Adam The God 30,718 Posted May 10, 2023 Posted May 10, 2023 And to be clear, there's no way Curtin gets past WC's pick, right? Is that what you're hearing? @Pennant St Dee @ChaserJ 1 Quote
Pennant St Dee 13,443 Posted May 10, 2023 Posted May 10, 2023 1 hour ago, A F said: And to be clear, there's no way Curtin gets past WC's pick, right? Is that what you're hearing? @Pennant St Dee @ChaserJ Depends on whether West Coast trade down for 2 picks inside the top 10, which I think they will do if they get pick 1. Im hearing some clubs don’t have him in the top 5 1 1 1 Quote
Little Goffy 14,953 Posted May 10, 2023 Posted May 10, 2023 On 5/9/2023 at 10:23 PM, ChaserJ said: 190+cm, good overhead, can play in all zones, wins clearances in midfield and has a classy left boot. Pretty sure I've seen this story before (2013 to be exact). https://central.rookieme.com/afl/2023/05/09/wafl-player-focus-daniel-curtin-claremont/ Wait, do you mean Cripps or Bontempelli? Or Kolodjashnij! I'm slightly disappointed that it looks like Curtin is pushing ahead of even the most optimistic pick for us. Oh well, I guess we'll have to settle for one of the small army of Stevie Johnson clones running around. 1 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,365 Posted May 11, 2023 Author Posted May 11, 2023 You can see the big guns in this year’s draft pool here ~ National Academy set for AFL curtain-raiser 1 1 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,365 Posted May 13, 2023 Author Posted May 13, 2023 On 5/11/2023 at 4:38 PM, Whispering_Jack said: You can see the big guns in this year’s draft pool here ~ National Academy set for AFL curtain-raiser Headline from the game: AFL draft: Harley Reid helped off with concussion in AFL Academy clash against Carlton 1 Quote
Davos 932 Posted May 13, 2023 Posted May 13, 2023 Given we're almost certainly not going to get our hands on Reid, I'm praying the clubs picking before us will be stupid enough to pass on Wizard Watson because of his height. 2 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,849 Posted May 13, 2023 Posted May 13, 2023 38 minutes ago, Davos said: Given we're almost certainly not going to get our hands on Reid, I'm praying the clubs picking before us will be stupid enough to pass on Wizard Watson because of his height. what's watson's defensive workrate like? what about his skillset? i understand he's pretty zippy and can fly high, but how does the other side of his game compare? 1 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted May 15, 2023 Posted May 15, 2023 I think Cooper Simpson is definitely be youngster that would be an excellent addition. Dees could give him time to develop and he’s got the skills and footy intensity to be a very good midfield player. 1 Quote
Redleg 42,146 Posted May 15, 2023 Posted May 15, 2023 That Nick Watson is a gem, but gee is he small. 1 Quote
Demonstone 23,553 Posted May 15, 2023 Posted May 15, 2023 48 minutes ago, Redleg said: That Nick Watson is a gem, but gee is he small. It's true that, at 170cm, Watson is on the diminutive side. When North Melbourne drafted the 172cm Brent Harvey, their recruiters were teased by Melbourne's own Ray 'Slug' Jordon for having selected a "jockey". Harvey of course went on to play more games than any other player in history and had a stellar career. Charlie Spargo is 173cm and Kade Chandler 174cm. If you're good enough, height isn't an issue. 7 1 Quote
demosaw 1,155 Posted May 15, 2023 Posted May 15, 2023 1 minute ago, Demonstone said: It's true that, at 170cm, Watson is on the diminutive side. When North Melbourne drafted the 172cm Brent Harvey, their recruiters were teased by Melbourne's own Ray 'Slug' Jordon for having selected a "jockey". Harvey of course went on to play more games than any other player in history and had a stellar career. Charlie Spargo is 173cm and Kade Chandler 174cm. If you're good enough, height isn't an issue. Agree. Kosi is 171cm 3 1 Quote
Demonstone 23,553 Posted May 15, 2023 Posted May 15, 2023 2 minutes ago, demosaw said: Agree. Kosi is 171cm Knew I'd forgotten somebody! 1 1 Quote
Colm 2,204 Posted May 15, 2023 Posted May 15, 2023 Having Kosi at 171cm and Spargo at 173cm, Chin at 174cm might prove that smaller players can make it. But I think it shows we are already well stocked for small forwards. Think we need to use our top pick in another position. 6 Quote
Red and Blue realist 2,063 Posted May 16, 2023 Posted May 16, 2023 I'd be shocked if we weren't fully involved with the Gold Coast's 1st pick this year. They'll need plenty of points for their academy kids, and we've got the 2nd rounders to offer up - along with the 2 1st rounders. I know we've got little after that and we'll need something for Kynan Brown but he's projected to go in the late 2nd/3rd round at this stage (from what I can see). So we could have 2 top 10 draft picks based on current ladder positions! 1 Quote
picket fence 18,172 Posted May 16, 2023 Posted May 16, 2023 On 7/5/2022 at 11:09 PM, Big Col said: Or the Robbie to the Tom (Flower) ... Or the Kylie to the Danni (Minogue) .... Or the Eddie to the Frank (McGuire) ... Been a long time, but check out http://tonywilson.com.au/[censored]-siblings On the subject of Flower.. Jet Flower, son of Brad Flower, Robbies Grandson, is progressing exceptionally well from all reports. An in and under type not dissimilar to Jack Viney but with greater skills this nearly 15 year old is one to watch. Problem is there is o Grandfather Grandson eligibility🤯 3 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,287 Posted May 16, 2023 Posted May 16, 2023 7 minutes ago, picket fence said: On the subject of Flower.. Jet Flower, son of Brad Flower, Robbies Grandson, is progressing exceptionally well from all reports. An in and under type not dissimilar to Jack Viney but with greater skills this nearly 15 year old is one to watch. Problem is there is o Grandfather Grandson eligibility🤯 I remember Brad doing a pre season with the Dees back in 2002 for a rookie list spot. Unfortunately just couldn't quite have thr talent as his old man. Played only a few games for Sandy in the VFL but then we went back to suburban level. 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted May 16, 2023 Posted May 16, 2023 1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said: I remember Brad doing a pre season with the Dees back in 2002 for a rookie list spot. Unfortunately just couldn't quite have thr talent as his old man. Played only a few games for Sandy in the VFL but then we went back to suburban level. Yeah think he was at Blackburn for a few years after Sandy. Had a bit of ability but sadly couldn't make it. 1 Quote
Demonstone 23,553 Posted May 16, 2023 Posted May 16, 2023 3 hours ago, Colm said: Having Kosi at 171cm and Spargo at 173cm, Chin at 174cm might prove that smaller players can make it. But I think it shows we are already well stocked for small forwards. Think we need to use our top pick in another position. It's a good point. Watson may not be the type we need the most. 2 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,365 Posted May 16, 2023 Author Posted May 16, 2023 6 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said: I remember Brad doing a pre season with the Dees back in 2002 for a rookie list spot. Unfortunately just couldn't quite have thr talent as his old man. Played only a few games for Sandy in the VFL but then we went back to suburban level. Brad was also disadvantaged because he was so small and slight. He would have been better placed in today’s game where lack of height doesn’t necessarily rule you out. 1 Quote
Redleg 42,146 Posted May 16, 2023 Posted May 16, 2023 6 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said: I remember Brad doing a pre season with the Dees back in 2002 for a rookie list spot. Unfortunately just couldn't quite have thr talent as his old man. Played only a few games for Sandy in the VFL but then we went back to suburban level. Not sure if you are old enough to have seen Robbie play, but no one has had the talent of him since, let alone his son. He was the most skilled player I have ever seen and close to the best. 1 1 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,365 Posted May 17, 2023 Author Posted May 17, 2023 Scouting Notes: AFL Academy vs. Carlton VFL 1 1 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,365 Posted May 18, 2023 Author Posted May 18, 2023 No prize for guessing who is ranked at No. 1. 2023 AFL Draft Rankings: May Edition 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted May 18, 2023 Posted May 18, 2023 Curtain's stocks are rising by the week. 1 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,287 Posted May 18, 2023 Posted May 18, 2023 (edited) 7 minutes ago, layzie said: Curtain's stocks are rising by the week. Curtain would be good but our needs has to be a midfielder imo. I've been a Duursma supporter for a while but Ryley Sanders is a big watch for me and someone that switching more towards as each game goes by. Inside midfield bull who's got that real break away power and pace out of the stoppages. Really reminds me of Petracca/Dustin Martin with his body shape and physical strength. One to watch as he'll be around our selection of 5-7 hopefully. Edited May 18, 2023 by dazzledavey36 3 3 Quote
ChaserJ 5,192 Posted May 19, 2023 Posted May 19, 2023 2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said: Curtain would be good but our needs has to be a midfielder imo. I've been a Duursma supporter for a while but Ryley Sanders is a big watch for me and someone that switching more towards as each game goes by. Inside midfield bull who's got that real break away power and pace out of the stoppages. Really reminds me of Petracca/Dustin Martin with his body shape and physical strength. One to watch as he'll be around our selection of 5-7 hopefully. I wouldn’t sleep on his Tassie midfield running mate in McKercher either. One of the classiest midfielders in this years group. 1 2 Quote