The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Posted
17 minutes ago, drysdale demon said:

Yeah okay, the point is whether it's Grundy or someone else there is no saving on salary cap.

we won't be paying a break-glass-in-case-of-emergency $650k a year for the next four seasons

there's salary cap savings to be made

Posted
46 minutes ago, drysdale demon said:

IF it's not paid to Grundy the majority will be paid to his replacement so still the same costs

I doubt we are in the market for a 500k+ ruck,  back up rucks don't get much love, hence why they are the ones who move clubs a lot

Posted
1 minute ago, Travy14 said:

I doubt we are in the market for a 500k+ ruck,  back up rucks don't get much love, hence why they are the ones who move clubs a lot

Time will tell on that, I suppose we could get one in that is pretty well useless.

Posted
3 minutes ago, drysdale demon said:

Time will tell on that, I suppose we could get one in that is pretty well useless.

And they wont be on a 4 year deal, back up rucks get short deals which is why they move around.

if we get a ruck in it will be a cheap option but a solid ruck, they are never great around the ground but usually pretty competitive in the ruck contests.  They also have Verrall developing in the VFL.  The only reason they would spend money is if they don't think he will cut it.  From what i have seen from the 19 YO he looks pretty good in the early stages of his career.

Unless we go for a Chol type who is the Ruc/Fwd type, then you will have to spend a little bit.  Which i don't mind that option. But not his contract which would have to be around the $1mil mark over the next 2 years

Posted

Some talk in the WA press that Jack Darling might be a good trade for Melbourne since we are in the premiership window.  Good for another season mor two perhaps.

Posted
3 hours ago, drysdale demon said:

I think we will be in the market for a good young prospect that in time could take Max's position. Forward craft would be a bonus.

So, as you say probably not going to be much change left out of the Grundy deal to move a player like this.

Posted
2 hours ago, Dannyz said:

We never had a conversation with Georgiades post his ACL. 

The only poster in this thread worth listening to 

I wonder where @Chook in Perth is these days. Always has good mail. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Shane Mcadam from the Crows will be a Dee in 2024, 3 year deal.

Conflicting news on this...is it Melbourne the city, or Melbourne the club?

Posted
6 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Shane Mcadam from the Crows will be a Dee in 2024, 3 year deal.

Love it. Perfect fit for us I reckon. Thanks for the goss mate and since you're SA based, I'm gonna say you've nailed it haha. 🤞 

Posted
1 minute ago, Binmans PA said:

Love it. Perfect fit for us I reckon. Thanks for the goss mate and since you're SA based, I'm gonna say you've nailed it haha. 🤞 

I wonder if this is why we cooled on Kozzy's mate...

Posted
1 minute ago, Binmans PA said:

Why "perfect fit"? Genuinely curious. We seem to have Spargo, Chin and Kozzi and be lacking talls more than smalls. But I think Im probably missing something.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Lewis said:

He’s small but also pretty good on a lead and can take a great mark so not exactly prototype small forward 

Crows website has him at 186cm, so same height as Melk, 2cm smaller than Fritsch

Posted (edited)

McAdam is a gun. I'm stoked.

Edited by Binmans PA
Had no idea he's 28 already!
Posted (edited)
20 minutes ago, Wells 11 said:

Why "perfect fit"? Genuinely curious. We seem to have Spargo, Chin and Kozzi and be lacking talls more than smalls. But I think Im probably missing something.

Reckon he has x factor and pace. We need more pressure for spots there.

We genuinely had no competition for Chandler for weeks when he was just nowhere near getting the job done. 

The game is going this way and I'd say he'd be on small dollar for more years (takes him to 31).

Seems like a classic MFC move. For needs and they've targeted their man and got him.

Edited by Binmans PA

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• Recently Browsing   0 members

• No registered users viewing this page.
  • Demonland Forums  

• Match Previews, Reports & Articles  

TRAINING: Monday 17th February 2025

Demonland Trackwatchers were on hand at Monday morning's preseason training at Gosch's Paddock to bring you their brief observations of the session. HARVEY WALLBANGER'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS Gentle flush session at Gosch's this morning. Absent: May, Pickett (All Stars) McVee, McAdam. Rehabbing: Great to see Kentfield back (much slimmer), walking with Tholstrup, TMac (suspect just a management thing), Viney (still being cautious with that rib cartilage?), Melksham (

Demonland |
    Training Reports

MATCH SIM: Friday 14th February 2025

A couple of Demonland Trackwatchers made their way out to Casey Field's for the Melbourne Football Club's Family Series day to bring you their observations on the Match Simulation. HARVEY WALLBANGER'S MATCH SIMULATION OBSERVATIONS Absent: May, Pickett (All Stars), McVee, Windor, Kentfield, Mentha Present but not playing: Petracca, Viney, Spargo, Tholstrup, Melksham Starting Blue 18 (+ just 2 interchange): B: Petty, TMac, Lever, Howes, Bowey Salem M: Gawn, Oliver, La

Demonland |
    Training Reports

TRAINING: Wednesday 12th February 2025

Demonland Trackwatchers braved the scorching morning heat to bring you the following observations of Wednesday's preseason training session from Gosch's Paddock. HARVEY WALLBANGER'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS Absent: Salem, Windsor (word is a foot rash going around), Viney, Bowey and Kentfield Train ons: Roy George, no Culley today. Firstly the bad news - McVee went down late, which does look like a bad hammy - towards the end of match sim, as he kicked the ball. Had to

Demonland |
    Training Reports

MATCH SIM: Friday 7th February 2025

Demonland Trackwatcher Gator ventured down the freeway to bring you his observations from Friday morning's Match Simulation out at Casey Fields. Rehab: Jake Lever and Charlie Spargo running laps.  Lever was running short distances at a fast click as well as having kick to kick with a trainer. He seems unimpeded. Christian Petracca, Kade Chandler, Shane McAdam and Tom Fullarton doing non-contact kicking and handball drills on the adjacent oval.  All moving freely at pace.  I didn’

Demonland |
    Training Reports 2

TRAINING: Wednesday 5th February 2025

Demonland Trackwatchers were out in force as the Demons returned to Gosch's Paddock for preseason training on Wednesday morning. GHOSTWRITER'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS Kozzie a no show. Tommy Sparrow was here last week in civvies and wearing sunnies. He didn’t train. Today he’s training but he’s wearing goggles so he’s likely got an eye injury. There’s a drill where Selwyn literally lies on top of Tracc, a trainer dribbles the ball towards them and Tracc has to g

Demonland |
    Training Reports

THAT WAS THE YEAR THAT WAS: 2024

Whichever way you look at it, the Melbourne Football Club’s 2024 season can only be characterized as the year of its fall from grace. Whispering Jack looks back at the season from hell that was. After its 2021 benchmark premiership triumph, the men’s team still managed top four finishes in the next two seasons but straight sets finals losses consigned them to sixth place in both years. The big fall came in 2024 with a collapse into the bottom six and a 14th placing. At Casey, the 2022 VFL p

Demonland |
    Special Features

MATCH SIM: Friday 31st January 2025

Veteran Demonland Trackwatcher Picket Fence ventured down to Casey Fields to bring you his observations from Friday's Match Simulation. Greetings Demonlanders, beautiful Day at training and the boys were hard at it, here is my report. NO SHOWS: Luker Kentfield (recovering from pneumonia in WA), also not sure I noticed Melky (Hamstring) or Will Verrall?? MODIFIED DUTIES (No Contact): Sparrow, McVee (foot), Tracc (ribs), Chandler, (AC Joint), Fullarton Noticeable events (I’ll s

Demonland |
    Training Reports 2

TRAINING: Wednesday 29th January 2025

A number of Demonland Trackwatchers swooped on Gosch's Paddock to bring you their observations from this morning's Preseason Training Session. DEMON JACK'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS Beautiful morning at Gosch's Paddock. Very healthy crowd so far.  REHAB: Fullerton, Spargo, Tholstrup, McVee Viney running laps. EDIT: JV looks to be back with the main group. Trac, Sparrow, Chandler and Verrell also training away from the main group. Currently kicking to each other ins

Demonland |
    Training Reports 1

TRAINING: Wednesday 22nd January 2025

Demonland Trackwatchers were out in force for training at Gosch's Paddock on Wednesday morning for the MFC's School Holidays Open Training Session. DEMONLAND'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS REHAB: TMac, Chandler, McVee, Tholstrup, Brown, Spargo Brown might have passed his fitness test as he’s back out with the main group.  Sparrow not present. Kozzy not present either.  Mini Rehab group has broken off from the match sim (contact) group: Max, Trac, Lever, Fullarton

Demonland |
    Training Reports
  • Tell a friend

Love Demonland? Tell a friend!