whatwhat say what 23,854 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 17 minutes ago, drysdale demon said: Yeah okay, the point is whether it's Grundy or someone else there is no saving on salary cap. we won't be paying a break-glass-in-case-of-emergency $650k a year for the next four seasons there's salary cap savings to be made 6 Quote
drysdale demon 4,837 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 1 minute ago, whatwhat say what said: we won't be paying a break-glass-in-case-of-emergency $650k a year for the next four seasons there's salary cap savings to be made Not much though. Quote
Travy14 2,142 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 46 minutes ago, drysdale demon said: IF it's not paid to Grundy the majority will be paid to his replacement so still the same costs I doubt we are in the market for a 500k+ ruck, back up rucks don't get much love, hence why they are the ones who move clubs a lot 1 Quote
drysdale demon 4,837 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 1 minute ago, Travy14 said: I doubt we are in the market for a 500k+ ruck, back up rucks don't get much love, hence why they are the ones who move clubs a lot Time will tell on that, I suppose we could get one in that is pretty well useless. 1 Quote
Travy14 2,142 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 3 minutes ago, drysdale demon said: Time will tell on that, I suppose we could get one in that is pretty well useless. And they wont be on a 4 year deal, back up rucks get short deals which is why they move around. if we get a ruck in it will be a cheap option but a solid ruck, they are never great around the ground but usually pretty competitive in the ruck contests. They also have Verrall developing in the VFL. The only reason they would spend money is if they don't think he will cut it. From what i have seen from the 19 YO he looks pretty good in the early stages of his career. Unless we go for a Chol type who is the Ruc/Fwd type, then you will have to spend a little bit. Which i don't mind that option. But not his contract which would have to be around the $1mil mark over the next 2 years Quote
John Crow Batty 8,892 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 Some talk in the WA press that Jack Darling might be a good trade for Melbourne since we are in the premiership window. Good for another season mor two perhaps. Quote
Dannyz 3,100 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 3 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said: @Grand New Flag what happened with Georgiades, I thought we had him in the bag? We never had a conversation with Georgiades post his ACL. 2 8 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,536 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 56 minutes ago, Dannyz said: We never had a conversation with Georgiades post his ACL. Not surprised Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 3 hours ago, drysdale demon said: Time will tell on that, I suppose we could get one in that is pretty well useless. I think we will be in the market for a good young prospect that in time could take Max's position. Forward craft would be a bonus. So, as you say probably not going to be much change left out of the Grundy deal to move a player like this. 2 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 2 hours ago, Dannyz said: We never had a conversation with Georgiades post his ACL. The only poster in this thread worth listening to I wonder where @Chook in Perth is these days. Always has good mail. 3 1 Quote
YesitwasaWin4theAges 6,819 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 Shane Mcadam from the Crows will be a Dee in 2024, 3 year deal. 3 Quote
adonski 13,267 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 2 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said: Shane Mcadam from the Crows will be a Dee in 2024, 3 year deal. Conflicting news on this...is it Melbourne the city, or Melbourne the club? Quote
Adam The God 30,730 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 6 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said: Shane Mcadam from the Crows will be a Dee in 2024, 3 year deal. Love it. Perfect fit for us I reckon. Thanks for the goss mate and since you're SA based, I'm gonna say you've nailed it haha. 🤞 1 Quote
GCDee 3,202 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 4 minutes ago, adonski said: Conflicting news on this...is it Melbourne the city, or Melbourne the club? https://www.sen.com.au/news/2023/09/06/adelaide-forward-quits-crows-seeking-trade-to-melbourne-based-club/?mibextid=Zxz2cZ Melbourne demons. 1 Quote
Adam The God 30,730 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 1 minute ago, Binmans PA said: Love it. Perfect fit for us I reckon. Thanks for the goss mate and since you're SA based, I'm gonna say you've nailed it haha. 🤞 I wonder if this is why we cooled on Kozzy's mate... 1 Quote
Wells 11 5,502 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 4 minutes ago, adonski said: Conflicting news on this...is it Melbourne the city, or Melbourne the club? https://www.sen.com.au/news/2023/09/06/adelaide-forward-quits-crows-seeking-trade-to-melbourne-based-club/ It says in the title " Melbourne based club" but in the article specifically to the dees. Small forward 28. Anybody got any thoughts. Quote
adonski 13,267 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 1 minute ago, GCDee said: https://www.sen.com.au/news/2023/09/06/adelaide-forward-quits-crows-seeking-trade-to-melbourne-based-club/?mibextid=Zxz2cZ Melbourne demons. Geez that's interesting, we're gonna have a lot of smalls on the list 2 Quote
Wells 11 5,502 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 1 minute ago, Binmans PA said: Love it. Perfect fit for us I reckon. Thanks for the goss mate and since you're SA based, I'm gonna say you've nailed it haha. 🤞 Why "perfect fit"? Genuinely curious. We seem to have Spargo, Chin and Kozzi and be lacking talls more than smalls. But I think Im probably missing something. 1 Quote
adonski 13,267 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 Nick the Wizard Watson will be playing in the ruck next year....! 1 Quote
Greg Schneider 1,018 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 He’s small but also pretty good on a lead and can take a great mark so not exactly prototype small forward 1 Quote
roy11 4,076 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 6 minutes ago, Lewis said: He’s small but also pretty good on a lead and can take a great mark so not exactly prototype small forward Crows website has him at 186cm, so same height as Melk, 2cm smaller than Fritsch Quote
Wells 11 5,502 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 1 minute ago, roy11 said: Crows website has him at 186cm, so same height as Melk, 2cm smaller than Fritsch So he's probably the Melk replacement? Quote
Adam The God 30,730 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 (edited) McAdam is a gun. I'm stoked. Edited September 6, 2023 by Binmans PA Had no idea he's 28 already! 4 Quote
Garbo 1,567 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 A small fwd is not really a need and not sure if he would even be best 22, but if he doesn’t cost much then can’t hurt Quote
Adam The God 30,730 Posted September 6, 2023 Posted September 6, 2023 (edited) 20 minutes ago, Wells 11 said: Why "perfect fit"? Genuinely curious. We seem to have Spargo, Chin and Kozzi and be lacking talls more than smalls. But I think Im probably missing something. Reckon he has x factor and pace. We need more pressure for spots there. We genuinely had no competition for Chandler for weeks when he was just nowhere near getting the job done. The game is going this way and I'd say he'd be on small dollar for more years (takes him to 31). Seems like a classic MFC move. For needs and they've targeted their man and got him. Edited September 6, 2023 by Binmans PA 1 Quote