Coming home on the train last night after the Geelong v Richmond match I overheard two Richmond supporters.

Tiger 1: "You know I reckon we can beat Melbourne"

Tiger 2: "Yep, if Gawn, Petracca, Oliver, Viney, May, Lever and Jackson are all out we are a real chance"

3 hours ago, Pates said:

I’ve never really known AFL teams or players to game this, in fact if anything players resist getting onto the stretcher when they should to seem more macho. Total contrast to soccer, particularly European and international games, where they blatantly and disgracefully use it to slow momentum and waste time. I will never forget an Aussie match against Iraq where they used the stretcher what felt like every 5 minutes. The ref did nothing. Really glad AFL isn’t like that. 

The older I get the fuzzier my memory gets Pates, but I definitely remember in the 90s (when they had the old school stretchers rather than the motorised carts) that when they ran on with a stretcher the game was stopped.  There were a few games where there was some commentary around some clubs gaming the system to stop momentum.  As a result the AFL introduced a rule that when the stretcher came  on the player had to leave the ground on the stretcher.  After this my memory isn't as clear as I can't remember exactly, but I'm inclined to think, the player that got onto the stretcher wasn't allowed back onto the ground  (maybe less to do with machismo and more to do with wanting to get back out there).    

Edited by grazman

4 minutes ago, grazman said:

The older I get the fuzzier my memory gets Pates, but I definitely remember in the 90s (when they had the old school stretchers rather than the motorised carts) that when they ran on with a stretcher the game was stopped.  There were a few games where there was some commentary around some clubs gaming the system to stop momentum.  As a result the AFL introduced a rule that when the stretcher came  on the player had to leave the ground on the stretcher.  After this my memory isn't as clear as I can't remember exactly, but I'm inclined to think, the player that got onto the stretcher wasn't allowed back onto the ground  (maybe less to do with machismo and more to do with wanting to get back out there).    

Think it was 20 minutes minimum off the ground if stretchered off.

Watching the Norf/Crows match. It's actually quite entertaining .... kinda like watching a country footy match. It's about that standard.

There couldnt be more than 2000 people at this match in Tassie. There seems no point having North play there now, if there ever was.

41 minutes ago, Damo said:

There couldnt be more than 2000 people at this match in Tassie. There seems no point having North play there now, if there ever was.

No point in them playing in Melbourne either 

It’s got the Smell of Fitzroy all over it 

+1 to no Norf relocating. 

3 minutes ago, AmDamDemon said:

Don't worry @Nasher, I got this...

What have you got against Tassie? Tassie don't want them.

The bones of a club are there. 
nobody wants 19 Clubs. The talent pool isn’t big enough with 18 teams

Looking forward to seeing the crowd figure for the Pies vs Giants today.  My Collingwood supporting mate gave it to me about the 37,700 on Thursday night.  Couldn't be many more there today by the looks of things.

Probably too late to merge North with the Suns but it could be worth doing the sums.

No one has an appetite for 19 teams unless we move to an 18 round season. With say three split weekends you would end up with a 21 week season so really not that much different to now. I suppose there are so many clubs hooked on blockbusters it might not work

Merge North and St Kilda. 

18 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

The bones of a club are there. 
nobody wants 19 Clubs. The talent pool isn’t big enough with 18 teams

It's a fair point, but personally I would put the connection Tasmanians feel towards a team they rightly deserve as more improtant than the so-called dilution of the talent pool. The existence GWS and GCS automatically negates that being a major issue. Not like we will stop watching footy if each team gets a bye. I would personally also aim for a NT team a few years later and pump money into developing players and social programs in the top end (as well as Tassie).

12 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

Merge North and St Kilda. 

Good idea but too much resistance given that you are upsetting two clubs

Noble was giving the players a spray at 3/4 time and none of them were eye balling him. 

His career has a stink about it. Imagine coaching for 30 years and then inheriting that side?

Ginnivan up to his usual [censored].

6 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

Ginnivan up to his usual [censored].

..and so are the maggots. Pathetic favouritism of Collingwood. They can't even give 50 without feeling remorseas if it's coming out of their pocket. Taylor??? ...impaired

Collingwood to finish top 4 and a genuine chance for a GF spot.

They’re fixture on the way home is a joke and they’re quite frankly too hard to play against. They make you earn every possession with their red hot pressure.

That's right they have special privileges to argue...