19 minutes ago, roy11 said:

Would love some journos to ask some tough questions about that last quarter - but fear we wont get a real honest answer anyway.

What did we do to stem the bleeding/try get control back?

The credits are fast expiring from his account.

What did we do?

Subbed Windsor off

We stemmed the bleeding by benching Koz and Melksham.

Petty had a chance in the pocket 6 points in front 3 mins to go to and bash it through to get us 7 points up so we could ice the game.

I saw Fritsch in St Kildas goal square trying to spoil while Petty was still looked to be up forward.

I watched one of our club all time greats and posession gatherer run into goal clear to kick and hack it out on the full.

Our skills and goal kicking are truly deplorable.

I saw our team totally confused in the final minute while our mung bean coach looked like a startled deer in the headlights on the boundary.

I saw a young st Kilda kid paid no respect and run free in the f50 with under a minute to go after kicking a goal a minute earlier.

I saw Jeffo get dropped and Petty continued to be played forward when it just doesn't work. I'm happy to see us bleed now if we give the kids a go AND give them something besides complete chaos as a game plan.

I saw us hug the boundary line week after week after week after week.

I saw Disco continued to be played back when he could be the part of the solution.

I saw us take the foot off the throat because we don't have the killer instinct to be the champion club we had the opportunity to be.

The buck stops with the coach(es) and the board that hire them.

Thank you Simon for bringing us a wonderful moment in time I'll never forget.

But your record since that moment has completely crumbled.

We became the hunted and every club has run us down.

Edited by Brownie

2 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

If anyone comes on here and tries to justify why Goodwin should because "oh but the players love him!" then you are every bit part of the problem.

The club cannot sell any positive spin unless its to say that hes been given the flick. Until then, its all just trash and spin.

You just wait, someone will post that in no time. Give it to tomorrow morning.

1 minute ago, Bang Bang Bang said:

Generally I don’t even read this thread because I’ve been a Goodwin fan, and moreover I thought he was a certainty to coach in 2026.

However,

Surely it’s hard to survive that.

Biggest comeback in history. This was not against Geelong down the highway or Brisbane at the Gabba. No, it was against a team that had lost five straight and twelve out of the last fourteen. A team we somehow let score two goals in the final 8 seconds.

Simply inexcusable.

Of course, this game alone doesn’t seal his fate but couple it with the failures since 2021 (and let’s be honest, most years prior to 2021 as well) I think the time has come.

Yes, thank you for 2021 and forever a Demons legend for that alone.

But I think he needs to resign tomorrow.

I said this many times, his tenure has been underwhelming.

2021 🏆

2025 🤢

Biggest mistake the club did was his extension at the end of 2023.

32 minutes ago, 1858 said:

If the club doesn't sack him, members will walk.

Like it or not, it's that simple.

They already have 15k lost in 2 years

As much as losing like this really socks, surely this result will start the ball rolling in some coaching/staff changes.

A lot less activity on here than I thought there would be. Probably shows the fact there are people like me who were smiling when they kicked the winner.

If Goodwin's here next year, I won't be wasting my time watching.

2 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

15,001 after today.

O

11 hours ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Is it? Ok what about the relevance of last weeks game against Carlton?

Titan

The loss is relevant as any loss is. Last week and today are very relevant. Two wins would have bought confidence and patience from the supporters but no it hasn’t happened and collectively tha Coach es and the players have shown that they are not good enough and combiNing together.

No one is concentrating on the job at hand and our Club is going to suffer if this continues.

Goody should now resign gracefully or the club has to force the issue. To leave him in charge is suicide.

In answer to Ghostwritertbat no one knows if any one could do any better Yhe point is that with the results and fact that only4/5 players have improved this season that gives an answer to why we are not listening to Goody any more and his voice has run its race with our group.

Ghostwriter your knowledge of of players and people in the Club and association results in your defending some for the wrong reasons. Yes they are all people but Clubs have to move people on when their time is up.

It’s a business and the nice and faint hearted don’t always win due to that. Keep flogging your banners but don’t use great blokes or nice people to not look at improving our Club clearly when it needs change.

We must examine again our whole playing list and coach’s and support staff to make our results better and get back some team spirit that clearly today was missing with the coa Ching and playing allowing this result.

Firstly I would change our Coach some assistants and now believe thst a captaincy change would be ideal to start 2026.

The FD also could be changed as well.

And thank them all for their hard work and the flag but we must move on that ship has sailed and is aground and sinking slowly into the abyss. We are becoming irrelevant again.

25 minutes ago, 1858 said:

There's a difference between a gradual decline and a revolt. Will be interesting to see how many members contact the club - if they have the energy...

Spot on this is not a decline. This is a collapse in about two Seasons. If Goodwin has any personal credibility for the sake of the Club , he’d just resign after this performance. No one rationally could believe he’s the Coach to take us forward.

6 minutes ago, doc roet said:

Has he done his post game Media dribble yet. Not on the mfc website.

It's up on the AFL site. Very short presser. Could be just me but he seemed different in this one. I reckon he knows he is done.

Just now, Coobs said:

15,001 after today.

Oh I reckon there's a few more.

Might have been the final straw for a lot of people.

You can believe an 'idea' for only so long.

Scoreboards are impartial.

Don't listen to the presser! soft [censored] journos allowed him off with easy answers and deflect.

2 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Yep, understood.

I would argue however, that a lot of those 15k members would have been 'hype add-ons' after the premiership year. Always the first to drop off.

Once we go sub 55k we start losing core members which would be a big signal to the club.

Lol this is ridiculous now. How much more can we put up with? Get rid of him already and let the club move on.

20 minutes ago, Standard Deviation said:

You're not going to hear me try and argue that the players aren't part of the problem, but this is Goodwin's team. He's been in the box seat for long enough that the lack of leadership is on him - we just made history in the worst of ways.

Maybe Goodwin's wildly unlucky and has inherited/recruited the footballers with the worst leadership in AFL history to ever grace the field, but I reckon it's more likely the leadership failings come down to the coaching box. We're bottom four with what was once a decent list, coach must be accountable for that.

100% with you on that, it was a real team effort to [censored] that up 🤦

3 minutes ago, Brenno said:

It's up on the AFL site. Very short presser. Could be just me but he seemed different in this one. I reckon he knows he is done.

That's not what I heard. It's amazing what a mild case of delusion can do. Still too many "we'll learn from this" for my liking. It's okay to say that but there has to be some measurable improvements as a consequence. But we're just going backwards.

18 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

If anyone comes on here and tries to justify why Goodwin should because "oh but the players love him!" then you are every bit part of the problem.

The club cannot sell any positive spin unless its to say that hes been given the flick. Until then, its all just trash and spin.

Careful mate, you'll be accused of being too negative 🤣🤣🤣

19 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

The senior players were woeful in that last quarter. Gawn had a mare with his tap work.

But, I've defended him for a long time, thank you for your brilliant service, Goody, time's up.

Gawn was an absolute monster in that first 3 quarters, smashed Marshall from pillar to post and led by example with his defensive efforts including two fantastic smothers in D50. But his lack of leadership/poor decision making in that last quarter was abysmal.

11 minutes ago, Brenno said:

Lol no he didn't. "The game was there for the taking, we'll work to become more ruthless". He is a simpleton, to put it kindly

Anyone still want to defend Goodwin!

The leaders should be embarrassed of this and question their long contracts are you serious???

Issues confirmed across the coaching & footy dept.

It’s not change for the sake of change his message & ability to react and make moves is clearly not working!

Enough of the love! The list needs tough love a new voice, the protect species are all accountable for were we sit

member since 98 & for the first time considering not renewing more than the Neeld era because it’s what we had and how they have managed to sink so low so quick

You see pies , cats, lions still contending and the dribble from Goodwin we are building something … wow we had something and the coaches & list mgt blew it!

In the press conference Terrible Loss said it wasn't good enough and he was right. He said they need to ensure it never happens again and he was right. He said the club needs to become a ruthless club and he was right.

It wasn't good enough. It should never happen again, (it probably won't as it's a record loss). We should be ruthless and sack him. Shameful woeful pitiful effort Simon

25 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

You just wait, someone will post that in no time. Give it to tomorrow morning.

Or the fact that we won a flag in 2021 and finished top 4 in 2022/23 (even though we technically didn't) as if any of those have any relevance to what's going on now

I've said that Goodwin should go since early in the year, because 10 years is long enough if your team's performance drops off like it has over the last few years. And I still think he needs to go.

That said, where are the cool heads in our midfield or defence ?

McVee loses his mind and creates a certain goal with a dumb 50.

McDonald lets a [censored] run around him on the mark while he's arguing with an umpire. Goal.

Langford is in the box seat to outmark Wood in the middle of the ground and doesn't. Then is too slow and out of the contest. I get it, first year player.

Oliver doesn't even have the composure to score. Score anything.

Viney is a dumb [censored].

Who could even lose a game with 8 seconds left ?

As much as I'm over Goodwin's platitudes, I'm sick of [censored] leaders and half-dedicated players.

Big changes needed. But smart changes needed.

26 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Here's the thing.

Who will sack him ??

It's not a trick question... not really.... though figuring an answer is tricky indeed.

This is far from ideal as a predicament .

Another league record for the Dees ..

Way to go Dees

Exactly, with a year to go on his $1mill contract, who's gonna sack him?

By the end of next season it's not unforseeable that we could be back in Mark Neeld territory.

No 1st round pick this year, on form they'll probably trade our 2026 1st as well, maybe 2027 too. Are we really gonna sell the farm to buy some dud magic beans and save Goodys coaching career? Like Dimma at Richmond? I sure as hell hope not.

Max, May, Viney, Tmac, Melk near the end too

Had Goodwin left at the end of last year he might've, in due course picked up another senior gig. Not likely at the end of 2026 with yet another bottom 5 finish. A career ahead on the rotating assistant turnstile awaits, Simon!

Edited by Stiff Arm

No one can support him now. That was an absolute coach killer. Worst coached team in the league by a big distance. The last 8 seconds proved that. If you were a player you'd have no belief in him anymore.