Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, JTR said:

I've heard someone say the filth are only paying a portion of his salary for the FIRST year only, so trying to determine if any truth to that or if wires have been crossed

Eg $350 "a" year vs $350 "for a" year.

Obviously a big difference!

It would be more than that, we've given them pick 27 for a player with another 5 years on his contract and they have battered an eyelid.

They will be paying at least 300k a season like the Treloar contract.

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges

Posted

Remember at draft camp 2012 when he told Mark Neeld and our recruiting team that we were so [censored] he doesn't want us to pick him..

How times changed.

Welcome Brodie! Reckon there was a period there where I genuinely thought he was going to be the next Dean Cox and his career was on the incline towards that.

I reckon the contract will be a huge burden off his shoulders and he'll want to prove his worth.

Anyone know about his current injury concern?

And yes, well done Tim Lamb for actually standing firm.. so worried we were going to trade down to pick 16 but happy we just stood our ground. We had too.

Posted (edited)
2 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

So does he just sign with us for his 5 remaining years?

No, only until Jackson comes back.

Edited by Dee Zephyr

Posted
11 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Remember at draft camp 2012 when he told Mark Neeld and our recruiting team that we were so [censored] he doesn't want us to pick him..

How times changed.

Welcome Brodie! Reckon there was a period there where I genuinely thought he was going to be the next Dean Cox and his career was on the incline towards that.

I reckon the contract will be a huge burden off his shoulders and he'll want to prove his worth.

And yes, well done Tim Lamb for actually standing firm.. so worried we were going to trade down to pick 16 but happy we just stood our ground. We had too.

He'd surely be over his injury by now.

I think he was ready to go a couple weeks before finals.

Posted
6 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

He'd surely be over his injury by now.

I think he was ready to go a couple weeks before finals.

He was rules out for the season at that point..?

• Demonland changed the title to Welcome to Demonland Brodie Grundy
Posted

I’m super stoked with this. I think it takes serious guts, in the face of losing a potentially once in a generation ruckman to go “y’know what would really complement the best ruckman in the competition? The second best ruckman in the competition.”

Obviously Gawn and Grundy have bought in to whatever the vision for this setup is too. Goody, Richo, Lamb and co are either going to go down as visionaries or madmen for this. I’m on board for the former.

• Like 27
  • Love 5

Posted

Am shocked at the goodwill from Pies fans, reading things like 'MFC is now their 2nd club' (obviously tongue in cheek), obviously a class act to generate such goodwill from that particular fan base.

Posted
2 minutes ago, DEE fence said:

Am shocked at the goodwill from Pies fans, reading things like 'MFC is now their 2nd club' (obviously tongue in cheek), obviously a class act to generate such goodwill from that particular fan base.

No leadership qualities though 😂

Posted
3 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

Thought his statement was very lovely and spoke of a player deeply hurt by what went on at Collingwood. 

No different to Treloar, he will have a point to prove and might finally help us beat Collingwood. 

Who’s next at the pies? 

Posted
1 hour ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Apparently Grundy is not the brightest star in the night sky

I laughed at this part, it was all complimentary up and until then!

Quite a bizarre thing to say in the wrap up!

Posted
1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

How times changed.

From the horse's (stallion's?) mouth in August(?): He was a couple of weeks away from returning from a PCL when he sustained a 'fracture in my ankle' ending his season, including finals which at that time were not a certainty.

Posted
1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

He was rules out for the season at that point..?

Doesn't really matter as long as he's ready to go from November/December.

Posted
3 hours ago, adonski said:

I'd give Bowey a crack on the kick ins. Has the speed to get the handball receive if he hits up a short target.

No, you give the ball to Spargo, and when all of the opposition players have move to a position about 30 metres out , he lays it off to May who slams it up the middle.

Posted

People like to think of Simon Goodwin as staid and unimaginative in his approach (and it certainly felt like it this year), but by all accounts he’s a tactical innovator. Reflecting on the journey grants insight enough: from a brazen mega-press all-chips-in offense in 2017-18 to building a flag around a brick-wall defensive structure just three years later.

Goody has already spoken about how we sat down and looked at what a Gawn-Grundy game-day combo might look like, and was excited by what they came up with. I have no idea, along with the rest of the AFL world it seems (Collingwood mate described the move as a ‘rare lose-lose’ trade). But I’m guessing there’s more to it than ‘Max goes forward more often.’

This trade period has felt a tad underwhelming in terms of getting excited for pre-season (players such as Rankine and Rioli arriving at new clubs for example, along with our middling first round draft selection), but I think seeing what our footy department has come up with by pairing the league’s two best rucks is of interest (who also now get to practice against each other).

Not sure who's going to line-up as ruck when our 'A' and 'B' teams take each other on though? 

Posted

I wonder if the pies fans will boo Grundy or Langdon next year?

or are they all Duck no Ruck?

• Haha 9
Posted
10 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Doesn't really matter as long as he's ready to go from November/December.

Ok, so you actually don't know do you...

All good, was just asking a curious question 👍

Posted
3 minutes ago, Skuit said:

People like to think of Simon Goodwin as staid and unimaginative in his approach (and it certainly felt like it this year), but by all accounts he’s a tactical innovator. Reflecting on the journey grants insight enough: from a brazen mega-press all-chips-in offense in 2017-18 to building a flag around a brick-wall defensive structure just three years later.

Goody has already spoken about how we sat down and looked at what a Gawn-Grundy game-day combo might look like, and was excited by what they came up with. I have no idea, along with the rest of the AFL world it seems (Collingwood mate described the move as a ‘rare lose-lose’ trade). But I’m guessing there’s more to it than ‘Max goes forward more often.’

This trade period has felt a tad underwhelming in terms of getting excited for pre-season (players such as Rankine and Rioli arriving at new clubs for example, along with our middling first round draft selection), but I think seeing what our footy department has come up with by pairing the league’s two best rucks is of interest (who also now get to practice against each other).

Not sure who's going to line-up as ruck when our 'A' and 'B' teams take each other on though? 

I think people recognise he is a big picture innovator (e.g Diamond defence in ‘18), he’s just not particularly flexible/adaptive in the short term (e.g no changes to sides late last yr + Petty going forward only when the game was lost).

Posted (edited)

On paper we line up a stronger, more consistent team with Grundy in the side (rather than Dogga) for round 1 2023. Good outcome given the situation 

Edited by DemonWA