1 hour ago, Macca said:

Not when there's hope involved

I'm predicting a year of indifferent performances and finals next yesr

Finals will not be a chance as we lose our best players for little return in this years trade period. MFC canโ€™t afford to be a basket case again. We are down 10k members already due to a game experience that is not worth watching.

Change now, is the best way to give hope to the fans and let our stars be allowed to play their natural style.

ย 
51 minutes ago, Macca said:

The Hawks are a very confident group and that can advance a new game plan

They also clearly believe in where they are going and what it takes to get there, that is enormous.

The efforts from our leaders in 2025 suggest there is a very serious disconnect, this isnโ€™t about poor form itโ€™s a complete lack of buy in

On 29/03/2025 at 20:26, Lucifers Hero said:

Folks, Goodwin isn't going anywhere.

Our off field leadership is in no-man's land, virtually non-existent:

• caretaker president

• no CEO

• GM Football whose days are said to be numbered.

No one is going to make a decision on the coach.

They say 'a fish rots from the head'. Well we don't have an effective 'head' right now. Eventually the lack of leadership plays out on the field. More so, with what I believe is a misfit group of coaches.

This - 100% this.

The most important recruit for our flag was Peter Jackson. Ruthless, effective CEO. He sorted out the place off the field, made it attractive enough to get Roos, and then made it attractive enough for May/Lever/Hibberd/Melksham to come. The flag was won on the momentum he generated, and with his departure we've been losing pace ever since. We didn't even appoint his recommended replacement (Josh Mahoney). Then the Board/Coach/President complications.

We urgently need a hard headed CEO who will drive the whole club forward. Geelong in their prime, the Hawks, all had this. We had a glimpse of what it could be like.

4 minutes ago, Hopeful Demon said:

Can you give an example of when we've actually tried to do any of those things? All I see at the moment is an even worse version of our 2024 system.

It's not working, that's why we haven't seen it. Bit we are going away from those long bombs so that's a good indicator

So we are trying to change and I believe it's a player buy-in issue, not the coaching

Our older mids are see ball, get ball and bang it long, types. Change them and we can make a new game plan work

Oliver for instance is just accumulating disposals like the 3rd Crouch brother

Doesn't set up goals and doesn't make his teammates better players. Nor does he bring his teammates into the game

And he is getting A Grade, Elite money

Petracca, Viney and even Gawn are similar to Oliver (right now)

We need a newer team to win our next flag

So to put the blame on the coach only is quite ridiculous

The players aren't playing their part

So don't let them off the hook

13 minutes ago, sydneydee said:

let our stars be allowed to play their natural style.

What's that?

To bomb it long to the pockets?

Our stars aren't stars anymore because they continually waste their disposals

5 minutes ago, Macca said:

The new game plan is a work in progress

Previously, our game often eventuated with a long bomb to the pocket

So I'd say we are now trying to move the ball in similar ways as the better teams

Quick ball movement, corridor use, leg speed to complement, crisp delivery by hand or by footy, 45ยฐ diagonal kicks cross-crossing the ball forward. Lowering the eyes and so much more

But here's the thing, I'm not part of the inner sanctum so there's probably a lot in there that isn't transparent

The fact that the above isn't happening yet doesn't mean that the endeavour and goal isn't there to make it work

What complicates things is the turmoil in the off season and the constant references to Petracca, Oliver & Kozzie perhaps wanting out

What would all the other players make of all that?

I'd say it slows down the buy-in to the new game plan

So if people here reckon there are problems at the club, the above is probably the reason

My view only ... if a player acts like a Prima-Donna they immediately become commodities only and we'd be better off with those types on the trade table

No sentiment, it's all about the team

I would love for this to be our game plan Macca, the problem is we are not skilled or fit enough to execute it. Currently it's hard to see we've changed anything.

We read about the best pre season, the fittest we've looked in years due to the early exit without finals.

I can cop the teething problems with new game plans, I can't cop that we looks so far off the pace fitness wise after the best preseason in years, the complete loss of skill and the pizzpoor body language and lack of effort from senior players.

These glaring problems have nothing to do with not understanding game plan.

15 minutes ago, Hopeful Demon said:

Can you give an example of when we've actually tried to do any of those things? All I see at the moment is an even worse version of our 2024 system.

1st quarter

We move the ball through the corridor to Langdon. For the sake of moving the ball quickly he handpasses from overlap run to Billings who handpasses to Oliver who has nowhere to go doubles back on his left and turnover rebound. Goal.

Oliver gives away a 50 metre penalty through impetulance which hes been doing his entire career. Learnings . Goal.

Langford kicks beautifully into the corridor to Bowey who kicks a beauty from 50 in front.

Rivers makes a mistake by hand trying to go back into the corridor. Turnover. Senior players in oliver trac fritsch watching, pointing, high fiving while suns player runs past. Learnings. Goal.

Please dont make me watch the rest of the game. If the right players get the ball we are ok. If players are switched on, we are ok. Right now its Goodwin's job to get both done.

Edited by Jjrogan

14 minutes ago, BW511 said:

They also clearly believe in where they are going and what it takes to get there, that is enormous.

The efforts from our leaders in 2025 suggest there is a very serious disconnect, this isnโ€™t about poor form itโ€™s a complete lack of buy in

You are right, especially about the buy-in

Oliver going off the rails, Viney with his wasteful disposal and Petracca wanting to play at a 'Big' club just about sums things up

What are the other players thinking? Stuff like that can create resentment and a backlash

We need to look further than the coach ... to my way of thinking, I reckon we're a fragmented club

The lack of onfield teamwork & the lack of selfless acts is quite apparent

Some of the players look like they don't want to be out there

ย 
9 minutes ago, Hellaintabadplacetobe said:

I would love for this to be our game plan Macca, the problem is we are not skilled or fit enough to execute it. Currently it's hard to see we've changed anything.

We read about the best pre season, the fittest we've looked in years due to the early exit without finals.

I can cop the teething problems with new game plans, I can't cop that we looks so far off the pace fitness wise after the best preseason in years, the complete loss of skill and the pizzpoor body language and lack of effort from senior players.

These glaring problems have nothing to do with not understanding game plan.

It's fair to say we're a bit of a mess but we can't lay all the blame on the coach

I reckon an interim coach would have the same issues to deal with

And a newly appointed coach (on contract) would need clean air ... so trade out those players who don't want to buy-in before the new coach sits in the chair (Think Blight when he went to Adelaide)

That's if we even appoint a new coach, of course

25 minutes ago, Macca said:

You are right, especially about the buy-in

Oliver going off the rails, Viney with his wasteful disposal and Petracca wanting to play at a 'Big' club just about sums things up

What are the other players thinking? Stuff like that can create resentment and a backlash

We need to look further than the coach ... to my way of thinking, I reckon we're a fragmented club

The lack of onfield teamwork & the lack of selfless acts is quite apparent

Some of the players look like they don't want to be out there

Am really enjoying yours posts and thoughts- thank you.

We are a mess! Both on & off the field, no ceo , president interim, assistant coaches, who is our mids coach? His only game plan is contest & defence, has keeping Oliver who was rewarded with games last year split the group

39 minutes ago, Jjrogan said:

impetulance

I love how you've created a wonderful new word by combining "petulance" and "impetuosity" in a masterstroke of portmanteau neologism.

Seriously, your word deserves to be in the dictionary. It's magnificent and I'm going to use it at every opportunity. Kudos to you!

Just now, Superunknown said:

Am really enjoying yours posts and thoughts- thank you.

I'm looking for the Exit haha

But my evaluation on the teams performance is to not leave anything out (no one-sided arguments like the Pollies)

It's like when we kicked poorly for goal in the SF against Carlton in 2023. Who's fault is that? The Coach?

No, that's on the players especially if they don't practice their goalkicking enough. You want to be very good, do the extra training off your own bat

@frankie_d mentioned that the lack of an well appointed CEO could be a contributing factor? I don't doubt that for a minute

As Frankie said, a good CEO drives the ship and drives the standards

Pertaining to the new game plan ...

We had a number of track watchers who commented on our ball movement at pre-season training

Notably, @Ghostwriter @waynewussell @picket fence @DeeSpencer and a few others

Without wishing to put any of the aforementioned on the spot, their comments referenced offense strategies that was up to modern day practices

But transferring training drills to game day is easier said than done

It takes practice and lots of it, a deep trust and lots of gut-running for your teammates. As well as a complete buy-in of course. Teamwork and playing as a team and lots more

And yes, it's true that we haven't seen much evidence but we've been up against well drilled teams who's offensive strategies were well practised

The new offense requires a lot of sprint running to position. And creating separation

Previously we just bombed it long and followed that up with the forward press and zone defence

The difference between both styles is stark

1 hour ago, Macca said:

Do people here remember what happened when we replaced Neeld with Craig

We still lost and we still got smashed with that boundary hugging football nonsense. Craig went with Neeld's plan

So if we replace Goodwin what game plan would an interim coach employ? The old plan where we go back to bombing it long to the pockets?

Or continue on with Plan B which the sacked coach was trying to implement?

Plan C? How is that going to work mid season?

We may as well see it out until at least the end of the season. And in my view, that is how the Board will see it

Usually interim coaches release the shackles a bit. It's a strange comparison though. Our list is far far better than it was then. Besides sacking a coach is a decision for the long term, the year is written off but you get clear air to find a replacement.

• Author

Oliver has to go and so does Trac. Sueing the club, In my business they get a hefty payout but you get the flick too. Those 2 are untenable once those 2 go you will see a better club.

1 minute ago, KozzyCan said:

Usually interim coaches release the shackles a bit. It's a strange comparison though

Is it?

There have been many references on this site in the last few days that we are playing like we did during the Neeld era

Release the shackles to do what? Bomb it long again just to rack up the metres gained?

A teams offense is a complex arrangement these days. We were good at the previous offensive game plan (which, to be fair, was quite basic, but often successful)

Yet we look all at sea with the current one

But isn't that to be somewhat expected?

Do you want an instant, dynamic, new offense with a group of players who only know the old ways?

I'm not ruling out the messaging being a factor but the players need to start thinking for themselves in a decisive manner

By the way, strangely enough, I said the exact same thing here during the Neeld era

So the game is in the hands of the players ... they are given their instructions but can they execute those instructions?

24 minutes ago, WERRIDEE said:

Oliver has to go and so does Trac. Sueing the club, In my business they get a hefty payout but you get the flick too. Those 2 are untenable once those 2 go you will see a better club.

Bullshheeit

8 hours ago, hardtack said:

Regardless of whether or not we have pick one, we cannot wait to start a rebuild, as next year is the โ€˜Tassie draftโ€™ and as such, will be severely compromised for ALL clubs, except Tassie of course.

We will have to trade players for picks, and as I opined in another thread, the most likely candidates are Trac and Kossie, who will (read, should) net us at least three first rounders and a second rounder in this yearโ€™s draft. Thereโ€™s no time to hesitate!

I agree it's time to cash in on those like Kossie where there are doubts about commitment. I don't think a full rebuild or any bottoming out is the answer.

We are better off just adjusting the list like a few other clubs have done successfully over the last few years.

If we can't recruit anyone with the picks then yes go to draft but we can't afford to do what Richmond is doing now and the Kangas did.

If we get a new coach that can get the energy back into the group then there is no reason we can't be a top side. Geelong has held up so well. It feels like we've been calling them old and waiting for them to plummet for 10 years now and I see us in a very similar position to where they where or now are.

As for the main headline?? Yep time to pay him out and let him go IMV

• Author
1 minute ago, picket fence said:

Bullshheeit

Oliver should have been traded at the end of last if it wasn't for Goodwin. Your love child is finished at this club, even if we give him away for nothing. He started the rot. It finishes with him.

1 minute ago, WERRIDEE said:

Oliver should have been traded at the end of last if it wasn't for Goodwin. Your love child is finished at this club, even if we give him away for nothing. He started the rot. It finishes with him.

Can I have 1 x best 22 with and 1 x best 22 without Clazz so I can best analyse the situation

11 minutes ago, Macca said:

Is it?

There have been many references on this site in the last few days that we are playing like we did during the Neeld era

Release the shackles to do what? Bomb it long again just to rack up the metres gained?

A teams offense is a complex arrangement these days. We were good at the previous offensive game plan (which, to be fair, was quite basic, but often successful)

Yet we look all at sea with the current one

But isn't that to be somewhat expected?

Do you want an instant, dynamic, new offense with a group of players who only know the old ways?

I'm not ruling out the messaging being a factor but the players need to start thinking for themselves in a decisive manner

By the way, strangely enough, I said the exact same thing here during the Neeld era

So the game is in the hands of the players ... they are given their instructions but can they execute those instructions?

The way in which we are playing like we did in the Neeld era is that we look completely disinterested and unnacountable. Neeld basically never won over the players and so his tenure was never going to lead to any success. To me, Goodwin looks like he's lost the players. I also think that after flip-flopping on the gameplan last year he really can't do that again this year. If this one fails then how could the players ever get behind his message ever again?

When a coach is sacked players tend to get a bit more freedom to play their natural games is what I mean. Structures are a lot more loose. Depends on the coach but that's just my observation. But again, interim coaches don't matter at all. Sacking Neeld was the right call as it allowed us to openly pursue Roos. The fact that Craig didn't have any success was irrelevant.

Right now our players look like they're not really invested, that's the most damning thing that will soon be an untenable situation if Goodwin can't turn it around.

I'm not sure I fully understand your point about the players thinking for themselves. The coaches role is to get all the players on the same page and playing like a team. A good coach will bring the best out of their players talents, I don't think that's happening right now and the players aren't even executing basic fundamentals at the moment.

Does anyone have any insight to why, that as part of the review, the players were given more freedom and flexibility to decide when to come into the club? I used to hear how we were one of the more intense teams on the training track, and heard May call it, "The Melbourne way" and this was a program that got us a flag. Now we're 0-3 and a decision like that just seems counterintuitive.

1 minute ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Does anyone have any insight to why, that as part of the review, the players were given more freedom and flexibility to decide when to come into the club? I used to hear how we were one of the more intense teams on the training track, and heard May call it, "The Melbourne way" and this was a program that got us a flag. Now we're 0-3 and a decision like that just seems counterintuitive.

At what point do we say that experiment has failed?