Goody's initial plan of blooding six players has backfired and it's time to send two of them to the VFL to gain confidence like they should have done in Rd 1.

Jack Henderson had only been at the club three weeks when he was rushed in for Rd 1 and after four games and two goals and 11.5 disposals a game, it's time to let him get his confidence back - embarrassing as it must be for Taylor and Goody who pushed him up like he was Phil Carman.

Harry Sharp has kicked three goals but is averaging just nine disposals and has struggled to find targets - he also needs to now go and regroup in the VFL.

I'd also say the same for Charlie Spargo who desperately needed a few games in the VFL after nearly two years out with injury.

The trio are also there to provide forward pressure - did anyone notice any such thing on Friday night.

Aside from those three, I'd certainly be sending Harry Petty back to the VFL with clear instructions that he has to make quicker, smarter decisions when he gets it. And he has to start reading the play better.

And if you want to make a statement then leave out JVR who is averaging 8 disposals and has just four goals, although to be honest I'd send him down back to try and get some easy early grabs and regain confidence before swinging him forward late in the game. But they don't do that nowadays so I'd send him back to the VFl to learn his craft and regain confidence.

And before someone says it, please please please don't rush Jefferson straight back in. He's had a taste of AFL now, but he now needs to really dominate a VFL game before being thrown again to the wolves again and he should be told that if he lays more than two tackles, he is a monte for another game.

That's five out and hopefully both Lever and Lindsay are back. Laurie also deserves his spot after a big pre-season.

So does Fullarton, who we all know is not a Goody favourite, but he should be given a crack at it - he doesn't have to produce big numbers to match JVR's return at the moment.

And I also think it's time to give Kynan Brown a real go and not starting on the bench. You have to reward the high-tacklers in the VFL, otherwise you lose intensity and interest.

And if Lindsay isn't fit, then it's time to give serious consideration to Sestan.

Out: Sharp, Henderson, Spargo, Petty, JVR

In: Lever, Fullarton, Laurie, Brown, Lindsay

B: Bowey May Lever

HB: Windsor McDonald Salem

C: Lindsay Sparrow (hard tag on Merrett) Chandler

HF: Turner Viney Fritsch

F: Fullarton Petracca (mid/fwd) Brown

Ru: Gawn Langdon Pickett

Int: Oliver (mid), Melky (fwd), Langford (mid/fwd), Rivers (def)

Sub: Laurie

15 minutes ago, Deespicable said:

And if you want to make a statement then leave out JVR who is averaging 8 disposals and has just four goals, although to be honest I'd send him down back to try and get some easy early grabs and regain confidence before swinging him forward late in the game. But they don't do that nowadays so I'd send him back to the VFl to learn his craft and regain confidence.

Given Oscar Allen likely on the way out at WCE, do you think its a risk dropping WA born JvR? I know he has a long term contract, but still concerned about having his head turned

19 minutes ago, Deespicable said:

Clearly Goody's initial plan of blooding six players has backfired and it's time to send two of them to the VFL to gain confidence like they should have done in Rd 1.

Still think a lot of this was injuries/suspension based, so wont judge him too much for this

Viney has to be dropped. Love the bloke for all he’s done but he doesn’t work in what we trying to do, his kicking and decision making is appalling.

32 minutes ago, seventyfour said:

Essendon are no good and getting a lead will surely cause them jitters. We can absolutely win this game.

Fun fact

Essendons lowest score this year is 72 ( in a winning game btw )

Our highest is 66

Facts are fuh hey lol

18 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

I know we are playing abysmally - so far from anything that resembles the potential of this team. Its really unnerving.

I think its safe to say that finals is just borderline impossible.

We are playing so bad, i dont think it can actually get much worse- yes there is the potential for 100+ drubbings, but the talent on our list wont let that happen, not yet anyhow.

My concern is actually not with this year anymore, i think the damage is done. If we don't start to turn this ship around soon, its going to creep into next year too. Think similar to 2020 when we came good after the bye round. To me this would look like kicking more than 10 goals a game with a good balance of scores from turnover and stoppage. Good defensive half transition and some healthier stats in all phases of the game.

We must hit the bye round with at least 5 wins including an upset to a finals bound team. Hopefully then another 3-4 wins by the end of the season playing decent football - resembling the modern game - is about as best we can hope for. Failing this, we will likely be in no mans land again next year and probably less a few of our stars. If that happens then we are genuinely looking at a full rebuild, suggest you all find a different hobby for the next 5-10 years because i sure as [censored] dont have the patience to go through another one.

Forget the bye mate,

We're not winning a mother king thing.@GS_1905

39 minutes ago, seventyfour said:

Essendon are no good and getting a lead will surely cause them jitters. We can absolutely win this game.

Essendon will do to us on saturday, what they did to us in the 2023 version of gather round.

They move the ball quick and have quick agile midfielders.

Will probably go with two Ruckman and work Gawn over like every other team is doing atm.

54 minutes ago, Deespicable said:

I find it depressing thinking about this game, so imagine how flat the players and coaching staff must be.

It's hard to know whether Goody's gameplan is at fault, but clearly our mids just don't seem to lower their eyes and make the right decisions with their forward entries and just as clearly, our forwards don't lead up to the ball like they should - JVR is the biggest offender on that score, given he is actually quite quick yet was constantly playing from behind against Geelong.

I was quite excited pre-season with our plan to run the ball quickly out of defence and through the centre in transition, but our poor kicking and failure to quicly get back has meant that plan looks ridiculous. But I hope we give it one last shot against the weaker Essendon line-up before putting it to the scrapheap if it again doesn't work.

But there will need to be a few tweaks. Firstly Ed Langdon looked brilliant pre-season in the middle, yet as soon as the season started was banished to the outer wing. We need his run through the middle for our plan to work. And with Kossie now there as well, we will have pace to trouble sides. Of course it still needs Olly and Trac to win clearances and play hard defence, but it's time to move Viney out of our midfield set up because he is just spraying his kicks, even when he has time. Given his grunt work, he's the perfect fit to play high half-forward like Nibbler. And he has to be down the spine, where the chance of him laying a hard game-changing tackle are highest.

The plan to use Windsor out of the backline is a winner, but it will be even better when McVee returns because Judd can take the quickest and most dangerous small forward. Hopefully he's back for Bolton against Freo.

Jack Henderson had only been at the club three weeks when he was rushed in for Rd 1 and after four games and two goals and 11.5 disposals a game, it's time to let him get his confidence back - embarrassing as it must be for Taylor and Goody who pushed him up like he was Phil Carman.

Harry Sharp has kicked three goals but is averaging just nine disposals and has struggled to find targets - he also needs to now go and regroup in the VFL.

I'd also say the same for Charlie Spargo who desperately needed a few games in the VFL after nearly two years out with injury.

The trio are also there to provide forward pressure - did anyone notice any such thing on Friday night.

Aside from those three, I'd certainly be sending Harry Petty back to the VFL with clear instructions that he has to make quicker, smarter decisions when he gets it. And he has to start reading the play better.

And before someone says it, please please please don't rush Jefferson straight back in. He's had a taste of AFL now, but he now needs to really dominate a VFL game before being thrown again to the wolves again and he should be told that if he lays more than two tackles, he is a monte for another game.

That's five out and hopefully both Lever and Lindsay are back. Laurie also deserves his spot after a big pre-season.

So does Fullarton, who we all know is not a Goody favourite, but he should be given a crack at it - he doesn't have to produce big numbers to match JVR's return at the moment.

And I also think it's time to give Kynan Brown a real go and not starting on the bench. You have to reward the high-tacklers in the VFL, otherwise you lose intensity and interest.

And if Lindsay isn't fit, then it's time to give serious consideration to Sestan.

Out: Sharp, Henderson, Spargo, Petty, JVR

In: Lever, Fullarton, Laurie, Brown, Lindsay

B: Bowey May Lever

HB: Windsor McDonald Salem

C: Lindsay Sparrow (hard tag on Merrett) Chandler

HF: Turner Viney Fritsch

F: Fullarton Petracca (mid/fwd) Brown

Ru: Gawn Langdon Pickett

Int: Oliver (mid), Melky (fwd), Langford (mid/fwd), Rivers (def)

Sub: Laurie

If the players are depressed then someone needs to remind them very quick they are paid handsomely to be professional footballers.

Hard to disagree on your thoughts although I would be saying to Henderson. You have been following instructions well but now we work in getting your 11.5 disposals to 15. So I’d keep him in. My concern is Maxy, Oliver and Viney knowing that need to lift just try the same old way of playing. Max can only now do for half a game what he used to do for 90 minutes. Oliver is trying but forgotten how fit he was in his prime. Jack can see out his contract but in a new role. It’s up to the coaches to work that out and him to accept it. Fullerton for Van Rooyen for mine. No disgrace for a young player to go to VFL for a block of games. Give Fullerton the same block of games and let them fight it out for a position. Decades ago a family member was at Hawthorne in a successful era. The fight between players for a position was intense.