Andrew Dillon is one of the dullest boring humans i have encountered in many years. 
I have complete faith that he will do everything the fans don’t want…..

I think this will work well when Tassie comes in in 2026, and Northern Thunder not long after 

• 9 months later...

Rewards mediocrity so I don’t like it. But agree, only a matter of time I think before it comes in. Broadcasters will love it and so will AFL, especially if the strong clubs continue to get stronger through trade. Keeps the season alive longer for the strugglers.

As ridiculous as the NHL where 16 of the 32 teams make the playoffs.

Supposedly something like 6 v 10 & 7 v 9 and the winners make up a final 8?

59 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Such a Beige idea…pure Ca$h Grab

Mediocre Teams are what they are

Don’t cheapen Positions 7&8 anymore. This is just rewarding [censored] teams….

I hear Dwayne mention it often whenever i tune in to SEN

Of course Buckley and other media people want it.

Buckley’s even admitted on radio that the main benefit is more revenue, because 10th isn’t likely to win a flag.

Having 9 and 10 make finals is stupid. Having a side like us, 5-10 with sub-90%, able to snag a few late wins and finish 10th and have the same standing as a side like Adelaide, Hawthorn or Brisbane, who could all easily finish 7th, is stupid.

We’re not one year removed from one of the most even seasons we’ve ever seen. Yes, this year is shaping to be less exciting for the run home, but allowing sides to make finals from 10th doesn’t fix that problem. It just renders even more of the H&A season less relevant.

Just wait. Some year Collingwood look like finishing 9 or 10, suddenly it becomes a brilliant idea. 😡

13 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Such a Beige idea…pure Ca$h Grab

Mediocre Teams are what they are

Don’t cheapen Positions 7&8 anymore. This is just rewarding [censored] teams….

I hear Dwayne mention it often whenever i tune in to SEN

I would have thought following the Deez is penance enough for your sins SWYL.

19 hours ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

As ridiculous as the NHL where 16 of the 32 teams make the playoffs.

Supposedly something like 6 v 10 & 7 v 9 and the winners make up a final 8?

NBA play-in style could work.

7v8

9v10

Winner of 7v8 plays against the 6th seeded team

Loser of 7v8 plays against the Winner of 9v10 to decide the team playing against the 5th seeded team.

I reckon I'm on my own on this forum, in terms of wanting the wildcard weekend introduced on a weekend (last weekend of August) that's currently an absolute dead zone on the football calendar.

1) It's an absolute shambles that teams 10-18 are already out of the finals hunt meaning the amount of relevant remaining games will decrease dramatically. Didn't happen last year, might not happen next year, but this year is going to be a mediocre last 8 weeks.

2) The wildcard weekend places a premium on finishing 6th or higher. 7th or 8th turns into an 'also-ran' position, so we're rewarding excellence.

3) Imagine if we got on some sort of roll and won 6 of our last 8 games to finish 10th and faced the Dogs on our turf on a Saturday night at the MCG, on wild card weekend. Would the wild card naysayers give the game a miss?

4) As a heavy consumer of AFL games (not just MFC games) I think it would be an exciting addition to the football calendar, having 2 stand alone games with a heap at stake.

If the wildcard round idea comes in (and I truly hope it does not), it won't take long for someone to suggest a pre-wild card round to allow teams in positions 10 through to 13 to play each other to see which one gets to be the 10th placed team to then play in the wildcard round.

1 hour ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

If the wildcard round idea comes in (and I truly hope it does not), it won't take long for someone to suggest a pre-wild card round to allow teams in positions 10 through to 13 to play each other to see which one gets to be the 10th placed team to then play in the wildcard round.

Exactly (whether sarcastic or not).

What happens when a gap between 10th and 11th opens up at this stage of the season? We’ll get someone saying “why not have 11th play 10th for the right to play 7th”.

The BBL did this, had too many games and finals. Ratings capitulated. They realised that there is such a thing as too much cricket. They pared it back.

There is such a thing as too much footy.

2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I reckon I'm on my own on this forum, in terms of wanting the wildcard weekend introduced on a weekend (last weekend of August) that's currently an absolute dead zone on the football calendar.

1) It's an absolute shambles that teams 10-18 are already out of the finals hunt meaning the amount of relevant remaining games will decrease dramatically. Didn't happen last year, might not happen next year, but this year is going to be a mediocre last 8 weeks.

2) The wildcard weekend places a premium on finishing 6th or higher. 7th or 8th turns into an 'also-ran' position, so we're rewarding excellence.

3) Imagine if we got on some sort of roll and won 6 of our last 8 games to finish 10th and faced the Dogs on our turf on a Saturday night at the MCG, on wild card weekend. Would the wild card naysayers give the game a miss?

4) As a heavy consumer of AFL games (not just MFC games) I think it would be an exciting addition to the football calendar, having 2 stand alone games with a heap at stake.

1. How much less of a “shambles” will it be if we bring this in and then at this stage of the year teams 12-18 are out of contention and unlikely to make it to 10th? A marginal reduction in “irrelevant” games.

2. The top 6 premium is a distraction from the truth, which is that we’re rewarding 10 teams with finals, not 8.

3. Imagine we played well all year but finished 7th, on percentage. Instead of getting to play 6th, we instead play some side which struggled all season and in mediocrity finished 10th, in the bottom half of the comp. How would you feel about risking one bad day after 23 rounds and being straight out? How is that “rewarding excellence”? We’re rewarding mediocrity in favour of letting 10th play one good game and all of a sudden skip straight past 7th.

4. As per my previous post - there is such a thing as too much footy. We are killing the goose that laid the golden egg

2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Teams 10-18 are out of the Finals race, simply because they are not good enough for a myriad of reasons.

It is up to those Clubs to get better in the off season (Ourselves included)