1 hour ago, Maldonboy38 said:

As for the name, the Devils rings true, but there has always been conversation around giving due homage to their convict heritage.

We already have Collingwood, Port Adelaide and Freo

Edited by Jontee

Pretty sure “Devils” is licensed to another outfit - baseball

If/when it goes ahead, it’d have to be the Devils; which is fine by me as there is as much similarity between a Devil and a Demon as there is a Lion and a Tiger.  

Would be a huge investment on behalf of the AFL and the State Government and player retention could be a big issue.  Convincing Millennials and Gen Xers to move to a state with warm fires, beautiful wines and delicious cheeses is a far different prospect to retaining 23yo, cashed-up professional athletes.

Tassie Piners, Tassie Thylacines, Tassie Wombats, Tassie Penguins Tassie Devils

Still think relocating North Melb and calling them the Tassie Kangaroos is the best option

4 hours ago, Maldonboy38 said:

I lived in Tassie twice, and can tell you they love their footy. The north/south divide is very real, so I reckon they will need to play home games in both Hobart AND Launceston. Not sure how it would work but can't see a way around it.

Yep Tassie is definitely a state of 2 halves. Rivalry almost matches the dislike shared between the north and south islands of NZ. 

It can’t be the ‘Devils’. Apart from the fact the Devil is the head demon and can’t be pluralised, it’s too close and has too much in common with Demons. The Tasmanian Thylacine’s is growing on me. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

• Author
8 hours ago, Jibroni said:

We have too many teams already, relocate North or Gold Coast

Dont think you’d like the other part of what i was told in that case 😬

forget to also mention that the new team will enter the league in 2025 

Given the date this was posted, I had just assumed this was just another of 'those' stories...

On 4/1/2022 at 11:25 PM, DemonOX said:

It’s not naïveté rpfc. What club are tassie invested in, is it the Hawks and NM u are referring to.?

If so I’m sure the Tasmanians would rather support their own team ( or have them as their second team)  than a couple of ring ins

I know it’s a different sport but the Jack Jumpers get good support locally. 

21 hours ago, Nasher said:

I support for Melbourne. Always have, always will.

Just about everyone I know is in the same basket for whatever filthy team they go for.

This is what I mean - they are already watching footy and a lot are investing financially to their team. They are not growing the game very much; not like the northern teams or the Women’s game.

13 hours ago, Stiff Arm said:

The Abel Tasmans

Hobart Hoes

Tassie Kissing Cousins

Tassie pinots (sponsor naming rights)

While Kissing Cousins is most appropriate with some banjo accompaniment for their theme song, Tassie Convicts with Chains as theme song runs it close!

22 hours ago, Maldonboy38 said:

I lived in Tassie twice, and can tell you they love their footy. The north/south divide is very real, so I reckon they will need to play home games in both Hobart AND Launceston. Not sure how it would work but can't see a way around it.

The main arguments against have always been around business model/finance/sponsors etc... - can Tassie sustain the huge financial beast that is an AFL club? Hopefully they have worked that out.

As for the name, the Devils rings true, but there has always been conversation around giving due homage to their convict heritage.

MB I visited and was amazed at the separation in North South heritage and culture.

South was the convict, North the free settlers. Ross in the centre was where the troops were stationed to respond to both ends.

Should the AFL think of building a new facility to cater for both populations?

5 minutes ago, dpositive said:

MB I visited and was amazed at the separation in North South heritage and culture.

South was the convict, North the free settlers. Ross in the centre was where the troops were stationed to respond to both ends.

Should the AFL think of building a new facility to cater for both populations?

I can't see a stadium in Oatlands or Ross!!! So no, they will need to play in both cities I would think. 

York Park in Invermay (basically Launceston) is considered the best surface to play on in all of Australia and has shown that the crowds will go there. Not sure what they will do in Hobart: the North Hobart oval is good, but the facilities are rubbish and there is little room to develop. If a business model and government investment is available, they will build a new stadium in Hobart somewhere.

the tasmanian tiger known as the thylacine is also known as the tasmanian wolf and the indigenous peoples called it the coorinna, loarinna, laoonana, or lagunta. 

so there's a few choices

Tassie Plovers? They are mean buggers, almost vicious when nesting and their favourite sites are ovals.

Carn' Thylacines!! just doesn't ring true and locals would revert to Tigers anyway.