Graeme Yeats' Mullet 6,791 Posted February 14 Posted February 14 (edited) Sky's not falling in yet... But is it starting to fray at the seams? Edited February 14 by Graeme Yeats' Mullet 1 1 Quote
Wizard of Koz 1,205 Posted February 14 Posted February 14 On 13/02/2025 at 15:12, Bring-Back-Powell said: 6-8 weeks is smack back in the middle of the of the good to bad news spectrum. He’ll probably back in the side around the round 6 game against Freo. AMW seems the logical replacement while Howes and Hore might be asked to play on smaller defenders if either of those guys has a good practice match series. Please no more injuries given Kozzie’s also out for a while. I would like to see Langford playing the hybrid small forward role at least until Koz is back. Why not? He definitely looks classy enough and a different way to learn than the usual half back flank to midfield method. standout 1 Quote
Kent 2,920 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 McAdam appears to be injury prone Let's just forget about him for the season and maybe the future 1 1 Quote
Roost it far 10,109 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 We’re one more best 22 injury away from being in strife. 1 Quote
BC_1718_DC 1,776 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 4 minutes ago, Roost it far said: We’re one more best 22 injury away from being in strife. You were counting McAdam as best 22? Judd sure, Kolt maybe player 20-24 in the ‘best’ side. Other than that don’t think there’s much to worry about. Kozzy is obviously a loss with suspension but don’t think it’s a “strife” scenario even with another injury. 7 Quote
picket fence 18,169 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 5 minutes ago, BC_1718_DC said: You were counting McAdam as best 22? Judd sure, Kolt maybe player 20-24 in the ‘best’ side. Other than that don’t think there’s much to worry about. Kozzy is obviously a loss with suspension but don’t think it’s a “strife” scenario even with another injury. Anyone that thought Mc Adam was in best 23 was fanciful at best! A handfull of games in 3 years??? Nup sky is not falling! Now Jai Culley must be in the frame! A lot to like and in my opinion is almost a walk up start based on what I and others have seen! 2 Quote
BC_1718_DC 1,776 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 2 minutes ago, picket fence said: Anyone that thought Mc Adam was in best 23 was fanciful at best! A handfull of games in 3 years??? Nup sky is not falling! Now Jai Culley must be in the frame! A lot to like and in my opinion is almost a walk up start based on what I and others have seen! McAdam was a wildcard option. Had worked his tail off to put himself in the position of being fit and impacting. Rotten luck to get injured. But if the list spot opens up and they do pick Culley, from what he’s shown he would absolutely be in the mix to get a crack early. Hasn’t looked out of place competing with our big boys in the guts. His sheer size makes him versatile to impact at either end of the ground also. 6 Quote
picket fence 18,169 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 (edited) 2 minutes ago, BC_1718_DC said: McAdam was a wildcard option. Had worked his tail off to put himself in the position of being fit and impacting. Rotten luck to get injured. But if the list spot opens up and they do pick Culley, from what he’s shown he would absolutely be in the mix to get a crack early. Hasn’t looked out of place competing with our big boys in the guts. His sheer size makes him versatile to impact at either end of the ground also. RE CULLEY,I saw him take 3 strong marks in the forward line for a couple of goals a few weeks ago.... Impressive unit! Edited February 15 by picket fence 1 Quote
Redleg 42,144 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 6 minutes ago, picket fence said: RE CULLEY,I saw him take 3 strong marks in the forward line for a couple of goals a few weeks ago.... Impressive unit! At 194cms and versatile he would be a good addition to our list. He can also kick a goal. 3 1 Quote
Dee tention 619 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 Surely Jai Culley gets a list spot with McAdam injury. I can definitely see him playing regularly in the best side. Great opportunity and story it would be for him. He adds grunt and size to the midfield rotation and can swing forward. I thing there a big things ahead for Culley…! Unfortunate for McAdam… 1 Quote
Garbo 1,567 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 Well that’s probably the end of mcadam hard to see him coming back now 1 2 Quote
Roost it far 10,109 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 1 hour ago, BC_1718_DC said: You were counting McAdam as best 22? Judd sure, Kolt maybe player 20-24 in the ‘best’ side. Other than that don’t think there’s much to worry about. Kozzy is obviously a loss with suspension but don’t think it’s a “strife” scenario even with another injury. We need to bank early wins if we’re going to threaten. McAdam was the obvious Koz replacement and McVee is a big loss. Just imagine an injury to a Lever or Petty and it’s a tight rope from there. 1 Quote
BC_1718_DC 1,776 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 (edited) 59 minutes ago, Roost it far said: We need to bank early wins if we’re going to threaten. McAdam was the obvious Koz replacement and McVee is a big loss. Just imagine an injury to a Lever or Petty and it’s a tight rope from there. A chance for Andy MW or Howes to take Judd’s spot for the time being. Plus Bowey of course who probably would’ve been in anyway. Our small forward stocks are limited and wouldn’t even call McAdam that anyway. Unfortunate but think there is room to cover. As for key position especially with the backs, Tmac will be an extra defender/forward when it comes to Petty/Lever/May also Think we have more options than given credit for. Edited February 15 by BC_1718_DC 3 1 Quote
Roost it far 10,109 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 19 minutes ago, BC_1718_DC said: A chance for Andy MW or Howes to take Judd’s spot for the time being. Plus Bowey of course who probably would’ve been in anyway. Our small forward stocks are limited and wouldn’t even call McAdam that anyway. Unfortunate but think there is room to cover. As for key position especially with the backs, Tmac will be an extra defender or could again swing when it comes to Petty/Lever/May. Think we have more options than given credit for. Let’s hope so. I just don’t like best 22 injuries 1 Quote
Oxdee 537 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 1 hour ago, Garbo said: Well that’s probably the end of mcadam hard to see him coming back now Is this a season ending injury? 1 Quote
chook fowler 19,770 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 8 minutes ago, Oxdee said: Is this a season ending injury? Definitely. Often takes longer than an ACL. Up there with the worst you can sustain. 1 Quote
Supreme_Demon 4,136 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 A ruptured achilles tendon is a huge injury. It will sadly take Shane McAdam well over a year to fully recover from this injury. Rotten luck and my heart goes out to him. ❤️ However, best to put him on the Long Term Injury List and give another player a chance. 1 3 Quote
Billy 2,565 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 14 minutes ago, Supreme_Demon said: A ruptured achilles tendon is a huge injury. It will sadly take Shane McAdam well over a year to fully recover from this injury. Rotten luck and my heart goes out to him. ❤️ However, best to put him on the Long Term Injury List and give another player a chance. Agreed, it’s just about a career ending injury for a 30yo, unlucky for the poor bugger, but not sure how professional he’s been in his career though, came to the club pretty unfit apparently AFL is a tough business 2 1 Quote
Redleg 42,144 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 (edited) 2 hours ago, Billy said: Agreed, it’s just about a career ending injury for a 30yo, unlucky for the poor bugger, but not sure how professional he’s been in his career though, came to the club pretty unfit apparently AFL is a tough business This injury is simply bad luck, no blame whatsoever on Shane, who was really impressive this pre season. Terrible luck for him. Wish him the best. He is probably in a bad head space atm I would imagine. Club will wrap its arms around him. Edited February 15 by Redleg 9 1 Quote
Pates 9,697 Posted February 17 Posted February 17 Regardless of people's opinions on MacAdam, he'd put in a lot of hard work in the off-season and was almost a certainty to be a round one starter. He may not have been best 23 but you need players pushing hard for selection to make competition for spots, him being injured removes that. It's just sad he'll never get a clean run at it. As for the forgotten man in Spargs, how long has he been injured for? Will he ever get back? 4 1 Quote
Slartibartfast 18,107 Posted February 17 Posted February 17 2 hours ago, Pates said: Regardless of people's opinions on MacAdam, he'd put in a lot of hard work in the off-season and was almost a certainty to be a round one starter. He may not have been best 23 but you need players pushing hard for selection to make competition for spots, him being injured removes that. It's just sad he'll never get a clean run at it. As for the forgotten man in Spargs, how long has he been injured for? Will he ever get back? At training today Spargs did the entire session and whilst you never call spargs animated he was just loving being out there albeit in a pretty bruise free training session. He was really involved, plenty of the ball, clean and great delivery. He’s now fully fit in terms of his body but you’d think he’ll take some time for match fitness. If he’s not best 22 he’s certainly really good depth but my guess is he plays plenty of AFL footy this year, injury permitting. 9 3 1 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,285 Posted February 18 Posted February 18 We knew it was coming but terrible luck for McAdam. 2 3 Quote
Timothy Reddan-A'Blew 5,689 Posted February 19 Posted February 19 On 17/02/2025 at 19:11, Pates said: Regardless of people's opinions on MacAdam, he'd put in a lot of hard work in the off-season and was almost a certainty to be a round one starter. He may not have been best 23 but you need players pushing hard for selection to make competition for spots, him being injured removes that. It's just sad he'll never get a clean run at it. As for the forgotten man in Spargs, how long has he been injured for? Will he ever get back? According to 'Richo', 'Shane is...looking forward to getting stuck into his rehab'. So hard to imagine that to be the case about such a long process, and at 29. So much credit to him if, on 13 Feb 2026, he's back where he was on that day a year earlier. Hopefully Spargo and McAdam have the sort of relationship that the former's 2024 experience, and his getting back to where he is now, can support the latter through 2025. 2 2 Quote