11 minutes ago, inanunda said:

Only have to pay out 12 months.

Should be done tonight….

• Author
2 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Should be done tonight….

Someone should make a GoFund me.

On 27/03/2025 at 17:40, Diamond_Jim said:

He won't go this year for the reasons you mention.

If however they find the right up and comer I wouldn't be surprised if we see a Hinkley type transition next year. This will keep the payment level down while allowing the new coach a degree of input

The club doesn’t need another year of this, in addition to this year

36 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Should be done tonight….

opinion or inside intel?

Surely part of the off season review would have established some key KPI's and milestones for Goody who was given another chance where one should not have been given.

we will be 0-4. If we lose to Bumbers, which is a 50/50 proposition at the moment, we will be 0-6 as Freo awaits us the week after. If that scenario does come to pass and we dont sack him, then we deserve what we get.

Edited by GS_1905

3 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

opinion or inside intel?

Surely part of the off season review would have established some key KPI's and milestones for Goody who was given another chance where one should not have been given.

we will be 0-4. If we lose to Bumbers, which is a 50/50 proposition at the moment, we will be 0-6 as Freo awaits us the week after. If that scenario does come to pass and we dont sack him, then we deserve what we get.

My opinion at this stage

But i do know the situation has been talked about since last year…

We had 13 premiership players today, with a further three who at the time were on the cusp of top 22. The average age of this group is 27. This is prime performance period as a core group of players. On top of that we've had 4x top 10 picks in the past two seasons.

This is disastrous. We are on the verge of going the way of the Eagles.

The club really needs to think of what's next.

Cats, bombers and freo away in next 3 we won’t win any of those it’s not looking good for the coach, time for a change

I think of how people like Kingsley, McRae and Mitchell have totally transformed seemingly terrible teams into contenders quite quickly and think maybe a new voice is an option worth considering.

skipworth at the filth has huge wraps, Corey Enright looks a future senior coach to me and Chris Newman always seems to be in the mix

I wouldn't mind Hird now.

14 hours ago, Willmoy1947 said:

I wouldn't mind Hird now.

Hird is coaching director at Port Melbourne who is coached by Brendan McCarthy. Brendan was great when he was at Melbourne and after spending time Craig Macrae has got a passion for coaching back. Highly respected and a great communicator.

On 24/03/2025 at 18:41, WERRIDEE said:

We haven't got rid of all our assistants we still have Chaplin. I wonder if Horse could get Stevie J to coach our forward line. Ex Sydney assistant.

Stevie J ??? Now there's some rational thinking, a forward coaching forwards, who would have thought it?? Oh and Horse Longmire as senior coach!

Stevie Johnson lol..

I'm previously grew up in Yarrawonga ehere he coached the last two years and still have a lot of connections.

Johnson is the Lachie Hunter of coaching.

No thanks.

On 25/03/2025 at 12:21, Demon Dynasty said:

I would not be surprised if Claz returns to somewhere near his best this season.   That's not to say he won't have a few ups and downs early.

No g'tees but Sunday's output was a great sign that he may be back to somewhere near his best anyway.

Kozzy will be back week after next vs Puddy Cats.  Whether he stays or not we just want to see him hit full throttle and not take his foot off in any match / quarter he plays for rest of the season without further indiscretions.

If he leaves at year's end, and i suspect that's already in train and many of the boys know / suspect it as being so, so be it.

Reckon you might be underestimating Tracc's competitive spirit and professionalism.  Is he under done after not training fully (contact wise) with the main group for most of the pre-season and may not hit his straps in most quarters / matches as a result?  Early days but he was off his 2024 levels by about 27% last week and about 52% on Sunday which does not augur well.

Can he turn that around?  If im Simon looking at those numbers and his two results so far, i'd be pulling him aside and having a chat over a coffee and asking him realistically where he feels he's at.  Can he get back as he stands now or do we cut him a bit of slack for a few weeks, get a mini pre-season into him on the track over the next 4 weeks or so with a view to bringing him back once his KPI's, GPS numbers and track form / fitness warrant?

Of course if he's playing you could and probably should assume the FD are fully across this side and he's right to go.  I'm probably way off the mark there.  No harm in pontificating though.

We also have another problem and have since last season's drama and that's who are our designated extractors?

Our one wood prior to last season was extraction / clearance which was, in the main, left to Viney, Claz and Maxy in that order.

Viney to me looks to be a tad burnt out after last season where he pretty much carried the entire extraction load himself.

Is Clarry back and supporting him again here or just mostly skirting on the outside for the give and go?

For us to get back to our best footy (old Goodwin version crash / bash / chaos style) or even get things going under any new style that Simon & the boys are trying to implement, we're going to have to correct this at some stage.  Maybe it's a Langford but that feels a mile away in terms of seriously competitive / effective.

Who else could we bring in to CBs / stoppages as an extractor right now?  Is there anyone else?  Is Chin and option?  Too small and his pressure needed inside 50 and forward half yes?

For as long as that situation is not resolved and / or Viney / Clazz combined are no longer cutting it up here, we are pretty much gonna get pummelled by oppo that is better at extracting and first use as we witnessed on Sunday.

A younger Viney would and probably did take this on to great effect in the past.  In short bursts now...sure he is probably still 'ok' without being at the peak of his powers a few years back.  But can't expect this from him for as long as we once may have.  He needs back up and that used to be Claz, Maxy  pre 2024.  And in 2021 it was also LJ a little.

At this point, we don't have the speed by foot or experience from some of our rookies to sit on the outside and close down our opponents when they're winning more extractions and first use at CB and around ground stoppages.

Thx for considered response. My big take away from yesterday was Max saying they figured our game plan very early meaning they knew what it was before the game and that’s how it played out. Therefore they know exactly how Max ,Oliver Petracca and Viney will attack and keep the attacking game no matter whether we are up or down. So I see hope for a new coach, a strong one to dictate to Viney a new role and maybe position as defensive forward. Similarly create subtely different roles for Oliver and Trac and give proper support to Max.

What are the actual chances of MFC upending the coach anytime during a season? I agree we need fresh ideas but would it ever happen? The players love him…maybe that’s the problem, too much love and not enough blood sweat and tears.

Petracca at least spent his off season off training his guts out making himself as good as humanly possible…can we say the same for the rest of the team?

Nathan Jones head coach? Get in the deep end son!

sometimes I think players and coaches would actually benefit from reading these forums and the comments…not often, but a harsh reality check isn’t always a bad thing. Get out of your bubbles every now and then and read what everyone is saying. I know we all think the media are a pack of [censored] but they generally just say what’s going on.

17 hours ago, praha said:

We had 13 premiership players today, with a further three who at the time were on the cusp of top 22. The average age of this group is 27. This is prime performance period as a core group of players. On top of that we've had 4x top 10 picks in the past two seasons.

This is disastrous. We are on the verge of going the way of the Eagles.

The club really needs to think of what's next.

Allthis should have been discussed 2 years ago It wasn't and in fact discussion was discouraged

6 minutes ago, 48 Year Now said:

Thx for considered response. My big take away from yesterday was Max saying they figured our game plan very early meaning they knew what it was before the game and that’s how it played out. Therefore they know exactly how Max ,Oliver Petracca and Viney will attack and keep the attacking game no matter whether we are up or down. So I see hope for a new coach, a strong one to dictate to Viney a new role and maybe position as defensive forward. Similarly create subtely different roles for Oliver and Trac and give proper support to Max.

When Max says ppl have worked our plan out sure. It's been there for all and sundry to pick apart over years now.

So yes it's that but hey, if you're super good at the clearance game it's still gonna be pretty hard to stop if the big four were still firing on all cylinders AND especially the designated extractors in order to get first use and more clearances.

Without an effective Viney and some support from Clarry & Max, you can kiss that past effectiveness goodbye.

Teams know that if they pressure the hec out of Viney and Clarry around stoppages now that we are pretty much done from a 'dominatiing or evening up the clearances' POV.

Then if you add to that the fact that the oppo happens to have an extraction & clearance bull themselves plus good go to runners on the outside. Well then you're more often than not, going to struggle at 666 and around ground stoppage regardless of game style against clubs that can bring that. And most clubs have that set up now at stoppage bar a few. One that comes to mind is the Tiges but they're in full rebuild so to be expected they will struggle much of the time till they resolve this aspect.

You could trial Plan B C or D and yes you might get slightly improved outcomes. But i doubt you would win more than lose or dominate many games at all. It would still be a struggle.

Same with coaches. I've no doubt they could improve many other aspects of our game and probably would eg; skills, delivery i50 and forward craft / method.

But your one wood would still not be competitive enough to stay in games for long enough imho unless you resolve the Viney / Clarry / Max extraction / clearance problem.

Viney (so far) is miles off even on his 'ok' 2024. Clarry is no longer extracting much from what i can see. And the same with Max even though expectations for him doing so wouldn't be high to start with.

We are getting broken down and grinded down at the source as matches wear past about the half way mark.

Does Viney have some upside to counter this? Enough for four quarters? On his own def not it seems. With serious help from Claz or another designated extractor? Possibly! Is Claz still willing / capable? Jury out me thinks but we should have a good indication by about Rnd 8 or so. Max was but now seemingly isn't. Another one to watch in the coming block of games for mine. Extraction is not really the main game for Max anyway i wouldn't think. With any assists from the big man here probably a support or bonus factor.

But if it aint Claz, who is our other go to extractor to assist and eventually replace Vines? And it has to be soon as it would appear Vines may have tipped past his prime and on the downward slide. Either that or he's just burnt out and needs a complete break from that role.

Regardless who replaces? Bring Moose in from retirement maybe! (sarcasm emoji?)

Edited by Demon Dynasty

2 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

When Max says ppl have worked out plan out sure. It's been there for all and sundry to pick apart over years now.

So yes it's that but hey, if you're super good at the clearance game it's still gonna be pretty o stop if the big four were still firing on all cylinders AND especially the designated extractors in order to get first use and more clearances.

Without an effective Viney and some support from Clarry & Max, you can kiss that past effectiveness goodbye.

Teams know that if they pressure the hec out of Viney and Clarry around stoppages now that we are pretty much done from a 'dominatiing or evening up the clearances' POV.

Then if you add to that the fact that the oppo happens to have an extraction & clearance bull themselves plus good go to runners on the outside. Well the you're always going to struggle at 666 and around ground stoppage regardless of game style.

You could trial Plan B C or D and yes you might get slightly improved outcomes. But i doubt you would win more than lose or dominate many games at all. It would still be a struggle.

Same with coaches. I've no doubt they could improve many other aspects of our game and probably would eg; skills, delivery i50 and forward craft / method.

But your one wood would still not be competitive enough to stay in games for long enough imho unless you resolve the Viney / Clarry / Max extraction / clearance problem.

Viney right off even on his 'ok' 2024. Clarry is no longer extracting much from what i can see. And same with Max.

We are getting broken down and grinded down at the source as matches wear past about the half way mark.

Does Viney have some upside to counter this? Enough for four quarters? On his own def not? With serious help from Claz or another designated extractor? Possibly!

But if it aint Claz, who is pur other go to extractor to assist and eventually replace Vines? And it has to be soon as it would appear Vines may have tipped past his prime and on the downward slide. Either that or he's just burnt out and needs a complete break from that role. Regardless who replaces? Bring Moose in from retirement maybe! (sarcasm emoji?)

Yes, I’m not a sack Goodwin bandwagon man but now think fresh eyes and ideas will help

34 minutes ago, Young Angus said:

What are the actual chances of MFC upending the coach anytime during a season? I agree we need fresh ideas but would it ever happen? The players love him…maybe that’s the problem, too much love and not enough blood sweat and tears.

Petracca at least spent his off season off training his guts out making himself as good as humanly possible…can we say the same for the rest of the team?

sometimes I think players and coaches would actually benefit from reading these forums and the comments…not often, but a harsh reality check isn’t always a bad thing. Get out of your bubbles every now and then and read what everyone is saying. I know we all think the media are a pack of [censored] but they generally just say what’s going on.

Just when I thought things couldn't get any worse.

Edited by Queanbeyan Demon

17 hours ago, brendan said:

Cats, bombers and freo away in next 3 we won’t win any of those it’s not looking good for the coach, time for a change

Freo is at home.

44 minutes ago, Young Angus said:

On the first part possibly but we have no way of knowing truly from the outside. It does feel that way as an onlooker though

That and the feeling that some or some too many bathed in their own bath water a little too much or even a tad post 2022.

Tracc has no doubt put a power of work in in the off season.

I'm not sure he has the match fitness / run in the legs yet but that may be coming to him slowly as we speak.

As for his accountability at 666 when he's in attendance. Don't get me started. If anyone's in doubt i would advise reviewing the tapes. Particularly in that third term when he was matched up on Miller.

Miller had enough time to go shopping at his usual Woolies and visit Aldi for their super specials, one of which were some candles for his "i'm free ...yep i'm still free" kick it to me party that he threw as soon as the ball left the circle.

Tracc was also very effective after the ball left the CBs in GC hands, running into his own spaces and yelling angrily at the clouds, while his direct opponent was lighting his candles and blowing them out in their forward half.

Edited by Demon Dynasty

We need a smart coach. Someone who can see the direction of the game and have vision to try something different.

Commands respect from the players, FD and board.

The review didn’t go deep enough IMO and it shows.

1 hour ago, Young Angus said:

Rare unfortunately.

If you had heard the Brad Green interview prior to the game then you'd know he's very cushy with Goody as a coach.

Spruiked the same rubbish around 'love' and 'culture'..

Something feels very toxic inside the club me thinks..