Posted

His comments about playing harder during week should be brought up at the hearing. Was always gonna do something to back it up during the game

Posted (edited)
32 minutes ago, bandicoot said:

This is damning vision. He wanted to make sure brayshaw got hurt. What an absolute thug 

I'd hate to see hin clean someone up intentionally. 

That vision shows a clear delineation into poor Gus's  head from a significant hight at considerable  speed.

That's some damning vision.

Couldn't have made more contact. Give me a break. He jumped before Gus even kicked. There was intent for sure just a question of how much. He knew contact would be made before he jumped. He just used the smother as a guise.

He came out hard in the first few minutes of the game and hopefully will get the month he deserves.

Suck it up Maynard but you wanted to hurt someone and you did. Big time.

Now it's your turn. Wear it like a man.

Gus did.

Edited by leave it to deever

Posted
12 minutes ago, IRW said:

He's my tip  so that you carry on disliking me

Guilty careless, severe;2 weeks or whatever the rule says.

Appeal because now there is this  "football act" invention

Overturned  on appeal free to play

All that is in doubt is whether is a speedy process or it takes to the Thursday before the Prelim

It’s not a ‘football act’ when there is clearly another option. He will get done for 3 weeks. Grub

Posted
5 minutes ago, cookieboc said:

H'ell get two, they'll appeal and he'll get off.

Having said that, depending on the severity, it could potentially end Gus's career.

Why do we all feel something fishy is going on?

Because it's the Afl and there usually  us.

I hope they do right by a bloke who has really had concussion issues.

It's the right thing to suspend.

If they don't it's open season.

Posted
11 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

I'd hate to see hin clean someone up intentionally. 

That vision shows a clear delineation into poor Gus's  head from a significant hight at considerable  speed.

That's some damning vision.

Couldn't have made more contact. Give me a break. He jumped before Gus even kicked. There was intent for sure just a question of how much. He knew contact would be made before he jumped. He just used the smother as a guise.

He came out hard in the first few minutes of the game and hopefully will get the month he deserves.

Suck it up Maynard but you wanted to hurt someone and you did. Big time.

Now it's your turn. Wear it like a man.

Gus did.

I do hope, if Maynard plays another game in this finals season, someone flattens the fake thug.

Posted
3 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Why do we all feel something fishy is going on?

Because it's the Afl and there usually  us.

I hope they do right by a bloke who has really had concussion issues.

It's the right thing to suspend.

If they don't it's open season.

Unfortunately sometimes feels like the MFC has no Power inside AFL House, unlike Jeelong, Collingwood and Carlton.

Posted (edited)

Even if its downgraded on the chart from intentional to careless its still high impact  --2 weeks minimum.

Not to mention Brayshaw was knocked unconcious. Collingwood has loads of time to appeal and overturn a possible 2 week suspension.  Theyre laughing at us. 

Geelong Swans Collingwood and Carlton call the shots.

If Tricky Gil wants to show that he's serious about head high impacts then Maynard is toast.

If its all BS then he walks or atleast plays in GF which Coll will now.

Edited by Deebauched

Posted
2 hours ago, The heart beats true said:

There’s an angle on The Age website from behind the goals…

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/afl-finals-2023-collingwood-magpies-into-preliminary-final-brayden-maynard-faces-days-of-nerves-over-clash-20230907-p5e2xz.html

Maynard bunches up after the smoother. He just needed to put his hands out and push into a Brayshaw and both would have been fine. You can see he has the time, because Mitchell runs by in the same footage at speed and puts his hands up as the contact happens.

Can actually see Maynard's right shoulder begin to turn before he's reached the highest peak of his jump. Definitely knew if the smother didn’t work he was going to inflict some damage

Posted
8 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

I do hope, if Maynard plays another game in this finals season, someone flattens the fake thug.

And then pleads innocent. 

Posted
22 minutes ago, Stiff Arm said:

His comments about playing harder during week should be brought up at the hearing. Was always gonna do something to back it up during the game

I mentioned something the same on a MFC Facebook group............"I watched a clip on Facebook yesterday featuring an interview with Maynard and I have tried to find it this morning but I'm buggered if I can find it. In it Maynard was saying how geed up he was and said he was "Toey" I am almost certain it was mentioned in the context of the physicality of the game. I'm happy to be proved wrong but it made me [censored] up my ears and to me it was a vague reference to him being an enforcer or tough guy......almost a premeditated thought. Like I said, happy to be proved wrong but when the incident happened my mind immediately went to this interview. Just my two cents".

Posted

Is anyone bringing up the cox twist and hold on tracs leg? It’s the equivalent of a chicken wing but the leg - completely unnecessary and intentional. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Stinger said:

Is anyone bringing up the cox twist and hold on tracs leg? It’s the equivalent of a chicken wing but the leg - completely unnecessary and intentional. 

Was it the drumstick or the maryland?

Posted
6 minutes ago, Stiff Arm said:

Can actually see Maynard's right shoulder begin to turn before he's reached the highest peak of his jump. Definitely knew if the smother didn’t work he was going to inflict some damage

How anyone can say this is a football act is beyond me. You mean to tell me you can attempt to smother, shirt front the kicker, knock them out and get off?

how come this doesn’t happen every weekend then? 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Stiff Arm said:

He had one aim in mind before he left the ground... to hit a Melbourne  player.

Now he probably didn't intend to almost kill poor Gus but it's a moot point.

The height and speed and direction clearly could have done nothing but collect Gus and players have a duty of care.

Nothwitstanding... The facts of this case are as follows your honour.

Defendant launched himself at great speed and height towards the victim. 

The defendant turned mid air and then  put his shoulder and entire momentum and weight into victim's head.

Victim was knocked out cold.

The defendant argues he didn't mean to but the facts remain unchanged.

Guilty.

Posted

This is really unsettling my internal workings (ie making me want to spew)

If you're heading for a collision, you put your hands out.

If you turn your shoulder into a vulnerable opponent's head and knock him out, that's four weeks.

Of course with the money-hungry Gill in charge, Brayshaw will probably be cited for striking Maynard's shoulder with his skull.

And why is that monster Cox allowed to run around squashing everybody with his great blubbery bulk? 

Posted

Maynard was always going to collect Gus . He made a beeline towards him and then jumped. How could he have missed him?

As such there was always intent to make contact. Maynard had a rush of blood that may have caused more damage than he thought.

Or rather I don't think he didn't think outside of the adrenaline of hitting an opponent. But he certainly made every effort to come into contact with Gus.

Posted

If this was the other way around we would be carrying on.  Nothing to answer for he actually missed the footy by a couple of cms.  Footy is in a bad spot if these incidents become suspendable.

Next it will be a knee to the head in a marking contest

Posted

This "footy action" talk, as if it automatically protects the reasonableness of the action, is just a load of bollocks.

A tackle is a "footy action" but if you don't do it properly and sling a player to the ground so they hit their head and get concussion, then you can pay the penalty.

An intercept punch is a "footy action", but if you don't do it properly or are late and hit a player in the head and cause concussion, then you can pay the penalty.

A smother from front on is a "footy action" but if you don't just try to smother and then run into the kicker with your shoulder and knock them unconscious, then you can pay the penalty.

What's also irrelevant is bleatings about Christian's bias as an MRO being an ex-Collingwood player. He has no other option but to refer the incident to the tribunal, and he won't have any influence on the matter.

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, Travy14 said:

If this was the other way around we would be carrying on.  Nothing to answer for he actually missed the footy by a couple of cms.  Footy is in a bad spot if these incidents become suspendable.

FMD. I've seen plenty of attempted spoils that miss the footy by a couple of cms.  But not seen what happened next. (Again, leaving aside the concussion, just the action.)

Edited by sue
Posted

I've got a Collingwood mate who can be biased but when pressed, is brutally honest

He's saying Maynard is as guilty as sin and 3-4 weeks but the MRO will let him walk free

Ok, a tiny sample size but I reckon many share his view (but not publicly)

Posted (edited)
22 minutes ago, Travy14 said:

Like it or not, footy will become less and less of a contact sport due to concussion liabilities. Knee to head in marking contest will go at some point. Not if, but when

It is possible to train out these habits. We've trained out the deliberate hip and shoulder, we've trained players to turn their bodies to avoid head-on contact.

In 15 years time, what is acceptable now will look like a 1980's biffs, bumps and brawl VHS video

I know plenty of parents who are nervous about their kids playing footy due to concussions. The AFL will change the game to respond accordingly 

Edited by Stiff Arm
Posted

Who gives a toss? This does nothing for us. 

If you genuinely care about head safety then fine but if this is some exercise to place your blame and revenge then you're wasting your time and energy.