Posted
1 hour ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

So, today Goody is trying something different. He’s changing something up, and the boys have been training (in private) with a focus on this  change.

I can’t say anything else about this. The only reason I’m bringing it up at all is because I want the usual Goody-bashers (and they’re here all too often) to remember that should today’s move not succeed, at the very least Goody tried something different. Therefore there really shouldn’t be any of those comments about him being loath to make bold changes, him being stubborn or him trying desperately to replicate 2021.

But that’s all moot…

It’ll work and it’ll work well. If for no other reason than I said so. 🙂

It’s not May kicking to the right side is it??

• Haha 8
Posted
3 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Bad Omen:mad::   Yesterday a flock of very large magpies arrived in my front garden.  First 2 then 3 then 6!!!  Haven't seen a single magpie in the street since moving here 6 months ago so where the heck did they come from!!!!  And why now!!!  Last week's confidence sapped.

Don't worry mate. They've over committed numbers to the contest and we'll get them on turn over.

Posted
1 minute ago, A F said:

I love how parts of Demonland is framing this one already. If we lose, we're hopeless and no contender. If we win, Collingwood were missing all their players. 👌

And of course there will be those that get all high horsed and self righteous to drown them out with their own positive views...

Different opinions and some friendly argie bargie is what makes DL interesting as long as those at the extreme ends of positive/negative opinions don't get nasty or abusive. 

Will declare my own position.  Win today and we are top 2.  Lose today and we will definitely be top 4.  That is all we need to do.  However, I will not try and convince others to those views.

We could all well heed this little piece of philosophy:  "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it" .

Posted
13 minutes ago, 3183 Dee said:

@Rab D Nesbitt - sorry to tell you that there will be Pies fans amongst us - even in Trident and Redlegs: in advance of this game, I added an extra seat to our family membership in Trident as I knew there was a spare seat available next to ours (KB is the one day that all our family goes to the footy together). I then got a call from the club on Thursday apologising profusely that whilst this seat would be ours for the remainder of the season, it would not be available for the Collingwood game, as Ticketek had identified it as vacant and already sold it! Hopefully it’s a Dees supporter that has got it, but past experience tells me otherwise. By the way, the club found us a seat directly in front of us, so not all bad.

no, those tickets that were identified by ticketek went on sale two weeks ago and could only be accessed with a Melbourne member barcode (essentially to allow GA members who missed out to buy a reserved seat amongst our reserved seat members. In theory there will be no Collingwood in the tridents/Redlegs/demon seats plus areas unless a Melbourne member brings a Collingwood guest. 

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

So, today Goody is trying something different. He’s changing something up, and the boys have been training (in private) with a focus on this  change.

I can’t say anything else about this. The only reason I’m bringing it up at all is because I want the usual Goody-bashers (and they’re here all too often) to remember that should today’s move not succeed, at the very least Goody tried something different. Therefore there really shouldn’t be any of those comments about him being loath to make bold changes, him being stubborn or him trying desperately to replicate 2021.

But that’s all moot…

To be fair I think people are talking about selections and in-game moves rather than during the week training methods when talking about him being stubborn and not bold but I like the way this is going.

Edited by layzie
Posted (edited)
10 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

And of course there will be those that get all high horsed and self righteous to drown them out with their own positive views...

Different opinions and some friendly argie bargie is what makes DL interesting as long as those at the extreme ends of positive/negative opinions don't get nasty or abusive. 

Will declare my own position.  Win today and we are top 2.  Lose today and we will definitely be top 4.  That is all we need to do.  However, I will not try and convince others to those views.

We could all well heed this little piece of philosophy:  "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it" .

Good on you for defending freedom of speech. No one's saying that people can't say negative things... people just get the frustrated over the repetition, particularly if we're optimistic. I suppose its the exact flip, if you're more attuned to focusing on the negatives, it's a bit tiring hearing those optimists provide rationale and explanation for their perspective. 

Either way, we're all 'realistic' eh!

A loss and I will buy into all my [censored] that we're not good enough and that Collingwood specifically have a game plan that causes us issues. Knowing intellectually that whether we win or lose today has very little baring of what will happen in 2 months or so time... but emotionally I know, I like to look for patterns to prepare myself for the worst...

Go Dees ❤️💙

Edited by Engorged Onion

Posted
19 minutes ago, 3183 Dee said:

@Rab D Nesbitt - sorry to tell you that there will be Pies fans amongst us - even in Trident and Redlegs: in advance of this game, I added an extra seat to our family membership in Trident as I knew there was a spare seat available next to ours (KB is the one day that all our family goes to the footy together). I then got a call from the club on Thursday apologising profusely that whilst this seat would be ours for the remainder of the season, it would not be available for the Collingwood game, as Ticketek had identified it as vacant and already sold it! Hopefully it’s a Dees supporter that has got it, but past experience tells me otherwise. By the way, the club found us a seat directly in front of us, so not all bad.

Hi 3183. I’ve also noticed that a few randoms that sit in the glassed in area behind us (extension of MCC?) take their chances in the empty seats in our area. 

I know we have a fair weather supporter base and this is one of the consequences of not turning up. 

Posted
10 minutes ago, FearTheBeard said:

no, those tickets that were identified by ticketek went on sale two weeks ago and could only be accessed with a Melbourne member barcode (essentially to allow GA members who missed out to buy a reserved seat amongst our reserved seat members. In theory there will be no Collingwood in the tridents/Redlegs/demon seats plus areas unless a Melbourne member brings a Collingwood guest. 

@FearTheBeard Ah, that’s great - thanks for clarifying. 

Posted

The magpies around Albert Park Lake look edgy as I walk past with Dees gear on

Certainly flying a lot more vertical than usual.

Posted (edited)
25 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

I would hope it'd be like the end of 2021. The negative posters disappeared and the positive posters stayed humble.

The positive posters know how long we were terrible for and as I said to another Melbourne supporter who was giving it to his Carlton mate last week, stay humble. We don't want to turn into Hawthorn.

I understand not everyone is like this, but to be fair to Demonlanders, I reckon the positive were pretty humble after all the negativity during the middle of 2021.

Posted
1 hour ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Apparently there’s gonna be a Philippine flag-raising ceremony at 10am in Fed Square quite close to our tent. They’ve asked us to try to be quiet during it. Pfft, like cheer squads are ever noisy. 😝

Tell em to go raise their flag outside Y&Js could end up a flag burning.Dont they understand dees playing pies is a national holiday.As for being quite ,good grief its the middle of the city.Tell em to ram it

Posted
Just now, Roost it far said:

Losing this will ruin my day which is going really well so far.

Any good stuff to report?

Posted
23 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

I'll just stick to self abuse then.

Posted

Just hoping for no umpire intervention today.

Posted
1 hour ago, Jaded No More said:

My dog has been standing at the window barking angrily at a single magpie in our front yard for 30 minutes. 
The magpie, while unmoved, has certainly been told in no uncertain terms by the dog, what a stupid ugly useless bird it is. 

Good little doggy

Posted
4 minutes ago, A F said:

I would hope it'd be like the end of 2021. The negative posters disappeared and the positive posters stayed humble.

The positive posters know how long we were terrible for and as I said to another Melbourne supporter who was giving it to his Carlton mate last week, I said stay humble mate.

I understand not everyone is like this, but to be fair to Demonlanders, I reckon the positive were pretty humble after all the negativity during the middle of 2021.

Society needs both optimistic and negative people. We've evolved this way. I'm naturally more optimistic but we do need negative people. This certainly comes through with how people support their footy teams.

Posted
3 minutes ago, layzie said:

Any good stuff to report?

Just hanging with the kids and texting the 4 collingwood mates I go to the game with. I've been in their faces for a month. If we lose I'm doomed.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

But that’s all moot…

This makes sense and something i spoke about a few days ago.

An adjustment to the normal Melb way is worth a shot a la the Lions earlier in the year.  Albeit their ground size may have helped here being shorter in length (6 meters) and width (2 meters).

Possibly seeing a more aggressive zone & pressing up on the Pies in their faces plus an extra number around the ball.  If we start playing a +1 down back, other than to ice a quarter or the match, i'll be worried.

I also hope we play Grundy/Max, or a combo of those two, at traditional CHF or just back thereof by 5 meters or so.

It's been the missing link up forward for mine so far this season (not always but far too often imv....too much experimenting with non-talls that usually have no impact).

One of Kozzy or Chandler at their feet for the crumbs.  Probably Chandler as he has a relatively decent hoof on him from further out.

Playing the Tap bros or one around CHF will also leave room out the back for JVR & Fritta to work in.  Kozzy and/or Spargo mopping up at their feet where possible.  Both are usually more accurate within 35-40.

I also hope we are going to look to change lanes coming into the forward line a fair bit in order to avoid the massively in form interceptor in Moore as often as possible.

Where possible just look to avoid kicking it straight in to whoever he is playing off as he will often just pick those entries off.

Kozzy to cover Nick when he kicks in.... handing over to ANB when he heads up the field out of 50 (BinMan's suggestion).

Sparrow and late in game if needed (as sub) JJ to close check Pendles as much as possible.  Too much clean ball from him and we're toast!

Aside from that we'll need to see everyone at or near their best to get over the line today.

Fingers crossed we have a bit of a day out in general and bring home the bacon.

As supporters we will also need to bring our A game from the get go folks. 

Remember this is the filth we're playing.  Even if you arent generally a chanter/yeller at the footy.... the boys are gonna need every ounce we can give today to counter the Magpie army!

loud noises anchor man GIF by FirstAndMonday

Carn the Mighty Demons!

Edited by Demon Dynasty
Posted
16 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said:

Good on you for defending freedom of speech. No one's saying that people can't say negative things... people just get the frustrated over the repetition, particularly if we're optimistic. I suppose its the exact flip, if you're more attuned to focusing on the negatives. Either way, we're all 'realistic' eh!

A loss and I will buy into all my [censored] that we're not good enough and that Collingwood specifically have a game plan that causes us issues. Knowing intellectually that whether we win or lose today has very little baring of what will happen in 2 months or so time... but emotionally I know, I like to look for patterns to prepare myself for the worst...

Go Dees ❤️💙

But for all of us who are optimistic and don't want to shout it from the rooftops then it is equally frustrating to read that those that do get high horsed.  In fact it is boring as the same people on both sides have been pushing their own agendas for a long time. 

For mine, I just don't open threads where it looks like there will be a no win tug of war.  And in other more sensible threads, I skip over the posters that I know get high horsed about their own views. 

Posted
Just now, Roost it far said:

Just hanging with the kids and texting the 4 collingwood mates I go to the game with. I've been in their faces for a month. If we lose I'm doomed.

Yeah would definitely want to cap that off with a good result.

2 years ago I was having such a good birthday and it just needed the icing on top but got a real custard chucker of an ending. 

Posted

As always it’s not losing or winning, it’s how you lose or win. 
I want to see what we’ve come up with to counter the Pies. If it works with some success then I’ll be satisfied that we can get them in finals. If it falls apart like a cheap suit I’ll be worried. 

Posted

I have a theory about our team, that we need a genuine challenge in order to become fully engaged in the game, and if/when fully engaged for 4 quarters we are hard to beat. In our losses this season we’ve either dropped intensity due to an incident during game (I.e Max’s injury) or just not been fully aroused (I.e vs Port). 

fingers crossed the element align this arvo, and we play to our full potential for 4 quarters and if the Pies do likewise, we see an epic game of footy…

❤️🏆💙