This is such 2012/2013 loser talk but if we can contain the margin to around 6 goals, then maybe we can instil a bit of confidence heading into Gather Round and maybe jag our first win of the year.

Geez how we’ve fallen off the cliff since that Saturday night in April last year when we beat the then league leaders Geelong.

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell

Out: Howes, Lindsay, Fritsch, Billings, Henderson, Sharp, Salem

In: Lever, Pickett, Turner, Windsor

We're going to pull off one of the greatest wins next week down at the Cattery and go even on wins and losses with them!

old emojis aren't working so ill just screenshot it in!

Screenshot 2025-03-29 at 14.20.25.png

Edited by John Demonic

A competitive loss is the best I expect. On current form could well be a 50-60 point loss

I'm up here in Brisbane and If ever there is a shining light it is the 95% humidity that the Cats had to play in tonight. I walked the dog after rain stopped for 15 minutes just before the game started and came back wet as. They will not get home to the farms until tomorrow arvo so we have a big advantage. They will be stuffed especially the older guys so up to us this Friday. That humidity has to take heaps out of them.

2 hours ago, Docs Demons said:

I'm up here in Brisbane and If ever there is a shining light it is the 95% humidity that the Cats had to play in tonight. I walked the dog after rain stopped for 15 minutes just before the game started and came back wet as. They will not get home to the farms until tomorrow arvo so we have a big advantage. They will be stuffed especially the older guys so up to us this Friday. That humidity has to take heaps out of them.

Chris Scott did a very similar press conference tonight to the 2021 prelim with respect to not revealing potential excuses to the loss.

I wonder if he was referring to the humidity you pointed out.

So Geelong have gone from having a bye and being fresh into this week (per the original fixture) to now coming off a 6 day break in punishing humidity.

Not that it matters in the scheme of things…:

13 hours ago, Demon Dynasty said:

ESPECIALLY FRITSCH...Time for a long spell at Casey. Make him earn it.

Unaccountable footy up the field. Not willing to chase early or chase much at all.

Doesn't look match fit. Zero intensity at the contest (alot of mates).

Did a few good things but he is VFL level at best at present.

Speaking of which. Petracca's accountability on Miller at stages of that third quarter was non-existent. Miller running amok had a field day whenever Tracc matched up on him.

And he's supposed to be a senior in the team setting examples. Jokefest.

Not alone but pathetic effort / attitude without the ball today.

How the hell are we at game three and seemingly un prepared in so many facets...

Fitness...many looked shot by about 5 minutes or so into the 3rd!

Intensity at the ball

Accountability without the ball

Work rate without the ball in the first three quarters

Skills by hand and foot (eg; Howes, Max, Viney, Tracc & Rivers) in the first three Qs.

Viney's kicking coming inside 50 and disposal in general is deeplorable 🤮

Where is Lingers at? Just no impact and kicking to the wrong spots, fumbles, panic turnover king.

Rivers... see Lingers

Rooh....yeh nah

Still unable to ice a quarter, giving up a goal in the last few seconds before three Q time.

Stacks more wrong with this club at present.

Whatever happened at Bright, these players have seemingly exited as not happy campers.

it has not had any positive effect at all on the field and has seemingly had the opposite effect.

The energy in the group appears to be one of being resolved to another hard day at the office before the first bounce!

Potential Positives (some of these probably not positives, just not as negative as the really shizen negatives above)....

️LANGFORD

Tracc with ball in hand at times in second half. His goal around the body in the third.

Bowey in the first half and parts of the second.

Sharp getting on the end of a few

Clarry's second half ....better. Not a great first half but seen worse and plenty were worse.

Maxy in general. Two of the worst games in succession i think i've seen him play since making it to the top. Has age finally caught up with the great man? Is Campbell an option as an assist or do we even consider rotating Max out every third week or so if he can't cope?

Billings not bad or good either but what is his role?

Salo... still involved but what does he bring? Has the game gone past him?

Having May back

Petty did ok in patches

T-Mac ok in the first half aside from the awful 45 attempt in the 2nd Q which he should never ever try to pull off. Turns the ball over with those almost always.

Changes.... Where do you start!

Turner a must IN for Fritsch this week if Goody has any integrity at selection

I'd also bring Campbell in and play Max off the bench with alot less game time in general. Max is so far off the level he can't go for more than a quarter or so with his oppo at present.

Agree with all and in fact Id play Max for long periods at Full Forward!

Fullerton has had a good start to the year. I’d give him a game along side Turner. JVR survives, but only to keep Tom Stewart busy.

Out- Lindsay, Melksham, AJ, Howes, Viney, TMAC

In- Fullerton, Kos, Lever, Laurie, Windsor, Turner.

Would also consider Sestan. We need to put a premium on ball use and decision making. Need to make positional changes to suit player strengths. Oliver and Trac to alternate mid forward. They are a defensive liability together. Kos, Windsor, Bowey, Chandler and Rivers to play more midfield minutes.

Moving forward, Howes to play VFL forward, Kynan Brown to be a small defender. Howes is a panic merchant and not a defenders but hole

Campbell - 1st player selected. You are gonna play 80 per cent game time.

Max- You have earned an easier run, 20 per cent on ball, time on forward line

Whatever happens, Bailey Fritsch HAS to be dropped.

Was glad he played another shocker because it just reassured us all just how much he NEEDS to be dropped. Praying the coaches will finally act on the nonsense he's dished up, for how long now? Half a season? & that’s being kind.

& actually depressed about Lindsay.

I think the most MFC outcome to this game is Geelong are exhausted and play terribly and we somehow eek out a 2 point win…we all feel good and like things might be on the up…and then promptly get destroyed by the Bombers in Adelaide and the pain starts again.

In:

disco (5.0 at Casey),

bill (10 tackles at Casey - tell him that’s all he needs to do against the cats),

kozzie (haven’t we missed him this year!!),

lever (get him back playing with his mate)

Out:

Lindsay 😭,

AJ (1 x disposal in the second half!!!),

JVR (his back can’t be right or if it is give the dude a lil break at Casey),

Howes (1 x disposal in the second half!!!)

As Goodwin said yesterday the first thing to fix is 'the method' especially around stoppages.

It is up to the coaches to find the best (methods) and up to the players to execute it.

Disappointed we didn't do this well enough in the off season but I know we are no where near as bad as we look lately.

We will bounce back, maybe not enough to win but enough to stop the 10 goal thrashings. And enough to get some confidence back.

A constant video in the change rooms of rnd 23, 2021 should bring back good memories and inspire confidence.

Can't believe I have tickets for this game and overnight accommodation organised 🤦‍♂️

10 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

As Goodwin said yesterday the first thing to fix is 'the method' especially around stoppages.

It is up to the coaches to find the best (methods) and up to the players to execute it.

Disappointed we didn't do this well enough in the off season but I know we are no where near as bad as we look lately.

We will bounce back, maybe not enough to win but enough to stop the 10 goal thrashings. And enough to get some confidence back.

A constant video in the change rooms of rnd 23, 2021 should bring back good memories and inspire confidence.

Geelong take no prisoners when an opponent is down.

Goodwin unlikely to get it right. If we attack to win we will get slaughtered on presentation form. If we play defensively we might make it competitive

13 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

This is such 2012/2013 loser talk but if we can contain the margin to around 6 goals, then maybe we can instil a bit of confidence heading into Gather Round and maybe jag our first win of the year.

Geez how we’ve fallen off the cliff since that Saturday night in April last year when we beat the then league leaders Geelong.

Not as stupid as it sounds. Heading back to look at the Hawthorn Bigfooty page after their massive Sydney loss in round 6-7 2024, it was grim. Their fans legitimately wanted Mitchell sacked and skill level wise, let alone game style was horrific and day and night towards what we saw in their finals run.

Obviously not a 1:1 situation, but over the last couple years there is precedence for starting slowly and then making an impact deep into the season whilst going on a run.

This is the only thing keeping me sane atm

4 minutes ago, 48 Year Now said:

Geelong take no prisoners when an opponent is down.

Goodwin unlikely to get it right. If we attack to win we will get slaughtered on presentation form. If we play defensively we might make it competitive

I just want to get our method right and get our confidence back. Do that and we avoid a 10 goal loss.

Then we can go into the following month of 4 very winnable games: Ess, Freo, Tigers, Eagles before we are tested again vs Hawks, Lions, Swans.

We just have to use those 4 games to get our method and basics right. Then que sera sera,.

10 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Chris Scott did a very similar press conference tonight to the 2021 prelim with respect to not revealing potential excuses to the loss.

I wonder if he was referring to the humidity you pointed out.

So Geelong have gone from having a bye and being fresh into this week (per the original fixture) to now coming off a 6 day break in punishing humidity.

Not that it matters in the scheme of things…:

Totally agree

Six word summary of MFC

Full of promise, continues to disappoint.

I’m normally an optimist, a glass half full type person. At the moment the glass looks bone dry.

Out:

McDonald - he's good, but not needed

Johnson - I get it to an extent, but tell me what he brings beyond "mongrel"?

Lindsay - inj

Howes - can't carry a fumbly defender who can't kick

Sparrow - its time. He is pointless. He may be marginally less worse than Billings, but at least Billings can run a bit.

Windsor - obviously

Pickett - obviously

Lever - I have him as line ball with TMac right now, but inclined to pick him. He seems to have a job for life even though he's been poor by his own lofty standards for a long time

Turner - have to reward five goals in the VFL

Laurie - deck chairs, but maybe this is the year?

Thin ice - Fritsch, Salem, JVR, Henderson

Going against my own credo here by playing JVR, Turner, Fritsch and Melksham in the same fwd line. Too tall. But only because of the lack of options. JVR to play 30% ruck and get his hands on the ball.

Starting midfield of Oliver, Rivers, Langford.

Viney to pressure forward.

Edited by Pirlo

19 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

If Howes doesn’t get dropped the club isn’t serious. Play him whatever position you like just make sure it’s at Casey.

You can’t concede 2 goals from throwing the ball because you’re afraid to get tackled and stay in the team.

Honestly, the most embarrassing display I’ve ever seen from a Melbourne player.

Fitzpatrick’s tunnelball goes close to most embarrassing display for me