Kent 2,920 Posted August 28, 2021 Posted August 28, 2021 On 28/08/2021 at 12:33, leave it to deever said: Need to at least consider tmac. Have been his biggest fan but his last nine games he has kicked six goals and returned to the player he was last year. Credit due to his other 11 games but this is the flag at stake and hes hit a long slump going into and including finals. Do we have options? Maybe not. Its a concern though. He didnt go near it today. I know he had two weeks off but do we keep going with him. Hard call. Expand May be Mitch Brown coupla marks coupla goals per game Quote
old dee 24,084 Posted August 28, 2021 Posted August 28, 2021 It won't matter, we we will beat either of them in 2 weeks time. In fact they can put together a combined team and we will still win. 6 1 Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,746 Posted August 28, 2021 Posted August 28, 2021 On 28/08/2021 at 22:59, old dee said: It won't matter, we we will beat either of them in 2 weeks time. In fact they can put together a combined team and we will still win. Expand Love your optimism, od. Agree with your assessment. PF is ours to lose and I don't think we will. 1 Quote
Bombay Airconditioning 6,510 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 Although Hunts kicking can be wayward at times it’s better than it used to be, he breaks lines and was playing well enough before injuring his ankle. Bowey will be better for the experience and his disposal puts him ahead of others. Hunt for Smith. 3 Quote
leave it to deever 17,621 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 I think we need to stick with Tmac. In games of old how many times would we see Tom run down the ground and mark . Maybe he was given instructions to stay put but yesterday he hardly moved. It was bb who was down the ground taking a total of nine marks. Since the Dons game and excluding Port where he was very good, Tom has really struggled. So hoping he can improve. 1 Quote
leave it to deever 17,621 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 On 28/08/2021 at 22:57, Kent said: May be Mitch Brown coupla marks coupla goals per game Expand Its a bad time to be making this change though. 2 Quote
Kent 2,920 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 On 29/08/2021 at 00:18, leave it to deever said: Its a bad time to be making this change though. Expand Yes Agreed But TMAc is clearly struggling with his back problem so what do the FD do? Quote
Rossmillan 589 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 On 28/08/2021 at 12:59, titan_uranus said: Can anyone who was at the ground tell us if Salem or Smith was on Cameron at the start of the game? Expand I was at the ground at the defensive end of the ground in the first quarter. In my opinion smith was playing on Cameron. At least he was his opponent when the ball was bounced. But there seemed to be some indecision between who was manning up who at each bounce and there were a few swaps just as the ball was bouncing, but each time Cameron was next to smith from what I could tell. Quote
old dee 24,084 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 On 29/08/2021 at 00:23, Kent said: Yes Agreed But TMAc is clearly struggling with his back problem so what do the FD do? Expand He now has a two week break. No change. 1 Quote
monoccular 17,760 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 I feel a bit sorry for JJ who has had a pretty good year and put in the hard work quite creditably. But Sparrow has been given the opportunity and has well and truly grasped it. 8 Quote
Fritta and Turner 4,697 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 On 28/08/2021 at 14:17, Bring-Back-Powell said: Melbourne V Geelong - Friday 17 September. 8:10pm EST. Optus Stadium. No change. Expand Do you have crystal balls? 1 Quote
Rossmillan 589 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 On 28/08/2021 at 14:03, Jaded said: WA was generous enough to give us permission to bring over 75 people. Such kind souls. Anyways the club obviously prioritized players over extra support staff which I think is wonderful. Ben Gibson doing the water boy work is hilarious. Just shows how insane Covid has been that people are doing so many roles just to get the games done. Expand Gibbo Insta famous, quite a few yelling out to him from the boundary line from where we were sitting. I think he was bemused anyone knew who he was :.) 3 Quote
ArtificialWisdom 4,046 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 On 28/08/2021 at 21:13, FritschyBusiness said: Smith was right next to Cameron and turned the wrong way as Salem handballs it to him. Cameron capitalises because Smith wasn't looking, it was the worst of his mistakes for the night Expand Sorry to rain on the Hang Smith parade. But Salem is clearly responsible for Cameron from the Centre bounce in this instance. I don't know why, it's clearly not the norm, perhaps there was an undesirable interchange switch after Clarry's goal. But Salem comes up to the contest fails to clear it and leaves Charlie out the back. Not at all a smith mistake 1 Quote
old55 23,864 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 AFAIK Smith was on Cameron and was well beaten but he wouldn't have been Robinson Crusoe. Bowey was caught twice by the increased pace and pressure of finals and looked vulnerable, but I liked the way he backed himself in the last quarter and played some good footy. I think Hunt comes in for one of them. TMac is not having the direct impact of the first half of the year but he provides structure and allows Fritsch, Brown, Jackson and Gawn freedom. I don't think we need another small forward with ANB, Kossie, Spargo added to by Sparrow, Harmes and Viney. I'd persist with TMac. Sparrow has made it very tough for JJ, Jones and VDB. 6 Quote
old55 23,864 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 On 28/08/2021 at 13:02, demon3165 said: Are you for real was i at the ground suggest you get off the sauce, was you there, as for Salem it is time to take the diaper off soft as melted butter. Expand Keen to hear your assessment of "the rugby player"? Quote
Lord Nev 13,512 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 It's got to be dependent on who we play doesn't it? Geelong - Keep Smith in for Rohan Bombers - Hibberd in for Stringer, Smith out Dogs - Hunt in, Smith out 2 Quote
Deemania since 56 6,810 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 On 28/08/2021 at 12:21, Bates Mate said: Hunt in, Smith out Expand Nahhh, Hunt may well come in - benching I'd reckon at the start - but I'd keep Smith as he is full of the one-per cent coverages that contribute to the lines of defence, at present. I'd still like to see Smith back into the forward line for some minutes - perhaps later in the game to come, whoever it may be against. 1 Quote
Deemania since 56 6,810 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 On 28/08/2021 at 22:57, Kent said: May be Mitch Brown coupla marks coupla goals per game Expand TMac has been around a while - perhaps he is sorted by other clubs and their strategies. MBrown in is a change and can contribute with those coupla marks and coupla goals, most likely. He is also more mobile than TMac, at present. Quote
58er 6,872 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 On 28/08/2021 at 12:30, dazzledavey36 said: Smith, Bowey out. Hunt and Hibberd in. Expand We have again kept our opponent ( the highest scorers this season) to 60 , 5 points below our 2021 abbey age and you want to drop 2 defenders. Yes I would like Hibbo in and Hunty also but NOT at Boweys expense. He was understandardably a little nervous early on but finished the game snd last half brilliantly. Smith was ok but if he was on Charlie Cameron early he was very loose. Not sure who matched up all day! only one change Hunty or Hibbo for Smithy perhaps. Quote
dazzledavey36 56,372 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 On 29/08/2021 at 01:02, Lord Nev said: It's got to be dependent on who we play doesn't it? Geelong - Keep Smith in for Rohan Bombers - Hibberd in for Stringer, Smith out Dogs - Hunt in, Smith out Expand We play the winner out of GWS or Geelong. 2 Quote
Lord Nev 13,512 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 On 29/08/2021 at 01:58, dazzledavey36 said: We play the winner out of GWS or Geelong. Expand Ahhhhh gotcha, sorry. Ok, revised version: Geelong - Keep smith for Rohan GWS - Hunt in, Smith out Quote
Mr Steve 3,820 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 We often forget that even if Tmac is having a bad game he takes a big name player out of the game which allows Fritsch to become very dangerous. Smith still worries me but not sure if Hunt would fire first game back. 1 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,372 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 On 29/08/2021 at 02:04, Lord Nev said: Ahhhhh gotcha, sorry. Ok, revised version: Geelong - Keep smith for Rohan GWS - Hunt in, Smith out Expand On Fridays form Rohan could be in trouble come selection. Another finals series and another very poor game from Rohan. Cats fans have had enough with his soft efforts. I think Hunt has to come in somehow. He was hitting some top form just before his ankle injury. If we are to meet Port in the grand final and that's a big IF.. then their small forwards who are all quick could cause us some problems if not matched up properly. 2 1 Quote
Lord Nev 13,512 Posted August 29, 2021 Posted August 29, 2021 On 29/08/2021 at 02:17, dazzledavey36 said: On Fridays form Rohan could be in trouble come selection. Another finals series and another very poor game from Rohan. Cats fans have had enough with his soft efforts. I think Hunt has to come in somehow. He was hitting some top form just before his ankle injury. If we are to meet Port in the grand final and that's a big IF.. then their small forwards who are all quick could cause us some problems if not matched up properly. Expand Yeah agree that they'll try to get Hunt back in, hard call though hey? Smith is the obvious out, but I still feel he's a good matchup for Rohan, so don't know what we do there. TBH I prefer Rivers and Bowey to Hunt at the moment, both are just so much more 'safe' IMO. In saying that, for pretty much anyone but Geelong I would drop Smith for Hunt. Quote