leave it to deever 17,618 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 Maybe stopping the Carlton hype is our consolation prize. Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 Just now, The heart beats true said: I think we are going to play the most contested, combative, ugly brand of footy next week. We will be angry. I like us when we are angry. Can we kick goals when we are angry? Asking for my sanity Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 1 minute ago, Chook said: Roo is tiring anyway and IMO is barely best 22. Melksham is a big out but is only good for 1-2 goals per game. I don't care who you put in our forward line anyway. Forwards kick the goals but they don't create them. I mean they do create them… by taking marks and leading and not missing the lot from 25m out 🫠 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,551 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 10 minutes ago, brendan said: Blues have a dees 2018 look about them should get through to prelim before the lions give them a hiding, can actually see it all panning out like 2018 where the pies lose to an interstate club in the granny Reckon Collingwood have a bit of 2019 in them. Held a comfortable 4 goal lead at 3 qtr time against Geelong in the qualifying final only to go scoreless in the last quarter to fall over the line by 10 points with a score of 9.7.61. Then lost a home prelim final to GWS. 2019 they’ll be likely a hosting a prelim against an interstate side. Quote
Lord Travis 10,819 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 Carlton get good value out of their stoppages. Don’t necessarily win lots more than their opposition, but when they do it comes out front quickly and upsets opposition defensive structure. We had that quality in 2021 and would love to get it back. They played a very similar style of game to us. They’re showing tonight how to create a contest and not allow a running team to get out like the Pies did last night. Not sure exactly how they’re structuring up from watching on tv, but it’s impressive and we should study it hard. Quote
Chook 15,069 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 1 minute ago, Jaded No More said: Can we kick goals when we are angry? Asking for my sanity We can't kick goals when we're icy. This team is so timid and "cerebral" it kills me. A bit of fire might actually be a good thing. Think 4th quarter when we had to actually go, and we did. 1 Quote
Roost it far 10,137 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 We’re in all sorts against the energy of the Blues Quote
Lord Travis 10,819 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 If we don’t win the flag, I’ll be fine with any team winning except Collingwood. [censored] Collingwood. Quote
Chook 15,069 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 1 minute ago, Jaded No More said: I mean they do create them… by taking marks and leading and not missing the lot from 25m out 🫠 Give me a good Bowey arrow inside 50 and even I'd kick a goal against Carlton. Give Curnow a rainmaker vs Moore and Howe and even he couldn't do a thing. Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 1 minute ago, Lord Travis said: If we don’t win the flag, I’ll be fine with any team winning except Collingwood. [censored] Collingwood. Or Carlton Or Brisbane Up the Saints! 😂 1 Quote
At the break of Gawn 4,513 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 (edited) 5 minutes ago, leave it to deever said: Maybe stopping the Carlton hype is our consolation prize. More likely to turn it into fever pitch. Edited September 8, 2023 by At the break of Gawn 1 Quote
dl4e 5,851 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 I think we have to play angry next week. Pressure will get a more inexperienced Carlton. To lose to both the filth and carlton in straight sets would be unbearable. Quote
ANG13 2,110 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 3 minutes ago, Lord Travis said: If we don’t win the flag, I’ll be fine with any team winning except Collingwood. [censored] Collingwood. Have you never met a Carlton supporter? 1 Quote
praha 11,267 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 You know you're [censored] when Saad is tearing you up. Quote
rolling fog 1,208 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 My god the Ch.7 commentary is ordinary Quote
gs77 4,614 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 Absolutely shocking kick by McKay then 1 Quote
Lord Travis 10,819 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 1 minute ago, ANG13 said: Have you never met a Carlton supporter? Yeah a few have served me pasta over the years. They’re like a Collingwood supporter, but with teeth and still have half a soul remaining. 2 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,551 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 (edited) Carlton were built for finals (aside from the Harry McKay comedy hour). What the hell were they doing in 2021 and 2022? Edited September 8, 2023 by Bring-Back-Powell Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 10 minutes ago, Jaded No More said: Can we kick goals when we are angry? Asking for my sanity We can't win a shoot out. It'll be 12 goals to 10. Quote
rolling fog 1,208 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 Cripps has to have the most borderline legal disposal in the league 1 Quote
Maldonboy38 6,435 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 We get done by the inbred filth, and now the Blues dominate and will probably win. What a carp start to a weekend of footy. I wonder if re-runs of Blackadder are on the TV somewhere. Quote
BoBo 2,956 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 [censored] Gulden is a good player. Only 21 years old. 1 Quote
YearOfTheDees 3,266 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 I think Carlton will only have the one final in them. If we win next week the will mean a Thursday then Friday and Then a Saturday game. And hopefully another Saturday game to round it off. Quote
dees189227 12,512 Posted September 8, 2023 Posted September 8, 2023 1 minute ago, Maldonboy38 said: We get done by the inbred filth, and now the Blues dominate and will probably win. What a carp start to a weekend of footy. I wonder if re-runs of Blackadder are on the TV somewhere. Plus the storm are getting towelled up. Ugh sometimes I wish I wasn't so invested in teams. 1 Quote