Posted

Super talented player who may just relish being given an outside running role with lots of inside bulls.

Wanted Amon but i think this could be pretty good left field option.

He walks into our wing position over any of our current players.  He is better on the offensive side of the ground so would make a perfect complement to Langdon who is more defensive winger.   

Has really nice left foot and regularly nails his passes....We are looking for connection....having Salem/Bowey/Hunter in the team would sure help in that space.

Posted

I reckon the hierarchy have identified the need for a specialist winger, this would make sense if we were in for Karl Amon from Port.

A change of scenery might be good for him, different culture always helps, his footballing ability speaks for its self another weapon on the outside is what we need.

Always thought he was a quality player, i believe our senior group can lead him in the right direction.

Go and get him Dees, players want to play for us at the right price, we are a destination Club.

Posted
2 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

I don't like him, and I don't rate him.

It's a hard no from me.

Agree 💯 

Posted
49 minutes ago, MurDoc516 said:

Isn't he getting pushed out because the dogs (Bont) don't think he's sole focus is a premiership?

Don't get me wrong, before 2021 I would've loved to have him but I don't see the point in getting him when we could be getting games into Howes as an example.

we're in a premiership window, we need to change our way of thinking, if howes is good enough and consistent enough at vfl level then he will earn his spot and be selected, until then he isnt relevant to our senior 22. hunter would be relevant from round 1 all the way through the season and the next 3 seasons after that as well. the cats didnt baulk at isaac smith to get games into holmes or baulk at touhy to play jordan clark or even cameron to play sav its just the way football works sometimes if you want success you've gotta be ruthless

Posted
16 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

I reckon the hierarchy have identified the need for a specialist winger, this would make sense if we were in for Karl Amon from Port.

A change of scenery might be good for him, different culture always helps, his footballing ability speaks for its self another weapon on the outside is what we need.

Always thought he was a quality player, i believe our senior group can lead him in the right direction.

Go and get him Dees, players want to play for us at the right price, we are a destination Club.

Luke Jackson, Toby Bedford, Jayden Hunt, and maybe James Harmes all say G’day 

Posted
20 minutes ago, Sydee said:

so do, Dunstan, Tomlenson, Lever, May, Grundy, Hibberd, Melksham, Langdon and Ben Brown

Posted
31 minutes ago, Sydee said:

You can't keep everyone happy as we all know, The Club offer what they are worth in their opinion, if they want to look elsewhere that's up to the players themselves.

That's football!

Posted
3 minutes ago, Travy14 said:

so do, Dunstan, Tomlenson, Lever, May, Grundy, Hibberd, Melksham, Langdon and Ben Brown

Well we paid up big time to get both Lever and May - not saying they haven’t been great for our team but May I believe was quite happy to play for the filth but we had the draft hand to get the deal done 

In Grundy - he is really being pushed out the door because they don’t like his contract - jury out whether he will perform at the highest level for the balance of his contract - hopefully he can get really fit over the summer and perform 

Dunstan can’t get a game - absent injuries I don’t see that changing 

Tomlinson can’t get a game - absent injuries I don’t see that changing 

Hibberd I rate highly but really doubt he has much left in the tank beyond 2023

Melksham performed better than I expected but when the heat was on went missing at the pointy end 

Ben Brown - his best was well and truly behind him when he arrived 

Langdon is a great wingman and was a fantastic acquisition 

Posted

Jackson - 900k+ a game

Bedford - not best 22

Hunt - just best 22 but about to be passed by kids coming through

Harmes -  Sad loss, but great midfield depth without him still

is reasons for everything, more players have come to the club of late than have left.

Even Cerra wanted to join the Dees but we just didnt have the capital to do the deal, Dunstan Joined us even though he knew he would struggle to break into the side, could have gone anywhere

Id say the caliber of guys coming in is better than what is going out.

Posted
5 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

You can't keep everyone happy as we all know, The Club offer what they are worth in their opinion, if they want to look elsewhere that's up to the players themselves.

That's football!

Agree - I was really just responding to the idea that “we are a destination club and for the right price players want to play with us” personally I think that’s just BS 

Most players will look after their own interests - they will seek success if they crave it , they will seek money if that drives them , they will run home if they are that way inclined 

The idea that we dangle a carrot in front of any player and they will rush to play for MFC as a destination club is pretty naïve if you ask me 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Travy14 said:

Jackson - 900k+ a game

Bedford - not best 22

Hunt - just best 22 but about to be passed by kids coming through

Harmes -  Sad loss, but great midfield depth without him still

is reasons for everything, more players have come to the club of late than have left.

Even Cerra wanted to join the Dees but we just didnt have the capital to do the deal, Dunstan Joined us even though he knew he would struggle to break into the side, could have gone anywhere

Id say the caliber of guys coming in is better than what is going out.

Is Jackson going for $s ? I thought it was some pressing need to live in WA. I’m sure he was offered good money to stay but there were other reasons than just cash 

Who are the kids about to pass Hunt - please don’t suggest Laurie or Howes as both are a very long way off in my opinion 

Great midfield depth ? Really we’ve been lucky that both Trac, Viney and Clarry have been available most weeks - one or two get an injury and we looked thin especially if Harmes is going. Dunstan is an honest footballer but that’s it 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Sydee said:

Agree - I was really just responding to the idea that “we are a destination club and for the right price players want to play with us” personally I think that’s just BS 

Most players will look after their own interests - they will seek success if they crave it , they will seek money if that drives them , they will run home if they are that way inclined 

The idea that we dangle a carrot in front of any player and they will rush to play for MFC as a destination club is pretty naïve if you ask me 

We get the players we really want, i think the last 4-5 years paint the picture of this fact.

We are one of 6 clubs that can realistically win the Premiership.

Name a player we have missed out on that we have gone hard for in the past 4-5 years.

We are a destination club.

Posted (edited)

I like it! We need another good winger to support Langdon. He also knows how to find a target and has a good left foot.

We will play Brayshaw on HBF (where he played arguably his best ever footy) or in the midfield next year, especially if we lose Harmes we can rotate JJ through there too, it seems our recruiting team is trying to patch up some weaknesses.

Edited by Deenooos_
Posted
Just now, Sydee said:

Is Jackson going for $s ? I thought it was some pressing need to live in WA. I’m sure he was offered good money to stay but there were other reasons than just cash 

Who are the kids about to pass Hunt - please don’t suggest Laurie or Howes as both are a very long way off in my opinion 

Great midfield depth ? Really we’ve been lucky that both Trac, Viney and Clarry have been available most weeks - one or two get an injury and we looked thin especially if Harmes is going. Dunstan is an honest footballer but that’s it 

Yeh recon the money has a bit to do with it.

Bowie, Turner, Rivers would have passed him.  Laurie and howes aren't defenders

Our midfield is Oliver, Trac, Brayshaw.  our depth is Sparrow, Viney, Jordon, Dunstan, Chandler

Laurie isn't a long way off at all, has had a great year in the VFL,  he needs to try take a Spargo or ANB spot. 

I'm not saying we are a destination club, i dont think they exist anymore the one exception being Geel.  but players want to go to successful clubs and clubs in the window.  and that's us atm.  

Posted
18 minutes ago, Sydee said:

This is what we’re lead to believe. But he only wants to go to Fremantle. In a two-club city, surely if you were that desperate to return ‘home’, you’d be willing to go to either club? 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Travy14 said:

Yeh recon the money has a bit to do with it.

Bowie, Turner, Rivers would have passed him.  Laurie and howes aren't defenders

Our midfield is Oliver, Trac, Brayshaw.  our depth is Sparrow, Viney, Jordon, Dunstan, Chandler

Laurie isn't a long way off at all, has had a great year in the VFL,  he needs to try take a Spargo or ANB spot. 

I'm not saying we are a destination club, i dont think they exist anymore the one exception being Geel.  but players want to go to successful clubs and clubs in the window.  and that's us atm.  

None of those have Hunts pace which imo we lack - Turner is a tall defender 

Bowey is ripper and I really hope locks down a best 22 spot next year 

Rivers is a bit hit and miss so in that respect on a par with Hunt without the speed 

I hope Laurie and Howes are surprise packets next year but I haven’t seen enough at VFL level to feel confident about that 

Posted

Hunt was only good as a lock down defender, rivers is a good kick and whilst he has work to do he is coming along nicely.

Hunt was tried as a Mid, tried on the wing, tried up fwd, tried as a running half back.  unfortunately he wasn't a good decision make and he wasn't good by foot.  Frost had speed too, but i don't want him back!

good skills and kicking will get the ball moving faster than a speedy player.

Laurie was an Emg for most of last year he is right on the edge of getting a games, Howes has a way to go but only his first year in the system still.  Im actually surprised they let Rosman and kept Baker, by all accounts he was a talented hid with some speed and a long kick that had injury issues.  

Posted

While I conceded that he's a bit of a fl@g, I do rate Lachie Hunter and think him going onto a wing opposite Langdon makes us a better team.

Grundy, Hunter and a top 10 draft pick into the club (this year) in exchange for Jackson, Hunt, Bedford and potentially Harmes + Tomlinson still gets us a net gain IMO. And that's not even taking into account a future 1st Round Pick that we should also end up with.

Posted
9 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

Might be a swap with Tomlinson. 

Saints then take Cordy.

Dees pick up Lienert.

Under that situation I can tolerate Hunter 

I'm coming round to this.

Posted
2 minutes ago, BAMF said:

I'm coming round to this.

I thought I read somewhere that Tomlinson had 'failed' a medical at the Bulldogs? Anyone else confirm that?

Posted
13 minutes ago, waynewussell said:

Lost me right there!

What has lost you about it?