5 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

I thought the whole fixture will be released but without day/time for Round 16-24.

That's exactly what's happening.

On 14/11/2023 at 14:45, Lexinator said:

Have I missed something? What's this 'round zero'? Thanks in advance.

It's an amazing concept whereby, unless in the case of draw(s), 4 sides will be zero & one after zero.

Edited by TRIGON
Corrected my maths.

4 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

The advantage of round zero is Carlton and Collingwood could potentially be 0-2 before the Saturday of round 1.

Bit of a “C” tax going on there

Carlton 

Collingwood

You could also throw Richmond in there,

I’ve been known to also call them something that starts with the letter “c”

3 hours ago, layzie said:

The AFL needs to start acting their age. 

Second childhood?

You know who’s p****ed off with our round zero fixture? The NSW Demons. They’re unhappy because a Thursday night match means no pre-match function, (the one they had before our round 24 match was a success). Besides that, the little Demons supporters won’t be able to watch our players train the day before because of school, let alone the match, because again, school on Friday. This sucks for the NSW Demons who are as proud and passionate as the rest of us but don’t get to watch us live very often.  😕

[censored] ! Do I get this? We have "Opening round", then we have round 1?

The [censored] AFL just gets [censored] sillier year by [censored] year!

We all just want to see some games of footy dealt out as equitably as the equation allows.... surely?

The AFL have made obfuscation an art form. 

The two MFC games released are both interstate........of course.

Add on NT and likely Norff in Tasmania that makes for maybe 8 or 9 interstate games.  This draw could get ugly tomorrow.

5 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

You know who’s p****ed off with our round zero fixture? The NSW Demons. They’re unhappy because a Thursday night match means no pre-match function, (the one they had before our round 24 match was a success). Besides that, the little Demons supporters won’t be able to watch our players train the day before because of school, let alone the match, because again, school on Friday. This sucks for the NSW Demons who are as proud and passionate as the rest of us but don’t get to watch us live very often.  😕

Us Adelaide Dees will get roarted this year also.

Gather round Thursday night aswell.

It’s so disappointing that all our fans seem to do is complain about the fixture on here.

when we were getting Saturday and Sunday games in the arvo or twighligjt all people would do is cry for more Friday night exposure.

Now that we get Thursday/Fridays/opening games/ multiple public holidays, all people seem to do is complain.

We should be happy our team has success and is put in prime time slots. We should not be finding excuses to not watch the team we’ve all waited for decades to become good. 

Bring on March 7.

13 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Spot on. Since the flag we've played with the red ball just twice at the G. Once against St Kilda in 2022 and once against Freo in 2023.

I'd like to see more Saturday afternoon and early Sunday afternoon games at he G to add variety to the schedule. However Saturday afternoon footy seems to be reserved for the also rans if the second half of last season was a guide.

I'd also like to see us play at Marvel more than once, at the expense of 1 or 2 less interstate trips. I figure we won't get more than 13 MCG games like last year.

As we grow we deserve the spoils awarded to other Clubs. What do these family friendly games involve ?

Big gaps in the crowd so kids can wander safely or families spread out over spare seats beside their bags etc. 

Let's  not go back to early Sat or Sun games with 20,000 fans and no atmosphere. 

We are bigger than that and deserve all the financial and other advantages while we have our premiership window open and opportunities akin to our place in the sun, which ironically means more prime and night games. 

4 hours ago, FearTheBeard said:

It’s so disappointing that all our fans seem to do is complain about the fixture on here.

when we were getting Saturday and Sunday games in the arvo or twighligjt all people would do is cry for more Friday night exposure.

Now that we get Thursday/Fridays/opening games/ multiple public holidays, all people seem to do is complain.

We should be happy our team has success and is put in prime time slots. We should not be finding excuses to not watch the team we’ve all waited for decades to become good. 

Bring on March 7.

Yes we have earned our status rise and the right to enjoy it also.  

5 hours ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Us Adelaide Dees will get roarted this year also.

Gather round Thursday night aswell.

Part of supporting a Club is adapting to the conditions handed to you. Yes it's always a bummer when some groups have to think on the run but that's life. 

The progressive groups find a way and move on learning from it for the next time. Worry about the things under your control and we don't control the draw and would be laughed out at if we used these reasons to want to give up prime time and free to air advertising in our draw requested. 

It's called progress and that's what our Club has been developing for the last decade. Opportunities will open and let's take them when they arise. 

6 hours ago, Deebauched said:

The two MFC games released are both interstate........of course.

Add on NT and likely Norff in Tasmania that makes for maybe 8 or 9 interstate games.  This draw could get ugly tomorrow.

Really what a negative Nellie you are Debauched. 
When we go to NT it is OUR choice and in 2023 we had 7 interstate games inc. Gather Round, Geelong and Saints at Marvel.

13 MCG games with away Tigers Blues and Hawks fixtures. 

2024  May be the same but you have only heard a small portion of the Draw but launch Into criticism prematurely and negatively like a child bring refused lollies before dinner. 

The MFC have gad their chance to request options in the draw so wait and see about how their wishes have been responded to. 

34 minutes ago, Kick_It_To_Pickett said:

What time is this fixture meant to be released ? 

3.30 according to Sam Edmund on SEN this morning.

Am I missing something?

Four games in the opening round only? No games on Sunday?

I suppose it gives the non-playing teams an opportunity to "manage" their players after a torrid pre-season. I'm sure they appreciate the gift. 🙄

Edited by DemonicFinalFantasy
Becoz I like editing

54 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Amazing. I'll get home at 11:50pm instead of midnight. What. A. Win! 

Haven’t read this whole thread so apologies if I’m repeating. We get a 10 day break between opening round and round 1 so that’s handy. We also get an extra bye thrown in in the first 7 weeks somewhere…reckon that’s handy in a long season too. We also get the massive publicity of being the first game of the season. Surely this a decent win fr the club!