Oliver Trade Rumours

Oxdee

1 minute ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

Geelong players can be carried out unconscious from night clubs at 3am and it barely gets 24 hours traction though. 

Maybe that’s why Clarry would like to end up there? 🤣

• Haha 7

5 minutes ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

Geelong players can be carried out unconscious from night clubs at 3am and it barely gets 24 hours traction though. 

They have a lot of ex players and supporters in the media. Plus HQ wanting the story buried.

I was informed by my business partner (who lives in Geelong but follows Magpies) last Wednesday; via his good mate (who works for GFC) that we informed Clayton either day of or after the Brownlow that he should look for another club.

He was surprised by this; and his manager started the ring around.

Hadn’t said anything as was second hand; but it’s feeling more and more real by the hour.

• Sad 3

If the club decide to retain Clarry and believe he can get back to his best I’ll back the club in.

If the club decide its best part ways with Clarry I’ll back the club in.

1 minute ago, BDA said:

If the club decide to retain Clarry and believe he can get back to his best I’ll back the club in.

I'd normally agree. I trust the FD, but if Pert is meddling in list management/FD matters, I don't trust the club at all...

4 minutes ago, 1964nowMORE said:

I was informed by my business partner (who lives in Geelong but follows Magpies) last Wednesday; via his good mate (who works for GFC) that we informed Clayton either day of or after the Brownlow that he should look for another club.

Hadn’t said anything as was second hand; but it’s feeling more and more real by the hour.

Day after the brownlow! That's ominous!

24 minutes ago, Flowergirl said:

We should all threaten to cancel our memberships. 

Or start boycotting games. How bad will it look when we only have 16,000 turning up for our home...oh wait a second.

18 minutes ago, The Jackson FIX said:

If it’s you then Bye Bye but please don’t bother coming back (ever) if this is how fickle you plan to be. 

It would be me too Jackson, if the club is that pathetic to agree to such a trade I'd be better off spending nearly $800 on my family, only so much [censored] a bloke can take.

11 minutes ago, 1964nowMORE said:

Can you imagine a night out with Clarry, Smith and Stengel? 

21 minutes ago, The Jackson FIX said:

If it’s you then Bye Bye but please don’t bother coming back (ever) if this is how fickle you plan to be. 

m8 I’m being hyperbolic but if you don’t think memberships won’t be affected by this whole saga you have your head in the sand 

We’re already thousands down from last year and are every chance to be thousands down again if we have another bottom six finish in 2025

And not just memberships - it’s already been reported we lost Houston because of all the noise around our club 

If you’re happy to keep paying up then more power to you - I probably will too because like everyone else here I’m a nuff who spends more time worrying about my club than most things

But not everyone is in that position and there is nothing wrong with people voting with their wallets if they don’t have faith the club is going in the right direction

And to be honest you’re delusional if you think we are at the moment 

1 minute ago, Adam The God said:

I'd normally agree. I trust the FD, but if Pert is meddling in list management/FD matters, I don't trust the club at all...

Pert should have walked already. I hope he doesn't survive much longer.

but I can't see how he could be acting without the knowledge of Goody and the FD (i still have faith in the FD, but not the board. and i reckon Brad Green would do the right thing). It would be an inexplicable and illogical solo run if he is. It would be grounds for Brad Green to call security and march Pert out the door for gross misconduct.

43 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

How can you know that?

I don't, it's an educated guess on a hypothetical scenario. 

But consider the perceived trade value here at peak Oliver and current Oliver.

2022 Oliver: Age 25, 3x AA (selected 2022), 4xBnF (won 2nd yr in a row), 2nd x AFLCA (won 2nd yr in a row).

What would clubs have to pay for him here? 

Then consider 2024 Oliver: multiple off field scandals, major drop off in form for well over a year, 1mil + 6yr risk a club would be taking on.

Given there are articles suggesting clubs think they can get him on the cheap (take with a grain of salt), then I don't think its unreasonable to suggest that selling Oliver now would be right at he's lowest value.

Guess he can always go further off the rails, have further injury interruptions and form issues next year and therefore would be lower value next year.

As for Petracca, I only really included him as the only clubs that could satisfy our demands would be Richmond, West Coast or North and he's not going to consider any of them. If he goes to Carlton then we are going to get unders for him.

Get Oliver back into AA form and 12 months for clubs to get the assets required for Petracca and we'll get a much better trade outcome next year. That is if they want out and we decide to move them on.

Personally, I hope we keep them both for the entirety of their contract with both player returning to their best footy.

All my subjective opinion of course.

12 minutes ago, BDA said:

Gees your trust in this club must have been struggling during the Neeld years, or the time an ex player was so disgruntled that he basically dobbed us in for tanking on TV. 

Lots of form here. 

If as reported is true that Pert has reached out to other clubs to see if they are interested in trading for Oliver, wouldn’t this be a list manager or footy manager job?

Seems strange that Pert would be doing this…

1 minute ago, Nascent said:

I don't, it's an educated guess on a hypothetical scenario. 

But consider the perceived trade value here at peak Oliver and current Oliver.

2022 Oliver: Age 25, 3x AA (selected 2022), 4xBnF (won 2nd yr in a row), 2nd x AFLCA (won 2nd yr in a row).

What would clubs have to pay for him here? 

Then consider 2024 Oliver: multiple off field scandals, major drop off in form for well over a year, 1mil + 6yr risk a club would be taking on.

Given there are articles suggesting clubs think they can get him on the cheap (take with a grain of salt), then I don't think its unreasonable to suggest that selling Oliver now would be right at he's lowest value.

Guess he can always go further off the rails, have further injury interruptions and form issues next year and therefore would be lower value next year.

As for Petracca, I only really included him as the only clubs that could satisfy our demands would be Richmond, West Coast or North and he's not going to consider any of them. If he goes to Carlton then we are going to get unders for him.

Get Oliver back into AA form and 12 months for clubs to get the assets required for Petracca and we'll get a much better trade outcome next year. That is if they want out and we decide to move them on.

Personally, I hope we keep them both for the entirety of their contract with both player returning to their best footy.

All my subjective opinion of course.

Exactly my point earlier. It's like the club have done everything they can to actually lower their value as much as possible. This would literally be the worst time to trade Oliver unless things were really so bad that they had to try and make it look salvageble 

6 minutes ago, BDA said:

Pert should have walked already. I hope he doesn't survive much longer.

but I can't see how he could be acting without the knowledge of Goody and the FD (i still have faith in the FD, but not the board. and i reckon Brad Green would do the right thing). It would be an inexplicable and illogical solo run if he is. It would be grounds for Brad Green to call security and march Pert out the door for gross misconduct.

But there is a difference between the FD knowing and the FD being told that we're moving on Clarry due to what has come out of the review. 

Either way, it shouldn't be Pert's job to be calling other list managers. Why have a list manager if Pert is going to make the calls?

I don't trust Green either...

Edited by Adam The God

Just now, Adam The God said:

But there is a difference between the FD knowing and the FD being told that we're moving on Clarry due to what has come out of the review. 

Either way, it shouldn't be Pert's job to he calling other list managers. Why have a list manager if Pert is going to make the calls?

I don't trust Green either...

Well I can tell you with 100% certainty that Brad Green eats at China Bar. I've seen it with my own eyes. 

39 minutes ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

Honestly all this is reminding me of the time supporters begged Prendergast NOT to recruit a certain draftee that we picked and who never even played at VFL level. 

Darling was right there!