chook fowler 19,771 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 Still reckon Ballhanger is hard to beat 1 Quote
Ghostwriter 5,442 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 2 hours ago, Gorgoroth said: Surely someone with 4 functioning braincells could come up with better nicknames that we seem to do. Who ever is in charge needs to lift their game or move aside. Gussy was the resident creator of nicknames. Yet another of the many ways in which we miss him 😥 3 1 7 Quote
Deemania since 56 6,806 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 22 hours ago, ElDiablo14 said: He's taller though, more like a Crippa. From all reports, he seems to have more nous about footy than Crippa... Quote
Ghostwriter 5,442 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 (edited) 1 hour ago, adonski said: What about the Saint? Without them we would never have got Langford! I’ll see your last two minutes of Blues vs Saints and raise you the last two minutes of Blues vs Dees… Round 22, 2022 Nothing to do with Harves but does that matter? It’s a thing of beauty and we don’t need a reason to watch it ❤️💙 Edited January 30 by Ghostwriter 7 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,852 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 1 minute ago, Ghostwriter said: I’ll see your last two minutes of Blues vs Saints and raise you the last two minutes of Blues vs Dees… Round 22, 2022 Nothing to do with Harves but does that matter? It’s a thing of beauty and we don’t need a reason to watch it ❤️💙 i definitely hugged randoms in the stands that nite 1 6 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,532 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 7 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said: “Oh no! A Demonland poster is putting unnecessary pressure on me to perform!” Im sure you are more than capable of handling that kind of pressure ET……….a seasoned veteran such as yourself no doubt welcomes it! 2 Quote
demoncat 1,722 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 2 hours ago, adonski said: What about the Saint? Without them we would never have got Langford! Thank you for saving my life Jack Higgins 1 1 Quote
monoccular 17,760 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 On 29/01/2025 at 19:12, ElDiablo14 said: He's taller though, more like a Crippa. 8 hours ago, The heart beats true said: I hope he’s as a good a throw. As long as he gets the same umpire and tribunal latitude as Cripps we are really onto a winner. 6 Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,388 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 2 hours ago, Demon Disciple said: Im sure you are more than capable of handling that kind of pressure ET……….a seasoned veteran such as yourself no doubt welcomes it! Pressure makes diamonds. 1 1 Quote
Go Ds 330 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 6 hours ago, Ghostwriter said: i sincerely hope not. He deserves his own nickname, not one that’s based on a comparison to another player. Besides, he’ll be a 10x better player than Reid. 😁 And it'll be confusing when we have both! 😁 2 Quote
Macca 17,127 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 (edited) Langford has enormous potential and he may also be able to play that Gus role that we've missed Part defensive midfielder or filling that role between half back and the midfield with defensive spoils and intercept marks With his height and physical presence, he could play any number of roles that a midfielder could fill The above may take a while to come to fruition, of course. First of all, he needs to find his feet! Edited January 30 by Macca 4 1 Quote
Its Time for Another 4,306 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 7 hours ago, chook fowler said: Still reckon Ballhanger is hard to beat Wall banger has a special resonance. Quote
58er 6,871 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 7 hours ago, Its Time for Another said: Wall banger has a special resonance. Why? not smart or any logic as far as I can see. Nor is Hammer either explain that also. Macca your post saying he can be a defensive weapon around half back.???? The guy is a forward/ mid. Do you want to further place defence above attack for our Club? We need creative attacking aggressive forwards not dour defenders. 1 1 Quote
Pickettup 47 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 (edited) 1 hour ago, 58er said: Why? not smart or any logic as far as I can see. Nor is Hammer either explain that also. Macca your post saying he can be a defensive weapon around half back.???? The guy is a forward/ mid. Do you want to further place defence above attack for our Club? We need creative attacking aggressive forwards not dour defenders. There are a number of highlights showing him going back with the flight, defensively, to be fair. Edited January 30 by Pickettup Quote
Demonstone 23,559 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 1 hour ago, 58er said: Why? not smart or any logic as far as I can see. Sounds like you could do with a couple yourself. 5 1 1 Quote
binman 44,812 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 (edited) 14 minutes ago, Demonstone said: Sounds like you could do with a couple yourself. Perhaps they've had too many. Edited January 30 by binman Fear of demonstone's wrath 2 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 16 hours ago, Ghostwriter said: Gussy was the resident creator of nicknames. Yet another of the many ways in which we miss him 😥 Possibly a bigger loss than Ben Gibson on the PR/marketing front? 2 Quote
Macca 17,127 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 2 hours ago, 58er said: Macca your post saying he can be a defensive weapon around half back.???? The guy is a forward/ mid. Do you want to further place defence above attack for our Club? We need creative attacking aggressive forwards not dour defenders. When we were are at our best, we often had Brayshaw playing as a defensive midfielder (as well as an attacking mid when it suited) Not sure that Petracca, Oliver or Viney can play that role as marking strength and the ability to spoil was part of Gus' role. Maybe Rivers? Not advocating Langford at half back or on a wing (Gus also played those roles at other times), but more so at the defensive side of the midfield sweeping from side to side We need some versatility in the midfield and that's maybe why we drafted Langford in the first place Of course, we could also play Langford as a forward mid or a HHF if augers well. Right now, Langford has the base attributes so we'll soon see where it all goes from here 5 Quote
DistrACTION Jackson 10,713 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 3 minutes ago, Macca said: When we were are at our best, we often had Brayshaw playing as a defensive midfielder (as well as an attacking mid when it suited) Not sure that Petracca, Oliver or Viney can play that role as marking strength and the ability to spoil was part of Gus' role. Maybe Rivers? Not advocating Langford at half back or on a wing (Gus also played those roles at other times), but more so at the defensive side of the midfield sweeping from side to side We need some versatility in the midfield and that's maybe why we drafted Langford in the first place Of course, we could also play Langford as a forward mid or a HHF if augers well. Right now, Langford has the base attributes so we'll soon see where it all goes from here I think Langford’s biggest strength will be that he can play anywhere on the ground. He will be a plug and play type player depending on what we need. Compare that to say a Jagga Smith, who will no doubt be an elite ball winner, but I don’t think he has that versatility in his game. 3 Quote
Ghostwriter 5,442 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 9 minutes ago, layzie said: Possibly a bigger loss than Ben Gibson on the PR/marketing front? Yes, but there’s change afoot. I recently met our new media guy, Matt. He’s aware of the importance of connecting with fans via the socials and it’s already showing. 6 1 Quote
Macca 17,127 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 Just now, DistrACTION Jackson said: I think Langford’s biggest strength will be that he can play anywhere on the ground. He will be a plug and play type player depending on what we need. Compare that to say a Jagga Smith, who will no doubt be an elite ball winner, but I don’t think he has that versatility in his game. Yes, Langford just needs to be developed as he has a lot to learn. But a lot of that will be self-development because as you said, he looks to be a plug-in-and-play type Exciting times with Langford & Lindsay being added to the list 2 Quote
BORNADO 17 Posted January 31 Posted January 31 44 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said: I think Langford’s biggest strength will be that he can play anywhere on the ground. He will be a plug and play type player depending on what we need. Compare that to say a Jagga Smith, who will no doubt be an elite ball winner, but I don’t think he has that versatility in his game. I agree. At least at the start of his career, Langford's versatility will mean he should be able to get a game anywhere. Pure mids can struggle early on if they're not quite at the level needed. Jagga by all accounts is a gun and will be fine. But even strong well-built mids like Ryley Sanders struggled early on, and averaged 16.5 disposals for the year. And unfortunately he's a bit useless if he's not playing thru the middle. Quote
DistrACTION Jackson 10,713 Posted January 31 Posted January 31 48 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said: Yes, but there’s change afoot. I recently met our new media guy, Matt. He’s aware of the importance of connecting with fans via the socials and it’s already showing. Good to hear. We have definitely fallen behind other clubs in that space and clubs like Hawks, Saints and Giants have excelled. Whether you like social media or not (I hate it), it is ultra important to growing the club long term. 2 Quote
In Harmes Way 7,869 Posted January 31 Posted January 31 17 hours ago, whatwhat say what said: i definitely hugged randoms in the stands that nite That might have been me. 2 Quote