On 20/04/2025 at 18:27, picket fence said:

Nick Daicos is the most overated outside player in the competition,of his 35 possesions 27 were UNCONTESTED! GUY IS A MASSIVE FRAUD! Never ever goes when its his turn and struggles to lay a tackle. Has hardly or never taken a contested mark in his career! FAIRY FLOSS

He's really not 'picket', like it or not the kid is a great player and match winner.

...and as KB used to say, it's hard to tackle when you've got the ball.

Yep, Daicos is a gun. The little twerp.

On 20/04/2025 at 16:13, lorn said:

Better than Nick Daicos in two years?

He’s already taken more contested marks than little Nicky.

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

Just a fast runner,but HATES CONTACT! His brother is a much better player

Nick Daicos is an absolute gun, if you think he’s not you have NFI

9 hours ago, Macca said:

I reckon you're right, Pennant

The Dominator played for Prahran which was in our zone I believe. Sheedy was another who played for Prahran and we might have knocked him back?

Later on, we knocked him back as a potential coach?

I went to a Tom Hafey talk years ago and I think I remember him saying Sheedy had been knocked back after training with Melbourne, Norm Smith thought he was too small and too slow as a centre man. He then came to Richmond and he fitted Hafey’s model perfectly. Hafey was big on fitness and aggression, he spoke highly of how Sheedy set such high training standards. Not often Norm got things wrong like that.

8 minutes ago, Earl Hood said:

I went to a Tom Hafey talk years ago and I think I remember him saying Sheedy had been knocked back after training with Melbourne, Norm Smith thought he was too small and too slow as a centre man. He then came to Richmond and he fitted Hafey’s model perfectly. Hafey was big on fitness and aggression, he spoke highly of how Sheedy set such high training standards. Not often Norm got things wrong like that.

His Wiki page touches on what you said, EH, and is an interesting read overall as well

Different times back then but I remember him as a real nasty type who was also a very good player (played 8 times for the Vics)

As for the Bison, I wouldn't mind it if he turned out to be good as Sheedy (personalities aside)

Nick Daicos is as close to as I've seen to Gary Ablett Jnr.

Absolute jet.. anyone who thinks otherwise are delusional.

1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Different player to Ablett 'dazz' , but there's no doubt he is an absolute jet.

Just now, rjay said:

Different player to Ablett 'dazz' , but there's no doubt he is an absolute jet.

In terms of he's simply just too good. He attracts the footy, he runs hard both ways, and it's getting to the point where you physically cannot tag him.

I hate it because he plays for Collingwood, but he's a genuine superstar.

3 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

In terms of he's simply just too good. He attracts the footy, he runs hard both ways, and it's getting to the point where you physically cannot tag him.

I hate it because he plays for Collingwood, but he's a genuine superstar.

I'd love to see teams try to put a bit more physical pressure on him. Nothing untoward just see how he would handle some tough bodywork.

13 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

I'd love to see teams try to put a bit more physical pressure on him. Nothing untoward just see how he would handle some tough bodywork.

He cops a fair bit 'Gonzo'...got flattened by a classic rib tickler the other night and got up, dusted himself off and went on his merry way.

Anyway, back to Harvey; looks like we got a good one here and his mate Lindsay is not far behind him.

27 minutes ago, rjay said:

Anyway, back to Harvey; looks like we got a good one here and his mate Lindsay is not far behind him.

i have lindsay ahead primarily cos his disposal looks to be so, so clean

I reckon we made a big error making Langford sub v GWS.If he’d played the whole game, I’m sure we’d have won.

He had done well in the practice matches, then dominated for Casey the next week after GWS.We should be won 2, lost 4.

8 hours ago, DeelightfulPlay said:

I believe the nickname was the invention of @Supreme_Demon , and popularised amongst the boys by @Ghostwriter ?

I just thought Harvey Langford was a big strong lad who looked tough and determined.

The nickname of "The Bison" was only a suggestion. But I am quite pleased that it has caught on. 😊

3 minutes ago, Supreme_Demon said:

I just thought Harvey Langford was a big strong lad who looked tough and determined.

The nickname of "The Bison" was only a suggestion. But I am quite pleased that it has caught on. 😊

Hopefully not.

This is Australia.

In future he will be known as the Mallee bull.

2 hours ago, picket fence said:

Just a fast runner,but HATES CONTACT! His brother is a much better player

Definitely think Josh is the more mercurial of the 2. Nick is simply an accumulator.

2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Not the player comparison I’d be making. He is v. good but predominately an outside player. Nothing wrong with that but if Collingwood lose the inside game Nick is not going to have an impact which is where Ablett Jnr and others like Bont can have.

2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

we let the only bloke who could tag him go 🙃

5 hours ago, jaydenh10 said:

we let the only bloke who could tag him go 🙃

Jordie Mc Kenzie was a great tagger, but not much else Dazz!

3 minutes ago, picket fence said:

He's talking about Toby Bedford..

40 minutes ago, picket fence said:

From memory his sister went alright!

11 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

and his opponent stands so he cant easily get on to his left. At the moment he is being treated like a kid playing his first few games.

(Gunna be a champ).