Posted
1 minute ago, Jaded No More said:

He's lucky that he plays on the opposite end of the ground to May. Not so lucky that Viney is only a mere 50m away.

I reckon Kozzie is a HUGE chance to line him up if he gets the chance. Max will also be battling his emotions through the game. Gus is a pretty loved guy to the team and i don't think they're pretend nothing happened.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Dwight Schrute said:

I reckon Kozzie is a HUGE chance to line him up if he gets the chance. Max will also be battling his emotions through the game. Gus is a pretty loved guy to the team and i don't think they're pretend nothing happened.

Kossie needs to keep his nose clean. He has far too many suspensions to his name already.

I've never seen Gawny go anyone in his entire career. Would pay good money to watch take Maynard down, and then get off at the tribunal for being the best guy ever.

• Haha 5

Posted
1 minute ago, Jaded No More said:

Kossie needs to keep his nose clean. He has far too many suspensions to his name already.

I've never seen Gawny go anyone in his entire career. Would pay good money to watch take Maynard down, and then get off at the tribunal for being the best guy ever.

I actually semi like what Kozzie does, not the always missing games because of suspension but not much gets in your head in a sport more than playing against a guy that you know is a real chance to go outside the rules of the game with the intention of hurting you. 

Posted
9 minutes ago, Fritta and Turner said:

I reckon we should honour Angus by winning the game.  Thats it.

absolutely

then ... tell them to get off our [censored] ground

• Clap 5

Posted
1 hour ago, Dwight Schrute said:

I've had similar debates with people Red, i asked a mate to find me another instance where a guy has sprinted from 50 meters way, left the ground and knocked someone out in an attempt to "spoil" the ball. Naturally he couldn't outside of some very ordinary looking incidents from decades ago. 

I do believe Maynard wasn't intending to knock Gus out, rather to make a physical statement early in a big final, but he made the decision and it's had massive consequences for Gus and he should have been suspended. 

Agree Dwight. I also don’t believe Maynard wanted to knock out Gus, but rather make him earn it and it went beyond his intent. Unfortunately we know the rest.

I tell you what I want in footy. I want us to win this years’ flag, have Gus present the cup and run the lap with the boys.

Then I want the boys to win the next two.

Is that too much to wish for?

On another note, the AFL MRO/Tribunal decisions, are so inconsistent and random, that they have become nothing more than a joke to the whole football world.

Even the time it is taking to finalise the Smith case is simply ridiculous and totally unprofessional in its delay.

Posted
37 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

But you know he would not get off.

Posted
30 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Who's a better bloke, Charlie Cameron, or Max Gawn? {insert discretionary interpretation here}

Posted

Since we're mentioning Maynard again, quick reminder that he has gone four consecutive seasons of at least once hospitalising an opponent with a head injury.

I'm 100% in the 'punish them on the scoreboard' group. But also... punish them by so much that when we're 40 points up with 10 minutes to go we can start an ironic 'Collingwood' chance just to make the fans lose their [Maynard].

Also, pretty sure Gawn can arrange for Alexa to play the Demon's song in every Collingwood supporter's home for a week.

Posted
11 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

Since we're mentioning Maynard again, quick reminder that he has gone four consecutive seasons of at least once hospitalising an opponent with a head injury.

interesting. who were the players / incidents ? 

Posted
3 hours ago, daisycutter said:

just a thug act. always was a thug, always will be

collingwood legend

https://twitter.com/snaginbread/status/1766396308905238531?t=aDgnfsTIpR-k3kQ0mi5aOQ&s=19

Fake thug, see how he runs away like a coward when Cripps confronts him.

He acts tough when the other player is smaller, but not so much with bigger bodied players.

Posted
1 hour ago, Little Goffy said:

I'm 100% in the 'punish them on the scoreboard' group. But also... punish them by so much that when we're 40 points up with 10 minutes to go we can start an ironic 'Collingwood' chance just to make the fans lose their [Maynard].

Also, pretty sure Gawn can arrange for Alexa to play the Demon's song in every Collingwood supporter's home for a week.

It’s quite unbelievable his form had zero bearing ie character

yet it did for cameron

jesus wept 

Posted
21 minutes ago, Superunknown said:

Why not

the Cameron case set a precedent 

Because they were absolutely rubbished and Gawn plays for us, not an AFL love child club.

Posted
2 hours ago, Little Goffy said:

Not chanting Collingwood for any reason.

Posted
10 minutes ago, Superunknown said:

Hamish unloads

https://12ft.io/proxy?q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.theage.com.au%2Fsport%2Fafl%2Fit-is-breaking-me-brayshaw-brother-launches-attack-on-afl-judiciary-20240502-p5foew.html

absolutely correct

I actually can’t watch us anymore because of that incident and that animal getting off Scott free

I will hate the AFL forever for it 

He articulates the bewilderment most of us feel about decisions the AFL make. Hamish is calling out the emperor with no clothes. 
Nothing will change and more of us will become jaded and cynical and finally disengaged 

Posted
3 hours ago, Redleg said:

There are only two Melbourne players who I reckon hold enough power to get off on the “good bloke” clause; Trac and Gawny. 

Posted
4 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

I've never seen Gawny go anyone in his entire career.

TBH neither have I but I have seen max give Nankervis a whack off the ball.  Tobes didnt like it but obviously deserved it.

Posted
4 hours ago, Dwight Schrute said:

I am really curious to see how Kings Birthday plays out, i do hope Maynard gets some sort of attention for no other reason than to see the paper tough guy go to water infront of the footy world

A part of me wouldn’t mind if our boys gave away 10 free kicks against Maynard if it meant we pulverised him into the ground.

Posted
44 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

There are only two Melbourne players who I reckon hold enough power to get off on the “good bloke” clause; Trac and Gawny. 

And they wouldn’t.

Posted
1 hour ago, Superunknown said:

Why not

the Cameron case set a precedent 

Lol,  you think the afl tribunal adheres to a  principle of law like precedent? Hahahahaha Good one

Posted (edited)

Guys guys guys, you've got it all wrong.

Everyone gets to punch him in the guts once.

I reckon we can do a whip around to pay the fines easy

Edited by biggestred
Posted
6 hours ago, Demon17 said:

Just call out Maynard for what/who he is.

The Duncan Wright of the 2000's. Forever has the legacy of forcing Gus to retire.

And am I correct in saying that he also forced his own team mate Murphy into retirement?