Demonland 74,465 Posted September 3, 2022 Posted September 3, 2022 Who are you tipping this week? Winner Dees vs Lions plays the Cats presumably on the Friday Night at the G. Winner Magpies vs Dockers plays the Swans on Saturday/twilight/night at the SCG on Saturday. 1 Quote
ANG13 2,112 Posted September 3, 2022 Posted September 3, 2022 On paper you would think both home teams win but take nothing for granted in season 2022. Another thing I hope that disappears with Gill is 7.50 start times, there just horrible. 7 1 Quote
3183 Dee 2,917 Posted September 3, 2022 Posted September 3, 2022 14 minutes ago, ANG13 said: On paper you would think both home teams win but take nothing for granted in season 2022. Another thing I hope that disappears with Gill is 7.50 start times, there just horrible. Totally agree on the 7:50 start time: too late for most kids. I get that it’s about getting people in on a Friday evening after work, but I’m sure most people could get there for 7:20. 7 Quote
Gouga 570 Posted September 3, 2022 Posted September 3, 2022 Any update on tmac post training on Saturday? Probably covered in another thread but I am not sure where... Quote
Sideshow Bob 2,498 Posted September 3, 2022 Posted September 3, 2022 17 minutes ago, 3183 Dee said: Totally agree on the 7:50 start time: too late for most kids. I get that it’s about getting people in on a Friday evening after work, but I’m sure most people could get there for 7:20. Yep it's bloody ridiculous Was after midnight on Friday by the I got home with my 9 year old son. And we live all of 4 train stations away from Richmond. 2 1 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,562 Posted September 3, 2022 Posted September 3, 2022 There’s absolutely nothing surer than Collingwood beating Freo next week in front of 74,000/75,000 ferals. 1 Quote
ANG13 2,112 Posted September 3, 2022 Posted September 3, 2022 1 hour ago, Sideshow Bob said: Yep it's bloody ridiculous Was after midnight on Friday by the I got home with my 9 year old son. And we live all of 4 train stations away from Richmond. Another thing that is ridiculous is just how bad it is to get into Richmond station after the game. 1 Quote
old dee 24,084 Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 7 hours ago, Sideshow Bob said: Yep it's bloody ridiculous Was after midnight on Friday by the I got home with my 9 year old son. And we live all of 4 train stations away from Richmond. The AFL don't give two hoots about people who go to the game SB. It is all about TV ratings. It was after midnight when I got home on Friday night as well, I wrote this in another thread. MFC members 10.00AM Monday. I have 18 hours to decide if I am going or not. I went with No.1 wife last Friday and in spite of the loss we had a good time however our bodies were feeling the stress Yesterday. A lot of walking and we did not get home till after midnight. I think the last time I looked at the clock it was 2.40 before I drifted off. Another 7.50pm start, nowadays that is really pushing the odds for my aging body. Big decision to make. 2 Quote
david_neitz_is_my_dad 4,084 Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 7 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: There’s absolutely nothing surer than Collingwood beating Freo next week in front of 74,000/75,000 ferals. The only thing that has me unsure of Collingwood winning is Justin Longmuir should have a good idea about Collingwoods strategies. Different head coach now but the players are much the same and many assistant would still be there Quote
old dee 24,084 Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 8 hours ago, 3183 Dee said: Totally agree on the 7:50 start time: too late for most kids. I get that it’s about getting people in on a Friday evening after work, but I’m sure most people could get there for 7:20. No it is about TV ratings. Prime viewing time is 8 -10.30. Spectators are just collateral damage. It wont be long before all games are night games / early evening. 1 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,778 Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 Not the greatest weather forecast but a few degrees warmer than last Friday. Heading back to Melbourne in a couple of weeks after four months of 26-32 degrees every day. Looking forward to Melbourne weather lotto Quote
DubDee 26,710 Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 1 hour ago, old dee said: I went with No.1 wife last Friday and in spite of the loss we had a good time however our bodies were feeling the stress Yesterday. A lot of walking and we did not get home till after midnight. I think the last time I looked at the clock it was 2.40 before I drifted off. Another 7.50pm start, nowadays that is really pushing the odds for my aging body. Big decision to make. Maybe take the 2nd wife this week and see if any difference?? seriously though - valid concern. 7:20 would make a difference 1 Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 2 hours ago, old dee said: Another 7.50pm start, nowadays that is really pushing the odds for my aging body. Big decision to make. You can do it OD. We need you there 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 The most important thing is that we win and Collingwood lose 1 Quote
Ugottobekidding 1,244 Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 1 minute ago, Jaded No More said: The most important thing is that we win and Collingwood lose Best would be if we win both finals and so do Collingwood and we play em in the grandfinal Quote
Demonland 74,465 Posted September 4, 2022 Author Posted September 4, 2022 43 minutes ago, Ugottobekidding said: Best would be if we win both finals and so do Collingwood and we play em in the grandfinal The media would love that in terms of the history of the 2 teams. Quote
dees189227 12,527 Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 Think most of Victoria will be barracking for freo apart from the ferals. 2 Quote
IRW 1,388 Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 12 hours ago, ANG13 said: On paper you would think both home teams win but take nothing for granted in season 2022. Another thing I hope that disappears with Gill is 7.50 start times, there just horrible. Of all the disasters that have befallen our suburban footy competition Gil is the worst. Has he done anything at all of value ? Quote
IRW 1,388 Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 13 minutes ago, dees189227 said: Think most of Victoria will be barracking for freo apart from the ferals. I think the Pies are are a very attractive and exciting team. Not their supporters though. I would only support Doggas team to keep Collingwood out of the G/F Quote
Wodjathefirst 2,671 Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 3 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said: Not the greatest weather forecast but a few degrees warmer than last Friday. Heading back to Melbourne in a couple of weeks after four months of 26-32 degrees every day. Looking forward to Melbourne weather lotto The long range forecast on my weather app says showers late morning to mid arvo (11am-3pm), then no rain after that. Obviously the forecast will become more accurate closer to the day. Upside is that it has nailed it for our last few games at the G (Ferals, Carlton and Sydney). Downside is - obviously not guaranteed but I’m optimistic. 🤞 We must turn our home ground advantage into a full on home crowd advantage- so for all of us that can, don’t just turn up but make some bloody noise! 1 Quote
Wodjathefirst 2,671 Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 27 minutes ago, IRW said: I think the Pies are are a very attractive and exciting team. Not their supporters though. I would only support Doggas team to keep Collingwood out of the G/F Agree, Ginnivan excepted. Last game, the little twerp’s stats were (roughly speaking) 1 star jump (when someone touched his back) 3 kicks 1 tackle 1 - 50 metre penalty My Collingwood mate reckons I have obsessive hatred fixation - really not sure what he is on about 1 Quote
BoBo 2,960 Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 1 hour ago, Demonland said: After finishing 17th last year, how did Collingwood play more games against the current top 6 teams than Geelong AND Brisbane that finished in a prelim?????????? 1 Quote
Watson11 2,252 Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 12 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: There’s absolutely nothing surer than Collingwood beating Freo next week in front of 74,000/75,000 ferals. I’m not sure. Freo have the youngest team in the finals and could completely flop, but Switkowski, Schulz, Frederick, and Walters were like a pack of feral dogs last night, and if they pressure like last night Collingwoods one wood rebounding from defence might not work so well. We have also seen first hand what Freo can do at the G when they move the ball quickly like last night. I think they are a decent chance if they aren’t overawed. Quote