17 minutes ago, drysdale demon said:

Yeah okay, the point is whether it's Grundy or someone else there is no saving on salary cap.

we won't be paying a break-glass-in-case-of-emergency $650k a year for the next four seasons

there's salary cap savings to be made

1 minute ago, whatwhat say what said:

we won't be paying a break-glass-in-case-of-emergency $650k a year for the next four seasons

there's salary cap savings to be made

Not much though.

46 minutes ago, drysdale demon said:

IF it's not paid to Grundy the majority will be paid to his replacement so still the same costs

I doubt we are in the market for a 500k+ ruck,  back up rucks don't get much love, hence why they are the ones who move clubs a lot

1 minute ago, Travy14 said:

I doubt we are in the market for a 500k+ ruck,  back up rucks don't get much love, hence why they are the ones who move clubs a lot

Time will tell on that, I suppose we could get one in that is pretty well useless.

3 minutes ago, drysdale demon said:

Time will tell on that, I suppose we could get one in that is pretty well useless.

And they wont be on a 4 year deal, back up rucks get short deals which is why they move around.

if we get a ruck in it will be a cheap option but a solid ruck, they are never great around the ground but usually pretty competitive in the ruck contests.  They also have Verrall developing in the VFL.  The only reason they would spend money is if they don't think he will cut it.  From what i have seen from the 19 YO he looks pretty good in the early stages of his career.

Unless we go for a Chol type who is the Ruc/Fwd type, then you will have to spend a little bit.  Which i don't mind that option. But not his contract which would have to be around the $1mil mark over the next 2 years

Some talk in the WA press that Jack Darling might be a good trade for Melbourne since we are in the premiership window.  Good for another season mor two perhaps.

3 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

@Grand New Flag what happened with Georgiades, I thought we had him in the bag? 

We never had a conversation with Georgiades post his ACL. 

3 hours ago, drysdale demon said:

I think we will be in the market for a good young prospect that in time could take Max's position. Forward craft would be a bonus.

So, as you say probably not going to be much change left out of the Grundy deal to move a player like this.

2 hours ago, Dannyz said:

We never had a conversation with Georgiades post his ACL. 

The only poster in this thread worth listening to 

I wonder where @Chook in Perth is these days. Always has good mail. 

2 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Shane Mcadam from the Crows will be a Dee in 2024, 3 year deal.

Conflicting news on this...is it Melbourne the city, or Melbourne the club?

6 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Shane Mcadam from the Crows will be a Dee in 2024, 3 year deal.

Love it. Perfect fit for us I reckon. Thanks for the goss mate and since you're SA based, I'm gonna say you've nailed it haha. 🤞 

1 minute ago, Binmans PA said:

Love it. Perfect fit for us I reckon. Thanks for the goss mate and since you're SA based, I'm gonna say you've nailed it haha. 🤞 

I wonder if this is why we cooled on Kozzy's mate...

1 minute ago, Binmans PA said:

Why "perfect fit"? Genuinely curious. We seem to have Spargo, Chin and Kozzi and be lacking talls more than smalls. But I think Im probably missing something.

Nick the Wizard Watson will be playing in the ruck next year....! 

6 minutes ago, Lewis said:

He’s small but also pretty good on a lead and can take a great mark so not exactly prototype small forward 

Crows website has him at 186cm, so same height as Melk, 2cm smaller than Fritsch

1 minute ago, roy11 said:

Crows website has him at 186cm, so same height as Melk, 2cm smaller than Fritsch

So he's probably the Melk replacement? 

McAdam is a gun. I'm stoked.

Edited by Binmans PA
Had no idea he's 28 already!

A small fwd is not really a need and not sure if he would even be best 22, but if he doesn’t cost much then can’t hurt 

20 minutes ago, Wells 11 said:

Why "perfect fit"? Genuinely curious. We seem to have Spargo, Chin and Kozzi and be lacking talls more than smalls. But I think Im probably missing something.

Reckon he has x factor and pace. We need more pressure for spots there.

We genuinely had no competition for Chandler for weeks when he was just nowhere near getting the job done. 

The game is going this way and I'd say he'd be on small dollar for more years (takes him to 31).

Seems like a classic MFC move. For needs and they've targeted their man and got him.

Edited by Binmans PA