Posted
1 hour ago, whatwhat say what said:

I think we just need to accept that we are far from a highly skilled sides 

It is clearly one of the things that has long held us back 

Been saying that for the last few years, and it's going to take time and a lot of mistakes but it will click just need time and practice. 

Posted
49 minutes ago, Longsufferingnomore said:

No, every other player have to have blinders to keep him out.

Think they were referring to winning the Bluey Truscott

Posted
28 minutes ago, kev martin said:

Langford stuffs around with the ball, he usually has enough skill to step and move freely. I am a bit worried that the speed of AFL may catch him out. Still some learnings to happen.

When you say stuffs around with it, do you mean he spends too much time with ball in hand, or he isn’t a one touch player?

Posted (edited)
11 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

When you say stuffs around with it, do you mean he spends too much time with ball in hand, or he isn’t a one touch player?

Langford likes having the ball in hand, I just see him getting caught in the faster AFL games, if he is not switched on. Most of the time he breaks lines and moves to space, Have seen him get caught a few times, not from confusion, more because he is a confident player, who can get straight line tackled.

I have also seen him get rid of the ball super quickly, hands close to Clarry's abilities. He is a one touch player, very clean.

Edited by kev martin
Posted
1 minute ago, kev martin said:

Langford likes having the ball in hand, I just see him getting caught in the faster AFL games, if he is not switched on. Most of the time he breaks lines and moves to space, Have seen him get caught a few times, not from confusion, more because he is a confident player, who can get straight line tackled.

I have also seen him get rid of the ball super quickly, hands close to Clarry's abilities. He is a one touch player, very clean.

Thanks for clarifying and good to know. It's funny, Pendlebury is not quick at all but seems to have heaps of time, same as the Bont. Hopefully he will be similar to those two, in any case I'm sure he will get up to speed.

Posted
4 hours ago, Demonland said:

As others have mentioned in previous training reports Chaplin is taking a lead role in explaining and breaking down the drills and the feedback afterwards. 

Will be the matchday man in box it seems..

Posted
5 hours ago, Demonland said:

Max is not in the training jumper and is not warming up with the main group and is standing with the coaches. 

Wait for the HS headline “Discontent at Demons as skipper fails to train as he contemplates move to Collingwood.” 🙄

4 hours ago, Demonland said:

Ball movement drill is someone kicking from the back goal square to a player leading out to the back pocket at the 50. Player then kicks the ball back towards Centre on the half back flank point of the square. Another player runs past for the handball and he kicks across ground to the wing half forward and then that player kicks to a lead towards the forward pocket. 

Sounds way too easy. We will surely kick 30 goals every week. 

3 hours ago, picket fence said:

No Mc Adams😵‍💫

Not even McAdam?

14 minutes ago, kev martin said:

The guy (Langford) is barely into his first AFL preseason 

Posted
44 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Mc Adam was warming up when training was nearly finished. Make of that what you will!

Ingenious. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, monoccular said:

The guy (Langford) is barely into his first AFL preseason 

That was kind of the point I was making with Langford. Still a bit to learn, especially the pace of the game. Windsor was the same (after playing against lesser opponents, some adaptation needed) early in his intro to MFC, he learnt very quickly. My guess is Langford will be on the same trajectory. 

Posted

I dropped past briefly on my way back from Fitzroy to Balaclava, to catch the handball drill. As on Monday, I can’t help but be impressed with Langford: he looks so at home at this level and has great touch. Good to see him take the game on so confidently. Sure, he may get caught out a bit in his first few games, but with a bit of experience, he will be very special.

• Love 4
Posted

Another big thanks for the trackwatchers and training reports today - Demonland, DeeSpencer, Ditcha, Clanicko, buck_nekkid, Kev Martin, Demosaw, Binman and all posters and special comments. Our last training session until January, thanks for your efforts and of course Ghost Writer and Pf, Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year to you all and your families.😁👍💕

• Clap 3
Posted
2 hours ago, xarronn said:

So only one of the Mc Adams, or both?

Only one remaining - one retired.

Posted

Dropped in again today and saw most of the match sim.
There were two highlight plays - both discussed already on here in brief.

Trac, who was everywhere intercepting and creating plays like he was in his midfield breakout year of 2020, intercepted a Clarry handball that spilt into general play and then raced to try and win it, when he finally did amidst about five players he bounded out of defence only for his own give to be intercepted by Oliver who started a brilliant chain that led to Laurie's goal on the run. Trac nicely gave Olly a high five congrats on the play - a nice sign of respect. Both Trac and Olly played far more in the middle corridor than normal - both on each other I suspect - so they had a bit of latitude and really just had to use their smarts to win the footy, which they both did on countless times. They are clearly the cream of our midfield. Sadly Olly got a little sore towards the end and came off - not sure whether it was a significant injury - suspect it was pretty minor as he was standing around the tent area.

The other was the goal from boy George, who spun out of a tackle and snapped beautifully from about 40m. It should also be noted that he dropped a chest mark in the same play prior to getting tackled.

Kossie and Trac were the two stars out there - just so quick and clever. It looks like Kossie, when he resumes in rd 4, will go straight into our midfield rotation this year. His days as a small forward may be done - at least until our goals dry up.

Harry Sharp was quite prominent on his wing, although he did get brought down by a huge tackle from Sparrow at one stage. We do have a plethora of wing options this year and that's even without Caleb Windsor, who will be a match winning line breaker down back. Billings is looking good, Ed is everywhere, Woey when he goes there looks good also and Xavier Lindsay will probably be in contention soon when he stops running reps and joins in after X-mas.

Across half forward Fritter and Kolt were also lively and Roo's mobility and clever Tommy Hawkins-style gives makes him a standout.

I haven't commented on Harvey, but if I did it would be the same as last time. He is still finding his feet with the extra pace making life tougher than in his junior career - but he has some significant tools that will come into play this season. Let's wait and see how he fares after a X-mas break - I reckon he will comeback feeling more confident in the new environment and will make the pace adjustment. It's incredibly hard on a guy being thrust straight into a mid role - Trac had four seasons as a forward to learn the ropes before graduating to that role.

Posted (edited)

GET SMART SEASON INFINITY

THE LOST EPISODES

EPISODE 1 SEASON INFINITY

“KAOS KIDNAP OF CLARRY”

Chiefs’ office HOTLINE phone rings

Chief, “Hello , yes this is the chief, ( unintelligible audio) WHAT …… KIDNAP CLARRY?? Yes, Sir right away Sir I’ll put my best man onto it right away!

Dials Phone “ Hello Max it’s the Chief”

Max “ How do I know it you chief”?

Chief “Max its me the Chief, surely you recognize my voice??

Max “ I don’t know chief it sounds like you but it could be a Kaos Voiceover telekit”

Chief “ A Kaos voiceover telekit?? I’ve never heard of it”!

Max. I know you haven’t heard of it because it hasn’t been invented yet!

Chief “ Well if it hasn’t been invented yet why are you talking about it”?

Max, Coz they offered me a commission on future sales if I mentioned this add”!

Chief @#$%^%$#@*&

Anyway, max you better come into the office, intelligence has just unearthed a cunning KAOS Plot and we must stop them at all costs!

Later in the Chiefs office joined by 99.

Chief “OK Max here’s the story”…

Max, “wait chief is this ultra-High priority”?

Chief, “Yes it is Max.”

Max “Well then Chief in that case, INSIST on the Cone of Silence”…..

Chief ( Face looking lower than a Shizzenhuisen Carters Top Hat) …”NO MAX”

99 “You remember what happened the last time you used it, you hyperventilated and I had to Administer CPR”…

Max. “Yes 99 and it was a very satisfying outcome”

Chief “Now listen very carefully, KAOS are going to try to kidnap Clayton Oliver at training, CLONE  him and  sell his clones off to the highest bidder with a new Identity and new face but same player”

Max “ Gee Chief that’s dastardly, can’t let that happen, I’ve heard his training form has been brilliant, I’ve just put a lazy 100 bucks on him winning the Brownlow”

Chief “ Ok Max that’s the Mission!

Max “ Chief can I take Hymie with me”?

Chief “No Max you know what he is like around females, The last time he was around 99 He had steam coming out of his ears and was on workcover… Intelligence reports that if he sets eyes on Ghostwriter, WCW and the girls he might blow a headgasket and never be the same again”

Max “ OK Chief one last question….. This series ran from 1965-1970 How the hell can we authenticate this episode 54 years later”?

Chief “ I just act Max, I’m not in charge of production, logistics, continuity and stuff.

Max “Ok Chief I’m on it”

P.F REPORT

No shows as already stated,

Rehab as already stated

Let’s get down to it

Skills , Drills and Maneuvers

·         Clearly , game plan has been tweaked, chip kicks around, find space and use center corridor to launch into a leading or presenting player

·         It appears that players are being encouraged to be a bit more daring in finding separation and presenting opportunities and has already been reported by other posters turnovers were more pronounced this session compared to others

·         I think that the wind played a fair bit into the rationale for the above, Centimeter perfect kicks were just missing as the wind was swirly and forced some skill errors, remembering its Goshville not the MCG.

Takeaway 1

Clarry, just methodical with instinctive knowing where to go , what to do and preciseness of delivery. He tackled with intent and is coming back to his mesmerizing best. Came off slightly earlier but didn’t appear injured.

Takeaway 2

Brown dog Junior… Yeah, he did turn it over a few times but, he runs all day, has real purpose in his intent and creates separation and options and PACE! A lot to like

Takeaway 3

Bailey Laurie, now I’ve never been a big fan, but clearly he has been working hard on his game. Today he was busy, incisive generally picked correct options and I thought his disposal was very good.

Takeaway 4

Harry Sharp, WILL PLAY ROUND 1, just does the little extra things runs harder, created opportunities and has very good disposal. When he wore the yellow shirt he was very damaging with run and carry very impressed.

Takeaway 5

Trac and Vines were again excellent, Viney is a hard as a cut cat, but clearly now lowers his eyes a lot more and picks good targets. Trac just does Tracc like freaky things and looks content and happy, that’s a HUGE takeaway.

Takeaway 6

Harvey Langford, as iterated previously just looks like he belongs, Loves the ball in his hands and almost teases interception, got caught once or twice BUT once he adjusts to the tempo he will become a vital cog.

Takeaway 7

Kozzy, Roy and Menthamind, ( THE THREE AMIGO’S)

Each one showed a bit of magic and clearly are loving life as Dees, Roy mercurially astounded with a phenomenal goal as testimony to his skill

Takeaway 8

Tom Campbell and Aiden Johnson… AT LAST SOME DEPTH.. Um hold on.. not just depth, from what I have seen both will play and make a significant impact to our structures and game plans, both impressive again today.

Takeaway 9

Jack Billings a maligned by some posters here, Look I thought he was clever , creative, ran all day and just made some astute and decisions and executed well.

Takeout 10

Is it too early to bookmark a forward line round 1 of Kossy, JVR and Jeffo?? Frita played high half forward today, but the selection of Jeffo and JVR alongside each other worked well today, Jeffo not as prominent as he has been but gee does he move well and dish of correctly when required!

Anyway, that’s it, just saw something very interesting two guys in grey overcoats were making a move towards Clarry when a guy uncannily resembling Maxwell Smart, produced a lightsaber and whisked them of to the cosmos!

Best of luck to all posters and especially the Goshville Training reporters . P.F

• Like 13
  • Thanks 5
Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, picket fence said:

GET SMART SEASON INFINITY

THE LOST EPISODES

EPISODE 1 SEASON INFINITY

“KAOS KIDNAP OF CLARRY”

Chiefs’ office HOTLINE phone rings

Chief, “Hello , yes this is the chief, ( unintelligible audio) WHAT …… KIDNAP CLARRY?? Yes, Sir right away Sir I’ll put my best man onto it right away!

Dials Phone “ Hello Max it’s the Chief”

Max “ How do I know it you chief”?

Chief “Max its me the Chief, surely you recognize my voice??

Max “ I don’t know chief it sounds like you but it could be a Kaos Voiceover telekit”

Chief “ A Kaos voiceover telekit?? I’ve never heard of it”!

Max. I know you haven’t heard of it because it hasn’t been invented yet!

Chief “ Well if it hasn’t been invented yet why are you talking about it”?

Max, Coz they offered me a commission on future sales if I mentioned this add”!

Chief @#$%^%$#@*&

Anyway, max you better come into the office, intelligence has just unearthed a cunning KAOS Plot and we must stop them at all costs!

Later in the Chiefs office joined by 99.

Chief “OK Max here’s the story”…

Max, “wait chief is this ultra-High priority”?

Chief, “Yes it is Max.”

Max “Well then Chief in that case, INSIST on the Cone of Silence”…..

Chief ( Face looking lower than a Shizzenhuisen Carters Top Hat) …”NO MAX”

99 “You remember what happened the last time you used it, you hyperventilated and I had to Administer CPR”…

Max. “Yes 99 and it was a very satisfying outcome”

Chief “Now listen very carefully, KAOS are going to try to kidnap Clayton Oliver at training, CLONE  him and  sell his clones off to the highest bidder with a new Identity and new face but same player”

Max “ Gee Chief that’s dastardly, can’t let that happen, I’ve heard his training form has been brilliant, I’ve just put a lazy 100 bucks on him winning the Brownlow”

Chief “ Ok Max that’s the Mission!

Max “ Chief can I take Hymie with me”?

Chief “No Max you know what he is like around females, The last time he was around 99 He had steam coming out of his ears and was on workcover… Intelligence reports that if he sets eyes on Ghostwriter, WCW and the girls he might blow a headgasket and never be the same again”

Max “ OK Chief one last question….. This series ran from 1965-1970 How the hell can we authenticate this episode 54 years later”?

Chief “ I just act Max, I’m not in charge of production, logistics, continuity and stuff.

Max “Ok Chief I’m on it”

P.F REPORT

No shows as already stated,

Rehab as already stated

Let’s get down to it

Skills , Drills and Maneuvers

·        Clearly , game plan has been tweaked, chip kicks around, find space and use center corridor to launch into a leading or presenting player

·        It appears that players are being encouraged to be a bit more daring in finding separation and presenting opportunities and has already been reported by other posters turnovers were more pronounced this session compared to others

·        I think that the wind played a fair bit into the rationale for the above, Centimeter perfect kicks were just missing as the wind was swirly and forced some skill errors, remembering its Goshville not the MCG.

Takeaway 1

Clarry, just methodical with instinctive knowing where to go , what to do and preciseness of delivery. He tackled with intent and is coming back to his mesmerizing best. Came off slightly earlier but didn’t appear injured.

Takeaway 2

Brown dog Junior… Yeah, he did turn it over a few times but, he runs all day, has real purpose in his intent and creates separation and options and PACE! A lot to like

Takeaway 3

Bailey Laurie, now I’ve never been a big fan, but clearly he has been working hard on his game. Today he was busy, incisive generally picked correct options and I thought his disposal was very good.

Takeaway 4

Harry Sharp, WILL PLAY ROUND 1, just does the little extra things runs harder, created opportunities and has very good disposal. When he wore the yellow shirt he was very damaging with run and carry very impressed.

Takeaway 5

Trac and Vines were again excellent, Viney is a hard as a cut cat, but clearly now lowers his eyes a lot more and picks good targets. Trac just does Tracc like freaky things and looks content and happy, that’s a HUGE takeaway.

Takeaway 6

Harvey Langford, as iterated previously just looks like he belongs, Loves the ball in his hands and almost teases interception, got caught once or twice BUT once he adjusts to the tempo he will become a vital cog.

Takeaway 7

Kozzy, Roy and Menthamind, ( THE THREE AMIGO’S)

Each one showed a bit of magic and clearly are loving life as Dees, Roy mercurially astounded with a phenomenal goal as testimony to his skill

Takeaway 8

Tom Campbell and Aiden Johnson… AT LAST SOME DEPTH.. Um hold on.. not just depth, from what I have seen both will play and make a significant impact to our structures and game plans, both impressive again today.

Takeaway 9

Jack Billings a maligned by some posters here, Look I thought he was clever , creative, ran all day and just made some astute and decisions and executed well.

Takeout 10

Is it too early to bookmark a forward line round 1 of Kossy, JVR and Jeffo?? Frita played high half forward today, but the selection of Jeffo and JVR alongside each other worked well today, Jeffo not as prominent as he has been but gee does he move well and dish of correctly when required!

Anyway, that’s it, just saw something very interesting two guys in grey overcoats were making a move towards Clarry when a guy uncannily resembling Maxwell Smart, produced a lightsaber and whisked them of to the cosmos!

Best of luck to all posters and especially the Goshville Training reporters . P.F

Can bookmark the forward line of Koz, JVR and Jefferson as early as you like because it just won’t happen… seeing as Kozzy isn’t available until Round 4😂

Edited by BC_1718_DC

Posted
1 minute ago, BC_1718_DC said:

Can bookmark the forward line of Koz, JVR and Jefferson as early as you like because it just won’t happen… seeing as Kozzy isn’t available until Round 4😂

Yeah I know but clearly indications are that JVR and Jeffo will be trialed extensively in pre season!

Posted
3 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Yeah I know but clearly indications are that JVR and Jeffo will be trialed extensively in pre season!

Have to give it a go and persist. Their playing styles suit each other well *profile wise*. 

Posted
15 minutes ago, picket fence said:

image.thumb.png.a76707a014844079aae68a864a0cdb55.png

Posted

I don’t usually go to training but I went today and I was quite impressed. There are players you don’t realise are so big until you see them in person. Daniel Turner was running laps and he is a huge athlete and was racing around the boundary at a fast clip. I can see why he would be difficult to match up on and I think he is fast becoming another great bargain pick by Jason Taylor. 
I felt the usual suspects - Petracca, Oliver and Viney - were the most dominant in the drills and match sim - but I was impressed by the second layer of midfield talent coming through - at one time you had Windsor, Langdon, Kolt, Kossie, Langford, Rivers, Mcvee all going for it head to head in a midfielders drill and they were all speedy, classy and tough. With Lindsay coming through as well I think we will be alright with midfield depth and that will be an area of strength for us in 2025. 
Sharp had some good moments and could be a chance to start on a wing in round one. 
Langford is a really good size and you get the feeling he has the body size to really dominate at AFL level - but yes I think he is still adapting to the pace of midfield work. Kolt and Windsor look really ready to have great 2025s - I like Windsor off the back flank and hopefully he will average a few more possessions per game next year as he is so silky and damaging. 
Good day at Gosches :) 

• Thanks 5
Posted (edited)
11 hours ago, Demonland said:

I’m not an investigative reporter. That is @Ghostwriter’s job. 

Ghostwriter a no-show today 😭

Almost made it a clean sweep; attended every session but fell at the last hurdle 😭😭

And now I won’t see my boys for three weeks 😭😭😭

Guess my biological boys will have to do for now 😭😭😭😭

Edited by Ghostwriter