picket fence 18,184 Posted June 30, 2023 Posted June 30, 2023 (edited) 10 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said: They had an excellent local shiraz at "The Burra" . Overindulgence in which accounted for my late arrival in Coober Pedy. Perhaps Uncle you needed Indy's Dial of Destiny Revivative to assist in recovery!😁 Edited June 30, 2023 by picket fence 2 1 Quote
praha 11,267 Posted June 30, 2023 Posted June 30, 2023 Is anyone else here a naive [censored] like me that is surprised it's so cold in Alice? Honestly thought the place was hot all year round. 2 1 2 1 Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted June 30, 2023 Posted June 30, 2023 17 minutes ago, praha said: Is anyone else here a naive [censored] like me that is surprised it's so cold in Alice? Honestly thought the place was hot all year round. Mate, it can get below zero at night in winter, but days are normally sunny and 20+ degrees. The coldest ever recorded high in Alice is 7 degrees, we could match that today. I suspect we will have a very poor crowd as the weather is a huge turn off for locals. 1 2 Quote
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted June 30, 2023 Posted June 30, 2023 33 minutes ago, picket fence said: Perhaps Uncle you needed Indy's Dial of Destiny Revivative to assist in recovery!😁 I certainly needed something to kick start me picket!! 2 Quote
binman 44,824 Posted June 30, 2023 Posted June 30, 2023 On 6/17/2023 at 12:10 PM, Bitter but optimistic said: I should have added that I'm driving. I intend to take a fairly direct route there but I'm not sure what I'll do for the return. Maybe Uluru , maybe go north for a while and come back through NSW. Suggestions welcome. The Adventures of Bitters, Queen of the Desert. 2 1 7 3 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted June 30, 2023 Posted June 30, 2023 14 minutes ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said: The coldest ever recorded high in Alice is 7 degrees, we could match that today. I suspect we will have a very poor crowd as the weather is a huge turn off for locals. Forecasting a massive 8 degrees today... radar is a sea of green. Should be plenty of ducks about. 1 Quote
binman 44,824 Posted June 30, 2023 Posted June 30, 2023 11 minutes ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said: Mate, it can get below zero at night in winter, but days are normally sunny and 20+ degrees. The coldest ever recorded high in Alice is 7 degrees, we could match that today. I suspect we will have a very poor crowd as the weather is a huge turn off for locals. The forecast is for 8 degrees tommorow. Low of 5, top of 8. What the? Forget Alice Springs locals, that would turn off a lot of Melbourne residents. I can't ever recall going to the footy for a day game that cold. Maybe one game at tge g when we came back from a huge 3/4 time deficit to win in one of our bleak years ' maybe 15 years ago. RGRS, how well does traeger Park drain? Forecast is for 5-15mm there today and 0-5mm tommorow morning. Hopefully it's not cold AND wet. 3 Quote
Neil Crompton 5,852 Posted June 30, 2023 Posted June 30, 2023 34 minutes ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said: Mate, it can get below zero at night in winter, but days are normally sunny and 20+ degrees. The coldest ever recorded high in Alice is 7 degrees, we could match that today. I suspect we will have a very poor crowd as the weather is a huge turn off for locals. I think Alice has got word of Uncle coming to town and has simply responded accordingly. This weather certainly cannot be a coincidence. And I believe it’s going to be more than the weather that gives Uncle the cold shoulder this weekend. I just feel sorry for his niece. 3 Quote
Dingo 1,183 Posted June 30, 2023 Posted June 30, 2023 44 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said: I certainly needed something to kick start me picket!! While in Coober Pedy check out The Breakaways 1 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted June 30, 2023 Posted June 30, 2023 Burra is one of my favourite country towns. Incredible history. For a relatively short while it was the largest tin producer in the world. 3 1 Quote
Tarax Club 4,189 Posted July 1, 2023 Posted July 1, 2023 (edited) 1 hour ago, picket fence said: Perhaps Uncle you needed Indy's Dial of Destiny Revivative to assist in recovery!😁 Uncle I hope you were forewarned about the local welcoming committee? Edited July 1, 2023 by Tarax Club 1 4 Quote
Jibroni 5,057 Posted July 1, 2023 Posted July 1, 2023 1 hour ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said: Mate, it can get below zero at night in winter, but days are normally sunny and 20+ degrees. The coldest ever recorded high in Alice is 7 degrees, we could match that today. I suspect we will have a very poor crowd as the weather is a huge turn off for locals. Just arrived from Adelaide, didn't realise it would be colder than Adelaide. Are you heading to the training session this arvo? 1 Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted July 1, 2023 Posted July 1, 2023 2 hours ago, Jibroni said: Just arrived from Adelaide, didn't realise it would be colder than Adelaide. Are you heading to the training session this arvo? If I can tolerate the cold!! see what the kids say, will go out to get fireworks so will try time it then. 2 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted July 1, 2023 Posted July 1, 2023 3 minutes ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said: If I can tolerate the cold!! see what the kids say, will go out to get fireworks so will try time it then. Fireworks.. love it... Do they still have no speed limit areas in NT? 1 Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted July 1, 2023 Posted July 1, 2023 3 hours ago, binman said: The forecast is for 8 degrees tommorow. Low of 5, top of 8. What the? Forget Alice Springs locals, that would turn off a lot of Melbourne residents. I can't ever recall going to the footy for a day game that cold. Maybe one game at tge g when we came back from a huge 3/4 time deficit to win in one of our bleak years ' maybe 15 years ago. RGRS, how well does traeger Park drain? Forecast is for 5-15mm there today and 0-5mm tommorow morning. Hopefully it's not cold AND wet. 7.3degrees here now, feels like 2.2 according to the app. In almost a decade here, today is the worst I have experienced. As for drainage, I can’t say, but rain hasn’t been heavy enough, so I expect it to be slippery but not really wet. I will try get to training session and report from there. Anyone at training, I will have heavy demon’s jacket with big MFC on back, with two kids, boy 9, girl in glasses 13, my name is Dave, introduce yourselves please on a side note, until today, I have never worn the jacket during the day in Alice 6 2 1 Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted July 1, 2023 Posted July 1, 2023 2 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said: Fireworks.. love it... Do they still have no speed limit areas in NT? Nah, the current government took that bonus away, limit now 130 3 2 Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted July 1, 2023 Posted July 1, 2023 1 hour ago, Diamond_Jim said: Fireworks.. love it... Do they still have no speed limit areas in NT? It was pretty cool going past a cop car doing 165 and you weren’t doing anything wrong 4 Quote
Flower Magic 776 Posted July 1, 2023 Posted July 1, 2023 5 hours ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said: 7.3degrees here now, feels like 2.2 according to the app. In almost a decade here, today is the worst I have experienced. As for drainage, I can’t say, but rain hasn’t been heavy enough, so I expect it to be slippery but not really wet. I will try get to training session and report from there. Anyone at training, I will have heavy demon’s jacket with big MFC on back, with two kids, boy 9, girl in glasses 13, my name is Dave, introduce yourselves please on a side note, until today, I have never worn the jacket during the day in Alice I will admit to being as soft as melted butter - it was too cold to go to this afternoon's training session. "Feels like" on the weather app has been around 5 deg most of the day. Kudos to anyone who braved the cold to go to the session. After waiting some years to finally get to this game, it's really disappointing that the weather tomorrow is likely to kill the atmosphere and cruel the crowd numbers. But a solid win will make the long trip worthwhile. Let's smash the Ghastly Woeful Shockers! 1 1 Quote
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted July 1, 2023 Posted July 1, 2023 The Uncle Bitter show has arrived in Alice. I know Territorians are famous for their hospitality but I'm quite touched that they put on a fireworks display in my honour. 3 7 1 Quote
samcantstandya 1,079 Posted July 1, 2023 Posted July 1, 2023 19 hours ago, M_9 said: OK, so now I’m in Taranto and will follow the game from here. That has to be an omen. Some bloke from the Toigs has that name and he’s goin’ arright. Hey we want to go to that part of the world and explore Puglia. Maybe in the next couple of years. Rain and 30 on Sunday where u r, a far cry from Torquay and the Alice. See you at the footy when you get back. 2 Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted July 1, 2023 Posted July 1, 2023 Going to be at the Alice Springs Brewery from about 7.30, any Demonlanders want to join us just send me a message 2 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 1, 2023 Posted July 1, 2023 I was feeling jealous of everyone making the trip, as it’s definitely on my list of must attend games, but definitely not in the budget right now. But seeing the weather, has eased that jealousy quite a bit. 2 Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted July 1, 2023 Posted July 1, 2023 I can confirm that the Uncle’s profile picture is accurate 1 4 Quote