Posted
14 minutes ago, binman said:

Cue outrage 

I'm not outraged bin, but surely there is something amiss with CD's measures when the player who I reckon is the best all round ruckman I've seen since following footy does not get a gig.

Posted

There’s obviously some elite players missing. Andrew Brayshaw, Gawn, Petracca, Mills, Heeney have been elite and impacted games this year. Trac and Heeney more so early on, and there’s probably others that escape me.

Marlion Pickett is not elite in any measure or stat, even if classified as a wingman. That’s probably the most baffling selection in recent memory.

Not sure why champion data exists at this point as their analysis is always wrong.

Posted (edited)

Some of those players have played only 8 or 9 players of a possible 13. 

I know that CD works on averages but still it is not exactly a consistent base for comparisons

Edited by Lucifers Hero

Posted
6 minutes ago, D4Life said:

Data without proper analysis is worth zip!

At least they got one out of the most wanted players list!🤦🏻‍♂️

Posted

Elite, without power or privilege is non existent.

Posted (edited)

isn't this as simple as player effectiveness scale?

All this does is rate players by categories (which aren't listed) and say these players are elite in a particular category. I don't think it is anything lose our minds over.

For example J McGovern is a prime example of a player whos had a lot of work and is likely very good at what he does. I doubt anyone would be surprised that he is leading a defensive category.

It really comes down to interpretation or lack of.

Edited by COVID Dan

Posted

I suppose we should be thankful they included Clarry

And i don’t care what metrics are used. Gawn is better than Witts (he is very good) and English

Posted
1 hour ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

I'm not outraged bin, but surely there is something amiss with CD's measures when the player who I reckon is the best all round ruckman I've seen since following footy does not get a gig.

Couldn't agree more Bbo. Max is so far the best ruck in the AFL it is not funny. As you say, you could make a case for him being the best ruck ever. 

I'd add that surely Gus is rated elite this season - he is number two in the AFL for marks, which is incredible given he has been in defence all season, and its not as if he gets heaps of cheap marks becuase we rarely chip it around in our defensive zone

Posted

Seems a bit harsh on Petracca for just three weeks a bit off the boil, but it probably works out statistically if you're into that.

I think Brayshaw missed out by a statistical fingernail, and probably suffered a bit because he has not quite fit the usual roles of either dedicated rebounder or dedicated interceptor/supporter. But he really has only just missed on either format, which to me just underlines his importance.

Gawn is statistically pipped by, again, the barest of margins by Tim English. Remembering Gawn had a couple of quiet ones (just 'excellent' games) earlier in the season and his injured second half against Collingwood. As for Jarrod Witts - clearly that is a matter of how Champion Data prioritise according to position, with Witts' sheer volume of hitouts and hitouts-to-advantage being all the difference there.

On a positive note, seeing a couple of the midfield elite names there got me thinking, and sure enough, since he found his current vein of form Jack Viney has been right in that group. Still flying under the radar a bit, but at present is an absolute A-grader.

It is a nice touch that the only player they made an exception for in their categories of statistical eliteness was Bontempelli. And, you know, fair enough, that's fine, but also, kind of points up how silly their use of field categories is.

Posted

Hmmm... the names left off the list are so perplexing. 

I would have expected May (winning defensive 1v1s and spoils) and Brayshaw (2nd in marks) to be there based on this years form. 
Maybe even Petracca (Most Goal Assists) but his kicking efficiency has let him down a bit in some games. 

From the other clubs: Jack Steele, Andrew Brayshaw, Callum Mills have all had elite seasons so far and are not there.

Its also missing the man leading the Coleman in Charlie Curnow, and I rate Harry Mckay higher than him. 
Yet Taylor walker is there and isn't even in the top 20 for the Coleman. 

What The? 

Posted

All this tells us is that Champion Data are NOT champions of data.

Time for them to get a life or, better still,to open their eyes.

Posted

As is always the case with CD's ratings, whatever they use to measure "elite-ness" isn't worth worrying about given the results it produces.

No Gawn or May, clearly issues from an MFC perspective. But also no Weitering, which means the two key defenders widely considered AA locks aren't there, but instead we have Sicily, McGovern and Isaac Cumming.

For wings, no Langdon or McCluggage, but Marlion Pickett and Harry Perryman instead.

For key forwards, no Curnow or McKay, but Taylor Walker who missed a month of footy is there.

For mids, no Andrew Brayshaw or Callum Mills, but George Hewett gets in.

Just odd.

Posted

Elite in this context is the top 10% of players in each position (broad position categories) based on the average AFL Player Ratings in 2022.

Champion Data shoot themselves in the foot (or the media does it for them) by releasing  the players categorised as elite without detail or context.

The following document provides an overview of how the AFL Player Rating system works, but it's effectively a measure of how much a player improves their team's scoring chances from their involvement.

https://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL Tenant/AFL/PlayerRatings/PlayerRatings_HOW.pdf

I haven't listened to it yet, but this week's "ESPN Footy Podcast" explains the elite ratings.

For a lot more technical detail, read from chapter 5 in the following thesis:

https://researchbank.swinburne.edu.au/file/248ec147-72d7-448c-a19d-49f01d90b12f/1/Karl Jackson Thesis.pdf

The club leaders, which includes their position, can be seen here (noting a minimum of 9 games):

I have all the Player Ratings on my site too, but the player positions are a bit different:
https://www.wheeloratings.com/afl_stats.html