Posted
1 hour ago, A F said:

And to be clear, there's no way Curtin gets past WC's pick, right? Is that what you're hearing? @Pennant St Dee @ChaserJ

Depends on whether West Coast trade down for 2 picks inside the top 10, which I think they will do if they get pick 1.

Im hearing some clubs don’t have him in the top 5

Posted
On 5/9/2023 at 10:23 PM, ChaserJ said:

190+cm, good overhead, can play in all zones, wins clearances in midfield and has a classy left boot.

Pretty sure I've seen this story before (2013 to be exact).

https://central.rookieme.com/afl/2023/05/09/wafl-player-focus-daniel-curtin-claremont/

Wait, do you mean Cripps or Bontempelli? Or Kolodjashnij!

I'm slightly disappointed that it looks like Curtin is pushing ahead of even the most optimistic pick for us. Oh well, I guess we'll have to settle for one of the small army of Stevie Johnson clones running around.

Posted

Given we're almost certainly not going to get our hands on Reid, I'm praying the clubs picking before us will be stupid enough to pass on Wizard Watson because of his height. 

Posted
38 minutes ago, Davos said:

Given we're almost certainly not going to get our hands on Reid, I'm praying the clubs picking before us will be stupid enough to pass on Wizard Watson because of his height. 

what's watson's defensive workrate like? what about his skillset?

i understand he's pretty zippy and can fly high, but how does the other side of his game compare?

Posted

I think Cooper Simpson is definitely be youngster that would be an excellent addition.  Dees could give him time to develop and he’s got the skills and footy intensity to be a very good midfield player. 

Posted
48 minutes ago, Redleg said:

That Nick Watson is a gem, but gee is he small.

It's true that, at 170cm, Watson is on the diminutive side.

When North Melbourne drafted the 172cm Brent Harvey, their recruiters were teased by Melbourne's own Ray 'Slug' Jordon for having selected a "jockey".

Harvey of course went on to play more games than any other player in history and had a stellar career.

Charlie Spargo is 173cm and Kade Chandler 174cm.  If you're good enough, height isn't an issue.

Posted
1 minute ago, Demonstone said:

It's true that, at 170cm, Watson is on the diminutive side.

When North Melbourne drafted the 172cm Brent Harvey, their recruiters were teased by Melbourne's own Ray 'Slug' Jordon for having selected a "jockey".

Harvey of course went on to play more games than any other player in history and had a stellar career.

Charlie Spargo is 173cm and Kade Chandler 174cm.  If you're good enough, height isn't an issue.

Agree. Kosi is 171cm

Posted

Having Kosi at 171cm and Spargo at 173cm, Chin at 174cm might prove that smaller players can make it. But I think it shows we are already well stocked for small forwards. Think we need to use our top pick in another position. 

Posted

I'd be shocked if we weren't fully involved with the Gold Coast's 1st pick this year. They'll need plenty of points for their academy kids, and we've got the 2nd rounders to offer up - along with the 2 1st rounders. I know we've got little after that and we'll need something for Kynan Brown but he's projected to go in the late 2nd/3rd round at this stage (from what I can see). So we could have 2 top 10 draft picks based on current ladder positions!

Posted
On 7/5/2022 at 11:09 PM, Big Col said:

Or the Robbie to the Tom (Flower) ...

Or the Kylie to the Danni (Minogue) ....

Or the Eddie to the Frank (McGuire) ...

Been a long time, but check out http://tonywilson.com.au/[censored]-siblings

On the subject of Flower.. Jet Flower, son of Brad Flower, Robbies Grandson, is progressing exceptionally well from all reports. An in and under type not dissimilar to Jack Viney but with greater skills this nearly 15 year old is one to watch. Problem is there is o Grandfather Grandson eligibility🤯

Posted
7 minutes ago, picket fence said:

On the subject of Flower.. Jet Flower, son of Brad Flower, Robbies Grandson, is progressing exceptionally well from all reports. An in and under type not dissimilar to Jack Viney but with greater skills this nearly 15 year old is one to watch. Problem is there is o Grandfather Grandson eligibility🤯

I remember Brad doing a pre season with the Dees back in 2002 for a rookie list spot.

Unfortunately just couldn't quite have thr talent as his old man. Played only a few games for Sandy in the VFL but then we went back to suburban level.

Posted
1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I remember Brad doing a pre season with the Dees back in 2002 for a rookie list spot.

Unfortunately just couldn't quite have thr talent as his old man. Played only a few games for Sandy in the VFL but then we went back to suburban level.

Yeah think he was at Blackburn for a few years after Sandy. Had a bit of ability but sadly couldn't make it. 

Posted
3 hours ago, Colm said:

Having Kosi at 171cm and Spargo at 173cm, Chin at 174cm might prove that smaller players can make it. But I think it shows we are already well stocked for small forwards. Think we need to use our top pick in another position. 

It's a good point.  Watson may not be the type we need the most.

Posted
6 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Brad was also disadvantaged because he was so small and slight. He would have been better placed in today’s game where lack of height doesn’t necessarily rule you out.

Posted
6 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Not sure if you are old enough to have seen Robbie play, but no one has had the talent of him since, let alone his son.

He was the most skilled player I have ever seen and close to the best.

Posted (edited)
7 minutes ago, layzie said:

Curtain's stocks are rising by the week.

Curtain would be good but our needs has to be a midfielder imo.

I've been a Duursma supporter for a while but Ryley Sanders is a big watch for me and someone that switching more towards as each game goes by.

Inside midfield bull who's got that real break away power and pace out of the stoppages. Really reminds me of Petracca/Dustin Martin with his body shape and physical strength.

One to watch as he'll be around our selection of 5-7 hopefully. 

Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Curtain would be good but our needs has to be a midfielder imo.

I've been a Duursma supporter for a while but Ryley Sanders is a big watch for me and someone that switching more towards as each game goes by.

Inside midfield bull who's got that real break away power and pace out of the stoppages. Really reminds me of Petracca/Dustin Martin with his body shape and physical strength.

One to watch as he'll be around our selection of 5-7 hopefully. 

I wouldn’t sleep on his Tassie midfield running mate in McKercher either. One of the classiest midfielders in this years group.